Lexington, KY - HDTV - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2004, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lexington,Kentucky,USA
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by nuts4scuba
I drove down Monday afternoon. Saw that it was starting to go up,
but you still couldn't see it from I-75. How high are they now?

Their under 200 as its not lit yet..
William Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2004, 09:52 AM
Member
 
nuts4scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by HDTVChallenged
Cough ... be careful what you ask for, you just might get it

I had asked him if they were going to move it over to it's own channel.
This wasn't the answer I was hoping for.
nuts4scuba is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by nuts4scuba
I emailed WKYT's station manager this morning about UPN and HD. This is
the reply I received from him:

We will be carrying UPN on digital channel 27-2 for the
immediate future. It will be some time before we will have the
capability of transmit a high definition signal for UPN programming, but
we eventually will. I know my response is vague, but it involves
compression capabilities with our bandwidth and we just do not have all
the answers and/or equipment yet. Thanks for your interest. Wayne

That's surprising they answered your e-mail. I've sent several and never got a response. I'm also surprised by their answer, but by the time I bet they have the capability, Enterprise will already be cancelled since the show doesn't seem to be doing well. Maybe they will have a killer season and come back next fall. Or at least go into syndication.
BenCJedi is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by William Smith
Their under 200 as its not lit yet..

Great to hear construction is under way! Just a matter of time! I hope we won't experience the stutters HDTVChallenged is experiencing.
BenCJedi is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 153
How hard is it to throw a stinkin' switch already? Poof! Commercials go bye, bye
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 06:19 PM
Member
 
nuts4scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by HDTVChallenged
How hard is it to throw a stinkin' switch already? Poof! Commercials go bye, bye



08:17 switched.
nuts4scuba is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by nuts4scuba
08:17 switched.

Unacceptable! I think whoever is in charge at WTVQ needs to place some responsibility on whoever throws the switch for HD.
BenCJedi is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:


Originally posted by BenCJedi
Unacceptable! I think whoever is in charge at WTVQ needs to place some responsibility on whoever throws the switch for HD.

Hay ya know if any Lexington stations want to pay me to monitor their digital transmissions for them, I'd be happy to call (long distance) everytime there's a problem like this ... otherwise I'm just going to change the channel
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 04:35 AM
Member
 
nuts4scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by HDTVChallenged
Hay ya know if any Lexington stations want to pay me to monitor their digital transmissions for them, I'd be happy to call (long distance) everytime there's a problem like this ... otherwise I'm just going to change the channel


I tried to call them, but all you get is their directory. I was getting ready to call their news tip line and give them a tip that they weren't showing LOST
in HD when they switched it.
nuts4scuba is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:16 AM
Member
 
chuckgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by nuts4scuba
... I was getting ready to call their news tip line ...

This is the number I call everytime they forget to switch, just tell them to call the control room.. usually switched right away.. shouldn't have to call at all!

p.s. I was busy and missed the first part of the show or I would have called... it's on speed dial
chuckgr is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lexington,Kentucky,USA
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We have a toll free number ...

Our switches are automated...Master Control isn't involved with the HD feed here at this time..
William Smith is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:


Originally posted by William Smith
We have a toll free number ...

Our switches are automated...Master Control isn't involved with the HD feed here at this time..

And I can only think of one instance where there's been "bad" switch on KET4 this year. Specificaly, it cut off the last 1/2hr of the Phish concert that ran longer than the normal 11pm cutoff.
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lexington,Kentucky,USA
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We try to catch those and adjust the end switch accordingly but they sometimes slip through on us..PBS sometimes makes last minute changes..
William Smith is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:


Originally posted by William Smith
We try to catch those and adjust the end switch accordingly but they sometimes slip through on us..PBS sometimes makes last minute changes..

No big deal, the incident stands out in my memory only because it was one of those proverbial statistical "rare events." Plus, as I recall, you guys were busy chasing down some other system issues at the time.

... Far different from missing a switch on the same program two weeks in a row.
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:


Originally posted by BenCJedi
I hope we won't experience the stutters HDTVChallenged is experiencing.

Not that it matters for most of you folks, but it looks like my WDKY 'problem' may be due to some wicked localized multipath after all ... specifically off of a water-tower up the road a bit ... Looks like a rare case where lower antenna height in the attic is better than free air on the roof ...

How this bodes for you 'urbanites' remains to be seen ...
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:


Originally posted by HDTVChallenged
That's exactly the problem, my receiver's meter is rock steady, in fact I have to pad it down a good 10-15dB to get the WDKY signal to fall below 100% ...

If you're having multipath problems to the point of getting dropouts, I doubt your receiver's signal quality meter would behave as described above ....

Maybe you can get someone from WDKY to come out with a spectrum analyzer ...

----------------------------------------------------------------

All,

If anyone is interested to see it, at link below is the "Comprehensive Technical Document" a consulting engineer for WDKY sent to FCC in Nov 2003 as an exhibit as part of their application for a CP for the digital station for the Clay's Ferry facility. This is a fairly large file(5.51 MB), and requires Acrobat Reader 6.0 (If you get "can't load font" messages/etc, just choose no+hopefully it will still display OK) ...

This will give you a little bit of an idea what sort of things are important(detailes on interference studies, coverage area contours/etc/etc) when a station applies for a Construction permit(or a modification) with FCC ... There is also a nice sketch of what the Clay's ferry tower will look like on pg 11 ... :

http://svartifoss2.fcc.gov/prod/cdbs...ibit_id=188904

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 11:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:


Originally posted by Nitewatchman
If you're having multipath problems to the point of getting dropouts, I doubt your receiver's signal quality meter would behave as described above ....

Well, all I know for sure is that once I undid all my attempted "improvements" in antenna location, the signal cleaned up nicely. It maybe a coincidence, maybe not, but I doubt that WDKY would have been doing any work during primetime when I was messing around with things on my end. In any case, the new tower will probably make this a moot issue.

I have my theories on why the meter may be behaving the way it is, unfortunately there's no real way to test them
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone with a digi camera going by Clay's Ferry? I've love to see what the WDKY construction looks like. They gonna paint it white and blue or anything cool for UK Wildcat spirit?
BenCJedi is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 07:46 PM
Member
 
jstew9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by BenCJedi
Anyone with a digi camera going by Clay's Ferry? I've love to see what the WDKY construction looks like. They gonna paint it white and blue or anything cool for UK Wildcat spirit?

After today's Alabama game that might be a hard sell.

At least it was a nice cool fall day at the stadium. Basketball season is coming.. keep repeating the mantra.

/ob on topic: When in the name of all that is holy are we going to get to see the Cats in HD -- football or basketball.
jstew9 is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by jstew9
After today's Alabama game that might be a hard sell.

At least it was a nice cool fall day at the stadium. Basketball season is coming.. keep repeating the mantra.

/ob on topic: When in the name of all that is holy are we going to get to see the Cats in HD -- football or basketball.

I think it happened once for football.. somewhere in the bazillion pages of this thread.
BenCJedi is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 08:01 AM
Member
 
parkay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Directly over the centre of the Earth.
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
all they (basketball) had to do last year was win one more game and we would have seen them in HD in the NCAA tournament.

later,
parkay
parkay is offline  
Old 10-10-2004, 09:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Since most of you still can't get WDKY-DT, here's what you're not missing in FOX-HD today 10/10/04:

Everything

Seriously ... no video since early AM ... the outage now approaching the 12hr mark. Nice radio service though
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 10:04 AM
Member
 
chuckgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want to catch Fox HD and are close enough to L'ville, WDRB is now broadcasting HD... ALCS last night was awesome...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...45#post4495145

Chuck
chuckgr is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:


Originally posted by chuckgr
If you want to catch Fox HD and are close enough to L'ville, WDRB is now broadcasting HD... ALCS last night was awesome...

Yep I know. Once they get up to their full authorized power I should be able to get them quite often based on my reception of WAVE-DT and WLKY-DT ... but, at 76mi from the tower farm, I need some serious tropo to WDRB-DT and WFTE-DT right now.

BTW: For those keeping score

As of 10/13/2004 12:22pm, the WDKY-DT outage continues ... hello! anyone home?
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 10:37 AM
Member
 
nuts4scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by HDTVChallenged

BTW: For those keeping score

As of 10/13/2004 12:22pm, the WDKY-DT outage continues ... hello! anyone home?

Have you contacted them about the outage? I wonder if they are moving
some of their equipment.
nuts4scuba is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
ragamuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by chuckgr
If you want to catch Fox HD and are close enough to L'ville, WDRB is now broadcasting HD... ALCS last night was awesome...

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...45#post4495145

Chuck

Chuck,

Where are you located geographically? I'll have to give this a shot tonight... although I think I'm on the fringe just like HDC...

Thanks!
ragamuffin is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 01:15 PM
Member
 
chuckgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ragamuffin
Chuck,

Where are you located geographically? I'll have to give this a shot tonight... although I think I'm on the fringe just like HDC...

Thanks!

South of the city of Versailles behind the Woodford Hills CC...
chuckgr is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Quote:


Originally posted by nuts4scuba
Have you contacted them about the outage? I wonder if they are moving some of their equipment.

Could be moving but I find it odd that they would have started doing that on an NFL doubleheader / MLB Division Series / 3-day weekend Sunday - but you never know.

As for contacting them ... thought about it but then decided it just wasn't worth the hassle I've pretty much ignored WDKY and FOX for the better part of 3 years now other than from a pure technical curiousity standpoint, and if they want to ignore their own transmitter, who am I to stand in their way.

PS: Now that their parent company Sinclair is showing their "true stripes," I find myself even less interested WDRB will get their power up soon enough ...
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
ragamuffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by chuckgr
South of the city of Versailles behind the Woodford Hills CC...

Thanks Chuck,

You're about 10 miles closer than me to WDRB's tower... What type of antenna/amplifier setup do you have?

Here's a quick PhotoShop'd picture of where the WDRB tower is located, and a just under 80 mile radius circle highlighted showing Lexington to be "just-out-of-reach" for normal non tropo-enhanced signals.

But I'll give it a try anyways this evening... stay tuned...

ragamuffin is offline  
Old 10-13-2004, 05:14 PM
Member
 
mfenster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Took a couple of photos of the WDKY tower going up.



tancity.net/wdky.html
mfenster is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off