Las Vegas, NV - HDTV - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2004, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Outflying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, only one hookup is required. I use the second output to my vcr.
Outflying is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2004, 08:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It depends on your preference. Most people do not like the "look" of the component out on analog or non HD material, so they use the composite out.
Check out the 3250 thread located here . This is just a link to the current thread post, but you should check out the entire thread, especially the start for more information about the 3250 box and it's problems and how to diagnose them.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-04-2004, 10:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
vegashomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
vegggas,

Are the updates automatic or do I have to ask for them?
vegashomes is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 12:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whenever SA makes an update available, they give it to the MSO markets one at a time. When the updates are available to our system, the MSO will distribute it all at one time and it will be automatic to users. Typically between 1:00 and 5:00 AM a download will be sent to the entire system. The boxes will get the download, reboot and then remain off.
Don't bother calling. The most a CSR will ususally do is reboot your box and force the same download that you already have. This can also be done by pulling the power plug, holding the power button and plugging it back in.
I heard the next update may be in mid to late March.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A buddy of mine just pre-ordered the new DirectTV HD-PVR which should be about the very end of March. Now that there is actually a "date" for the DirecTV box, let's hope that Cox is soon right behind with their own HDPVR.

As y'all know I am a bit frustrated that my non-HD friends are ahead of me on the PVR tech curve!
Tallen234 is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 05:07 PM
Member
 
JoustGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Henderson, NV.
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NBC - HD (733) is now operating. :-)
JoustGod is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 07:20 PM
Member
 
tazlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great! You can now put 12 channels and counting Vegggas....now I hope they work on KVVU for the fall when Fox goes to HD.
tazlv is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 08:09 AM
Member
 
jb1219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: henderson,nv
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by JoustGod
NBC - HD (733) is now operating. :-)

Great!! Makes my day!! Thanks to those at Cox and local NBC that made this happen!
jb1219 is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by tazlv
Great! You can now put 12 channels and counting Vegggas....now I hope they work on KVVU for the fall when Fox goes to HD.

The last I heard, KVVU was not going HD anytime soon. The Fox network will have HD broadcasts, but the local station may still only show the SD signal.

Anyone hear anything different about Fox and WB in Las Vegas?

Looks like April 22 is the launch date for StarzHD and CinemaxHD. On that date they will replace the East coast HD feeds of HBO and SHO. Still no date on the 8000HD box, but the "rumor" is right around the same time as the new HD channel launch in April.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea, there was an article on the removal of the premium pay channels from the analog system, forcing users to get a digital box...

http://www.reviewjournal.com/lvrj_ho.../23363252.html

So if Cox removes these 4 channels from analog, any ideas on what will replace them? Part of the lower tier in digital? More HD? The new HD channels are just replacing other ones, so its no net gain there.
doormat is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by doormat
Yea, there was an article on the removal of the premium pay channels from the analog system, forcing users to get a digital box...

http://www.reviewjournal.com/lvrj_ho.../23363252.html

So if Cox removes these 4 channels from analog, any ideas on what will replace them? Part of the lower tier in digital? More HD? The new HD channels are just replacing other ones, so its no net gain there.

The irony is that legal customers already had to have an STB to get those channels, so switching to a digital box from an analog box is no big deal. The price increase of $5 for digital gateway gets any current single movie subscriber tha same channel plus all the other extra premium channels in that package. Those with multiple premium channels will see a decrease in their bill and get a lot more premium programming.
Those that will cry the loudest are the "black box" users who will no longer have any use for those devices, because all the analog programming will be available to basic and expanded basic customers.
The idea of getting rid of those channels helps clear more bandwidth for digital channels, including HD. I would rather see a replacement of the basic analog service lineup repeated in digital. With 4 analog channels taken out, we could see up to as many as 40 SD channels duplicated digitally. I don't know what else will be added other than the 5 new digital tier channels previously mentioned, but it looks like a step in the right direction.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 09:57 PM
Member
 
hdtvxpert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Am I the only person in Vegas with an HD set that notices when ch. 13 does not switch to HD when a network show in HD comes on? Saturday night when the ABC movie " Frequency" came on, 13-1 was still in SD stretch mode, then they switched to HD mode for a second, and then back to SD stretched! Even when the ABC HDTV logo appeared on the screen, they still sat in SD mode. I had to call KTNV master control and wake up the operator, and while she was on the phone with me, she made the switch to HD and said "is this the right mode?" Hello??? Wake up channel 13! This happens a lot. The master control operators need some training I think.
hdtvxpert is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 05:51 AM
Member
 
mseagrov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone in the Las Vegas Area been able to get the DVI port to work ?

Thanks
mseagrov is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A few users have, read back a few pages about their experiences...
The DVI port is not a "turned on" port, but was enabled by default without specific software for it. SA and COX have been specifically told to turn it off now until better HDCP software is available sometime after the 1394 ports are activated.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NBCHD is finally on Cox channel 733. Just thought you might want to know.
lvthunder is offline  
Old 03-15-2004, 10:54 PM
Member
 
JoustGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Henderson, NV.
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by lvthunder
NBCHD is finally on Cox channel 733. Just thought you might want to know.

You are nine posts too late! ;-)
JoustGod is offline  
Old 03-16-2004, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder why the system didn't notify me there were more replys here. Oh well.
lvthunder is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 10:30 AM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Article on USDTV coming to Vegas next month...

http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmp...l_broadcast_tv

Interesting note found on their webpage:
"IMPORTANT NOTE : The enclosed HDTV receiver will not receive ANY channels without a USDTV service agreement."
No free lunch for OTA HD reception here....
doormat is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Spite


Quote:


Originally posted by lvthunder
I wonder why the system didn't notify me there were more replys here. Oh well.

Tallen234 is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As mentioned earlier on this thread from right after CES there is no service for locals without a paid service contract. Once there is no service agreement, locals will not be available anymore. It's a paperweight without serevice fees.
The bad news is that USDTV is using so called "spare" bandwidth from our local DTV stations to transmit the channels. Two main problems are current DTV stations not broadcasting HD will sell their bandwidth for this service (like FOX, UPN and WB???) and have no HD here at all. IF, and this is a big IF, the current HD channels try to sell a few megabits of bandwidth, we will see more problems with scenes that use more than average bandwidth.
Secondary problems will be for users like lvthunder who can't get the DTV signals from some of the locations already. This service may get some, but not all the stations.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KLAS is once again covering the March Madness Tourney on it's analog, digital and multicast feeds on Cox. Each feed will have unique programming, so the Analog channel 8 will show a different game than what's on the multicast channels. All HD games will be shown on 8.1 OTA and on Cox 730 CBSHD and the other multicast feeds will be on channels 337, 338, and 339, which are free for digital customers. It looks like there is NO CBS HD on Thursday, but a full day of 4 HD games on Friday and more details for Saturday and Sunday games coming soon.
The local March Madness coverage is being shown for free to Cox local digital subscribers thanks to KLAS and Cox agreements.

vegggas

Edit: Specific Game information can be found in Ken's post HERE (NCAA TOURNY)
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 06:49 PM
Member
 
tazlv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sweeeeeeet! I was worried that DirecTV had exclusive rights to the NCAA tourney multicast this year..........thanx Vegggas.
tazlv is offline  
Old 03-17-2004, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same setup as last year!
Turning on the Wayback machine to post #271 from this time last year...
link to last years post

It's up to each local affiliate to be able to recieve and multicast all the CBS feeds. AFAIK The local station needs a reciever for each subchannel.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been told that Cox LV is now re-broadcasting the HD locals (730-733) unencrypted. Can someone with an HD QAM tuner check this out and post the channel designations for these?

Thanks
vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you think they broadcasting them twice? Or do you think they just unencrypted 730-733. It doesn't make sense to me to broadcast them twice. I'll take a look with the Cox box I have when I get home. It says if the channel is encypted or not.
lvthunder is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, they are not broadcasting them twice. They are just not encrypting them anymore. I'll check a box when I get home, but that may not be until tomorrow. I'm looking for confirmation on the unencrypted channels and what the real world channel ID's would be.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-19-2004, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unencrypted digital channels on Cox Las Vegas:
94.1 (SD) NCAA Tournament Silmulcast
94.2 (SD) NCAA Tournament Silmulcast
94.3 (SD) NCAA Tournament Silmulcast

103.1 (HD) ABC HD
103.2 (HD) PBS HD

106.1 (HD) CBS HD
106.2 (HD) NBC HD

Cha-ching! Finally! Now how long will this last...
doormat is offline  
Old 03-20-2004, 10:38 PM
Newbie
 
teobg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's great news! I can use my new C32V37 Zenith's digital QAM tuner at last!!!
teobg is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 01:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vegggas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let's hear some comparisons using your internal tuners, between OTA and cable. This may be the best test using the same tuner for both sources.

vegggas
vegggas is offline  
Old 03-21-2004, 02:02 AM
Senior Member
 
doormat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Las Vegas - Summerlin
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comparison? OTA Sucks, I have a dinky $15 set of rabbit ears from BB and I'd have to get up and move them if I wanted to get more than 1 HD channel (far west side of town). My Mits doesnt seem to have signal strength indicators. But I'd say its easier w/ Cox. I just need to rewire my tv now...
doormat is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off