Pittsburgh, PA - OTA - Page 154 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #4591 of 4610 Unread 07-20-2015, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 316
they had vintage grand prix stuff on yesterday.

i was a little bit bummed, since i just moved and havent gotten my OTA stuff set up yet.

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4592 of 4610 Unread 07-30-2015, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for the great resource and allowing me to be her.
I am just north of Kittanning. (16218 Zip code) I am at a pretty high elevation
I recently cut the cord with Direct and trying to figure out some idiosyncracies.


I have a directional antenna without a rotor. I turn the mast by hand if I have to.
Also have a Channel Master booster


As best I can tell, I'm pointing around 210-215 approximately.
I get a lot of stations but not WPXI or WTAE.
I realize that WTAE is a bit in a different direction but I get a lot of stations that have weaker signals from different directions at that setting.


I get some Youngstown, Steubenville and Johnstown stations and a couple I don't know where from recently.
Specifically, 60.1, 60.2 and 60.3.


When I do a channel scan, I got 30 stations last night but not all come in.
I just get a blue screen.
Mostly on the Ion stations (16.1-16.5) and a couple of the Youngstown stations.
Enjoying the experience because there's a lot of old programming.


I would like to get WPXI and WTAE.
Any suggestions woulf be greatly appreciated.
Thank you
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4593 of 4610 Unread 07-31-2015, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 316
I have a few coworkers from out your way that commute into downtown daily. I think they're all nuts - I'm 4 miles from my office and think it takes me too long

WTAE reception just seems to be terrible. Their main tower is down in the Mon Valley, and they have a repeater on WQED's tower at the top of Pitt's campus in Oakland. Can you get 4.3 at all?

My place literally just a mile down Center Ave has spotty reception.

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #4594 of 4610 Unread 07-31-2015, 05:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks, pittsoccer for the reply.


I, too, think your coworkers may be nuts to make that drive..



I can get nothing from any of the 4+ or 11+ stations.
If I do a channel scan, it skips right over those.
Other stations don't come in but show up as a selection with a blue screen.
16s, for example.


WPXI is a real puzzle to me.
It is in the same general direction that my antenna is pointing and has a strong signal


Another thing that happens is there are times I can hardly pick up anything.
I do a channel scan and it finds somewhere between 20-30.
Weather doesn't seem to be a factor
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4595 of 4610 Unread 07-31-2015, 09:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstonecap View Post

I can get nothing from any of the 4+ or 11+ stations.
If I do a channel scan, it skips right over those.
Other stations don't come in but show up as a selection with a blue screen.
16s, for example.


WPXI is a real puzzle to me.
It is in the same general direction that my antenna is pointing and has a strong signal


Another thing that happens is there are times I can hardly pick up anything.
I do a channel scan and it finds somewhere between 20-30.
Weather doesn't seem to be a factor
If you look at your TV Fool report (based on your zip code) it would seem you are fortunate to get what you do.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...8e03892231cd0f

WPXI is to your southeast while the bulk of the other stations you receive are to the southwest.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #4596 of 4610 Unread 07-31-2015, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks, Mr. G.
I was using Antennapoint



But, looking at TVFool, KDKA is at 217 and WPXI is 214 from true north


I pick up WWCP, for example, which is at 155 (same direction as WTAE) but it has a weak signal.


I also get WFMJ And WKBN out of Youngstown at 280 (approx.) and WJAC at 139.
All of these without changing my antenna direction.


These are the things that befuddle me.
I'n a techno-dunce if it didn't show
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4597 of 4610 Unread 07-31-2015, 12:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Use TVFool with your specific location (not just zip code) and post the resulting bolded link here (you'll need 5 posts first, I think) so people can better help you.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #4598 of 4610 Unread 07-31-2015, 01:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you, Trip in Va.
Hate to spam the board
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4599 of 4610 Unread 07-31-2015, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Sorry but this is #5
Next pone has the link.
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4600 of 4610 Unread 07-31-2015, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4601 of 4610 Unread 08-11-2015, 01:44 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I seem to need to run a channel search daily and get different results with searches only minutes apart.


Last evening, I couldn't get WJAC which always comes in regardless of the antenna direction.
I still have not been able to pick up WPXI or WTAE
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4602 of 4610 Unread 08-12-2015, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What is the difference in station designations DT, TV and CD, please?
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4603 of 4610 Unread 08-12-2015, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 316
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...tation_classes

Quote:
All US digital stations received a -DT suffix during the analog-to-digital transition. At analog shutdown, the FCC assigned to each digital station the call sign its associated analog station had used. (with a -TV suffix if the analog station had this suffix, without the -TV suffix if the analog station didn't have it). Stations could optionally choose to keep the -DT suffix. Most stations did not keep the -DT suffix.

For US analog stations, the -TV suffix was required if there was a radio station with the same three- or four-letter callsign. Stations not required to use the -TV suffix may optionally request it if desired.
Quote:
Class-A stations (US) (suffix: -CA or -CD for digital class A):

VHF (2-13): 3 kW analog video; 3 kW digital
UHF (14-69): 150 kW analog video; 15 kW digital
The class-A television class is a variant of LPTV created in 2000 by the FCC to allocate and protect some low-power affiliates. Class-A stations are still low-power, but are protected from RF interference and from having to change channel should a full-service station request that channel.[10]

Additionally, class-A stations, LPTV stations, and translators are the only stations currently authorized to broadcast both analog and digital signals, unlike full-power stations which must broadcast a digital signal only.

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #4604 of 4610 Unread 08-12-2015, 07:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for that, pittsoccer33.


You wouldn't happen to have any input on my main issue above would you?
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4605 of 4610 Unread 08-13-2015, 04:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstonecap View Post
Thank you for that, pittsoccer33.


You wouldn't happen to have any input on my main issue above would you?

Digital reception can be challenging. From your description of antenna system and your TV Fool report, you seem to be pointing in the direction of your most important signals.
My suggestion is rather than doing a full channel scan, try manually tuning each individual RF channel. For example, for WPXI (11.1, 11.2, 11.3), you would input 48 on your tuner. Check your TV Fool report for the RF channel numbers. Once your TV locks in a channel, try another (KDKA 25, WPGH 43, etc.). Some stations use multiple RF channels to better cover their service area. As previously mentioned, WTAE's main RF channel is 51, but from your location, the transmitter at channel 22 might be easier to lock in.

There are some other things to try, but this is an essential first step. Good luck.

"One of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us."
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is online now  
post #4606 of 4610 Unread 08-13-2015, 05:01 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the suggestions, Pa_MainyYak.
I'll give that a try.


Do I do that in the channel search function or just on regular TV?
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4607 of 4610 Unread 08-14-2015, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
PA_MainyYak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Johnstown, PA
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstonecap View Post
Thanks for the suggestions, Pa_MainyYak.
I'll give that a try.


Do I do that in the channel search function or just on regular TV?
Use your tuner.

"One of the few good things about modern times: If you die horribly on television, you will not have died in vain. You will have entertained us."
- Kurt Vonnegut
-0-
PA_MainyYak is online now  
post #4608 of 4610 Unread 08-14-2015, 06:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I tried that and it just went to the next higher station.


For Example, when I entered 48 (for WPXI) it went to 53
I, also, tried "11" but it just went to 13.


Thanks for the suggestion
blackstonecap is online now  
post #4609 of 4610 Unread Today, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
WIIC-rf/31, will become an affiliate of BOUNCE TV.The station is not on the air yet. Also,WPNT may be adding a sci-fi themed sub-channel this fall.
elvintongue is offline  
post #4610 of 4610 Unread Today, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 2,523
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 316
I've pretty much come to the conclusion all the sub channels (except MeTV - I like recording old movies on Svengoolie) are junk. They mostly all distort the aspect ratios and the bitrates are way too low for any screen larger than 24" or so

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off