NYC Verizon FIOS + QAM ?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-05-2013, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been a Time Warner Cable subscriber since 1995. Next month, they are eliminating analog and QAM transmissions. I have three HDTV's, all hooked up to the incoming cable line before the cable box. Also have a slew of DVD recorders all with digital QAM tuners. Soon it will all be defunct.

I've read and heard conflicting stories about whether or not Verizon FIOS transmits a HD QAM signal, i.e. one that you can split off before their HD DVR, and/or secondary standard definiton STB. Does anyone have an
answer ? FIOS became available in my area in 2012, but I've resisted so far, since my 3 distinct TV setups
have been perfect..... up until now.

Also have several actual HDTV recorders that currently rely on cable QAM for recordings, which btw, look great.
Don't want to switch to FIOS, only to get a standard definiton picture for recording purposes, other than the one
from the Verizon HD DVR. Any help or comments will be greatly appreciated
joecass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-05-2013, 06:00 PM
Member
 
mets18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They have announced no plans to eliminate clear QAM.
mets18 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-07-2013, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
doesn't answer the question if the Verizon QAM is HD or SD
joecass is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-09-2013, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 54
You should post in the Verizon NY forum but to answer your question fios has both SD and hd locals unencrypted but you cant order Internet only and get free tv like TWC.
nyctveng is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off