Philadelphia, PA - Comcast - Page 319 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9541 of 10685 Old 08-30-2008, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone tell me if the Big Ten Network feed was for the Penn State game, or was it Ohio State as previously noted above?
Jim Hef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9542 of 10685 Old 08-30-2008, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
cypherstream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ch 257 was the Penn State game.

Ohio State was on one of the alternates here (801, or 802).

I know Indiana was on 804 and it had the worst video quality (really dark levels and lack of detail).

I've noticed when they show the majority of the crowd, or do field goals the picture really goes blocky and has a jerky frame rate (about 4 FPS when counting the jerks in motion). If they have wide angle shots of the crowd, the video looked like a poor YouTube copy if it was a stationary image. Slow camera pans across the crowd were much better (surprisingly, as there's more motion). Other than that, if they don't show the crowd so much it's not as bad. Interestingly enough, the graphics at the top of the screen have slight mosquito noise (more than usual).

The Xtra channels are the same way, but that's understandable since there are 13 SD channels on one frequency here. Ch 257 is a standard 12:1 compression rate, so I'm not sure why it looks any worse then say, ESPN SD. I almost thought Ch 801 looked a little better than 257.

Also what's with the Big Ten Halftime report? In the back they have some blue monitors that have a flashing effect, like if you were to watch a TV through a fan. Not sure if that's a bandwidth issue, or a camera issue.

In the low bandwidth area's they should of preempted Mojo programming for the Penn State game in HD. Jersey folks without USA HD get Mojo preempted for the US Open.

During commercials, flipping to the College football on ESPN HD and ESPN2 HD it's a night and day difference.

But then if you want to see really bad picture quality, turn to Ch 263 FSCC (High School Football).
cypherstream is offline  
post #9543 of 10685 Old 08-30-2008, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks...sorry I didn't go out to watch it. Our FiOS BTN channel doesn't kick in until Sept 11th, but someone posted they would be showing Ohio State, so I stayed around home, listening to the game on the radio.
Jim Hef is offline  
post #9544 of 10685 Old 08-30-2008, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
apl132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spring City, PA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having these problems:

I'm not getting the BTN overflow channels (801-804). A Subscription Service screen comes up. I talked to Comcast reps twice, one said my area (Pottstown) doesn't get the overflow channels even though the BTN website says I should and the other said they haven't been activated yet.

I'm also not picking up 3.1 (CBS HD).
apl132 is offline  
post #9545 of 10685 Old 09-02-2008, 08:14 AM
Member
 
frankd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you don't like either of those two answers then call them back and ask again.

3.1 is gone for me as well.

Frank
frankd is offline  
post #9546 of 10685 Old 09-02-2008, 08:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KYW lost it's PSIP mapping last week for me as well.

In Lower Bucks, it is at 92-1, for some reason it seems like it lost it's PSIP mapping to 3-1 on all systems in SE PA.

Do a scan to find it, and/or try 92-1.
ak3883 is offline  
post #9547 of 10685 Old 09-03-2008, 04:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
cypherstream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KYW is still showing up on 3-1 in Reading, PA. I'm afraid to do another rescan because I don't want to loose it!

However a few months ago WPVI and WCAU lost their PSIP mappings on my system. It's still not fixed to this day. I get them on 113-1, and 113-2, along with their subchannels on 113-3, 113-4, and 113-5.

I remember when WPVI and WCAU were working right, KYW was on 26-1 and WHYY was on 1-5. They fixed those two but broke two others. Wonder why they can't just get them all on the proper numbers? Oh well.
cypherstream is offline  
post #9548 of 10685 Old 09-03-2008, 07:16 AM
Member
 
frankd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the heads up ak; I'll check 92-1.
frankd is offline  
post #9549 of 10685 Old 09-03-2008, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
apl132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spring City, PA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

KYW lost it's PSIP mapping last week for me as well.

In Lower Bucks, it is at 92-1, for some reason it seems like it lost it's PSIP mapping to 3-1 on all systems in SE PA.

Do a scan to find it, and/or try 92-1.

Yeah, I found it the other day at 93.1.
apl132 is offline  
post #9550 of 10685 Old 09-04-2008, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KYW-DT back to 3-1 for me yesterday. Who knows why...
ak3883 is offline  
post #9551 of 10685 Old 09-06-2008, 01:06 PM
Member
 
sheman10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: S.W. C.C. Philly
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anybody else not getting abc hd or nbc hd right now? they weren't coming in thursday night either

"I would kill everyone in this room for a drop of sweet beer." -Homer Simpson
sheman10 is offline  
post #9552 of 10685 Old 09-07-2008, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
maxaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Oaks, PA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found the BTN overflow channels got switched on sometime after the games started (Pottstown-Digital). As well as channels 801-804, they also were on channels 751-754. Not sure what's going on there, but I hope they continue to show all the games through the rest of the season.

Now if they'd only get the broadcasts going in HD! Picture quality isn't the best so far and BTN indicates some of the games are available in HD. At least 257 should be in HD.

Old Spartan & Big Ten Fan
maxaz is offline  
post #9553 of 10685 Old 09-07-2008, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LongRufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Kudos to the genius in charge at KYW who made sure we got to see every second of that thrilling Stillers-Texans game.
LongRufus is offline  
post #9554 of 10685 Old 09-07-2008, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LongRufus View Post

Kudos to the genius in charge at KYW who made sure we got to see every second of that thrilling Stillers-Texans game.

These decisions are made in advance and based on geography, I don't think they are allowed to switch over to a more exciting game.
ak3883 is offline  
post #9555 of 10685 Old 09-08-2008, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill Geiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxaz View Post

I found the BTN overflow channels got switched on sometime after the games started (Pottstown-Digital). As well as channels 801-804, they also were on channels 751-754. Not sure what's going on there, but I hope they continue to show all the games through the rest of the season.

Now if they'd only get the broadcasts going in HD! Picture quality isn't the best so far and BTN indicates some of the games are available in HD. At least 257 should be in HD.

Old Spartan & Big Ten Fan

They did have games in HD if you switched over to MOJO! They had the Wisconsin game and the Indiana game on Mojo.
Bill Geiger is offline  
post #9556 of 10685 Old 09-09-2008, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4mula1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have a DCH6416 with Comcast Philly Suburbs, and just wondering if anyone else has experienced this. It has only happened 3 times in the year or so that I have had it, but is very weird. I will pause a show that has been recorded on the DVR. Upon resume, I will get background sound only (music, sound effects, etc) no dialog. I have to stop the viewing, come back into it and the dialog returns.
4mula1 is offline  
post #9557 of 10685 Old 09-10-2008, 07:12 PM
Newbie
 
romans_3:23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Downingtown PA and as of Sunday I have been experiencing problems with receiving my local HD channels.

I have an HDTV with a built in QAM tuner and it has picked up every local channel flawlessly since I bought it a few months ago. Now (conveniently at the start of NFL season) the local channels either receive no signal or are so pixelated/broken up that they are unwatchable.

Universal HD comes in perfectly, so I doubt it's an issue with my tuner.

Is anyone else experiencing trouble with the Philly QAM channels?
romans_3:23 is offline  
post #9558 of 10685 Old 09-11-2008, 05:39 AM
Member
 
sheman10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: S.W. C.C. Philly
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by romans_3:23 View Post

I live in Downingtown PA and as of Sunday I have been experiencing problems with receiving my local HD channels.

I have an HDTV with a built in QAM tuner and it has picked up every local channel flawlessly since I bought it a few months ago. Now (conveniently at the start of NFL season) the local channels either receive no signal or are so pixelated/broken up that they are unwatchable.

Universal HD comes in perfectly, so I doubt it's an issue with my tuner.

Is anyone else experiencing trouble with the Philly QAM channels?

i'm in an apt in center city with a hd dvr and abc hd and nbc hd have been out since last thursday. they're the only channels i've found so far that aren't coming in.

i had a tech come out to look at it yesterday and he said the signal from the splitter outside was extremely low so he's having comcast maintenance come to try to boost it.

anyway, i thought maybe if others were having similar problems, it could be that comcast's signals are down across the board, but who knows?

"I would kill everyone in this room for a drop of sweet beer." -Homer Simpson
sheman10 is offline  
post #9559 of 10685 Old 09-11-2008, 02:12 PM
Newbie
 
dmac8283's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There was an underground fire at 10th and Clinton (called Delancey everywhere else) on Tuesday afternoon; it knocked out all service. I have everything back now, but that could still be causing problems for some people. This isn't the problem you're having, I assume, but figured I'd post this for Center City people anyway.
dmac8283 is offline  
post #9560 of 10685 Old 09-11-2008, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
shades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
as of october 1st all games on CSN will be in HD from now on including all road games
shades is offline  
post #9561 of 10685 Old 09-11-2008, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FOX29 is getting as bad as NBC10. It's bad enough their equipment cannot overlay their station ID w/o first putting the SD feed on the HD feed. And now they have forgotten to put the HD/widescreen back on, so we have 4:3 SD on their digital channel.

Nobody answered the phone, actually were able to connect to engineering via their main phone #

Kitchen Nightmares is not HD(only widescreen SD), so it's not as bad. But still, pathetic.
ak3883 is offline  
post #9562 of 10685 Old 09-11-2008, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
maxaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Oaks, PA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Geiger View Post

They did have games in HD if you switched over to MOJO! They had the Wisconsin game and the Indiana game on Mojo.

Thanks Bill ..... I'll try it. I see that BTN is also telling me on their game finder that 206 (MOJO) will carry the HD broadcast this Saturday.

Cheers, Max
maxaz is offline  
post #9563 of 10685 Old 09-12-2008, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shades View Post

as of october 1st all games on CSN will be in HD from now on including all road games

I saw this on Sportsrise this morning, and there is an article on CSN's homepage about it.

Great news!

This just applies to all Flyers,Sixers,Phillies games, home and away. No mention about college football or basketball games produced in HD on FSN, but not shown in HD here... that would be just too good to be true.
ak3883 is offline  
post #9564 of 10685 Old 09-12-2008, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4mula1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

FOX29 is getting as bad as NBC10. It's bad enough their equipment cannot overlay their station ID w/o first putting the SD feed on the HD feed. And now they have forgotten to put the HD/widescreen back on, so we have 4:3 SD on their digital channel.

Nobody answered the phone, actually were able to connect to engineering via their main phone #

Kitchen Nightmares is not HD(only widescreen SD), so it's not as bad. But still, pathetic.

Happened on my Kitchen Nightmares as well, but it clicked back over to HD about half way thru. (Philly Suburbs)
4mula1 is offline  
post #9565 of 10685 Old 09-12-2008, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
aindik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ak3883 View Post

I saw this on Sportsrise this morning, and there is an article on CSN's homepage about it.

Great news!

This just applies to all Flyers,Sixers,Phillies games, home and away. No mention about college football or basketball games produced in HD on FSN, but not shown in HD here... that would be just too good to be true.

Convenient timing in that CSN won't air any Phillies games between October 1 and mid-March (or April if they somehow weren't counting exhibition games). Still great news, though.

Peeve. UPN-57 needs to put the HD tag in their guide data when they air Phillies games in HD. They don't do it, and it fools my TiVo.
aindik is offline  
post #9566 of 10685 Old 09-13-2008, 05:52 AM
Senior Member
 
brubacca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woke up this morning and am missing all encrypted HD channels. Anyone else having this problem? (Missing Disney HD, AMCHD, CSNHD, ESPNHD, ESPN2HD)
Also side note I am missing the SD versions...


I use CableCARD.
brubacca is offline  
post #9567 of 10685 Old 09-13-2008, 06:01 AM
Member
 
EricFinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brubacca View Post

Woke up this morning and am missing all encrypted HD channels. Anyone else having this problem? (Missing Disney HD, AMCHD, CSNHD, ESPNHD, ESPN2HD)
Also side note I am missing the SD versions...


I use CableCARD.


No problems here. I've got all of those channels. Time to call comcrap...
EricFinn is offline  
post #9568 of 10685 Old 09-13-2008, 06:06 AM
Senior Member
 
brubacca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks... Great

I swear evrytime I call them I get an argument because I have CableCard.....

COMCAST if you are reading this... YOU SUCK
brubacca is offline  
post #9569 of 10685 Old 09-13-2008, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Bill Geiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
College football games are being shown in HD on CSN...finally, since the start of the season.
Bill Geiger is offline  
post #9570 of 10685 Old 09-15-2008, 05:08 PM
Member
 
jerry6d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had the same problem with ABC HD and NBC HD since last thursday. None of them showing up anymore. Tried to do a rescan. NO DICE. I live in South Philly BTW
jerry6d is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off