Las Vegas, NV - HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9444 Old 06-18-2002, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trevor_2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know, I know...We have many active threads about the area, but I just figured it would be nice to start a monthly thread. Anyways, here are a few things I think are worth additional input/discussion:

1. Status of local OTA live dates

2. Cox Cable and HD

3. Recent addition of local channels to the directv line-up

4. Antenna reception in different parts of the valley

5. Amount of Las Vegas AVSForum HDTV Members?

So, anyways, here goes nothing....

Trevor_2k
trevor_2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9444 Old 06-18-2002, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw that Cox picked up Discovery HD. I hope we get to see that when it rolls out next month.
lvthunder is offline  
post #3 of 9444 Old 06-19-2002, 10:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trevor_2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I normally don't even attempt to watch ch 13 just because it bothers me so much that a station would think that a zoomed analog image made to fill the screen (almost) would be satisfactory.
Monday night, while one of my favorite movies of all time is playing in HD everywhere else in the country, I decided to give 13 a try. 13-1 is an analog 14:9 zoomed image but they got the sound okay. 13-2 was full screen 16:9 but it was a stretched analog image as well without the DD audio. Well, at least it was the first time I saw a picture on 13-2, but it still irked me that I can't enjoy the wonderful (although sporadic) programming that abc offers in HD. When are they going to get it together???

Trevor_2k
trevor_2k is offline  
post #4 of 9444 Old 06-19-2002, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I watch 13.2 it isn't zoomed. It's just a 4:3. I haven't checked recently but most of the time I don't get a picture on 13.1. I just get sound. The only time I got a picture was the first day they were on the air. After that just the sound. Channel 13 said it would be a couple of months before they are able to send out an HD signal. They must be missing a piece of equipment.
lvthunder is offline  
post #5 of 9444 Old 06-20-2002, 05:13 PM
Newbie
 
Buddy Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also get only sound on 13.1. Only one of three of my sat receivers can pick up the local channels so I passed on it.
Buddy Adams is offline  
post #6 of 9444 Old 06-20-2002, 08:17 PM
Member
 
schultzie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get ABC on 12-5, and 12-6 on my TV. Is that normal, and when are they supposed to start broadcasting shows in HD.
schultzie73 is offline  
post #7 of 9444 Old 06-23-2002, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abdul Jalib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So in Vegas OTA we have ABC (12), PBS (11), and CBS (7)... is that it for now? The TitanTV schedule includes a line for channel 40, KBLR-DT, a Spanish station. Is it on the air?

Most of the HDTV schedules don't mention it, but at 8 pm today (Sunday), there should be a HDTV broadcast of Nature on PBS.

ABC works fine for me, such as it is. I get a horizontally stretched picture on 12-1, and a 4:3 picture on 12-2, with sound on all subchannels though louder on 12-2. I use an accessDTV card in my PC. There is never any real HD on ABC Vegas, right?
Abdul Jalib is offline  
post #8 of 9444 Old 06-23-2002, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, from another Vegas person thinking about D* v. Cox Cable.

I heard a rumor that on a News report on Channel 13, Cox Cable was testing their HDTV box in Vegas. Any word on when Cox will switch to HDTV? Or would it be worthwhile to buy D* for a year and then decide whether or not to switch back to Cox.

Thanks,

Tim
Tallen234 is offline  
post #9 of 9444 Old 06-24-2002, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night there was a commericial for cox digtial cable. They interposed a local message across the bottom that said HDTV Coming Soon. This is the first confirmation that I have seen for HDTV for Vegas. Someone said either July or August.
Tallen234 is offline  
post #10 of 9444 Old 06-24-2002, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trevor_2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox HDTV is tentatively scheduled for an early July offering according to all the whispers and rumors.

Trevor_2k
trevor_2k is offline  
post #11 of 9444 Old 06-24-2002, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Abdul Jalib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the HD FAQ page on their website, Cox says:

Quote:


Cox will offer your local programming. Cox plans to offer the high-definition signals of your local network broadcasters such as NBC, CBS, ABC, etc. Satellite providers send one set of signals to all of their customers across the nation. This is a drawback because they can only carry so many signals due to bandwidth limitations. In order to watch local network affiliates like NBC, CBS, ABC, Fox, etc., some satellite customers may have to switch from their dish to an antenna, or otherwise watch the network broadcasts from a different region.

Cox could have said that more forcefully, like so:

Even if it's impossible for you to receive local stations over the air in your location, such as in the shadow of Black Mountain, your friendly local Vegas stations will deny your petitions for waivers, so you will NOT be able to receive the single national feeds, whether SD or HD, from your satellite company. MOOHOOOHOOOOHOOHOHAHAHAHA. Those who cannot receive some or all of the broadcast networks over the air must buy their service from Cox (or black market Canadian satellite) or go without those channels.

The Cox box will output 1080i. You can't even record the local HD stations (using PC cards like HiPix now or HD PVR's in the future) without being able to get 8vsb. Do you think there's any chance a 8vsb line will be left exposed inside the box?
Abdul Jalib is offline  
post #12 of 9444 Old 06-24-2002, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any idea what type of box Cox will use?
Tallen234 is offline  
post #13 of 9444 Old 06-24-2002, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Just got a response to my email to Cox:

Thank you for contacting us. HDTV will be available on selected channels on July 1, 2002. The HDTV converter will be an enhanced version of the digital converter and will cost $10 monthly to rent. We have not been informed of a waiting list. From what we know the service will be available to all interested. If you have any other questions, feel free to contact customer service at 702.383.4000. Thank you for your time.
Tallen234 is offline  
post #14 of 9444 Old 06-25-2002, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lvthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what channels and what the minumim subscription is. I don't want to have to get digital cable to get the HD channels. I just want the HD channels.
lvthunder is offline  
post #15 of 9444 Old 06-28-2002, 10:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Abdul Jalib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm, it occurs to me that someone could get into HDTV for the first time with a very minimal investment using Cox, which is what they claimed. A 21" CRT computer monitor ($550), a component to RGB converter ($100ish), and a Cox HD subscription would be all that's necessary for the video, and then for sound maybe a home-theater-in-a-box ($600ish.)
Abdul Jalib is offline  
post #16 of 9444 Old 07-01-2002, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, it appears that the cable route will be cheaper upfront as you do not have the purchase the STB. Even if Cox charges $10 a month rental for the box you would have to have the box for 4 years or so before it will begin to look silly. Also, if there are any upgrades or such, you can just get a new box from Cox. Particularly, if they are going to be using the Explorer 8000 with HD!
Tallen234 is offline  
post #17 of 9444 Old 07-02-2002, 02:40 AM
Member
 
schultzie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I called cox today and they told me that they are not ready to start HD programing and to check back when they have more information on July 15th.
schultzie73 is offline  
post #18 of 9444 Old 07-02-2002, 01:09 PM
Member
 
riyatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok everyone, its official, cox is now offering HD in vegas. Heres the deal. if you already subscribe to digital cable with the movie channels then they will swap out one of your digital boxes for $50 for the install and you do not have to pay any additional monthly charges. however, if you want discovery HD channels then it is an extra $5 a month. now if you dont have digital, i believe to get the HD box it will be an extra $10 a month along with the $50 install charge. im kinda upset by the fact that its a $50 charge just to swap out my current digital box for the new HD box. they stated that its a technical install that will take over an hour to get set-up. i thought all that would need to be done is just pluging in the component cables and youre off. well see what happens. im getting my install done on monday.
riyatch is offline  
post #19 of 9444 Old 07-02-2002, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did they tell you what kind of box they will be providing?

Did you ask them about other HD channels in the future? ie. HD Net.

Let me know how it goes!

Good Luck,

Tim
Tallen234 is offline  
post #20 of 9444 Old 07-04-2002, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was fiddling around with the normal digital cable today and I noticed that they have HD channels listed in the guide in the 700 range. I saw HD Discovery, PBS, CBS, HBO (East and West) and Showtime (East and West). I didn't see ABC or NBC listed....hmmm
Tallen234 is offline  
post #21 of 9444 Old 07-04-2002, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trevor_2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Tallen234
Did they tell you what kind of box they will be providing?

Did you ask them about other HD channels in the future? ie. HD Net.

Let me know how it goes!

Good Luck,

Tim

Scientific Atlanta 2100HD is the model...

Don't know anything about 'em.

Trevor_2k
trevor_2k is offline  
post #22 of 9444 Old 07-05-2002, 11:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tallen234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Uh-0h. That is the old HD receiver from SA. When they install, ask them if they have the 3100.
Tallen234 is offline  
post #23 of 9444 Old 07-05-2002, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We're close to getting Cox HD down here in SoCal too. I've been told that the box they're using is the 3100. It's also mentioned on the Cox website here: http://www.cox.com/Future/hookup.asp

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #24 of 9444 Old 07-05-2002, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
jaymer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: tampa (brandon)
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Vegas Folks, thanks for the info about OTA in your city. Am coming there for a small geek convention in August and was thinking about showing my colleagues HiDef - if I packed up my PC (which I could use for my presentations anyway) and also brought my LT150, I'd be able to setup just about anywhere. Will be in the Orleans (and some banquet rooms) for our meetings - I guess the Cox stuff is out, but I'd bring along the trusty RS DBT and hopefully can tune in the OTA stuff just fine.

Does anyone there have a D-VHS they could bring over to watch a World Cup match? I should have a match available and in-hand by then.

Jaymer... Its only TV - Get a Life!
------------------------------------------
What happened to the really active Tampa HDTV Thread? We've got our own Local Website Check it out!
jaymer is offline  
post #25 of 9444 Old 07-07-2002, 02:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Abdul Jalib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a JVC HM-HD-30000U HD D-VHS VCR with a D-Theater tape (X-Men, with T2 and U-571 on the way.) I also have a HTPC with HDTV card (and firewire card), but I would be less willing to bring it since I would probably miss some scheduled recordings.
Abdul Jalib is offline  
post #26 of 9444 Old 07-10-2002, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
trevor_2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats with channel 13 these days? I have tried to watch some content but I can't get a proper signal at all. Before I could get their analog signals on 13-1 and 13-2, now nothing. Channel 8 is broadcast from the same spot and I can pick them up fine...Anybody have any ideas?

Trevor_2k
trevor_2k is offline  
post #27 of 9444 Old 07-10-2002, 09:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
jaymer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: tampa (brandon)
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Abdul - thanks for the reply.
I haven't heard back on the WorldCup tape yet.
I'm sure I'll bring my machine since I need a pc for the meetings anyway.
... And my LT150.
Will let you know soon.
thx

Jaymer... Its only TV - Get a Life!
------------------------------------------
What happened to the really active Tampa HDTV Thread? We've got our own Local Website Check it out!
jaymer is offline  
post #28 of 9444 Old 07-15-2002, 03:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
jhue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by trevor_2k
Whats with channel 13 these days? I have tried to watch some content but I can't get a proper signal at all. Before I could get their analog signals on 13-1 and 13-2, now nothing.

I have the same problem on my Dish 6000. Signal strengh is around 90, but the picture keeps breaking up. I get CBS and PBS fine. The strong winds a few months ago moved my outdoor antenna a little, so maybe repointing it will help, but until KTNV starts broadcasting real HDTV, it's not worth getting the ladder out.

-Jonathan
jhue is offline  
post #29 of 9444 Old 07-16-2002, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Abdul Jalib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 1,135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The sound goes out every few seconds for me on ABC-DT, but I'm not sure if it's my new HDTV PC card (MyHD) or ABC.
Abdul Jalib is offline  
post #30 of 9444 Old 07-16-2002, 08:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
jaymer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: tampa (brandon)
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Abdul, I should be getting 2 DVHS tapes of World Cup Soccer. Am getting the 3rd place match (which I didn't see) and some other exciting match - haven't decided yet which one.

Put on your calendar August 19 or 20 - will be at the orleans - we have a meeting room thats in use each day for our meetings - so there's already a screen (not sure of size) and I'll have my LT150 - if you bring the tape deck we'll be all set.

I don't know if you Vegas people have planned any "meetings", but any local Vegas HDTV folk are welcome to come see how cool the World Cup looked. Of course if anyone else has a better projector than a LT150 (like a cool 16x9 format), then thats even better - maybe you guys could plan a HDTV get together and we'll have a good old time!

I'll have my HTPC with HiPix card and projector.
With an assortment of HDTV Demo material online.
Will definitely plan a scheduled viewing of one of the football matches, and then we can mess around after that.
Might be a nice time to have a projector shootout if you guys want.

ideas?

Jaymer... Its only TV - Get a Life!
------------------------------------------
What happened to the really active Tampa HDTV Thread? We've got our own Local Website Check it out!
jaymer is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off