Prism Tv? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-16-2013, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bobvbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have experience with the new Century Link Prism system? I have had Direct for year's and wonder how these 2 compare. Thank'.s
bobvbc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-22-2014, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
jbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know this is an old post, but we have had Prism for the past 6 months and all I can say is that it is decent, definitely cheaper than what I was paying for Directv, but you get what you pay for. We have 4 TVs and only two of the 4 can view HD content at the same time, the other two sets have to be in SD. This also applies to the DVR. You can watch 1 HD show and record another HD, but if you have more than two HD streams running, then any other recordings will be in SD. This is due to the bandwidth limitation of the dual ADSL pipeline they use to deliver the service over. The HD quality is pretty good, but not as good as Directv. We have also had intermittent audio issue with digital audio, the sound will drop out occasionally and come back and drop out, its annoying to say the least, so we run most shows in stereo audio and not digital audio to eliminate the problem until they get it resolved. Overall its an ok service, we have combined internet phone and TV and the total bill is about $60 cheaper than we were paying for Directv alone. So overall it was about $150 savings when we combined everything.
jbanker is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-05-2014, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bobvbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, jbanker, Thank's for the info, I still can't decide what to do. I was hoping maybe Prism would come up w/ some deal's to get us in the system but so far not much.
bobvbc is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-02-2014, 09:07 PM
Newbie
 
Gobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The Villages, Central FL, USA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbanker View Post

I know this is an old post, but we have had Prism for the past 6 months and all I can say is that it is decent, definitely cheaper than what I was paying for Directv, but you get what you pay for. We have 4 TVs and only two of the 4 can view HD content at the same time, the other two sets have to be in SD. This also applies to the DVR. You can watch 1 HD show and record another HD, but if you have more than two HD streams running, then any other recordings will be in SD. This is due to the bandwidth limitation of the dual ADSL pipeline they use to deliver the service over. The HD quality is pretty good, but not as good as Directv. We have also had intermittent audio issue with digital audio, the sound will drop out occasionally and come back and drop out, its annoying to say the least, so we run most shows in stereo audio and not digital audio to eliminate the problem until they get it resolved. Overall its an ok service, we have combined internet phone and TV and the total bill is about $60 cheaper than we were paying for Directv alone. So overall it was about $150 savings when we combined everything.

You need to get a Fiber optic (FO) feed if you can.

I am recording 4 shows in HD concurrently right now, watching 2 HD recorded shows on 2 STBs and simultaneously downloading at 40 MBps or uploading at 5 MBps (www;speedtest.net). There are no dropouts at all. I am in The Villages Florida, where CL is putting in FO and converting customers from Comcast and DirecTV by the droves. They run FO right into the house to their FO Modem (Calix 716GE-I ONT). That feeds a Technicolor C2000T Gateway hardwired (RJ-45 cable) to the Pace IPH8005 DVR which connects to 1 TV and is the central video storage on a 500 GB HDD. The other 2 TVs are connected via a wireless Cisco ISB7005 STB. A dedicated Cisco VEN401-NA wireless router, hard wired to the gateway, feeds the remote STBs, Wireless to laptops, etc is handled by a WiFi built into the gateway.

This system works like a champ if you have a FO feed.
Gobi is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-03-2014, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bobvbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank's , Gobi, I have fiber into the house when Century link set me up last fall. I'm just reluctant to change from Direct which I know so well. Look's like maybe I need to switch.
bobvbc is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-27-2014, 02:06 PM
Newbie
 
jbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just thought I would add a follow up to my original post. My digital audio problem turned out to be the speaker wires from my receiver to my center channel not the prism tv service. The wires apparently got pinched and the problem was intermittent. I replaced the speaker wires and all is good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
jbanker is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-10-2014, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bobvbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Red face Prism!

I just switched from direct to prism and wow what a great system so far. Now I just need time to adjust to the new remote, I'll check back later w/ more info only have this for 2 day's.
bobvbc is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off