Springfield, MA - HDTV - Page 58 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-2013, 06:47 PM
Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
All I know is that their transmitter is in Montville, CT. They use channel 26 for their digital.
KEVINL71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-30-2014, 08:11 AM
Member
 
-KEK-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: western MA
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got a new TV in December. I noticed that CBS 3 has a black bar across the top. Not all the way at the top but just below the edge of the screen. I never noticed with my old TV because of the horrendous overscan. I can't be the only one to notice this. It is the only channel that has this issue. It is very annoying. I have Comcast in case that matters.
-KEK- is offline  
Old 04-30-2014, 09:54 AM
Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are you getting it over-the-air in the same fashion? confused.gif
KEVINL71 is offline  
Old 04-30-2014, 10:37 AM
Member
 
-KEK-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: western MA
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wish I could get it over the air, the station is low power and as far as I know they have no plans to go full power. I forgot about Conn., I am talking about CBS 3 Springfield.
-KEK- is offline  
Old 04-30-2014, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
met_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Easthampton, MA
Posts: 490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by -KEK- View Post

I got a new TV in December. I noticed that CBS 3 has a black bar across the top. Not all the way at the top but just below the edge of the screen. I never noticed with my old TV because of the horrendous overscan. I can't be the only one to notice this. It is the only channel that has this issue. It is very annoying. I have Comcast in case that matters.
I have the same on my Panasonic plasma with no overscan. My other tvs don't show it. I have Charter.
met_fan is offline  
Old 04-30-2014, 09:25 PM
Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by -KEK- View Post

I wish I could get it over the air, the station is low power and as far as I know they have no plans to go full power. I forgot about Conn., I am talking about CBS 3 Springfield.

I figured you were talking about WSHM-LD, a.k.a. "CBS 3". It doesn't show up anymore with WFSB-TV's subchannels. I receive:

3-1 : CBS
3-3: Eyewitness News NOW
3-4: WFSB Fairfield County
KEVINL71 is offline  
Old 06-28-2014, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
digital_b_avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Springfield, MA
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
for what its worth I just read your post after not being in the forums for a while and I can get all of the cbs stations. wshm is 3.5 and 3.6
digital_b_avs is offline  
Old 08-10-2014, 11:27 PM
Member
 
CraigD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by -KEK- View Post
I got a new TV in December. I noticed that CBS 3 has a black bar across the top. Not all the way at the top but just below the edge of the screen. I never noticed with my old TV because of the horrendous overscan. I can't be the only one to notice this. It is the only channel that has this issue. It is very annoying. I have Comcast in case that matters.
I have the same issue with a 2010 Panasonic plasma on Comcast. Super annoying!
CraigD is offline  
Old 12-04-2014, 10:15 AM
Member
 
sritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Westfield, MA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reception in Westfield

I currently live in Westfield, MA and picked up an RCA 34792 attic antenna. The biggest issue I am having is with WGGB and WGBY as they are in the opposite direction of all the CT channels and WWLP. Right now I am pointed at around 100 degrees and am receiving WWLP, WFSB, WVIT, WTIC and WCCT. WGGB has a lot of breakups and WGBY no picture at all.

I am looking to replace this antenna with one better at receiving channels from the rear (WGGB is only 8 mi away) so I can point towards 192 where the bulk of the stations are.

Can anyone recommend a good antenna for this setup or let me know what is working for them in Westfield without a rotor.
sritter is offline  
Old 12-04-2014, 11:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I can't answer your question specifically since I don't live in the area, but an antenna like the Channel Master 4228 may be what you need. It picks up well from the back side and is good with high VHF channels like channel 22 (11).

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
Old 12-04-2014, 08:27 PM
Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
As for PBS, are you receiving WEDH-TV channel 24 from Hartford? They use channel 45 for their digital and are at the same site as channel 20 (CW), 30 (NBC) and 61 (FOX).
KEVINL71 is offline  
Old 12-14-2014, 06:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
trying to get channel 26 WHPX

Hi, I live in Chicopee, MA and am trying to get channel 26 WHPX from CT.
Did anyone ever have any luck? I am using a DB-8 antenna 30 ft AGL pointed directly at the tower, and no luck. I would consider a db-16 if you had any luck, or a pair of yagi coupled...

thanks
ernest2 is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,839
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 89
A generic TVFool plot for Chickopee indicates that WPHX's signal isn't going to make that trip, regardless of what antenna you throw up there unless you can get it several hundred feet in the air or if you happen to be located on high ground with a near-perfect view in that direction.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 05:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the reply. TV fool shows WPHX as a 2Edge at a NM of 6.1. In theory I should be able to get it. In reality I have difficulty getting WCCT which is a much better signal.
I might upgrade to a DB 16 (using DB 8 now on rooftop) and see what that gets me.

In any case, thank you for the reply
ernest2 is offline  
Old 01-02-2015, 08:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Follow up to above:

Super G 1483 at about 30 ft AGL (+/- few feet) in Chicopee, MA pointed straight at WPHX transmitter works! There is some intermittent mild pixelation, but on the whole entirely watchable. No preamp, but I have a distribution amp about 15 feet from the antenna.
ernest2 is offline  
Old 01-03-2015, 09:37 AM
Newbie
 
djblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy

So it appears that WWLP DT-2 (22-2) will become a CW affiliate. The Springfield-Holyoke DMA has no good sub-channels to offer. I guess we will never get ME-TV or any other oldie sub-channels.
djblaze is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off