Mobile, AL / Panama City, FL - HDTV - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 4213 Old 09-10-2003, 08:07 AM
Member
 
rute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pensacola, FL Off Lillian & Blue Angel
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone notice that Cox now offers HD.

Here's the lowdown:

$9.95/Month for HD receiver ($499 to purchase)
$49.95 Installation

HBO HD and Showtime HD included with respective digital packages.

ESPN HD $4.95/Month
Discovery HD $4.95/Month

PBS HD Free

ABC/NBC/FOX/CBS Not available

I had to laugh at this, especially since I know they've been working on getting all of this setup since before February.

One question I had was that I heard you have to subscribe to Cox digital to get HD, but nowhere on the site can I find this.

Steve
rute is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 4213 Old 09-10-2003, 08:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The digital package is required to get HD. Also, the locals are not carried because they all wanted Cox to carry their full bandwidth, which would include the sub channels. I hear that Cox refused.

Dish will offer HDnet, HDnet movies, ESPNHD and Discovery HD for $9.95 per month starting on Sept 16th. D already offers a HD package for $10.95 per month. Why would anyone sign up with Cox. Their digital packages contain half the channels of the Dish or D packages.

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish HOPPER with Sling
Onkyo TX-NR636 with Polk speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #723 of 4213 Old 09-10-2003, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RickRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach. FL
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a report from a fellow FWB resident that Cox is rolling out HD on cable here. Yes, digital cable is required. He said there is a small charge, like 3.95, to get the digital to his analog cable package in order to add HD if you don't have digital cable already. Only local channel is WSRE-PBS which is include in the deal. Pricing and channels appears to be same as Steve reports in Penacola.


I'm inviting him to join in here with his first hand information.

Rick Steverson

Surely you didn't make the mistake of thinking I know what I'm talking about?!!
RickRS is offline  
post #724 of 4213 Old 09-11-2003, 08:07 AM
Senior Member
 
JC West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mobile Al.
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Cinder

i want my hd mnf oh well, watching me raiders tonight in hd , i hope

If you have a clear line of sight to the West you probably could get ABC on WLOX-DT with a CM 4228 and a CM 7775 or 7777 pre-amp. I have an itty bitty crack between the trees and I get it @ 100% signal. Your line of sight to where I live is about the Dog River bridge.

Since I got WLOX I even watch George Lopez and MNF is super.........

J C
JC West is offline  
post #725 of 4213 Old 09-11-2003, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a 4228 and a 7777 preamp , i pull in everything extremely well except wlox, but i have to aim east in order to pull them in. i'd need a rotor (not possible in its current attic installation) or more likely a second uhf antenna pointing west, i'll have to ponder that as i'm sure that would create havok with my current installation.

i may have to do some study, alias and mnf would be sweet in hd.
Cinder is offline  
post #726 of 4213 Old 09-11-2003, 08:36 AM
Member
 
wrkh99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Mobile AL
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
not possible in its current attic installation


There is your problem ! Put it outside and up at least 20 feet and you will have no problems geting WLOX HD and MNF
wrkh99 is offline  
post #727 of 4213 Old 09-11-2003, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure that would fix everything, except WAF would take a nosedive
Cinder is offline  
post #728 of 4213 Old 09-11-2003, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
JC West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mobile Al.
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 7777 pre-amp killed the signal on all digital coming from my standard antenna, 3, 5 10 etc using a combiner so I installed a RS remote A/B swithh and ta da............... Smooth sailing.

J C
JC West is offline  
post #729 of 4213 Old 09-11-2003, 05:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
interesting idea if i decide to go that route. Currently i am combining a vhf stealthtenna outside (wife friendly) with the cm 4228 inside via teh cm 7777 preamp. I could have them set as one antenna, then the 3rd antenna, maybe just a simple uhf antenna always off except when i want to watch abc hd, may play around with this... i just don't want to touch my attic 4228, was a bitch to get it setup right and pull in everything strong.
Cinder is offline  
post #730 of 4213 Old 09-11-2003, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RickRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach. FL
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jerryez
Also, the locals are not carried because they all wanted Cox to carry their full bandwidth, which would include the sub channels. I hear that Cox refused.

Why would they carry WSRE then? Its the only one of two stations that really is using their subchannels, with WALA-FOX and its WB subchannel being the other. Cox is carrying all three WSRE sub-channels. WMPI doesn't do subchannels, and WKRG weather subchannel is not that important, really. Something else is going on, IMHO.

Rick Steverson

Surely you didn't make the mistake of thinking I know what I'm talking about?!!
RickRS is offline  
post #731 of 4213 Old 09-11-2003, 06:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
jerryez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Pensacola,FL,USA
Posts: 904
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One of the stations tech people told me that a few months back. If there is no problem and the stations offer HD, then why are they not carried by Cox.

How do you know that they have the WSRE sub channels?

Jerry

Samsung PN63B550 HDTV
Dish HOPPER with Sling
Onkyo TX-NR636 with Polk speakers
Samsung pn1600 Blu Ray Player
jerryez is offline  
post #732 of 4213 Old 09-12-2003, 06:29 AM
Member
 
rute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pensacola, FL Off Lillian & Blue Angel
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jerryez
If there is no problem and the stations offer HD, then why are they not carried by Cox.


Just a guess but a couple of reasons come to mind.

1. The stations have exclusive HD contracts with the satellite providers.

2. The stations want too much money for the HD feed.

3. The stations don't currently have the equipment to provide the HD feed to Cox. (I'm not sure if this would be any different than how we pick it up via antenna but I assume so.)

Steve
rute is offline  
post #733 of 4213 Old 09-12-2003, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well Daniel I have tried for three days to get WLOX and no go. Up as hi as 30', three different antennas and two amps. I give up. Too many trees. Five feet above sea-level don't help either.

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #734 of 4213 Old 09-12-2003, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bobby,

wow that must have been a lot of work and still no success. I may try something with a 3rd antenna but may hold up.

Anyone have any idea when digital 44 and digital 55 will start transmitting program info?
Cinder is offline  
post #735 of 4213 Old 09-12-2003, 09:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RickRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach. FL
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jerryez
How do you know that they have the WSRE sub channels?

Here is the Cox "currently available" HD list: http://www.cox.com/gulfcoast/digital...D_Channels.asp

I don't know why Cox wouldn't have NBC and CBS from either Mobile or Dothan on their list. All three currently have an antenna pointed rignt at them on Cox's tower here in FWB. It maybe possible that Cox uses single channel yagi's, antennas turned to a single channel to have maximum gain, and they don't have anything for the "new" DTV channels broadcasting HD (we all know those "new" DTV stations have been on the air for some time now, but that's beside the point to Cox, right?) Just guessing.

Rick Steverson

Surely you didn't make the mistake of thinking I know what I'm talking about?!!
RickRS is offline  
post #736 of 4213 Old 09-23-2003, 03:54 PM
Member
 
mtchd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mary Esther, Fl
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cox is in negotiations with all the local OTA's. WSRE is the only one at this time to agree to be carried on Cox.
mtchd is offline  
post #737 of 4213 Old 09-25-2003, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
JC West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mobile Al.
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it just me or did anyone else hear any audio distortion last light during Law & Order?

J C
JC West is offline  
post #738 of 4213 Old 09-25-2003, 05:18 AM
Senior Member
 
beachrez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Audio Distortion

NBC or WPMI-DT seems to have had both audio and video problems for the past two nights. I did notice the distortion during several NBC programs last night.
beachrez is offline  
post #739 of 4213 Old 09-25-2003, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
beachrez, it looks like a lot of people have had trouble with NBC.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=305522

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #740 of 4213 Old 09-25-2003, 12:06 PM
Member
 
rray32539's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sewanee, Tennessee USA
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mtchd
Cox is in negotiations with all the local OTA's. WSRE is the only one at this time to agree to be carried on Cox.

Cox is unable to get Sinclair (WEAR-3 ABC) permission to import a second out of market signal to any of it systems except Niceville.The Niceville cable system is the only system that does have WMBB-13 ABC Panama City as an alternative to the upconverted stuff. I think the reason that happended is the previous owners made it a condition of the sale.

I don't get WMBB on cable, either, but with a fringe antenna and an amplifier, Monday Night Football and the Tonight show are killer. And with all of the high resolution signals I get with my big dish, it makes the experience just like the theatre, without the sticky floors!

American by birth, Southern by the grace of God, Macintosh user since 1995.

Richard Lawrence Ray
Armed Forces Network 1983-1996
rray32539 is offline  
post #741 of 4213 Old 09-25-2003, 01:02 PM
Senior Member
 
JC West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mobile Al.
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by beachrez
Audio Distortion

NBC or WPMI-DT seems to have had both audio and video problems for the past two nights. I did notice the distortion during several NBC programs last night.

Thanks

The modem has failed on my TS-160 and I was tuning up the replacement box from Samsung last night and thought the noise was in the referb unit glad to hear it's not just me.

J C
JC West is offline  
post #742 of 4213 Old 09-27-2003, 08:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
RobertWood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 17,185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm near downtown Pensacola and I have pretty heavy tree cover in the yard. Ever since WKRG digital took to the air I've been struggling to receive it. I had the big Radio Shack antenna about 18' above the ground and couldn't get 27 to save my life. I bought a preamp and put it in the line and still no go.
Recently someone gave me one of those little amplified Winegard antennas. I replaced the mast with 30 feet of interlocking chain link fence post. Once I got it aimed I'm getting an 82 signal strength. Eureka!
So if you're in Pensacola and you have tree cover and you're having trouble getting WKRG then try adding some height to your antenna. Might do the trick.

p.s boy either this antenna is super directional or aiming is crucial. If I rotate it just 3 or 4 degrees the signal drops to 28-30.

Bob
RobertWood is offline  
post #743 of 4213 Old 09-27-2003, 12:59 PM
Senior Member
 
JC West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mobile Al.
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alabama Game:
On WKRG-DT I am not receiving any audio from the announcers, only getting crowd noise and background noise. When I switch to analog they're talking away.

Is anyone else having this problem or is it just me??
I'm just a few days into breaking in a warranty replacement Samsung STB and need to know if it's defective..

Thanks J C

Sunday A.M.:
After the weather delay ended and they did the restart when the HDTV banner scrolled across the bottom of the screen the sound popped on and didn't bobble throughout the game. Don't guess they flipped the switch for the pre-game stuff.
JC West is offline  
post #744 of 4213 Old 09-27-2003, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the 3rd week that this had happened. It is not just us, it's all over the country. Something to do with 5.1.

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #745 of 4213 Old 09-28-2003, 11:11 PM
Member
 
rray32539's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sewanee, Tennessee USA
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why complain? Do you think the folks filling the seats at the stadium can hear the announcers? For me, hearing the event sans narration is almost a blessing!

American by birth, Southern by the grace of God, Macintosh user since 1995.

Richard Lawrence Ray
Armed Forces Network 1983-1996
rray32539 is offline  
post #746 of 4213 Old 09-29-2003, 05:57 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
RickRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ft. Walton Beach. FL
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didn't anybody have a problem with NBC last night? All I got was a dark screen (its gray when no signal is available on my Samsung) and some distorted audio. PBS was also off the air, at least for me. UPN was fine, WEAR-ABC was fine, and WMBB-ABC was spotty on reception, but it was there. There was no complains about NBC on the national level, so it seems to be a local problem. Maybe local to my STB?

Rick Steverson

Surely you didn't make the mistake of thinking I know what I'm talking about?!!
RickRS is offline  
post #747 of 4213 Old 09-29-2003, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
trich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes Rick, I have been having trouble for a while with NBC. You never know if will be in HD or not. Last night no picture.........Tim needs some help......

Bobby Ray
trich is offline  
post #748 of 4213 Old 09-29-2003, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
JC West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mobile Al.
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same here..........

Black screen with Donald Duck audio.
I e-mailed Tim This morning and got a reply right back saying he'll be out of the office til Oct. 6th.

J C
JC West is offline  
post #749 of 4213 Old 09-29-2003, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
beachrez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another Report on Sunday night:

NBC: Black screen and garbled sound (And bad audio on previous nights when video was coming through.)
PBS: Stong signal but no audio/video
Everyone else OK. (Actually, since I refuse to watch WEAR-DT, I don't know if they were OK or not!)
beachrez is offline  
post #750 of 4213 Old 09-29-2003, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Daphne, Al
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
interesting, i just checked wpmi with my zenith 520 and everything looks good on my end.

that said the bama pbs channel is in and out and their tower has to be right on top of me, strange.
Cinder is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off