Indianapolis / Terre Haute / Lafayette, IN - HDTV - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 7031 Old 08-21-2003, 02:25 PM
Newbie
 
wkennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does nayone know if the Terk 55 is directional? I guess I could checlk the box but I am sitting here at work and thought I would ask real quick Is it better to mount it vertical or horizontal..or does it matter.

Bill
wkennedy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 7031 Old 08-21-2003, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
fgr41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking it was directional but I may be wrong.

I was thinking you should mount it horizontally but I may be wrong.

I tried it and didn't have great luck so now its in my garage as an FM antenna. For my needs it was a waist of $, I had to get a mast antenna.

HDTV and Home Theater junkie
fgr41 is offline  
post #453 of 7031 Old 08-22-2003, 02:19 AM
Newbie
 
wkennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, I am getting very good results with it mounted in my attic over the garage. A couple of the channels have signals in the 60s but most are in the 90s. I was just curious if I would gain anything by mounting it vertically.

Always want more...more...more!!

Bill
wkennedy is offline  
post #454 of 7031 Old 08-25-2003, 07:16 AM
Member
 
WilEAdams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I am going to try posting this here to see what kind of response I get... I have had a DISH 6000 for quite some time, but just recently had an off air antenna installed. What I am getting is very impressive. I get most all of the digital station signals from Indy, 4, 6, 8, 13, 20, 42 and 59. All of these come in with over 85% signal strength. I even get some stations from Louisville (2 and 32).

My one big complaint is that I get the best analogue picture from 23/WNDY/UPN, but I get basically no singal from their digital station. Ever now and then I get a bouncing signal up to 67% and then nothing again. I have tried rotating the antenna and still get the same results.

I have a Winegard HD7084P. I would think that if I get a great analogue signal that the DT signal would be good enough. My only question would be the power at which WNDY-DT is transmitting.

I have not tried to get the Terre Haute stations, yet... Are they on the air?

Wil

Wil Adams
Greenwood, Indiana
AT&T U-Verse Subscriber since June 2008
WilEAdams is offline  
post #455 of 7031 Old 08-25-2003, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
goldrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WilEAdams,

WNDY-DT 32 is at maximum power, 1000kw., but it does utilize a directional antenna from the tower just north of Noblesville, near Strawtown. You can check out the configuration of the signal pattern at this website http://www.fccinfo.com/CMDProEngine....DNumber=616116

Another thing to keep in mind with this particular station and your location is that analog station WLKY, 32, Louisville covers a large area of Southern Indiana. Besides WNDY's directional signal, you might also be experiencing some interference from time to time from WLKY's signal. This seems to be quite common in some overlapping coverage areas. For example, if you live between Indy and Cincinnati, like Greensburg, it can be difficult to receive WISH-DT 9 and/or WCPO 9 (analog), Cincinnati.

As for Terre Haute, there are only two DTVs on the air at the moment, WTHI-DT 24 and WTWO-DT 36. Both are currently operating at low power, so it might be difficult for you to receive them. I recently read that the owners of WBAK, 38 (digital to be ch. 39) have filed for another extension with the FCC. The station claims it is for financial reasons.

Steve
Indy
goldrich is offline  
post #456 of 7031 Old 08-25-2003, 03:41 PM
Member
 
WilEAdams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the information!

I am now pretty much sure that WLKY is the culprit, as it comes in very strong in this area. As for Terre Haute, I only get about a 26% signal strength for both WTHI-DT 24 and WTWO-DT 36. So, I hope that improves once and if they go full power.

Wil Adams
Greenwood, Indiana
AT&T U-Verse Subscriber since June 2008
WilEAdams is offline  
post #457 of 7031 Old 08-26-2003, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
SlickVik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got good news for Lafayette, IN residents -- For those who subscribe to Insight's HD offerings -- We're going to be getting HDNet, HDNet Movies, Discovery HD, and ESPN HD in mid-September. They were originally slated to be released July 1, but some head end problems delayed the channels. Well, can't wait 'til mid-september!
SlickVik is offline  
post #458 of 7031 Old 08-27-2003, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
kwerner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WLFI-DT CBS in Lafayette HD capable? My friend is having trouble getting CBS Indy so using Lafayette is an option, but WLFI doesn't even appear to be HD.
kwerner is offline  
post #459 of 7031 Old 08-27-2003, 07:05 AM
Senior Member
 
kwerner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by SlickVik
I've got good news for Lafayette, IN residents -- For those who

This should go for Kokomo too correct? I think we are in the Lafayette area.
kwerner is offline  
post #460 of 7031 Old 08-27-2003, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
goldrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by kwerner
Is WLFI-DT CBS in Lafayette HD capable? My friend is having trouble getting CBS Indy so using Lafayette is an option, but WLFI doesn't even appear to be HD.


So far WLFI-DT is not setup for HD. Supposedly they have been in the process of converting but it hasn't happened yet. Last year the word was that it would be in by the first of the year (2003) and then the word was that it might be in by NCAA basketball tournament time. In the past I've contacted WLFI's C.E. through their website and I've also spoken to Tom Weber at sister station WISH. Maybe Tom will reply to these posts.

Steve
goldrich is offline  
post #461 of 7031 Old 08-27-2003, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Tom Weber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's coming, but it's been a "the faster I go the behinder I get" kind of August.

Sigh

Tom Weber
Tom Weber is offline  
post #462 of 7031 Old 09-09-2003, 07:39 AM
Member
 
Gthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Greenfield, IN
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone loose audio on WISH DT last night after CSI Miami ? I was watching MNF and switched over to CSI Miama during comercials. It was fine. However when the news came on there was no audio. I was watching via Insight HDTV in Greenfield.

Also Tom, could you share with us the breakdown of your digital channel bandwidth ? ie 19 mbs total how much goes the the main HDTV feed, and how much of that goes to the multicast channels?

Thanks!

Greg
Gthompson is offline  
post #463 of 7031 Old 09-09-2003, 01:05 PM
Member
 
DirectorBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While we're on the subject of WISH, tuning to any WISH subchannel has often been causing my Samsung STB to reboot, sometimes repeatedly. This seemed to start around the time the encoder died a few Mondays ago. Same problem also occurred back before the NCAA playoffs.
DirectorBoy is offline  
post #464 of 7031 Old 09-09-2003, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Tom Weber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Roughly, HD runs at 16 Mbits, LWS at 2 Mbits, and radar at 0.5 Mbits. Audio and PSIP round out the rest.

Yeah, I'm having an issue with an audio device. It got reset when the early morning maintenance guy came in and noticed it.

I need to upgrade PSIP soon anyway to deal with Closed Captioning. Perhaps that will help with the STB reboots. That's the first I had heard of that in several months.

Regards,
Tom Weber
WISH Engineering
Tom Weber is offline  
post #465 of 7031 Old 09-09-2003, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
fgr41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Tom,

What is the best thing to do to bump up the signal reception for WISH. I live in Avon and am pointing my antenna in as neutral a direction as I can to get all the channels. I can get a lock and strong signal on everything but WISH, I'm guessing because its on UHF/VHF don't know which but the opposite of everyone else in town. Would my assumption be correct, what can I try to boost my reception. I am using a channel master.

THANKS

HDTV and Home Theater junkie
fgr41 is offline  
post #466 of 7031 Old 09-09-2003, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
kwerner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WISH DT channel 9 is VHF. Is your channel master a combo (UHF and VHF)? The VHF part are the big wide elements (usually the back half of a combo). The UHF part is the section with a bunch of small elements and two little arms going up and down. Kind of hard to describe with words.

I'm up in Kokomo and have trouble with VHF-9 too. I wish they would all use UHF so we each could just buy a big UHF antenna (which would be much smaller than a combo).
kwerner is offline  
post #467 of 7031 Old 09-09-2003, 03:40 PM
Senior Member
 
fgr41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok thanks for the info. Yes my channel master is a combo antenna. I thought the VHF/UHF were switched on the antenna, thanks for the info. I wish there was a way to aim the 2 independantly, is that possible?

HDTV and Home Theater junkie
fgr41 is offline  
post #468 of 7031 Old 09-09-2003, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
kwerner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a combo and a UHF only antenna joined with a "splitter/combiner":
http://www.itesla.com/hometheater/images/wiring.gif

Technically speaking, I don't know if it is recommended to do this. I know it helps me because at the moment my friend has my UHF and my reception of WFYI is way down. My combo is aimed almost due South, a little West. The UHF is aimed South South East to help with PBS and UPN.

There could be issues with one antenna cancelling out the signal from the other if they aren't aligned. If you dig through the forum you will find people "stacking" antennas which requires precise positioning of the two, but I think that's different than what we want.

You can give it a try at least, you can get a ~$20 UHF antenna and a cheap splitter from Radio Shack to play with.
kwerner is offline  
post #469 of 7031 Old 09-09-2003, 06:27 PM
Member
 
Gthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Greenfield, IN
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Kevin,

What are you using as a combiner to combine the 2 UHF's together?

Thanks!

Greg
Gthompson is offline  
post #470 of 7031 Old 09-09-2003, 08:10 PM
Senior Member
 
kwerner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Central Indiana
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Gthompson What are you using as a combiner to combine the 2 UHF's together?

Not sure exactly, just a cheap splitter like they sell at Radio Shack so you can split cable tv onto two tv's.
kwerner is offline  
post #471 of 7031 Old 09-10-2003, 04:36 PM
Member
 
WilEAdams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Greenwood, Indiana
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anything changed in the signals from WTHR and WISH? I can not see to pick them up the last couple of days. I have rotated my antenna and still am having troubles.

thanks,
Wil

Wil Adams
Greenwood, Indiana
AT&T U-Verse Subscriber since June 2008
WilEAdams is offline  
post #472 of 7031 Old 09-10-2003, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
fgr41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WTHR is as strong as ever for me. WISH, I always have a problem with.

HDTV and Home Theater junkie
fgr41 is offline  
post #473 of 7031 Old 09-11-2003, 05:59 AM
Member
 
Gthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Greenfield, IN
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom,

Will WISHDT be showing the Patriots Eagles game in HD after the Colts game this sunday ?


Thanks!

Greg
Gthompson is offline  
post #474 of 7031 Old 09-11-2003, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Gabro Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Indy
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whether they show the HD game or not, it doesn't look like it will be after they show the Colts game. (Blackout city, here we come.)
Gabro Jay is offline  
post #475 of 7031 Old 09-12-2003, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Tom Weber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Programming says yes, 3PM game will be HD and 5.1. Patriots/Eagles will be the only game on WISH - Colts are blacked out.

Tom Weber
WISH Engineering
Tom Weber is offline  
post #476 of 7031 Old 09-12-2003, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Tom Weber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also - just got told this afternoon, don't forget SEC football on Saturday, also in HD.

Happy HD Football weekend!

Tom Weber,
WISH Engineering
Tom Weber is offline  
post #477 of 7031 Old 09-14-2003, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Gthompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Greenfield, IN
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom,

Just wanted to tell you that both Games looked great. Thanks for all you do!

Greg
Gthompson is offline  
post #478 of 7031 Old 09-14-2003, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
fgr41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I love the 10 minutes of HD football I have been able to watch this year. Someone please stop the every day madness so I can have time to watch an entire game!

HDTV and Home Theater junkie
fgr41 is offline  
post #479 of 7031 Old 09-17-2003, 02:47 PM
Member
 
bakem84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been lurking for about 6 months on this thread now. I've noticed that it has become pretty quiet, especially compared to many of the other local threads. I assume that this is due to the high quality of digital signals in the area. For one, I'm thrilled to be able to get all the major networks with a simple attic setup. I've seen the troubles that others have, and we, for the most part, don't have them.

A guarded kudos to the Indy DTV stations. I'm happy with my service, but, as a newbie DTV nut, let me say, please don't rest on your laurels. Keep on being at the forefront!

Bakem


P.S. Can somebody get RTV to remap to 6-1 instead of 25-1?!?
bakem84 is offline  
post #480 of 7031 Old 09-17-2003, 03:50 PM
Member
 
KBandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Crawfordsville, IN
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
P.S. Can somebody get RTV to remap to 6-1 instead of 25-1?!?

It seems like I read somewhere that WRTV will eventually abandon channel 6 due to a request/requirement to free up more spectrum for FM broadcast radio. So, after all of the analog stations complete the digital change-over, there will be no more "channel 6".

Can some one confirm that, or did I have a really weird dream?

Ken
KBandy is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off