Mobile, AL / Panama City, FL - HDTV - Page 115 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3421 of 4213 Old 02-02-2010, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
van2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Wala Fox 10 ?
Any one out there notice a weak signal on 10.1 today?
Are they having issues with their OTA signal ?
I live off Howells Ferry RD. between moffett and Schillinger Rd. in Mobile

I live off Gunn road 1/4 mile east of Schillinger on Three Notch in Mobile and I get all OTA channels with an 8 bay bowtie antenna mounted outside out on a 20' mast pointed east. I have only 1 splitter in the line and no amps. I even pick up WLOX off the backside on good clear days. The only time I have reception problems is during thunder storms with a lot of lightning. Any other time the reception is rock solid even on Fox 10 and has been that way since the transition June 12th. I recommend checking all cables, connectors, unions, amps, and the condition of the antenna. The smallest thing could prevent picking up a channel. I know an elderly couple in Miss. who were having problems picking up several channels and after looking into it I found that the connector at the antenna was corroded. Once I replaced the connector, all channels were received with 80% or higher signal strength. Antenna size, height, location and cables and connector condition are the key factors to good reception.

Have a great day.
van2112 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3422 of 4213 Old 02-02-2010, 12:07 PM
Newbie
 
van2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


I've been having low signal strength compared to rest of the locals(3,5,15). It has gotten worse the last month or so. I live off of Nan Gray Davis by Theodore Dawes in Theodore. I would surprised that people across the bay could pick up the channel reliably much less Pensacola. Come on Ch10, we need more power.


More power is not the solution, a better antenna is. If an indoor antenna is used, an outdoor antenna might have to be used instead. Make sure all cables and connectors are clean and in good condition and the antenna is pointed east towards baldwin county.
van2112 is offline  
post #3423 of 4213 Old 02-02-2010, 02:29 PM
Member
 
pdh0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
belive me we need more power from fox 10 its so hard to even pick them up
pdh0490 is offline  
post #3424 of 4213 Old 02-04-2010, 01:53 PM
Newbie
 
van2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


belive me we need more power from fox 10 its so hard to even pick them up

Why should I believe you? Are you and expert in such matters or work for Fox 10? If an elderly couple in Lucedale Miss. can pick it up, anyone should be able to. Fox 10's digital signal has been broadcasting at the same power level since it first went on the air in 2000. If your not willing to do what's required to pick it up then you have no right to complain. A set of rabbit ears just won't cut it now a days.
van2112 is offline  
post #3425 of 4213 Old 02-04-2010, 02:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Being the lone VHF in an otherwise all-UHF market is bad news. When an indoor antenna works for all the stations but one, people view the one station as the problem, not their antenna system. Plus, if LIN is serious about Mobile DTV, they'll have to move WALA to a UHF frequency because I'm not hearing wonderful things about VHF performance on Mobile.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3426 of 4213 Old 02-04-2010, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
sore_bluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Metairie, LA
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by van2112 View Post

Why should I believe you? Are you and expert in such matters or work for Fox 10? If an elderly couple in Lucedale Miss. can pick it up, anyone should be able to. Fox 10's digital signal has been broadcasting at the same power level since it first went on the air in 2000. If your not willing to do what's required to pick it up then you have no right to complain. A set of rabbit ears just won't cut it now a days.

Many people that live within the New Orleans city limits were having problems with WVUE's VHF broadcast and they are within 10 miles of the transmitter and using VHF/UHF antennas. That's why WVUE is moving back to UHF.
sore_bluto is offline  
post #3427 of 4213 Old 02-04-2010, 07:01 PM
Member
 
pdh0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fox 10 needs to get away from the vhf thats why we cant pick them up as good as the orthers
pdh0490 is offline  
post #3428 of 4213 Old 02-05-2010, 01:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by van2112 View Post

Why should I believe you? Are you and expert in such matters or work for Fox 10? If an elderly couple in Lucedale Miss. can pick it up, anyone should be able to. Fox 10's digital signal has been broadcasting at the same power level since it first went on the air in 2000. If your not willing to do what's required to pick it up then you have no right to complain. A set of rabbit ears just won't cut it now a days.

Actually I'd think rabbit ears would work since they're for VHF and not UHF.

I may wind up in the Mobile area next year, so pardon my snooping on the HDTV situation down there. It sounds similar to my situation in Mississippi, where I'm between three markets and only one station is VHF. WTVA out of Tupelo is on channel 8 (RF) and with a cheap amplified TV-top antenna in the attic it's by far my most reliable signal, despite the 40 miles of challenging terrain between myself and their tall tower.

Mobile seems a lot closer to WALA's tower site, and the terrain is even more favorable. Unless there's some shadowing due to the buildings downtown, I don't see how anyone should be having problems with even a modest antennagetting WALA anywhere in Mobile or Baldwin counties.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #3429 of 4213 Old 02-05-2010, 04:19 AM
Newbie
 
mathman32503's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Being the lone VHF in an otherwise all-UHF market is bad news. When an indoor antenna works for all the stations but one, people view the one station as the problem, not their antenna system. Plus, if LIN is serious about Mobile DTV, they'll have to move WALA to a UHF frequency because I'm not hearing wonderful things about VHF performance on Mobile.

- Trip

I've asked the engineer for WALA if they plan to switch. His answer was a pretty emphatic NO. He claims (if I were a tech nerd instead of a math nerd, I might know if this is true) that VHF is better than UHF. From the five minutes of research I did online, it seems like VHF offers better distance but is more susceptible to interference. Some of you know and can verify/refute this.
mathman32503 is offline  
post #3430 of 4213 Old 02-05-2010, 06:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
VHF uses less power to cover a given area, but is much more susceptible to electrical interference such as during thunderstorms. It is also much more difficult to receive on an indoor antenna.

LIN has been a major proponent of MDTV and that system works best on UHF. I can definitely see them trying it on WALA's VHF frequency but I can't see it actually working.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #3431 of 4213 Old 02-12-2010, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Mario500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WDPM-TV (radio frequency channel 23) has moved from virtual channel 4-1 to virtual channel 31-1. WSRE-TV (radio frequency channel 31) remains on virtual channel 23.
Mario500 is offline  
post #3432 of 4213 Old 02-14-2010, 07:11 AM
Member
 
wkp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This channel recently started showing up in my channel list, but I haven't been able to pick it up with my antenna. It is apparently a low power station out of Pascagoula. Is anybody in Mobile picking this channel up OTA?
wkp1 is offline  
post #3433 of 4213 Old 02-14-2010, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkp1 View Post

This channel recently started showing up in my channel list, but I haven't been able to pick it up with my antenna. It is apparently a low power station out of Pascagoula. Is anybody in Mobile picking this channel up OTA?

I'd be interested to hear if anyone can get this. I've got it listed as having three subchannels: .1 is America One programming, .2 is Retro TV and .3 as ION, but I suspect this information is incorrect. They have a website but it doesn't seem to be working.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #3434 of 4213 Old 02-15-2010, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Mario500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkp1 View Post

This channel recently started showing up in my channel list, but I haven't been able to pick it up with my antenna. It is apparently a low power station out of Pascagoula. Is anybody in Mobile picking this channel up OTA?

One of my home's three TV sets with an indoor antenna is capable of receiving the following stations from midtown Mobile except WKFK-TV:

WALA-TV
WKRG-TV
WPMI-TV
WEAR-TV
WJTC-TV
WFNA-TV
WHBR-TV
WMPV-TV
WDPM-TV
WSRE-TV
WEIQ-TV

The Mobile Press-Register includes WKFK-TV and WLOX-TV in the daily TV listings since this newspaper and the Mississippi Press share employees. The listings for WLOX-TV allow viewers in Mobile to compare the programming between this station and WEAR-TV.

Pardon me for mentioning this, but I have grown to dislike the overuse of the word "apparently", since many news presenters, reporters, and writers use it.
Mario500 is offline  
post #3435 of 4213 Old 02-15-2010, 09:02 AM
Member
 
daivd_t_36582's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Theodore, AL
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My father who lives about 5 miles north of Grand Bay (zip 36541) picks this station up of the back of his cm4228. I can't pick it up and I live 5 miles east of him. If I turn my antenna and rescan it might be there, but I am not sure.
daivd_t_36582 is offline  
post #3436 of 4213 Old 02-18-2010, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
257roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I installed the CM2016 in my attic, just suspended from a piece of nylon rope between two rafters. It upped the signal strength about 10 points on all stations, for example if WALA was coming in before at 80% then after the new antenna it is 90%. The main station that it helped was Fox 10 which I was having trouble bringing in reliably. It is now in the upper 80's so it is very watchable now. I am pleased with the upgrade. Was worth $35.
257roberts is offline  
post #3437 of 4213 Old 02-19-2010, 02:53 PM
Member
 
pdh0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just talked to joe over at wfgx tv and he said they are working on the new tower and he said the time line should be done by june
pdh0490 is offline  
post #3438 of 4213 Old 03-05-2010, 10:09 PM
Member
 
pdh0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mediacom is geting ready to add wfgx35 thay removed wpan thank god they never did show anything at all cant wait for wfgx35
pdh0490 is offline  
post #3439 of 4213 Old 03-07-2010, 03:40 PM
Member
 
poledo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gulf Breeze
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdh0490 View Post

mediacom is geting ready to add wfgx35 thay removed wpan thank god they never did show anything at all cant wait for wfgx35

Are they moving WFGX from channel 6 to channel 2?

WPAN goes off the air a lot, maybe that's why channel 2 is blank today? I don't think they can just drop a local channel, especially when WPAN's broadcast tower is about 2 miles from Mediacom's head end. At least WPAN carries local programming... if a channel needs to be dropped, drop WFBD.
poledo is offline  
post #3440 of 4213 Old 03-08-2010, 09:55 PM
Member
 
poledo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gulf Breeze
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WFGX is still on channel 6 and WPAN is back on the air today on channel 2. It looks like channel 705 might be reserved for WFGX-HD, I wonder why Mediacom isn't carrying WFGX-HD yet? I can pick it up OTA and they are far closer than I am.

I noticed that WPAN has added "Fort Walton, Pensacola, Mobile" to the new WPAN-DT legal ID slide. Is WPAN still carried anywhere in Mobile county?

Mediacom is supposed to be launching the three WSRE sub-channels, WKRG-Radar, WRKG-Retro, and I think another one this month. The strange thing is they are launching them on the analog tier!
These stations have shown up in SD on my QAM tuner for quite a while. I also get APTV and The Pentagon Channel on my QAM tuner, neither of which have been added to the "official channel lineup" of Mediacom in Santa Rosa County.
poledo is offline  
post #3441 of 4213 Old 03-09-2010, 12:41 PM
Member
 
pdh0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is mediacom going to add rtv am in gulf shores al i sure hope so
pdh0490 is offline  
post #3442 of 4213 Old 03-10-2010, 07:08 AM
Member
 
poledo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gulf Breeze
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mediacom lit up the new stations in Santa Rosa County today, but they aren't on the analog lineup, just digital channels with two digit numbers.

Channels:
80 - WKRG-2 Radar
81 - WKRG-3 Retro
82 - WSRE-2 World
83 - WSRE-3 Kids
84 - WSRE-4 Spanish
poledo is offline  
post #3443 of 4213 Old 03-10-2010, 07:16 AM
Member
 
pdh0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about the q&m turner will it be on that
pdh0490 is offline  
post #3444 of 4213 Old 03-10-2010, 12:31 PM
Member
 
poledo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Gulf Breeze
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah, they showed up on the QAM tuner over a month ago. I don't know why it took them so long to add them to the cable box and on screen guide.

WPMI.2 Weather = ch 100 = qam 87-9
WKRG.2 Radar = ch 80 = qam 111-2
WKRG.3 Retro = ch 81 = qam 111-4
WSRE.2 World = ch 82 = qam 112-5
WSRE.3 Plus = ch 83 = qam 112-6
WSRE.4 Spanish = ch 84 = 112-7
poledo is offline  
post #3445 of 4213 Old 03-10-2010, 01:11 PM
Member
 
pdh0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about me in gulf shores al tho we dont have them will we get them to
pdh0490 is offline  
post #3446 of 4213 Old 03-12-2010, 08:05 PM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone from WKRG's tech dept on here? Helloooooooooooooo....

Please, since you are the top network and where I record most of my tv shows, quit compressing/robbing your HD PQ to hell and back. Thats actually not right, it went to hell, but it has not come back.
ElwayLite is offline  
post #3447 of 4213 Old 03-13-2010, 05:08 AM
Member
 
pdh0490's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dont u make them take away my rtn network i love that network i dont care if it dose mess up they hd as long as they have rtn netwwork i dont care
pdh0490 is offline  
post #3448 of 4213 Old 03-14-2010, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
mobilelawyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am going through one of my yearnings to get a media center pc if I had some channels to record from other than over the air.

I current have Directv. I tried Mediacom, but the PQ on a high def big screen was poor beyond poor, and almost unbearable to watch. And I did not like the dvr at all.

Has it perchance gotten any better, or must we wait for Uverse?

BTW...Anybody in Mobile/Baldwin county have Uverse?

mobilelawyer
at your service
mobilelawyer is offline  
post #3449 of 4213 Old 03-14-2010, 11:17 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From my research, the only way you'll top D*'s PQ is FIOS, and we wont see that here. Uverse does not fare well on larger tv's either.
ElwayLite is offline  
post #3450 of 4213 Old 03-15-2010, 11:06 AM
 
ElwayLite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in Theodore and just ordered an AM21 for my Directv receiver.

I had an el CHEAPO $20 phillips, flat, HDTV antenna from Wally world that I tried as an experiment. With the antenna hanging 12 ft up on my liv room wall, the tv was able to pull in 4-5 bars (out of 5) on CBS, ABC and NBC. The antenna was not VHF, so I did not get Fox. I decided to order this guy

http://www.winegarddirect.com/viewit...9&p=WD-FV-HD30

and will connect it to the AM21 when I get it. I'm in Theodore near McDonald Road and Theodore Dawes Ext, and the antenna will be facing darn near due east. Will report back when everything is up.


http://www.walmart.com/ip/RCA-Passiv...tenna/11080816

Here is the Wally world one. It is rated 0-20 miles, so hopefully the higher quality Winegard thats rated 0-30 will give me what I need. I'm really just doing this because the D* locals leave a little to be desired on the 55", so I'm hoping this will help a bit.
ElwayLite is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off