Memphis, TN - HDTV - Page 202 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6031 of 6043 Old 01-28-2015, 07:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by miklk1973 View Post
I bet both networks will look lovely when something moves on the screen.
plenty of small markets do 2 HD channels on one RF station with no issues
unclehonkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6032 of 6043 Old 01-28-2015, 08:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
hdtvluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
plenty of small markets do 2 HD channels on one RF station with no issues
How is that possible since those that have 1 HD cannel and 1 SD sub channel can't broadcast real HD on their supposedly HD channel?
hdtvluvr is online now  
post #6033 of 6043 Old 01-28-2015, 09:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvluvr View Post
How is that possible since those that have 1 HD cannel and 1 SD sub channel can't broadcast real HD on their supposedly HD channel?
there are plenty of stations that broadcast 2 HD signals and a SD with no issues
list
http://rabbitears.info/oddsandends.php?request=dualhd

best example was the ABC O&O's that ran ABC and Live Well in HD (and a SD Live Well)
Now with the FCC cracking down on stations owning more than 1 of the Big 4 in small markets what happens is the owner buys everything but the transmitter/license then moves everything to the subchannel of the station they own

Gray is doing it in Nebraska & North Dakota
Sinclair is doing it in a few markets

In small markets its a necessity. Great example is Sherman, TX/Ada, OK. 2 stations carrying all 6 nets
12-1 CBS HD
12-2 My SD
12-3 FOX HD

10-1 NBC HD
10-2 CW SD
10-3 ABC
unclehonkey is offline  
post #6034 of 6043 Old 01-28-2015, 10:07 PM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
there are plenty of stations that broadcast 2 HD signals and a SD with no issues
list
http://rabbitears.info/oddsandends.php?request=dualhd
In Beaumont TX, KBMT has three HD subchannels:

Quote:
KBMT (BEAUMONT, TX)
Variable Bit Rate
12-1 (720p) (9.35 Mbps) KBMT-A ABC
12-2 (720p) (7.95 Mbps) K-JAC NBC
12-3 (720p) (0 Mbps) COZI TV
12-4 (480i) (3.9 Mbps) Me-TV
http://rabbitears.info/market.php?re...=10150#station

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #6035 of 6043 Old 01-29-2015, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
hdtvluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ok, so I assume HD in that context means 16:9 picture. It surely can't mean 100% HD quality. Haven't seen that locally (Memphis) since our stations started broadcasting sub channels and decreased the bandwidth for the main channel.
hdtvluvr is online now  
post #6036 of 6043 Old 01-29-2015, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvluvr View Post
Ok, so I assume HD in that context means 16:9 picture. It surely can't mean 100% HD quality. Haven't seen that locally (Memphis) since our stations started broadcasting sub channels and decreased the bandwidth for the main channel.
subchannels usually are given minimal bandwidth to not affect the main station

HD can be conscrewed many different ways. 16:9 and 720p or 1080i I guess they consider HD.

A GREAT example of supposed "HD" is my local ABC affiliate, KSTP Minneapolis, MN
They have one subchannel (Heroes & Icons...was Live Well) but their pic looks like HELL! Why?
They have almost half of their bandwidth for that (my opinion) stupid mobile TV.
They are robbing their HD station bandwidth because of Mobile TV so sports looks like crap.

Also Our Fox & My affiliates are O&O. Fox is on RF9 and My is on RF29. Well folks with indoor antennas have issues with RF9 so they put Fox on RF29. So we have 2 HD stations (and a SD) on RF29 and it looks fine.
9-1 FOX HD
9-2 MY HD
(they still use RF9 as Fox for the folks with outdoor antennas so FOx is on TWO stations...smartest thing they did? The one from RF9 logs as 9-9 not to confuse the PSIP)
unclehonkey is offline  
post #6037 of 6043 Old 01-29-2015, 06:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
hdtvluvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 692
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
HD can be conscrewed many different ways. 16:9 and 720p or 1080i I guess they consider HD.
Ok, so we are just talking about picture size. To me real HD is the full uncompressed image using all of the bandwidth a station has (1 broadcast station). If you ever see a real HD station you'll immediately see the difference. It's truly like looking out a window and has "depth" to it.
hdtvluvr is online now  
post #6038 of 6043 Old 01-29-2015, 10:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I am aware of it. Minneapolis has one (WCCO CBS O&O). They havent added the new station Decades yet
unclehonkey is offline  
post #6039 of 6043 Old 09-02-2015, 07:16 AM
Member
 
tscallions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bartlett, TN
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm dropping DirecTV as of September 13th and moving to an all streaming solution. I just purchased a Samsung JS9500 and thought I'd check this thread for a recommendation on indoor antennas. The TV is not near any windows so I can't use one of those antennas you hang in a window. I do have line of site to a window. I wasn't sure if I could just hang the antenna on a wall and aim it towards the window, etc. 3 & 5 are primarily what I'll need it for and really that's just for news and special events. Pretty much everything else TV show wise I can pick up on Hulu or other avenues. I just want to be able to check out the news & weather during a storm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tscallions is offline  
post #6040 of 6043 Old 09-03-2015, 07:11 AM
Member
 
Kfcosby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tscallions View Post
I'm dropping DirecTV as of September 13th and moving to an all streaming solution. I just purchased a Samsung JS9500 and thought I'd check this thread for a recommendation on indoor antennas. The TV is not near any windows so I can't use one of those antennas you hang in a window. I do have line of site to a window. I wasn't sure if I could just hang the antenna on a wall and aim it towards the window, etc. 3 & 5 are primarily what I'll need it for and really that's just for news and special events. Pretty much everything else TV show wise I can pick up on Hulu or other avenues. I just want to be able to check out the news & weather during a storm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I'm using rabbit ears on the back of the TV and works fine in Bartlett, even for the problem child Ch. 5. If you can get to a South facing window, it will be better.

KC
Kfcosby is offline  
post #6041 of 6043 Old 11-17-2015, 06:18 PM
Member
 
mvcg66b3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Covington, TN
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 4
From a private message I received:

Quote:
Originally Posted by re_nelson
I see that you're quite active on the forum and very savvy when it comes to DTV, hence a question for you since you're in Memphis (a market I know fairly well since I lived many miles up I-40 in Na$hVega$ and used to visit the Bluff City frequently).

When the DTV transition happened, WTVF (also on RF-5) found itself in dire straits and quickly fired up a UHF translator and then successfully applied for a full facility on RF-25. They still operate on RF-5 which now serves as a translator.

Re-reading the Memphis forum, it seems that WMC-TV didn't have the significant problems that faced WTVF when they moved to their original low-VHF analog channel for digital. What are your thoughts about why WMC-TV seems to have been successful on RF-5 whereas its co-channel cousin up I-40 failed?
I have cable, so I couldn't tell. Anyone else have thoughts about this?

James Calvin Woods - Son of Verta Jane Holland
mvcg66b3r is offline  
post #6042 of 6043 Old 11-17-2015, 06:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
re_nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks James for taking this from PM to the larger forum.

It will be interesting to see what Memphians think about the relative success of WMC-TV compared to WTVF for OTA viewers. One stab that I'll hazard is that, unlike Nashville, there's a common antenna farm on the eastern side of the county making antenna aiming far easier. In Nashville, the transmitters are all over the compass. That plus the terrain has always made OTA something of a struggle. When cable did arrive in the 70s (Viacom at the time), I saw antennas coming down in my neighborhood by the dozens since seemingly everyone wanted to get wired not so much for the premium content but just to get the locals reliably.
re_nelson is offline  
post #6043 of 6043 Old 11-19-2015, 01:34 PM
Member
 
miklk1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both cable and use over the air.

I can tell you that I have a much harder time getting both 5 & 13 after they went digital. Ch 13 took some action that helped by going to a circular polarized antenna but ch 5 is pretty touchy. I am not right under their antenna and someone really close might not see the differences.

On my battery powered portable TV (used for bad WX and power outages) it's impossible to watch either station. I'm near Downtown and suffer very badly from multi-path on UHF signals and they still work better than 5.
Today you wouldn't easily know about the multi-path but I was in the same place during analog TV so I know it's there. UHF analog was tough to watch on rabbit ears it was so bad but with enough wiggling around they decode in digital.
miklk1973 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off