Philadelphia, PA - Comcast - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 04:45 AM
mjr
Senior Member
 
mjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was WCAU coming through particularly well for others last night? Yesterday was the first time I was able to reliably get ALL Philly stations (except 55) 42 miles away in Bethlehem, PA... WCAU was in the high 60's (I usually get a pretty solid picture in the high 40's with CAU) WTXF, WYBE were in the high 70's (TXF is usually in the 20's, no pic...), PVI and KYW were pegged. etc, etc, etc... This has never happened before. I am using a DST-3000, which was just firmware upgraded from 5046 to 5104. I'm trying to figure out if that had anything to do with it... Add in WLVT (Lehigh Valley PBS) and I was getting signals from 9 separate stations (26, 32, 42, 34, 54, 62, 64, 67, and the Univision/Telemundo station - which I don't watch)... Am I going to be disappointed tonight when everything is back to normal, or am I going to be the luckiest HDTV guy in the Lehigh Valley? (BTW, I'm using a DAT-75, hung from the ceiling in my attic with about 70ft. of RG-6, no preamp)

Is this possible?
mjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 05:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jaypb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Monroe Twp NJ
Posts: 2,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:


Originally posted by mjr
Was WCAU coming through particularly well for others last night? Yesterday was the first time I was able to reliably get ALL Philly stations (except 55) 42 miles away in Bethlehem, PA... WCAU was in the high 60's (I usually get a pretty solid picture in the high 40's with CAU) WTXF, WYBE were in the high 70's (TXF is usually in the 20's, no pic...), PVI and KYW were pegged. etc, etc, etc... This has never happened before. I am using a DST-3000, which was just firmware upgraded from 5046 to 5104. I'm trying to figure out if that had anything to do with it... Add in WLVT (Lehigh Valley PBS) and I was getting signals from 9 separate stations (26, 32, 42, 34, 54, 62, 64, 67, and the Univision/Telemundo station - which I don't watch)... Am I going to be disappointed tonight when everything is back to normal, or am I going to be the luckiest HDTV guy in the Lehigh Valley? (BTW, I'm using a DAT-75, hung from the ceiling in my attic with about 70ft. of RG-6, no preamp)

Is this possible?

Just the opposite for me the last 2 nights---WCAU is unwatchable (as it normally is), and for some strange reason, I can't peg WPVI above a 30 or so since Monday night---when it hit 100%. I have an E86---I also received the upgrade and haven't notice ANY improvement in signals. I *believe* from reading over on the Hardware forum that 5104 was designed to improve the Hughes/Hughes clones for OTA reception in FLA. There's a thread or 2 devoted to it on the Hardware forum.

AFA WTXF-DT---yes, I have noticed a bit more consistent bump in strength with that channel. Still no WHYY_DT for me and WPHL-DT only comes in when WCAU does (Tropo events)??

I'm in Central NJ BTW---about the same distance as you from Philly...but I sometimes wonder just WHAT the digital signal's directional pattern is for certain stations. I couldve SWORN saw a site that had that info for the Philly transmitters---but, of course I didn't bookmark it.
jaypb is offline  
post #903 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 06:00 AM
mjr
Senior Member
 
mjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jaypb,
Notice I actually upgraded from 5046 to 5104... (I only connected my receiver to a borrowed dish this week just to get the upgrade. Mostly to take advantage of changes between 5046 and 5085/5099.)

As far as websites with useful information... It takes a little digging, but this has the most technical detail I've found (as it should...)
http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/audio/tvq.html

Type in the callsign (i.e. WCAU) Click on any of the links (in this case 4) that come up. There's some detail there... Click on Application List... There you can actually see some of the applications that have been filed electronically. Lookup WTXF... With a little digging, you can get a map of what looks like their current directionality pattern, as well as their proposed one...

- Mike
mjr is offline  
post #904 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
CKarras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm confused. There is a great, circular WTFX pattern, and a South only pattern for digital TV. Where does it say which is which?

(Looks like a useful site, though.)

-Chris
CKarras is offline  
post #905 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jaypb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Monroe Twp NJ
Posts: 2,096
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:


Originally posted by CKarras
I'm confused. There is a great, circular WTFX pattern, and a South only pattern for digital TV. Where does it say which is which?

(Looks like a useful site, though.)

You are talking about the polar plot right? THAT'S what I remembered seeing months ago----I assume that, for me at least, the reason I don't get WTXF too frequently is indeed because the transmitter seems to boom more southerly...than northeasterly where I am.

I'll have to check the other stations as well now that the link has been provided.

Thanks to MJR!
jaypb is offline  
post #906 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 07:38 AM
mjr
Senior Member
 
mjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use the FCC site in combination with http://100kwatts.tmi.net/ Put WTXF in there and see they're at 305kW, with an app for 1000kW. And put two and two together... The FCC site is a little trickier to figure out.. 100kwatts helps a lot.

- Mike
mjr is offline  
post #907 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 10:14 AM
Member
 
mprh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glen Mills Pa
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in Glen Mills Pa, last night I received ABC. Nothing on CBS and NBC.
I usually receive kyw , wybe, wtxf, upn and the wb. I have never been able to get whyy. Tomorrow I move my antenna[ Winegard HP 8200, with a pre amp } from the attic to the roof. I hope to receive a better signal.
Marie
mprh is offline  
post #908 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 10:32 AM
Member
 
supercomando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I am off of RT 309 right next to the PA turnpike, about a half mile from exit 33. I can receive
KYW at almost 100 % signal, WPVI at about 90 to 95 % signal WCAU about 50 to 60 % signal but that one bounces around on some nights. I also can receive WHYY fairly good with some drop outs, WPHL WB 17 with 75 to 80 % signal, WTXF FOX 29 about 70 % signal. Also channel 57 UPN about 65 %, and all the local Lehigh Valley channels fairly well they drop some times because I have my Channel master 4228 pointed toward the Philadelphia stations with no rotor. I am using a Zenith 520 receiver.
supercomando is offline  
post #909 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
ndoggac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any idea when fox's proposed upgrade from 305 KW to 1000 KW of power will be carried out? it would be nice to receive them rock solid all the time instead of the occasional dropouts I experience now. Hopefully, they will have the upgrade complete by the time football starts, 480p widescreen is still better than the crap analog signal I get from comcast.
ndoggac is offline  
post #910 of 10685 Old 05-22-2003, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
ndoggac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With both OTA and Comcast provided HD feeds of WPVI-ABC, I was able to compare the two during the Pistons v. Nets game tonight. The Comcast feed was noticeably better than the OTA broadcast. I have a Samsung Sir-T151 for OTA, and a Motorola 5100 Comcast box, so equipment could be a factor, but the difference was too much to blame solely on equipment. I have a sneeky suspicion that Comcast is provided with the full bandwidth HD signal, while the OTA broadcast is limited bandwidth due to the multicast on 6-2. I guarantee everyone, if you saw the difference that I did and only have the OTA broadcast available to you, you would be outraged. Those with only OTA WPVI, call and complain, you are getting short handed HD quality due to the stations policy to multicast. Me thinks it's time to make some calls.
ndoggac is offline  
post #911 of 10685 Old 05-24-2003, 08:46 AM
Member
 
FDAHLGREN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: nj
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just set up my new HDTV Thursday (Samsung WHN3097) and also watched the Nets-Pistons on WPVI. I thought the PQ was pretty good (outstanding when compared to the 480i signal I had been watching). I was puzzled by the broadcast though - I thought all ABC affiliate stations were broadcasting 720p, but I was only able to display 1080i on the Samsung display. My (SIRT150) tuner, when switched to 720p output, produced only a tearing fragmented picture. Is WPVI broadcasting 1080i or 720p (or is the Samsung only capable of 1080i or 480p)?

F.D.
FDAHLGREN is offline  
post #912 of 10685 Old 05-24-2003, 09:10 AM
Member
 
petersbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WPVI is broadcasting 720p which most likely your samsung is cinverting to 1080i.

Regards, Barry
petersbar is offline  
post #913 of 10685 Old 05-24-2003, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
BrentHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New London, PA USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by FDAHLGREN
I thought all ABC affiliate stations were broadcasting 720p, but I was only able to display 1080i on the Samsung display. My (SIRT150) tuner, when switched to 720p output, produced only a tearing fragmented picture. Is WPVI broadcasting 1080i or 720p (or is the Samsung only capable of 1080i or 480p)?

The Samsung's switch converts whatever it receives to the respective output. You can only use the 720P setting if your TV is capable of using that signal. Most HDTVs only accept 1080i, 480i, and 480p. ABC is broadcasting in 720P but the Samsung box converts it to 1080i at that setting so your TV can use the signal. I understand that few HDTVs can handle native 720p input but it is supposed to be superior in many ways to 1080i.

"Sweet Cracker Sandwich!"--Satchel Pooch
BrentHD is offline  
post #914 of 10685 Old 05-31-2003, 05:25 PM
Member
 
bobkunkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Swedesboro NJ
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
NBC 10 pixelates with 50% signal strength on my SIR-T165. I have a arial antenna 20 feet above my house and a 26dB pre-amp from RS. What could be the issue?
bobkunkle is offline  
post #915 of 10685 Old 05-31-2003, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SteveK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Somerset, NJ
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


What could be the issue?

...most likely the RS pre-amp. They are notoriously noisy which will give you the pixelization. The Samsung stb's are particularly good at locking lower=strength signals. On my TS-160, I can lock without pixelization on a strength of only 20%.

Channel Master pre-amps are excellent....high-gain....low-noise. I use a CM3041 most of the time. Started with a CM7775, but its slightly better gain rating did not translate into a more usable signal strength.
SteveK2 is offline  
post #916 of 10685 Old 05-31-2003, 09:28 PM
Member
 
Philly Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Center City Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With NBC 10-1, the main problem is the low power of the signal as it originates from the transmitter. 10-1 is presumably still broadcasting at reduced power, and evidently still from their temporary antenna. No one has confirmed otherwise as far as I have noticed.

When NBC 10-1 finally begins transmissions from their new (permanent) transmitter tower at full strength, your signal problems will probably be ended.

It's anybody's guess when this transition will finally occur.

--Philly Tim
Philly Tim is offline  
post #917 of 10685 Old 06-01-2003, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WCAU-DT has not moved to the new antenna and is still broadcasting at low power.
wward is offline  
post #918 of 10685 Old 06-05-2003, 12:57 PM
Member
 
rgc101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone experiencing drop outs for 3-1 lately? This is usually rock solid for me, but lately I have had the signal strength jumping up and down.
rgc101 is offline  
post #919 of 10685 Old 06-05-2003, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
jesup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tredyffrin, PA, USA
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a 5100 box installed in place of 2000+sidecar yesterday. Installer says CBS digital will be coming soon. Not sure how accurate this is, but interesting.

-- Randell
jesup is offline  
post #920 of 10685 Old 06-05-2003, 04:59 PM
Member
 
petersbar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my installer said it is a fee issue, similar to the one ESPN HD has been facing. wouldnt count my chickens, but buy on OTA rx and $20 antenna to be sure.

Regards, Barry
petersbar is offline  
post #921 of 10685 Old 06-05-2003, 08:44 PM
Member
 
Philly Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Center City Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was watching some of the "Great Performances" program last night (8:00 pm to 10 pm), which was an HDTV record of the Broadway musical "Fosse!"

The show was pretty good, but I suddenly noticed that my receiver had its "Dolby Digital 5.1" indicator lit up. I think that is the first time I noticed DD 5.1 coming from WHYY.

Or has WHYY 12-1 broadcast a DD 5.1 signal before and I just had not noticed?

--Philly Tim
Philly Tim is offline  
post #922 of 10685 Old 06-06-2003, 04:37 AM
mjr
Senior Member
 
mjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by rgc101
Anyone experiencing drop outs for 3-1 lately? This is usually rock solid for me, but lately I have had the signal strength jumping up and down.

YES!!! Glad to know it's not just me... It was real bad during this week's prime-time price is right special (look of embarrassment) checked the signal strength shortly after, and it was pegged at 100... But the picture would freeze/lose sound for 1/2 to 2 seconds, during some time periods, every 10-15 seconds...

I'm using a DST-3000 with the 5104 (latest) firmware...

- Mike
mjr is offline  
post #923 of 10685 Old 06-06-2003, 05:45 AM
Senior Member
 
gkurcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Matamoras, PA
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Philly Tim
I was watching some of the "Great Performances" program last night (8:00 pm to 10 pm), which was an HDTV record of the Broadway musical "Fosse!"

The show was pretty good, but I suddenly noticed that my receiver had its "Dolby Digital 5.1" indicator lit up. I think that is the first time I noticed DD 5.1 coming from WHYY.

Or has WHYY 12-1 broadcast a DD 5.1 signal before and I just had not noticed?

--Philly Tim

They broadcast a show about Antarctica a few months ago that actually had DD5.1. So it's not the first time. I did flip this on for a few minutes the other day and was surprised to see it in DD.
gkurcon is offline  
post #924 of 10685 Old 06-09-2003, 09:22 AM
Newbie
 
tomp0624's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am relatively new to the Philly area and new to the HDTV all together. I took a drive yesterday down to Roxborough and it is impressive, but I have yet to see a 2000' tower. Even on the fcc site it has no mention of a 2000' tower. The first post in this thread mentions such tower, but I have yet to see it. There was a lot there about a dozen 1200' or so towers, but no 2000' tower?
tomp0624 is offline  
post #925 of 10685 Old 06-09-2003, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caesar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by tomp0624
I am relatively new to the Philly area and new to the HDTV all together. I took a drive yesterday down to Roxborough and it is impressive, but I have yet to see a 2000' tower. Even on the fcc site it has no mention of a 2000' tower. The first post in this thread mentions such tower, but I have yet to see it. There was a lot there about a dozen 1200' or so towers, but no 2000' tower?

I believe the newest (and maybe the 2000' tower) is the "candelabra" tower. By "candelabra", it has 4 or so projections sticking up around the top, that could be "candles" above the central tower. This is not just a straight tower. You'll know what I mean by candelabra when you see it. It looks different from the normal straight up and down tower.

Did you look at that one?
caesar1 is offline  
post #926 of 10685 Old 06-09-2003, 09:34 AM
Newbie
 
tomp0624's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes.....fcc site says 1200 something feet. There was no tower there that was rediculously higher than any other tower
tomp0624 is offline  
post #927 of 10685 Old 06-09-2003, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
caesar1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Posts: 4,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by tomp0624
yes.....fcc site says 1200 something feet. There was no tower there that was rediculously higher than any other tower

Well, welcome to Philly. I hope you did more in the area than look at the towers ; ) You were near Manayunk and Chestnut Hill -- good sections for dining/shopping.

By the way, I read in the article in the paper about some people in Roxborough who get certain radio stations through every applicance in their house (like the toaster, etc.) due to being so close to the towers.

These people have difficulty selling their homes too.
caesar1 is offline  
post #928 of 10685 Old 06-09-2003, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
BrentHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New London, PA USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Philly Tim
...I suddenly noticed that my receiver had its "Dolby Digital 5.1" indicator lit up. I think that is the first time I noticed DD 5.1 coming from WHYY. Or has WHYY 12-1 broadcast a DD 5.1 signal before and I just had not noticed?
--Philly Tim

12-1 has broadcast in DD5.1 before but only rarely. I guess most of their source material is not 5.1. It really added to the enjoyment of the Fosse show. The audience clapping from the rear speakers made you feel like you were in the front row.

"Sweet Cracker Sandwich!"--Satchel Pooch
BrentHD is offline  
post #929 of 10685 Old 06-09-2003, 12:55 PM
Member
 
mprh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glen Mills Pa
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by wward
WCAU-DT has not moved to the new antenna and is still broadcasting at low power.

Last Friday finally had my antenna moved from the attic to the roof, I am receiving all channels at about 60% strength. I have noticed that when it is raining I cannot lock into a signal on 10-1, is this normal?
Marie
mprh is offline  
post #930 of 10685 Old 06-09-2003, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've seen heay rain affect digital signals (decrease in signal strength and increased multipath).
wward is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off