Mobile, AL / Panama City, FL - HDTV - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 4209 Old 07-12-2002, 12:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds good, i think i'll probably go with the 82 when it comes out, then upgrade to a dvi 720p scaled dvd player in a year or so. Can't afford the tv and the samsung player right now, and there will probably be more out, and possibly more firewire dvdaudio/sacd players as well to hook to my receiver. Progress is nice
Cinder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 4209 Old 07-14-2002, 06:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whats going on with fox digital 9 ? (10-1) i am pulling in a strong signal but no picture. Its been like this for awhile now, i have rescanned always finding it and the guide, but no picture. Anyone else getting this?
Cinder is offline  
post #33 of 4209 Old 07-15-2002, 10:46 AM
Member
 
russdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan, AL
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
>Whats going on with fox digital 9 ? (10-1) i am pulling in a
>strong signal but no picture. Its been like this for awhile
>now, i have rescanned always finding it and the guide, but
>no picture. Anyone else getting this?

yep, same thing... sometimes the picture will flicker on for just a split second... but as a rule, it shows up as a strong signal that doesn't translate into picture or sound... (glad it's not just me ;-)

also, am curious: you guys refer to it as 9 or as 10-1... on my end, it shows up as 9.2... what does this mean?

thanks...
russdog is offline  
post #34 of 4209 Old 07-15-2002, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Technically it is channel 9, but different stb's map it to different channels. My zenith 1080 maps it to 10-1.
Cinder is offline  
post #35 of 4209 Old 07-19-2002, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found this CEA link that shows ABC and UPN Live dates as 11/01/2002.

http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/address.asp

Then you have to type in your address.

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish VIP722K HD DVR receiver w/ external HD
Dish VIP211K HD receiver w/ ext HD
Yamaha RX765 with Polk speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #36 of 4209 Old 07-19-2002, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
argh, when is fox going to fix their digital feed...

Any info on if abc and upn will upconvert to 480p at least? Also wonder if upn will pass the enterprise hd feed. Hope abc goes hidef (doubt it) by the superbowl.
Cinder is offline  
post #37 of 4209 Old 07-19-2002, 11:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is if the Superbowl is in HD.

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish VIP722K HD DVR receiver w/ external HD
Dish VIP211K HD receiver w/ ext HD
Yamaha RX765 with Polk speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #38 of 4209 Old 07-19-2002, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
True, but i believe it will be. We shall see.
Cinder is offline  
post #39 of 4209 Old 08-01-2002, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got an E-mail from Joe Addalia [FOX] and here is where we are at.

_________________________________________________________
Hi Bobby,

We are waiting for an aspect ratio converter card. Since the FOX widescreen feed is SD its anamorphic and instead of switching our format converter in and out of anamorphic mode, we opted to do it right and use one aspect ratio. However if I knew it would take this long to do it right, I would have done something in the interim.

We spoke to the manufacturer, Miranda Technologies, this afternoon and they said any day now. I'm really sorry about the delay, it has just been out of our hands. The good news is all of the switching and automation is in place and ready.

We will install the card as soon as it comes in and start the widescreen FOX Network as soon as everything is tested.

Thanks for your patience,

Joe

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #40 of 4209 Old 08-01-2002, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish that one of our local channels would add HDNet to their feed when the network is not braodcasting HD. They can get it for free from Mark Cuban. If NBC added it, they would be broadcasting HDNet most of the time. They can add their own commercials. Maybe, we ought to request they do it.

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish VIP722K HD DVR receiver w/ external HD
Dish VIP211K HD receiver w/ ext HD
Yamaha RX765 with Polk speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #41 of 4209 Old 08-01-2002, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jerry, according to some post, some stations are already doing this.
Rick, call Mr. Phillips at WSRE and tell him that HDnet is "free" for the asking.
WSRE has no HD during the day so why not give Mark Cuban a call and show it during the day.

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #42 of 4209 Old 08-01-2002, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RickRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach. FL
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bobby, I think WSRE is happy with their daytime multicasting. This is apparently part of the PBS long range plan - multicasting a combination of regular programming and either PBSYou, PBSKids, or state/local education programming. Never hurts to ask.

Rick Steverson

Surely you didn't make the mistake of thinking I know what I'm talking about?!!
RickRS is offline  
post #43 of 4209 Old 08-12-2002, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, you can take this for what its worth.
I just got this e-mail from Joe Addalia [Fox] about W/S.

Bobby,



We are going to be testing the FOX Widescreen switching tonight. If all goes as planned we will have it in place for every Primetime. FOX has not released any information on Sports yet, but we'll be able to pass that along as well.



Thanks for your patience,



Joe

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #44 of 4209 Old 08-12-2002, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got this update from WEAR ABC. Not the best news, but at least they are progressing. No HD from ABC this Fall.


Jerry,

We have taken delivery of our Digital Transmitter and our engineering
staff is working at the new tower site on various aspects of getting
ready for installation of the transmitter and antenna. Our target date
is still November 1st for being on-air. At the present time, our
equipment will only up-convert our standard analog signal to digital
format...we do not have the necessary equipment to broadcast
high-definition. That could possibly change by January, but we don't
know at this point.

Thank you again for your interest in WEAR-TV programming, and have a
very nice
day.

Joe Smith

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish VIP722K HD DVR receiver w/ external HD
Dish VIP211K HD receiver w/ ext HD
Yamaha RX765 with Polk speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #45 of 4209 Old 08-12-2002, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox 480p 16:9 is up and running.

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #46 of 4209 Old 08-12-2002, 06:03 PM
Member
 
russdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan, AL
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by trich
Fox 480p 16:9 is up and running.

It sure looks great... for the split-second views of it that I receive...

Does anyone have a clue as to why...

* I get fine reception on the other digital channels
* the Fox channel has the strongest signal (by a small margin)
* the Fox channel produces either zero picture-and-sound or only brief flickers of it.

I have moved the antenna around without effect.

Any ideas re: fine signal and no picture?

thanks...
russdog is offline  
post #47 of 4209 Old 08-12-2002, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting the same thing and have been for some time. I really don't think this is a problem on our end, but is on their end.
Cinder is offline  
post #48 of 4209 Old 08-12-2002, 07:11 PM
Member
 
russdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan, AL
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Cinder
I'm getting the same thing and have been for some time. I really don't think this is a problem on our end, but is on their end.

I agree that it's not on our end. So, either it's on their end or else it's some kind of weirdness between here and there.

They're probably not gonna fix the problem unless they know it's a problem, so we probably oughta honk at 'em. I was hoping that somebody here would have a clue as to what it is, so that we'd know what we're asking them to do.

later...
russdog is offline  
post #49 of 4209 Old 08-13-2002, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have found that WALA's FOX digital channel is sometimes on 09-02, instead of 09-01. Try it, when it comes on for a second then go away. Let me know if it works.

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish VIP722K HD DVR receiver w/ external HD
Dish VIP211K HD receiver w/ ext HD
Yamaha RX765 with Polk speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #50 of 4209 Old 08-13-2002, 12:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, fox digital for the zenith 1080 has always mapped to 10-1. Its still there but i receive no picture, however if i pull up my channel guide then a picture appears in 10-1 that is the fox digital feed. It is extremely pixelated like i'm getting a terrible signal. My signal is about 90% maxed out on the strength meter, and i've never had trouble before.

Now i also have channel 9-1 that is suddenly on my channel guide. No picture here no matter what i do. Also get a strong signal. I've rescanned and 9-1 went away, leaving the strange 10-1 feed.
Cinder is offline  
post #51 of 4209 Old 08-13-2002, 01:30 PM
Member
 
russdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan, AL
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by jerryez
I have found that WALA's FOX digital channel is sometimes on 09-02, instead of 09-01. Try it, when it comes on for a second then go away. Let me know if it works.

9.2 is where I'm looking... it's the only place I've gotten FOX (I got the set a couple months ago, so never looked before then)...
russdog is offline  
post #52 of 4209 Old 08-15-2002, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I sent WALA FOX an email about their mapping of the channel. The fixed the problem and sent me a reply. Check your Fox, it should be mapping to 10-01 now.

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish VIP722K HD DVR receiver w/ external HD
Dish VIP211K HD receiver w/ ext HD
Yamaha RX765 with Polk speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #53 of 4209 Old 08-15-2002, 07:09 AM
Member
 
russdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Gulf Shores/Fort Morgan, AL
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just rescanned, and it's still on 9.2 (which is ok with me)...

also, all the sudden, I can now get picture, but the sound is choppy... audio is in and out every few seconds, garbled to point where the channel isn't watchable... any ideas?
russdog is offline  
post #54 of 4209 Old 08-15-2002, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just for reference i moved my antenna very little yesterday afternoon, apparently it had started pointing upward a bit. Anyway yesterday i suddenly got fox in picture wise, but the sound was choppy. Now checking fox the sound is fine. I'm sure this all has less to do with my antenna than what fox is doing, but just throwing it out there.
Cinder is offline  
post #55 of 4209 Old 08-15-2002, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How far is Daphne from the towers at the Styx exit. I am 30 miles from the towers and get a 90 and above on Fox. I even get a 65 on CBS, which is my lowest strength signal.

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish VIP722K HD DVR receiver w/ external HD
Dish VIP211K HD receiver w/ ext HD
Yamaha RX765 with Polk speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #56 of 4209 Old 08-15-2002, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not very far at all. Couldn't tell you exactly, but i know its less than 30 miles. Signal strength is no problem for me.
95- fox
80- nbc
75- cbs
55- wsre

i was just having the same problems russ was having with fox, but now i'm good. The only channels i really have a lot of trouble pulling in are analog 44 and 55. I have 55 watchable now (that is until i get my new set, then i'm sure it will go to hell.) but 44 sucks.
Cinder is offline  
post #57 of 4209 Old 08-15-2002, 10:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get Fox on 9.1 with my HD100. I am [was] not having the trouble that ya'll were having. Don't know why. 95- 97 signal strength. Daniel you live 20 miles or so closer to the tower than me. Your are only about 5-7 miles max from it. CBS tower will be about 5 miles east north east up hy.31 from the FOX tower.

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #58 of 4209 Old 08-15-2002, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cool, explains why i have no trouble with those channels. Do you know where the towers are that have the wb and upn on them are?
Cinder is offline  
post #59 of 4209 Old 08-15-2002, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cinder ask.

Do you know where the towers are that have the wb and upn on them are?
_____________________________________________________
Daniel I have no idea.

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #60 of 4209 Old 08-15-2002, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no problem, i'll figure it out.
Cinder is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off