Topeka, KS - HDTV - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 2382 Old 07-01-2004, 07:31 AM
Senior Member
 
BJS188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Topeka KS USA
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KSNT-DT had been missing for a few days. It was back on for L&O on Wednesday night. I did not check later to see if Leno was coming through.

On DIRECTV locals, the quality seems to change daily. The first night they were good but other nights they are not as good.
BJS188 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 2382 Old 07-01-2004, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KSNT must have had some type of problem because I'm receiving it now.
Personally if Directv didn't have HD content I wouldn't have it. I have always thought the picture was sub par. To me the picture just looks
flat,soft and to many artifacts plus when it storms you lose the signal.
Craigslue is offline  
post #453 of 2382 Old 07-07-2004, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
BJS188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Topeka KS USA
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FOX43 moved to 43 on DIRECTV. It was on 6.
BJS188 is offline  
post #454 of 2382 Old 07-08-2004, 12:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They sure did. I thought it was strange they put it on 6, same as cox
and not on 43.
Craigslue is offline  
post #455 of 2382 Old 08-10-2004, 05:18 PM
Member
 
LiveLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Olathe, KS and would like to report to the Topeka viewers that I can receive both KTWU and WIBW. We in the KC area are desperate to receive a FOX station. Our local FOX station broadcasts with only 1,100 watts on a short temporary tower. I have read through your thread that your FOX station is HD-43. We would like to DX from Topeka if possible.

You can check the Kansas City thread for my screen shot of KTWU.
LiveLite is offline  
post #456 of 2382 Old 08-10-2004, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would not hold my breath on Fox from Topeka. They have no plans to go digital over the air right now.

Rumor going around now is that Cox will have Fox on cable only by football season, plus KTWU. Got an email back from a vp or something with Cox stating they hoped to have Fox by football season. KTWU was supposedly close, but that is what I was told 3 months ago.
timmy1376 is offline  
post #457 of 2382 Old 08-10-2004, 07:29 PM
Member
 
LiveLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks timmy1376 for your fast reply.
I just got all excited that FOX would have the Baseball playoffs, the expanded HD NFL, plus the Super Bowl.
Our local cable company, Comcast, would carry our local FOX station, except that the stations transmitting power is so low that the cable company cannot receive them!
Oh well..
LiveLite is offline  
post #458 of 2382 Old 08-11-2004, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
BJS188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Topeka KS USA
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Us Topeka folks are going to miss the four MNF games that the Chiefs are playing in. No ABC-HD here. I got word from the station that "Maybe Next Year". We have been hearing that for three years now. I wish someone would step up to the plate and buy them since they are for sale.
BJS188 is offline  
post #459 of 2382 Old 08-17-2004, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,
I got a nice suprise in my email this morning. Our friend at KTWU Duane Loyd emailed telling me Cox would start to carry KTWU October 18. He said he reads this page and the KC page so lets thank him for his work.

It's nice to see Cox stepping up with more local in HD in the Topeka market. Lets hope for Fox and NBC next.

tim

PS Does anyone have or have access to a STB that does QAM decoding that could try it out on Cox. I only want the local channels and there is a TV at Wal-Mart I am looking at that does QAM decoding but I want to see if Cox is putting the local in the clear.

thanks!
timmy1376 is offline  
post #460 of 2382 Old 08-18-2004, 07:32 AM
Senior Member
 
BJS188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Topeka KS USA
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We had a customer in on Monday buying a OTA tuner so he could watch the Olympics in HD. He said that he had talked to someone at KSNT and they said that they were going to start their own "cable system" using their digital signal. So they are not planning on being on COX. He said one of the other stations in town was joining them. I am not sure which. I will be really upset if this degrade or eliminates HD from our local stations.
BJS188 is offline  
post #461 of 2382 Old 08-18-2004, 08:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeez. I hope they don't join USDTV or the other group. Who would you guys speculate would join them? KTKA? That's who I would guess.

If they want their own cable system, then they definately need to increase power. The don't even make it to Wamego to the east.

So what would we do for NBC HD?
timmy1376 is offline  
post #462 of 2382 Old 08-18-2004, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
BJS188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Topeka KS USA
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Emmis in a play to aquire USDTV. Emmis is KSNT's parent company

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...ighlight=emmis

This was from a few months back
BJS188 is offline  
post #463 of 2382 Old 08-23-2004, 11:24 AM
Member
 
Couchrack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't been here in a while. On Titantv.com it says I can get KTKA in Manhattan. Is that true? I can get WIBW and KTWU great.
Couchrack is offline  
post #464 of 2382 Old 08-30-2004, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Couchrack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well I was able to pick up signal tonight but it flickered pretty bad..
Couchrack is offline  
post #465 of 2382 Old 09-10-2004, 08:00 AM
Senior Member
 
BJS188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Topeka KS USA
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know most people around here can't get KSNT-DT, but it seams to me that their picture quality has dropped way off. I first noticed it about half way through the Olympics. Anyone else notice?
BJS188 is offline  
post #466 of 2382 Old 09-10-2004, 08:58 AM
Member
 
MatthewT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only dropoff in PQ I noticed during the Olympics was with some of the outdoor events and I thought that was its own explanation. I haven't watched anything since then.
MatthewT is offline  
post #467 of 2382 Old 09-15-2004, 03:36 PM
Member
 
snm66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BJS188: I've noticed KSNT-DT signal has changed to. I used to receive it fairly solid. During the Olympics and since, the pic would lock up or macro block. I looked at the sig strength on my Hughes HD DirectTV Rec and it bounces around like crazy in the normal range. When it gets weaker (toward the bad side) it'll start to lock up. It's like they have turned their power down. I can get ch 41-DT out of KC so I usually watch it for HD programing. By the way, I get KC ch 9-DT at the top end of the meter. They must be at full power. Maybe this will help some who live in Topeka watch MNF. I live between Topeka and Lawrence.
snm66 is offline  
post #468 of 2382 Old 09-16-2004, 03:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
notreally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toto land
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i get KC 9DT with a 66" channelmaster mounted under the roof with a winegard preamp/amp. Works great. Live 1 mile east of lake shawnee, no hill no draw

If I knew for a certainty that a man was coming to my house with the conscious design of doing me good, I should run for my life.
Henry David Thoreau
notreally is offline  
post #469 of 2382 Old 09-17-2004, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
BJS188's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Topeka KS USA
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by snm66
BJS188: I've noticed KSNT-DT signal has changed to. I used to receive it fairly solid. During the Olympics and since, the pic would lock up or macro block. I looked at the sig strength on my Hughes HD DirectTV Rec and it bounces around like crazy in the normal range. When it gets weaker (toward the bad side) it'll start to lock up. It's like they have turned their power down. I can get ch 41-DT out of KC so I usually watch it for HD programing. By the way, I get KC ch 9-DT at the top end of the meter. They must be at full power. Maybe this will help some who live in Topeka watch MNF. I live between Topeka and Lawrence.

The signal for KSNT-DT is rock solid for me. They just seem to be giving it less bandwidth. Lots of motion artifiacts on Hawaii. I am now having problems with WIBW-DT. That signal does break up occasionally. Maybe my antenna needs adjusting.

I have had no luck getting any of the KC stations, but I think I am blocked by Burnett's Mound.
BJS188 is offline  
post #470 of 2382 Old 10-15-2004, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today is supposed to be the day for KTWU to go live on Cox HD service. Anyone seeing it?
timmy1376 is offline  
post #471 of 2382 Old 10-15-2004, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Brett Miles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: KS
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed it was on my HD tier this afternoon when I went home for lunch . The guide said "no data" for all times, and there was no actual programming, just a "temporarily unavailable" message. Is this something to be excited about? I don't watch PBS, so I'm not sure what kind of HD programming to expect.
Brett Miles is offline  
post #472 of 2382 Old 10-15-2004, 03:02 PM
Member
 
MatthewT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PBS has a dedicated HD feed that is separate from the SD feed. I believe the programming will occasionally be the same, but that is generally coincidence. I would describe the programming as mostly Discovery type shows. I've been able to watch KTWU-DT over the air but rarely watch it.
MatthewT is offline  
post #473 of 2382 Old 10-19-2004, 08:44 PM
Member
 
Brett Miles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: KS
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tonight I see that the guide has all the "no data"s for KTWU replaced with program titles, but there is still nothing showing on the channel. Anyone know what the problem/hold-up is?
Brett Miles is offline  
post #474 of 2382 Old 10-19-2004, 09:04 PM
Member
 
MatthewT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


nothing showing on the channel

Sorry, but I have no idea what you're talking about. I have KTWU on both the screen and the channel guide.
MatthewT is offline  
post #475 of 2382 Old 10-20-2004, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by MatthewT
Sorry, but I have no idea what you're talking about. I have KTWU on both the screen and the channel guide.

Brett is going through Cox for KTWU. I assume you are getting it OTA?
timmy1376 is offline  
post #476 of 2382 Old 10-20-2004, 11:08 AM
Member
 
MatthewT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Topeka, Kansas
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Brett is going through Cox for KTWU. I assume you are getting it OTA?

No. I read Brett's post about 20 minutes after he wrote it and ran down to the TV room and turned it on to KTWU HD on Cox and there it was - video, audio, channel guide listing, program information and everything. I didn't check it OTA.
MatthewT is offline  
post #477 of 2382 Old 10-21-2004, 08:59 AM
Member
 
gianfri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Topeka, KS. I have a roof antenna with a rotor (sorry, I don't know the model or specs). With that, I can receive all the local channels and also those broadcast from Kansas City (about 60-70 miles East). The problem is that the Kansas City channels seem to be unreliable: some days reception is perfect, and other days is poor or there is no signal at all. I have a sense that weather conditions may be in part responsible for that (cloudy, foggy, rainy weather like today makes reception more difficult). Is that correct? Any suggestions on how to improve the reception on those days?

Thank you,

Gianfranco

Gianfranco
gianfri is offline  
post #478 of 2382 Old 10-22-2004, 06:47 AM
Newbie
 
hd-in-ks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey gianfri a few quick questions. What stations from KC are you receiving? What area of town do you live? What kind of antenna equipment are you using? I live on the South East corner and with the standard antenna that came with my Voom service I can receive all 4 of the Topeka stations but can only receive the ABC station from KC. The only thing is Voom only finds the digital signals from the TV stations. None of the analog signals. Thanks for the info in advance.
hd-in-ks is offline  
post #479 of 2382 Old 10-22-2004, 07:25 AM
Member
 
gianfri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, as I said, I am not sure what equipment I have, my antenna guy (whom I trust) installed it for me a few months ago. I know that it is on the roof and it has a rotor. I live about 3 mls. W of downtown. If I point my antenna East, I can usually get reasonable reception from Kansas City for UPN, CBS, ABC, and NBC, as well as Pax from Lawrence. However, in recent weeks I have had troubles with some of those stations, primarily UPN, and it seems to be related to weather conditions.

So my question was more in general about how the weather affects reception of digital signals. It was moved by the moderator to the Topeka area thread, but I am not sure it belongs here, it is a more general question on how digital signals travel and are affected by external conditions.

Thank you for your reply.

Gianfranco
gianfri is offline  
post #480 of 2382 Old 10-22-2004, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gianfranco,
Welcome to the topeka thread. Weather condition will affect digital signals more if you are a good distance away from the tower. In your case, the weather will affect the KC channels much more than they will the Topeka channels.
If you are marginal to get them to begin with, the colder it gets, the more likely you will start to see more problems, as with the warm weather, the signal will "drift" more to you. It's called Tropo, but that term is used more when stations are hundreds of miles away, not the 70 to 80 you talk about.
During the summer, there are nights, with a set of rabbit ears, I can pickup Wichita stations, over 110 miles, with decent picture.

Do you have an amp on your antenna? Something to try.
timmy1376 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off