Harmony Remote Disabled Sound - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-14-2013, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JKD789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Purchased Harmony 650 remote & programming seemed to be fine until I tried adjusting volume. Sony TV 40W3000. Volume bar went presented by Harmony went from 0 to 30, but 30 was moderately loud and was unable to make it any louder. Spoke with Harmony tech line and while on the phone with them the tech reset some stuff on his end and then the sound disappeared totally! No clue nor did the tech. The TV and cable remotes both show sound level going up and down but no sound at all. Same for all channels and all levels. Playing Netflix thru BluRay works fine - sound is ok. And picture is good.
So, I've checked the basics - it's not muted, sound is set to TV speakers. Called cable company and they didn't find anything - tried alternate HDMI input for cable box input but still no sound. Did factory reset and still no sound.
Frustrating - you bet! But now what? Wondering if anyone has recommendations? And whether if I switch speakers to external audio whether that might work (don't have any such speakers to try now).
Thank you.
JKD789 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-14-2013, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Just for Jeepers, unplug your HDMI cable from your BD player and plug it in to your Comcast receiver. On the TV go to whatever input you had your BD player plugged into. Using your Cable and TV remotes do you get sound this way?

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-14-2013, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JKD789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestion but unfortunately already tried it w/o success. While it makes no sense to me, cable box may be culprit.
JKD789 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-14-2013, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 86
It certainly sounds like it. Does your cable box have component out a AV out? You might try that to see if it corrects the issue. If it does, then you have just about proven it to be the cable box....

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JKD789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Turns out cable box bad. Good news is sound is back. Still,quite the "coincidence" that sound disappeared while Harmony was "adjusting some settings" for me.
Thanks
JKD789 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bobby94928's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rohnert Park, CA
Posts: 4,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Excellent news. I'm glad you are back together! smile.gif

Bobby 

bobby94928 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
Remote Control Harmony 650 , Netflix

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off