Philadelphia, PA - Comcast - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DarthJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The long awaited 2000 foot tower is now up and open for business. The first station to officially or unofficially go on line is UPN channel 57 (DT 32-1). All content was up-converted and looked pretty bad but they were the first new station on, none the less. We should not see any improvement to the station's content until the national feed sends Enterprise in HD next season.

Next up should be The WB network, channel 17 (DT 54-1). I placed a call to them last night to let them know that UPN beat them to the punch. They said they should be on by the weekend. That will be just in time to catch Tuesday's repeat of Smallville this Sunday (don't forget to set your clocks back an hour Saturday night.).

As for the other channels, who cares. Just kidding

I will update you on PAX Channel 61 (DT 31-1), Telemundo (I hope I spelled it correctly), PBS (WYBE-DT 34-1), and an Independent Station (WGTW-DT 27-1 ) as soon as I get the scoop.


May HD be with you always

DarthJedi

May HD be with you always

DarthJedi

XBOX LIVE: ForceFields
DarthJedi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 05:54 AM
Member
 
Ralph Degenero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pequea , Pennsylvania
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will FOX and NBC be on this new tower ?
Ralph Degenero is offline  
post #3 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DarthJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Ralph Degenero
Will FOX and NBC be on this new tower ?


I am not sure about FOX but NBC will be moving to the new tower. Their transmitter is already there but they have not given a time for the roll over.


May HD be with you always

DarthJedi.

May HD be with you always

DarthJedi

XBOX LIVE: ForceFields
DarthJedi is offline  
post #4 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 06:22 AM
Member
 
chingko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the info Darth. Would you know the transmitter power for UPN and WB?

-Ben

Ben
chingko is offline  
post #5 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dan Bither's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wilmington DE USA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully Darthjedi has more info on the transmitting power, but I can tell you that the UPN signal was fairly strong in Wilmington. On my HiPix I got a signal strength of 76 last night.
Dan Bither is offline  
post #6 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 06:35 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DarthJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by chingko
Thank you for the info Darth. Would you know the transmitter power for UPN and WB?

-Ben

I don't know but I will find out for you. I can also tell you that I have the SONY HD200 and UPN is now the strongest signal I get. Before UPN it was CBS and ABC that were the strongest.

May HD be with you always

DarthJedi

XBOX LIVE: ForceFields
DarthJedi is offline  
post #7 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
That is surprising given that 57 is at such low power. Must be the height. It is my understanding that they have shut down the antenna right now. Let us know if you are getting it now. I no longer am!
JWhip is online now  
post #8 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DarthJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not getting it either.

May HD be with you always

DarthJedi

XBOX LIVE: ForceFields
DarthJedi is offline  
post #9 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 03:57 PM
Member
 
FDAHLGREN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: nj
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the FCC construction permit UPN WPSG-DT will be allowed up to 250kW erp from a height of 1312'. WB WPHL-DT: 500kW @1161'
PAX WPPX-DT: 800kW @1227'
IND WGTW-DT: 225kW @1099'

F.D.
FDAHLGREN is offline  
post #10 of 10685 Old 10-24-2002, 05:37 PM
Member
 
gradywhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gloucester County, NJ
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They had people climbing the tower....That is why they went down
gradywhite is offline  
post #11 of 10685 Old 10-25-2002, 06:32 AM
Senior Member
 
YardleyBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I printed out this thread, and was all excited to see the new channel when I got home.

Alas, it was not on.

Soon.....
YardleyBill is offline  
post #12 of 10685 Old 10-25-2002, 09:30 AM
Member
 
E_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm glad it isn't just me not getting the signal. I got ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX and PBS. If the signal there I assume that I don't have to rotate the antena. last night I rotate the antenna like crazy, but still can't get UPN. I'll try again this weekend for WB. I forgot who posted, but he mentioned that WB will unofficially on air this weekend. We'll see.

Off topic - If UPN broadcast 76ers in HD, that would be great. Anyone know about this status? I heard that Comcast will install HD cameras in First Union Center. I hope that's not a rumor. I did not have comcast cable, so if UPN send the HD signal for the First Union Center, that would be awesome
E_One is offline  
post #13 of 10685 Old 10-25-2002, 11:03 AM
Member
 
gradywhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gloucester County, NJ
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WPSG-DT is currently running about 8kw. Signal will go on and off, due to a variety of projects related to tower and transmitter... They will be ready for 24/7 on 11/1
gradywhite is offline  
post #14 of 10685 Old 10-25-2002, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
8kw? d to pick that up. When I scanned early yesterday morning, I was able to pick it up. Was that only 8kw? If so, that added height really helps. Hope they will be on at their maximum rated power of 250kw on 11/1. BTW. Comcast HD is strictly a cable product. I seriously doubt that it will be on OTA for a few years, at least with the use of Comcast euipment.
JWhip is online now  
post #15 of 10685 Old 10-25-2002, 03:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Calabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: E. Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Ralph Degenero
Will FOX and NBC be on this new tower ?

Yes, from what I understand, FOX will also be on this tower.
Calabs is offline  
post #16 of 10685 Old 10-25-2002, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Fox will not be on this tower. They will be on another tower but much higher up and they will be at 1 megawatt. They should be up and running by the spring.
JWhip is online now  
post #17 of 10685 Old 10-25-2002, 03:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Calabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: E. Brunswick, NJ
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by JWhip
Fox will not be on this tower. They will be on another tower but much higher up and they will be at 1 megawatt. They should be up and running by the spring.

OK, Now I'm REALLY confused! There are TWO towers going up in the Philly area? Can you claify what you mean by another tower? The info I got, and of course it could be totally wrong, said that WTXF (FOX)will be going on the same tower as WCAU (NBC) and WPSG (UPN), as well as WPHL (WB). JWhip - I hope you wrong, cause I can't get WTXF very well where I live.
Calabs is offline  
post #18 of 10685 Old 10-25-2002, 07:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Fox will be moving their position to another tower where channel 35 (analog) is presently. They will be at nearly 1000 feet whereas they are at about 500 feet at another location in Andorra. Once they install their new antenna in the fall and go to their new power level (once the FCC approves it, you will have no trouble getting them.
JWhip is online now  
post #19 of 10685 Old 10-25-2002, 08:57 PM
Member
 
LarryGMarrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why can't we get any information on the status of WCAU? I can receive and maintain signals from every station except WCAU
LarryGMarrow is offline  
post #20 of 10685 Old 10-26-2002, 05:17 AM
Member
 
donecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: donecker@op.net
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is all good news! I picked up UPN by accident last week--what a nice surprise.

The only station I can't get hipix to pick up now is PBS--weird.
donecker is offline  
post #21 of 10685 Old 10-26-2002, 05:17 PM
Member
 
LarryGMarrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Delaware County, PA
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i seem to have lost the upn signal (32.1) here in the philadelphia area. has it gone off the air?
LarryGMarrow is offline  
post #22 of 10685 Old 10-27-2002, 05:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Yes. They tirned it off so that channel 17 could complete work on their antenna.
JWhip is online now  
post #23 of 10685 Old 10-28-2002, 09:33 AM
Senior Member
 
MSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went looking for these stations all weekend, and didn't find either. However, I'm in the fringe and only using an indoor antenna at the moment. I'm probably going to try an attic antenna soon.
MSmith is offline  
post #24 of 10685 Old 10-28-2002, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I was told that a fm antenna was being placed on the tower today so no 32-1 was on. If it rains tomorrow, there will be no work on the tower. They will turn it on tomorrow if that is the case.
JWhip is online now  
post #25 of 10685 Old 10-29-2002, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DarthJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't forget to check channel 54 tonight. WB said they will turn their signal on at 9pm tonight.

May HD be with you always

DarthJedi

XBOX LIVE: ForceFields
DarthJedi is offline  
post #26 of 10685 Old 10-29-2002, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dan Bither's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wilmington DE USA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool! Just in time for Smallville.
Dan Bither is offline  
post #27 of 10685 Old 10-29-2002, 04:21 PM
Member
 
gradywhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Gloucester County, NJ
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
8.8kw into antenna effective output from antenna 107kw - but all that matters not, since they are running to dummy load until the other folks clear off tower.

They might be back up in time for Enterprise - just get those people off the tower !!!
gradywhite is offline  
post #28 of 10685 Old 10-29-2002, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 3,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Let us know if WB 17 is up and running and whether they will be staying on or just still testing!
JWhip is online now  
post #29 of 10685 Old 10-29-2002, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DarthJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no WB yet

May HD be with you always

DarthJedi

XBOX LIVE: ForceFields
DarthJedi is offline  
post #30 of 10685 Old 10-29-2002, 06:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
DarthJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wynnewood, PA
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Everyone Please join me in calling the WB and let them know that you are not getting a signal. They are saying it is on and I am not getting it I live one mile form the tower with a clean shot. The number is 215 878-1700 press 3 for news, ask them to transfer you to engineering

May HD be with you always

DarthJedi

XBOX LIVE: ForceFields
DarthJedi is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off