Portland, OR - HDTV - Page 291 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8701 of 8729 Old 08-25-2014, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
dlasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On Friday, August 22, 2014 2:08 PM, Jamie Holmes <Jamie.Holmes@koin.com> wrote:
Thanks for writing. Yes, we have experienced problems at our transmitter. A few months back, our transmitter caught fire. As a result, there were a number of repairs. We have been working on the signal this week (as all the parts arrived). We are working hard to get the signal back to full strength and should be there very soon.

We thank you for writing. If you experience more problems over the next few weeks, please keep us posted. Your feedback is very important to us and can help us continue to solve the problem.

Thanks again and have a great day.
-Jamie

Jamie Holmes | Creative Services Director
222 SW Columbia St • Suite 102 • Portland, OR 97201
503.464.0782 •Jamie.Holmes@koin.com[/QUOTE]


Always nice to find an explanation for your issues.. and it's not YOUR stuff... pretty easy to see when the issues begin..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	graph_image2.png
Views:	35
Size:	54.1 KB
ID:	229065  
dlasher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8702 of 8729 Old 09-06-2014, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Is the koin issue fixed? It's the only channel that cuts out on me. I have good signal strength, better than some other channels that come in great. But it's choppy and pixilated at times.

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is offline  
post #8703 of 8729 Old 09-06-2014, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Konrad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
> Is the koin issue fixed?

No.

KOIN was running at 1/3 power on the lower half of the antenna.
KATU and KRCW were running on 1/2 power. They are back to full
power, but the quality of the signal leaves much to be desired,
even 2 weeks later.

KOIN's signal was better Thursday morning (2014-09-04) and this
morning (Sat 2014-09-06), otherwise it has been a disaster every
single day. At some points, the tuner's MER-based signal quality
number was as low as 0.

I would think that the equipment involved would be high quality stuff
with serious specifications, verified with serious test equipment,
and carefully adjusted following a procedure in the manual. However
the impression I get is that this stuff is black magic and they're out
sacrificing goats and such.

Similar deal with RetroTV on RF49. Their signal quality (and thus
reception) was better with the 1/2 power loaner power amp than with
their normal amp at full power, even just after being repaired. The
quality of the signal is more important that the strength of the signal,
even for a low power station.
Konrad2 is offline  
post #8704 of 8729 Old 09-06-2014, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Which email should I use to contact koin about this?

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is offline  
post #8705 of 8729 Old 09-06-2014, 10:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
Konrad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
> Which email should I use to contact koin about this?

It's an enginering problem, so I wrote to engineering 2 weeks ago.
Got a reply back asking the usual questions (location, antenna used,
height, amp or not...). Provided that, and a couple days ago updated
the reception data, but haven't heard another peep from them.

Hard to imagine how it could possibly take so long to get the thing
dialed in. Assuming someone is actually working on it.

Maybe we need to complain to the boss (the advertisers)? And while
we're at it, complain about the horrid overlays attempting to get
us to watch some unrelated show. News flash, CBS, those overlays make
me *avoid* watching additional CBS shows, since they doubtlessly also
suffer from the overlays.
Konrad2 is offline  
post #8706 of 8729 Old 09-06-2014, 10:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Perhaps they think they fixed it and that's that. If enough of us continue to complain maybe it will keep some attention on this.

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is offline  
post #8707 of 8729 Old 09-09-2014, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Here is my setup, we live downtown Camas WA

We have 2 antennas in the attic (don't want to get on the roof, very steep) We get 75-100 signal strength on all channels, except 17 and 27

Ant one goes to the front room to 2 year old tv - KOIN lost quality mid August - signal quality flucuates from 75 down to nothing over and over again (unwatchable)
Ant two goes to the bedroom to an old (13 + years) panasonic - all channels come in great

Just got a new 50 inch - KOIN comes in great but FOX (channel 12) is doing the same thing as KOIN in both rooms.

The old tv still gets all channels just fine in both rooms.

Is there something wrong with the internal tuners on newer tv's?? If so, is there some external thing I can add? I'm not sure if I'm even using the correct terms, but would appreciate any input
bobisyellow is offline  
post #8708 of 8729 Old 09-09-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
There is a difference in tuners. If I run the antenna to my 2014 vizio m series it's fine. To my tivo no 6. But the tivo is a dual tuner so it splits the signal. On my htpc with a dual tuner hd homerun it works fine.
Several months ago koin was great on my tivo.

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is offline  
post #8709 of 8729 Old 09-11-2014, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Koin fixed tonight? I'm watching Thursday night football without issue. Prior to tonight I couldn't watch 2 seconds of anything.

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is offline  
post #8710 of 8729 Old 09-11-2014, 08:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I knocked my antenna around while painting my house last weekend. I readjusted it yesterday and got everything in upper 80's and lower 90's. Except KOIN. No matter where I pointed it, it never got above 75.

How is this possible?

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #8711 of 8729 Old 09-12-2014, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Yeah Koin signal has some issues still. I have 2 dual tuner HDHomerun OTA network tuners. been working fine for years, then suddenly Koin signal is dropping lately. drives the wife nuts!

looking through the HDHomeRun config Gui, the signal strength is 100% but the Signal quality fluctuates between 64% and 75%. and the Symbol Quality drops spiratically. Whenever the Symbol Quality drops to zero, it would lose signal. Usually this happens and it would regain signal a1-3 seconds later

so it looks like Koin definitely has some signal issues or transmission issues. I think it's more of a transmitter issue since even though the Signal quality is a bit low, the picture still comes through fine. it's just when it spiratically drops to zero that's when the picture drops out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	good signal.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	94.2 KB
ID:	259162   Click image for larger version

Name:	no signal_1.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	91.7 KB
ID:	259170   Click image for larger version

Name:	signal starts to drop.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	93.3 KB
ID:	259178  
lmavs is offline  
post #8712 of 8729 Old 09-12-2014, 09:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
That's close to what I see. KOIN signal strength is nearly as strong as other UHF stations as it should be since it's the same power and location as the other stations. The error recovery rate is much higher. 75 is the quality where I'll see a corrupt packet maybe once an hour. I've never seen it get any worse fortunately.

It's funny because I'm line-of-sight to the towers four miles away. When KGW and KOPB had their ATSC station on UHF, I would receive them at 99! I don't recall KOIN ever being this low but I haven't needed to check until this week.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #8713 of 8729 Old 09-15-2014, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Today koin started crapping out again. Almost made it a week with a good signal.

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is offline  
post #8714 of 8729 Old 09-15-2014, 06:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
KOIN is still hanging on at 75 here, no change. At the beginning of every NFL season I'm reminded of what a pixelated mess KOIN is even at full bit rate. I wonder if they're still using their 15 year old encoder.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #8715 of 8729 Old 09-16-2014, 11:54 AM
Senior Member
 
JeffinWesternWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Latest from KOIN (9/15)... suggest if signal still isn't par next week you contact them via their website or the address here:

Thank you for your comments and your patience.

From Wednesday, August 13th through Friday, August 15th KOIN was on a backup antenna from 11:30pm-4:30am. This antenna feeds the cable and satellite companies only but at a reduced power.

It has been over 7 months since we experienced the feed line fire at our transmitter. As of Friday, August 15th KOIN began transmitting at full power again. We were intermittently on backup antenna for a few days after that as well.

Should you have further reception issues please e-mailkoin_engineering@koin.com and they will help you out.

Thank you,

Nichole Myers-Youngquist | Program & Research Director
222 SW Columbia St • Suite 102 • Portland, OR 97201
D: 503.464.0684 •
Nichole.Myers@koin.com
JeffinWesternWA is offline  
post #8716 of 8729 Old 09-17-2014, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
Lost Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North of the Columbia River
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by scowl View Post
KOIN is still hanging on at 75 here, no change. At the beginning of every NFL season I'm reminded of what a pixelated mess KOIN is even at full bit rate. I wonder if they're still using their 15 year old encoder.

As of 7 am on Sept 17, I'm pulling in KOIN from Camas, WA with an attic antenna. I have a HDHomerun and using the signal meter app I'm showing:

Signal Strength: 100%
SNR Quality: 90%
Symbol Quality: 100%
Data Rate: 19.393 Mbs
Lost Dog is offline  
post #8717 of 8729 Old 10-07-2014, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
dlasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As of 10/07/14, I'm still seeing issues with CBS, hoping it clears up soon.
dlasher is offline  
post #8718 of 8729 Old 10-07-2014, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,719
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 36
It's really hit or miss. Some days it's unwatchable and others it's flawless.

HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver, Yamaha RX-V663 receiver via HDMI, panasonic ax100u, 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 2x Roku 3's, chromecast, Amazon Fire TV, Vizio M602i-B3
archer75 is offline  
post #8719 of 8729 Old 10-10-2014, 07:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Watch for KATU to add GRIT to their 2.4 sub-channel soon.

Wanting a strong FCC to say no to the Wireless lobby. Keep the tv broadcast band for ota television broadcasters.
rdvegas is offline  
post #8720 of 8729 Old 10-11-2014, 10:58 AM
Member
 
rachorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow. I've been trying to isolate the problem with my HD homerun based HTPC since last spring when I noticed pixilation on Channel 6. I finally found this thread last night. You guys just saved me another trip up to the roof.

Sure seems like the homerun tuners are more sensitive to this. Are others seeing koin pixilate with other tuners too?


George Rachor
Hillsboro Oregon.
rachorg is offline  
post #8721 of 8729 Old 10-11-2014, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have also had recurring, random dropout problems with my KOIN 6-1 reception. I live 14 miles away from all the broadcast towers in East Vancouver with no terrain obstructions in the way. I have an Antennas Direct ClearStream 2V C2-V-CJM long-range HDTV antenna mounted on the top of my room (23ft). This easily pulls in VHF 174 - 216 MHz (Channels 7-13), UHF 470 - 806 MHz (Channels 14-69). With a Viewsonics amplifier and professional coax distribution wiring out to my dual tuner TiVo Premiere, (2) Visios and (2) Samsung TVs all with integrated tuners.

All of these tuners all exhibit dropouts on 6-1. Using the signal strength meter on my Tivo ALL of the major broadcasters 2-1, 8-1, 10-1, 12-1 come in at 80+. KOIN 6-1 is all over the place. When I try to watch an SEC football game and relax the &$@#! signal level is around 47 - 50.

When the signal fades the dropouts render the channel un-watchable. The block errors, freeze and sound dropouts last a few seconds or freeze. This occurs with no other channel.

If there were noise or multi-path I would see this on adjacent channels as well. Routinely choppy, pixelated disrupted programming is a problem.

I am going to email KOIN and see what their plan is to address it.

Last edited by EntertainMe; 10-11-2014 at 12:42 PM.
EntertainMe is offline  
post #8722 of 8729 Old 10-14-2014, 04:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Bad Reception in Beaverton

I recently cut the chord from cable and have been trying to find an antenna to work at my house. I am out in Beaverton and all of the websites show that the main towers are within 8 miles of my house and should have a strong signal. I seem to get KPTV and KGW very well but am very frustrated trying to get the rest of the networks. I was able to get KATU with the Winegard flatwave amplified antenna from Costco but still no KOIN or CW. I have tried the Mohu Leaf Metro and an RCA amplified from Best Buy which neither got KATU, KOIN or CW. Anyone have any suggestions? Everything I have read tells me I shouldn't have any problem getting these stations at my house. I don't really want to put an outdoor antenna on the house.
amichaud24 is offline  
post #8723 of 8729 Old 10-14-2014, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quit using amplified antennas. You're less than 5 miles away from the towers and amplifiers will cause nothing but problems.

Get a simple, basic loop and rabbit ears and put it in a window facing the Sylvan Highlands area.

If you want reliable reception, you'll learn that you have to put the right antenna in the right location.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #8724 of 8729 Old 10-14-2014, 04:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
It might be the location of your antenna indoors. It sounds like the VHF signals are getting through.

Also distance doesn't guarantee good reception. I have a friend who lives closer to the towers than you but her neighborhood is in a slight depression on a hill. I had to set up an outdoor antenna for her and it works perfectly.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #8725 of 8729 Old 10-14-2014, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any specific antenna recommendations? The Mohu Leaf wasn't amplified but picked up the least of any I have tried...
amichaud24 is offline  
post #8726 of 8729 Old 10-14-2014, 04:31 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by amichaud24 View Post
Any specific antenna recommendations? The Mohu Leaf wasn't amplified but picked up the least of any I have tried...
I'd work on finding the optimal location for the antenna you have before going out and buying more of them. An antenna won't receive something that isn't there.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #8727 of 8729 Old 10-14-2014, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Go to Radio Shack. Buy the basic loop and rabbit ears, about $15, 15-1874. Do not be swayed by any of the flat panel crap, buy that one to try out. Keep the receipt.

Put the antenna in front of a northeast-facing window with the dipoles extended about 15-16" each and as close to horizontal as possible. Run your scan and test reception. Based on your results, either leave it alone or move the antenna around and repeat.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #8728 of 8729 Old 10-14-2014, 10:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm not sure it's a koin problem, but maybe. I'm in Hillsboro also, I thought it may be interference from the airport or maybe intel. Do you folks having trouble in Washington have a small airport nearby? I have a channel master medium range(says 45 miles) in the attic, before that tried rabbit ears w/ loop and could only get channel 2 no matter how it was positioned, all other channels come in great now. The thing is at work(217 and scholls) we have a 43" visio with 1/2 of a broken rabbit ears off a 80s tv literaly taped to the wall and all channels come in fine even 6.1.
Ryan Salter is offline  
post #8729 of 8729 Old 10-15-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Airports and businesses can't legally interfere with television broadcasts.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off