What type of HDMI cable to install in walls / ceiling - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-12-2014, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mpvosseller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm having an electrician install a 40' HDMI cable in my walls (to run from TV to closet in back of the room).

 

It will run through a few walls and along the ceiling of an unfinished basement and garage.

 

The Monoprice "40ft Ultra Slim Series High Performance HDMI® Cable w/ RedMere® Technology" seems good (latest tech, cheap-ish, thin / easy to turn corners).

 

But Is RedMere more likely to fail than other cables?

Some other cables advertise as being good for "in-wall"?

 

Anything else I should be thinking about?

mpvosseller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-12-2014, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 235
First of all I would install your cable, whatever you choose, in a 1" conduit. It makes repairing/replacing cable so much easier. Add a pull-string or two for future cable pulls as well.

Keep the bends in the cable to an absolute minimum. No 90 degree bends if possible.

A Redmere cable would certainly work well but, they do have a chipset in one end, so like any other electronic device, they can fail. If you've installed the cable in a big enough conduit without sharp bends, you could replace the cable if it fails without too much difficulty. I would consider solid core CAT-6 and then terminate with HDBase-T. Probably a little more expensive but it would work, be easy to repair/add, and basically it would "future-proof" your setup to quite some time.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-12-2014, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mpvosseller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Great idea! Hadn't thought of HDMI over ethernet.

 

So I assume all I need is a 40' CAT-6 cable and something like these wallplates:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=109&cp_id=10914&cs_id=1091401&p_id=10224&seq=1&format=2

 

Would you bother with a 1" conduit and pull-string for a cat-6 cable? 

mpvosseller is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 05-12-2014, 06:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mpvosseller's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Great idea! I hadn't thought of HDMI over ethernet.

 

So I guess I just need 1 40' CAT-6 and something like Monoprice Product ID: 10224 "HDBaseT Wall Plate Extender Kit"?

 

 

Would use bother with the 1" conduit and pull strings for a CAT-6 cable?

mpvosseller is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off