2 HDTV signals from same transmitter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 05-05-2014, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
squirrel 24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fries Virginia
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not sure may have to switch antennas from satelitte to tv to find out for sure but WVVA in Bluefield appears to be broadcasting 2 stations in HD WVVA DT and the CW if its not in HD its the best attempt i have saw at 16\9 SD 6.2 LOOKS AS GOOD AS 6.1HD.
squirrel 24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 05-06-2014, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 77
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #3 of 17 Old 06-12-2014, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Other stations have done the same thing (local CBS/CW did it recently)....with new mux stats, its amazing what you can get on one carrier now....one local in SE Texas has ABC, NBC (downconverted to 720), COZI (at 720 on air but source from the sat is not yet) and Me at 480i!!

There WAS one station in La that tried two 1080i streams...did not work at all....possibly with latest equipment, it can....
BPTTV is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 06-13-2014, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
ejb1980's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NW VT
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by squirrel 24 View Post
I am not sure may have to switch antennas from satelitte to tv to find out for sure but WVVA in Bluefield appears to be broadcasting 2 stations in HD WVVA DT and the CW if its not in HD its the best attempt i have saw at 16\9 SD 6.2 LOOKS AS GOOD AS 6.1HD.
It is also done with other stations. Locally in NC, there is:

WTVD Durham
11-1 ABC HD
11-2 LWN HD
11-3 LWN (exact same stupid thing in SD for NO REASON!)

40 WUVC Fayetteville / 26 WTNC Durham both show:
xx-1 Univision HD
xx-2 Unimas HD
xx-3 Bounce
xx-4 GetTV

(Well, Unimas and Univison are reversed on WTNC, which gets both on satellite, even though WTNC is LP - but both are HD OTA on both channels.)
ejb1980 is online now  
post #5 of 17 Old 06-13-2014, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
KTRK ABC13 in Houston does the same thing with LW.....but the bits the two channels of LW starve the main 13.1 channel at times...WHY ABC requires both HD and SD of LW on their O&Os makes some of us shake our heads...but as of January, ABC is dropping LW:

http://www.broadcastingcable.com/new...network/131646

Last edited by BPTTV; 06-13-2014 at 08:55 PM.
BPTTV is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 06-17-2014, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
iowegian3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: southern Colorado
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel sharing is a trend that will only accelerate, especially in smaller markets. With the FCC making duopolies harder to accomplish, acquiring entities are choosing to acquire the non-license assets and agreements of a station, basically everything but the FCC license, transmitter and antenna, then the sellers of the station take it dark. KHAS-TV 5 in Hastings NE went dark last week. More here in Gray's press release: http://gray.tv/index.php?page=press-...easeid=1939826

Look for Sinclair to go the same route with the ABC affiliation in Birmingham AL, with current ABC affiliates 33 and 40 likely gogoing dark.

www.therenegaderoadhouse.co Southern rock, pop and country favorites play here!
iowegian3 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 06-17-2014, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jamieh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington NC
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One of my local stations run 2 HD channels.

WNCT 9.1 CBS HD 1080i
WNCT 9.1 CW HD 720p

Its amazing how far digital tv has come.
Look at the ION channels
For example the over the air ION channels here
38.1 ION HD
38.2 qubo SD
38.3 ION LIFE SD
38.4 Shop SD
38.5 QVC SD
38.6 HSN SD

Directv HD
Samsung UN50H6350 50" LED Smart TV


Channel Master 4228 antenna
Greenville NC, Ral-Durham NC ota market
jamieh1 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 06-18-2014, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
that right,Well, Unimas and Univison are reversed on WTNC, which gets both on satellite,[IMG]http://*******/BqayBL[/IMG] even though WTNC is LP.thanks
postsscard is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 06-19-2014, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
wintertime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Out of curiosity, assuming that a station has the available bandwidth to do so, what's involved in putting up a new subchannel?
wintertime is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 06-20-2014, 09:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintertime View Post
Out of curiosity, assuming that a station has the available bandwidth to do so, what's involved in putting up a new subchannel?
Money. Seriously.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #11 of 17 Old 06-20-2014, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
wintertime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Money" as in another whole transmitter?
wintertime is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 10-11-2014, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by wintertime View Post
"Money" as in another whole transmitter?
No...digital subchannels are part of the serial data stream....to put another subchannel in the stream would require the proper encoder (if the encoder in use is only a single channel unit) and of course the needed receiving sat gear and/or automation to play the programming for the channel plus a monitor set to it plus the insertion gear for EAS and IDs as required under Part 73 and 74 of the FCC rules..

The transmitter can handle whatever is in the 19MB stream...but equipment ahead of the transmitter cost $$$
BPTTV is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 10-12-2014, 06:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by ejb1980 View Post
It is also done with other stations. Locally in NC, there is:

WTVD Durham
11-1 ABC HD
11-2 LWN HD
11-3 LWN (exact same stupid thing in SD for NO REASON!)
\
The reason LWN is simulcast in SD is because all WTVD channels are must-carry on area cable systems. Cable systems are only required to downconvert 11-1 in SD. The 11-3 ensures that cable viewers with SD only boxes can see it.
nyctveng is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 10-13-2014, 05:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
LWN is going away in January anyway...so no biggie (will free up some bits for the main HD channel)
BPTTV is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 10-14-2014, 05:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by BPTTV View Post
LWN is going away in January anyway...so no biggie (will free up some bits for the main HD channel)
You're assuming they just turn it off and don't replace it with something else, which I find to be highly unlikely. ABC indicated they're looking at some type of local news type programming, which would almost certainly also be in HD.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #16 of 17 Old 10-15-2014, 01:46 PM
Member
 
D. Shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WMAZ-TV here in Macon has 2 HD streams on one signal

CBS 1080i
CW 720p
weather radar 480i (though the radar looks grainy at times)
D. Shadow is online now  
post #17 of 17 Old 10-15-2014, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BPTTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by D. Shadow View Post
WMAZ-TV here in Macon has 2 HD streams on one signal

CBS 1080i
CW 720p
weather radar 480i (though the radar looks grainy at times)
KFDM also has the same setup (well, only CBS and CW..and its probably the CW PLUS, not the main CW feed)....KBMT has 3 720ps and one 480i on one carrier...(well, one of the 720s is COZI which is showing shows in 480i 4x3 for the most part but it IS a 720p signal...if/when COZI starts showing newer material)

Last edited by BPTTV; 10-15-2014 at 07:19 PM.
BPTTV is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off