Best indoor antenna for UHF and Hi VHF? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 09-21-2013, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to AVS (and to OTA) and could use some help in selecting an indoor antenna. I live in a multistory condo so an outside antenna is not an option. We live on the ground (not basement) floor. Our TV is in the living room in the Northeast corner of the room (but its not the Northeast corner of the building). There are windows facing North and West in the Northwest corner of the room, though it looks like the main towers are about 28 miles away to the Northeast. Here are my tvfool results:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d46ae0fdf9c3593

It seems most of the channels we want are UHF but two channels we want (ABC and FOX) are Hi VHF. We have an old analog television for now but hope to save money from cutting the cable cord in order to buy an HDTV down the road. We have a Roku box but still would like OTA for some live broadcasts. We may buy a used TiVo HD off eBay to record the broadcasts.

I've heard good things about Mohu Leaf but am concerned it won't pick up the VHF. I'm also wondering if there's a way to position the antenna so it works well but we don't have a lot of cable strung up in the room. Would love your advice on which antenna to get--thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-21-2013, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I would go to Costco and try the amplified Winegard Flatwave instead of the Mohu Leaf. It is more reasonably priced at $48 and may possibly perform better on HiVHF. Easy to return. But the similar Mohu Leaf Ultimate is sold at Walmart for $79. But even better I would try the Terk HDTVa from HHG or Fry's. It has rabbit ears which will work better for HiVHF, as well as a good UHF element also.
post #3 of 9 Old 09-21-2013, 12:20 PM - Thread Starter