Philadelphia, PA - Comcast - Page 355 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10621 of 10685 Old 08-14-2011, 06:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My problem turned out to be a bad splitter. All is good.

Carl Jones
Carl Jones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10622 of 10685 Old 11-15-2011, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Price increase notification, 01/01/2012.

Carl Jones
Carl Jones is offline  
post #10623 of 10685 Old 11-30-2011, 10:05 AM
Senior Member
 
BrentHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New London, PA USA
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My friend in Phoenixville recently got a lot more HD channels with channel numbers >1200. Any word if that upgrade is coming to the Kennett Square service area?

"Sweet Cracker Sandwich!"--Satchel Pooch
BrentHD is offline  
post #10624 of 10685 Old 12-01-2011, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast wants to shift nationally to the 1000s for HD & we will get there eventually (I don't know when), but the precursor for that happening here will be our locals going digital ony. So keep your eye out for notification from Comcast that you are losing alll analog signals as they switch to all digital. Typically a few months after that happens, we'll get the additional HD channels.

Carl Jones
Carl Jones is offline  
post #10625 of 10685 Old 12-02-2011, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4mula1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrentHD View Post

My friend in Phoenixville recently got a lot more HD channels with channel numbers >1200. Any word if that upgrade is coming to the Kennett Square service area?

I have had this in the King Of Prussia area for a few weeks now. Seems like it would be out there as well?
4mula1 is offline  
post #10626 of 10685 Old 12-11-2011, 06:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
donaldsonjune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Philly
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
hello all,

anyone else having an issue with TNT-HD? no dolby digital, just 3-channel sterio. the proccessor lights up DD but voices are coming out of the front left and right speakers. i can't be the only one.

June
"IF YOU FAIL TO PLAN, YOU PLAN TO FAIL"
donaldsonjune is offline  
post #10627 of 10685 Old 12-12-2011, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeepmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrentHD View Post

My friend in Phoenixville recently got a lot more HD channels with channel numbers >1200. Any word if that upgrade is coming to the Kennett Square service area?

Brent-
As Carl mentioned - they are rolling this out to the rest of the Philly 'burb areas eventually. The removal of the basic channels in analog will be the 1st thing to start. Once that is done, give or take 2-4 weeks and you'll see them.

What i've heard is the entire area (Delco, Chester, New Castle County) should be done by March.
jeepmatt is offline  
post #10628 of 10685 Old 12-12-2011, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4mula1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Philadelphia, Pa.
Posts: 1,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldsonjune View Post

hello all,

anyone else having an issue with TNT-HD? no dolby digital, just 3-channel sterio. the proccessor lights up DD but voices are coming out of the front left and right speakers. i can't be the only one.

No issues with my TNT. Is this happening with all shows of TNT for you?
4mula1 is offline  
post #10629 of 10685 Old 12-14-2011, 07:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
donaldsonjune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Philly
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
4mula1,

so far tnt & starz (boss). watching leverage now & 3-channel sterio

June
"IF YOU FAIL TO PLAN, YOU PLAN TO FAIL"
donaldsonjune is offline  
post #10630 of 10685 Old 01-23-2012, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox HD QAM channel?
Last night my two tuner DVR was busy, I wanted to watch the game & switched to QAM & no Fox HD!! Used to be 29.1..not there! Did a re-scan when I couldn't find it, not there! All other locals seemed to be there EXCEPT FOX. Has anyone seen it lately?

Carl Jones
Carl Jones is offline  
post #10631 of 10685 Old 02-05-2012, 12:20 PM
Member
 
csaag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can't get FOX HD either on 29.1 when I switch to QAM.

Also haven't been able to get CBS HD on 3.1 for the last few weeks - only the non HD 3.5
csaag is offline  
post #10632 of 10685 Old 02-05-2012, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
Brian Bergen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I unhook my cable box from the tv, will I still get local channels on my tv. I have a 19 year old Mitisubushi tube tv and I am thinking about getting rid of cable.
Brian Bergen is offline  
post #10633 of 10685 Old 02-05-2012, 03:07 PM
Member
 
sd-hd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cape May,NJ
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Noticed yesterday that neither NBC or ABC is coming in QAM for HD. The NBC 40 (atlantic city) is still coming in HD. I am in Cape May County,NJ
I am getting FOX HD though.
sd-hd is offline  
post #10634 of 10685 Old 02-05-2012, 03:09 PM
Member
 
sd-hd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cape May,NJ
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Bergen View Post

If I unhook my cable box from the tv, will I still get local channels on my tv. I have a 19 year old Mitisubushi tube tv and I am thinking about getting rid of cable.

Not sure about your area. Down here (Cape May,NJ) we are supposed to be losing the ability to do that in March, we will need to use one of the DTA to get the locals (and pay for limited basic, about $11/month).
sd-hd is offline  
post #10635 of 10685 Old 02-06-2012, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked this AM & still missing Fox (29.1) but getting all others.

As for the post asking about getting channels w/o box. Here, a few analog channels (as well as digital via QAM) are still available but that will not last much longer with Comcast when all digital gets here and I don't know when that change will happen but suspect it will be any time now.

So in the future we'll have to use OAR or get used to boxes for all TVs.

Carl Jones
Carl Jones is offline  
post #10636 of 10685 Old 02-07-2012, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ak3883's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 1,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At least that will make self-installs possible/easier and no more truck rolls for initial connects, if everything is encrypted then they won't bother disconnecting units to taps or have to deal with traps anymore.

Less expenses, so how about cutting down some of the yearly price hikes???
ak3883 is offline  
post #10637 of 10685 Old 02-08-2012, 06:43 PM
Member
 
sd-hd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cape May,NJ
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd-hd View Post

Noticed yesterday that neither NBC or ABC is coming in QAM for HD. The NBC 40 (atlantic city) is still coming in HD. I am in Cape May County,NJ
I am getting FOX HD though.

I rescanned and found NBC and ABC on different channels.
sd-hd is offline  
post #10638 of 10685 Old 02-10-2012, 03:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I rescanned yesterday & Fox reappeared @ 29.1, all others are there as well.

Carl Jones
Carl Jones is offline  
post #10639 of 10685 Old 02-22-2012, 07:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeepmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anybody in Chester, Delaware, or New Castle Counties gets a notification of the final pull of analogs - please post it here. (Yes, you too Carl!!)

Word was that it was to happen in March.

Once this happens and the HD's appear in the 1000's (that Bucks and Montco have and got back in October) - i'm coming back to Comcast. I fought over a year to get VZ to add Fox Soccer HD, so waiting for that to show up. :-)

Verizon has seen the last of my $$$.
jeepmatt is offline  
post #10640 of 10685 Old 02-23-2012, 04:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah Matt!! You're getting frustrated I can tell! It's too bad. FIOS held such promise and as you know I almost switched but by the time FIOS was FINALLY available for me I no longer saw the the need to switch, Comcast had basically caught up. I'll certainly post if I hear anything..so far nada!

You know, another reason I drag my feet to switch is my e-mail account. I HATED the thought of that change. These days, most of our lives (personal, business, financial. Not to mention family & friends) are tied to our e-mail addresses. That change is harder for me than switching telephone numbers or video services!

What about others on this forum, switching e-mail accounts an issue for you?

Carl Jones
Carl Jones is offline  
post #10641 of 10685 Old 02-24-2012, 12:46 PM
Member
 
csaag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Jones View Post


What about others on this forum, switching e-mail accounts an issue for you?


Yeah, I have so many places going to my verizon email address that I know I'd probably miss out on Publishers Clearing House trying to contact me about my winnings.

I have basic comcast and use a splitter to get high def via the QAM tuner - though the OTA forum says that capability will be taken away soon. Something just burns me about having to pay $10/month for a HD box to view the content I'm already paying for.

So I have an incentive to switch to verizon - just have to see if they charge extra for the box(es). But I would hate to have the lawn dug up (if they even need to do that) since I killed myself last season bringing the lawn back to life.
csaag is offline  
post #10642 of 10685 Old 02-28-2012, 06:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whotony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: near philly
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gmail works pretty good for me.
I never used my Comcast email when I had Comcast.
whotony is offline  
post #10643 of 10685 Old 03-02-2012, 03:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeepmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, received disappointing news yesterday from an internal source.

Looks like full digital in New Castle County (along w/ the new HD's) now won't happen until the summer. Not sure what issues they are encountering, but it must be something.

They had prior PR's that had stated the entire Freedom Region would be complete by end of Q1. Looks like i'll be with FIOS for longer than I thought.
jeepmatt is offline  
post #10644 of 10685 Old 03-02-2012, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Matt, I'm always amazed @ your ability to get quality info. Hang in there!

whotony, yeah, I've been thinking of doing the same thing. That way I could use both for awhile until I'm sure all that I care about are using the new address. Any downside to google or yahoo mail addresses you can think of other than google knowing more about me than I do.

Carl Jones
Carl Jones is offline  
post #10645 of 10685 Old 03-10-2012, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
1080i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bethel, PA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Delaware county we just received a notice from Comcast that the analogs will be gone on March 13, 2012
1080i is offline  
post #10646 of 10685 Old 03-31-2012, 04:54 AM
Newbie
 
1080i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bethel, PA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New Channel information from the latest bill:
On April 5 2012, the following new channel will launch on Limited Basic: Telemundo HD (WWSI HD, Phila) 796.
The following new channels will launch on Expanded Basic:
Bloomberg TV HD 1216, C-SPAN HD 1217, BBC America HD 1225, TV Guide Entertainment HD 1316 and TV Guide Entertainment 100, EWTN HD 1318, GSN HD 1325 and Sprout HD 1505.
The following will launch on the Digital Preferred Tier:
Nat Geo Wild HD 1262, Smithsonian HD 1265 & Smithsonian 194, Oxygen HD 1334, Ovation HD 1345, Galavision HD 1368, and The Hub HD 1511.
The following will launch on Sports Entertainment Package:
Fox Soccer Channel HD* 1512, Gol TV HD 1513, Outdoor Channel HD 1630 & Outdoor Channel 728, and Sportsman HD 1631 & Sportsman 736.
1080i is offline  
post #10647 of 10685 Old 04-01-2012, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Carl Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wilmington, Delaware
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I assume your market went all digital some time ago?

Carl Jones
Carl Jones is offline  
post #10648 of 10685 Old 04-02-2012, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeepmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 794
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If Bethel is Delco (which I think it is) - yeah, they went all digital on 3/13. Now if only the New Castle group would get off their butts! LOL.
jeepmatt is offline  
post #10649 of 10685 Old 04-03-2012, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
1080i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bethel, PA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I am in Delco and they claim to have gone all digital but there are still 20 active analog channels. I have a spectrum analyzer.
1080i is offline  
post #10650 of 10685 Old 04-03-2012, 07:59 AM
Member
 
OWENF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: bucks county
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did the abington/ardsley/roslyn area loose all locals in clear qam recently ?
Regards
Owen
OWENF is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off