Pittsburgh, PA - OTA - Page 145 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4321 of 4548 Old 06-23-2010, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW, I was in New Castle the other day, and still no WPXI digital translator.
Inundated is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4322 of 4548 Old 07-07-2010, 01:31 PM
Newbie
 
alexlai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone hear anything about the KDKA translator in Morgantown? It was approved a while ago.

I live near Morgantown, and I pick up the new WPXI repeater great.
alexlai is offline  
post #4323 of 4548 Old 07-24-2010, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
knighty81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been able to get 8.1 WWCP in the Pittsburgh area since the switch? I've read the previos comments about their new, low strength but was wondering if any setup would have success. My TVFool info cannot be posted yet do to lack of posts but its listed as follows:

Nm = 26.8 PWR = -64 Path = 1EDGE DIst = 47.5 Azimuth = 105
Its in the yellow zone

Before the switch to VHF I was able to pick it up with a Radioshack dish type antenna indoors next to the TV. As an Eagles fan in Steeler country I need this station back!! Help
knighty81 is offline  
post #4324 of 4548 Old 07-25-2010, 09:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexlai View Post

Anyone hear anything about the KDKA translator in Morgantown? It was approved a while ago.

I live near Morgantown, and I pick up the new WPXI repeater great.

While the application was accepted for filing over a year ago there is no indication in the FCC database of approval.
Sammer is offline  
post #4325 of 4548 Old 07-31-2010, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
alexlai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammer View Post

While the application was accepted for filing over a year ago there is no indication in the FCC database of approval.

Sorry, I misread it. The FCC has it under "Accepted for Filing". What exactly does that mean?
alexlai is offline  
post #4326 of 4548 Old 07-31-2010, 05:30 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexlai View Post

Sorry, I misread it. The FCC has it under "Accepted for Filing". What exactly does that mean?

That means the FCC has not yet taken action on it.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #4327 of 4548 Old 08-03-2010, 07:19 AM
Member
 
Soon2Bdark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knighty81 View Post

Has anyone been able to get 8.1 WWCP in the Pittsburgh area since the switch? ... Before the switch to VHF I was able to pick it up with a Radioshack dish type antenna indoors next to the TV. As an Eagles fan in Steeler country I need this station back!! Help

My TV FOOL conditions here are a bit worse than yours, but I have an 8' long VHF-UHF antenna in the attic, and I have been unable to lock on to channel 8 since the switch back from UHF. It doesn't matter so much now that I can get WTAE on 4-3.

My suggestion...
Put up the biggest antenna you can find on the highest pole allowable. The neighbors are sure to complain, so just hang a huge STEELERS banner from the antenna. They'll just assume you've converted, and ignore the fact that there's a big antenna above the banner. (No guarantee of reception, though.) If that doesn't work, does DirecTV still have NFL Sunday ticket?
Soon2Bdark is offline  
post #4328 of 4548 Old 08-03-2010, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by knighty81 View Post

Has anyone been able to get 8.1 WWCP in the Pittsburgh area since the switch?

Hopefully they're enjoying some savings on their power bill at WWCP because I can't think of any other reason for giving up that beautiful million watt channel 29 signal for a short spaced underpowered VHF disaster. They probably should have at least asked the FCC for a 15 kW channel 29 fill in translator from the same tower.
Sammer is offline  
post #4329 of 4548 Old 08-04-2010, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammer View Post

Hopefully they're enjoying some savings on their power bill at WWCP because I can't think of any other reason for giving up that beautiful million watt channel 29 signal for a short spaced underpowered VHF disaster. They probably should have at least asked the FCC for a 15 kW channel 29 fill in translator from the same tower.

They are not overly concerned with OTA, especially outside the Johnstown-Altoona-State College DMA, so long as they get cable and satellite systems to carry them.
As for translators, they have missed the chance to use RF 29 since WJAC snapped it up for a translator in Bedford.

ÂOne of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us.Â
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is offline  
post #4330 of 4548 Old 08-21-2010, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrGonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is anyone else seeing this weird ghosting/blurring in the steelers-giants broadcast? this is the second week in the row for this issue in steelers preseason games. it looks like an encoding (?) error on KDKA's end or something. i was wondering if anyone else has noticed and/or knows what causes that. looks like crap.

"There's a... big machine in the sky... Some sort of... electric snake. It's headed right for us..."
"Shoot it."
"Not yet. I want to study its habits."
MrGonk is offline  
post #4331 of 4548 Old 08-21-2010, 06:27 PM
Newbie
 
Aardvark Barber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm noticing it too! It looks horrible!
Aardvark Barber is offline  
post #4332 of 4548 Old 08-26-2010, 10:27 PM
Member
 
ajg0711's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hubbard
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question to ask for someone who knows alot about installing antennas. I'm planning on re doing my antenna setup and currently don't have it grounded to a water pipe or to a pole in the ground. But on my current setup I have a channal master 7777 pre amp on the antenna and since I have the cable going into power amp and it's plugged into the outlet, wouldn't that be grounding.
ajg0711 is offline  
post #4333 of 4548 Old 08-28-2010, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajg0711 View Post

I have a question to ask for someone who knows alot about installing antennas. I'm planning on re doing my antenna setup and currently don't have it grounded to a water pipe or to a pole in the ground. But on my current setup I have a channal master 7777 pre amp on the antenna and since I have the cable going into power amp and it's plugged into the outlet, wouldn't that be grounding.

No, a wall-wart does not provide ANY grounding, much less a suitable one.

See NEC Article 810.21 for details of what a properly grounded antenna system would be . Your local library or building inspector's office should have a copy.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #4334 of 4548 Old 09-10-2010, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChuckZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I watched the opening season game on WPXI last night. The OTA HD picture quality was disappointing. People looked mushy and the encoder looked like it had a poor slew rate. Objects would become highly quantized and distorted on transitions and quick cuts more so than on other football broadcasts I've seen.
ChuckZ is offline  
post #4335 of 4548 Old 09-21-2010, 12:57 AM
Member
 
hooviebaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey is anyone else experiencing pixeling on ch 13 even though u are getting a good signal just wondering
hooviebaby is offline  
post #4336 of 4548 Old 10-01-2010, 11:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canonsburg, PA
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Imagine my surprise when I went to the Spectrum Bridge website and put in zip code 15222 and saw them list channel 22 as vacant and available for use by TV Band (white space) Devices. Just to be sure I checked the FCC database and it clearly indicates that WTAE's translator is licensed.
Sammer is offline  
post #4337 of 4548 Old 10-03-2010, 11:01 AM
Member
 
sxotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is KDKA fubared?

sxotty is offline  
post #4338 of 4548 Old 10-06-2010, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
JK77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Unity Township, PA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WPMY is now airing theCoolTV on 22-2, and hopefully Sinclair keeps it around longer than they kept The Tube.
JK77 is offline  
post #4339 of 4548 Old 10-06-2010, 10:57 PM
Member
 
hooviebaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK77 View Post

WPMY is now airing theCoolTV on 22-2, and hopefully Sinclair keeps it around longer than they kept The Tube.

just so you know i believe the channel they were carrying the tube went out of business thats why it went off
hooviebaby is offline  
post #4340 of 4548 Old 10-07-2010, 12:32 PM
Senior Member
 
JK77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Unity Township, PA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooviebaby View Post

just so you know i believe the channel they were carrying the tube went out of business thats why it went off

Sinclair pulled it on 1/1/2007 because they claimed issues with EAS and EI compliance, but it continued to operate for another nine months until finally closing down on 10/1/2007. It was no doubt a significant blow to them to lose a large station group such as Sinclair.
JK77 is offline  
post #4341 of 4548 Old 10-08-2010, 11:35 PM
Member
 
hooviebaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK77 View Post

Sinclair pulled it on 1/1/2007 because they claimed issues with EAS and EI compliance, but it continued to operate for another nine months until finally closing down on 10/1/2007. It was no doubt a significant blow to them to lose a large station group such as Sinclair.

you are right sorry about that it was before i got on with digital tv i apolguise for the mistake
hooviebaby is offline  
post #4342 of 4548 Old 10-10-2010, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrGonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone else noticing an obscene amount of combing on the broncos-ravens game? most noticeable in the graphics crawl.

"There's a... big machine in the sky... Some sort of... electric snake. It's headed right for us..."
"Shoot it."
"Not yet. I want to study its habits."
MrGonk is offline  
post #4343 of 4548 Old 10-10-2010, 12:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Googer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Must be a KDKA issue then since I'm seeing this on DirecTV as well. I thought I'd check here to see if anyone else was seeing this atrocious PQ issue so I'd know who to blame.
Googer is offline  
post #4344 of 4548 Old 10-11-2010, 08:50 PM
Member
 
truss64130's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a strange issue with WPXI (11.1 / 2) I'm in Penn Hills with a rooftop antenna and rotor, and I have an older LG LCD TV with ATSC tuner, an OLD tube TV with a radio shack converter box, and a newly purchased Hauppauge HVR-1250 TV tuner card for my computer. WPXI comes in (and always has) come in fine on the LG TV and Converter Box. It was fine on the Hauppauge last week when I first installed it and tested it out. Last night and tonight, I had failed recordings due to no signal (I'm using Windows 7 Media Center).

Sure enough, when I attempt to change the channel to 11, it doesn't show up. I get a message that there is no signal. If I leave the hauppauge tuned to 11, eventually it will show up, and doesn't seem to lose the signal. Only when I change channels and then go back to 11.

When I do a signal strength scan in Windows Media Center, it usually shows 1 bar on 11. What things can I do to try to solve this issue? I bought the Hauppauge to record my favorite shows which happen to be on NBC!

Thanks,
Todd

EDIT: I did several more signal strength scans and sometimes is shows all 6 bars for 11.1 and 11.2, sometimes 11.1 has 6 bars with 11.2 having 1 bar as well as the other way around. They fluctuate on repeated scans (Windows Media Center scans all the channels, then goes back to the beginning.)
truss64130 is offline  
post #4345 of 4548 Old 10-11-2010, 10:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChuckZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGonk View Post

anyone else noticing an obscene amount of combing on the broncos-ravens game? most noticeable in the graphics crawl.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Googer View Post

Must be a KDKA issue then since I'm seeing this on DirecTV as well. I thought I'd check here to see if anyone else was seeing this atrocious PQ issue so I'd know who to blame.

I think they have their interlaced fields mixed up. Deinterlacers are going to utterly fail.

The combing effect doesn't look too bad if I sit far enough away on my DLP.

However, on my Kuro, it looks absolutely horrendous and sticks out so badly.
ChuckZ is offline  
post #4346 of 4548 Old 10-20-2010, 11:19 PM
Senior Member
 
JK77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Unity Township, PA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Country Network, a service which airs country music videos, is now on WPGH's second channel.
JK77 is offline  
post #4347 of 4548 Old 10-27-2010, 08:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is rather interesting.
What's up with this?
I picked up a stray analog signal on ch 2 this morning, thinking it might be e-skip from Canada.
But no, it is KDKA.
Here's a screencap taken about 8:29 AM


As of 10:00 AM they are still on the air.

Perhaps they signed on for the tornadopocolypse that never happened yesterday?

ÂOne of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us.Â
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is offline  
post #4348 of 4548 Old 10-27-2010, 08:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Probably cable leakage from a nearby cable system. Does the nearby system have KDKA on 2?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #4349 of 4548 Old 10-27-2010, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
dfiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Ahhhh... static.
Makes me nostalgic, all misty eyed for the analog era of yesteryear.

But seriously, real soon now kids won't even know what analog static even looks like.
dfiler is offline  
post #4350 of 4548 Old 10-27-2010, 09:46 AM
Senior Member
 
JK77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Unity Township, PA
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PA_MainyYak View Post

This is rather interesting.
What's up with this?
I picked up a stray analog signal on ch 2 this morning, thinking it might be e-skip from Canada.
But no, it is KDKA.

Is Atlantic Broadband the cable company near you? They carry KDKA on 2 so that is probably the source.

Years ago I thought I was getting WWOR-9 New York on my little portable TV, but then it went to that EMI Service programming rather than the actual WWOR schedule.
JK77 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off