Pittsburgh, PA - OTA - Page 24 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > Pittsburgh, PA - OTA

Local HDTV Info and Reception

Petey_S's Avatar Petey_S
07:49 AM Liked: 10
post #691 of 4561
02-05-2004 | Posts: 24
Joined: Jun 2002
i'm getting it 100% with a radio shack bow tie in my attic. .
dfiler's Avatar dfiler
02:15 PM Liked: 16
post #692 of 4561
02-05-2004 | Posts: 751
Joined: Dec 2002
Oh sure... just rub it in. ;-)

Unfortunately, I rent the first floor of a brick building with no roof or attic access. I have considered a plan involving a grappling hook and a chimney... with all the cable lines snaked across the exterior already, perhaps nobody would notice. (not seriously considering this)

For my residence, WTAE produces as much signal strength as any 'empty' channel.

Translation: I watch KDKA programming instead.

Hopefully, WTAE will increase their wattage soon since we're both loosers in the current situation.
Blitzburgh's Avatar Blitzburgh
03:57 PM Liked: 10
post #693 of 4561
02-05-2004 | Posts: 276
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:


Originally posted by dfiler
Oh sure... just rub it in. ;-)

Unfortunately, I rent the first floor of a brick building with no roof or attic access. I have considered a plan involving a grappling hook and a chimney... with all the cable lines snaked across the exterior already, perhaps nobody would notice. (not seriously considering this)

For my residence, WTAE produces as much signal strength as any 'empty' channel.

Translation: I watch KDKA programming instead.

Hopefully, WTAE will increase their wattage soon since we're both loosers in the current situation.

Hope springs eternal...NOT! NOT, that is in the case of WTAE. I believe they're clueless and will only change my mind when they pro-actively have someone post on here or put something in the paper or on their regular channel that they "get it"...and, as such, will increase power.

Again, I think it's horse hockey to accept any statements from them that "they can't do it because of FCC rules" or other menutia.

Ya think?
agtiny's Avatar agtiny
04:38 PM Liked: 10
post #694 of 4561
02-06-2004 | Posts: 836
Joined: Sep 2001
Looks like Cinemax-HD is now on Armstrong channel 198. I don't think I'll be subscribing but it's good to see another channel. Now where is Discovery...
Clisenet's Avatar Clisenet
05:22 PM Liked: 10
post #695 of 4561
02-08-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Nov 2003
Thats what i am waiting for too.
hoops10's Avatar hoops10
06:29 PM Liked: 10
post #696 of 4561
02-08-2004 | Posts: 881
Joined: May 2003
I am about 52 miles away from KDKA. I noticed something that is kinda weird. I was able to get KDKA's digital signal no problem on Super Bowl Sunday and now also too, with the Grammy's on. But between the 2 events, I couldn't get a reliable, constant signal. Is it possible that KDKA is boosting the signal for special events and then lowering it again?
gregleg's Avatar gregleg
08:26 PM Liked: 21
post #697 of 4561
02-08-2004 | Posts: 197
Joined: Sep 2003
Did anyone else get a really screwed up "HD" broadcast for the NHL game today on WTAE? I made sure an hour before the game started that I had WTAE tuned well. The signal was good right up to the instant the game started -- as soon as it went widescreen, the breakups started. It was so unwatchable that I gave up and switched to Dish. The signal strength was still good on my receiver's strength bar, but the game was unwatchable.

Towards the end of the game, I decided to go back to OTA to see how it was doing, and noticed that the broadcast was now in 4:3 (seemed to be an upconverted SD feed. Badly converted, at that -- it looked better on Dish!)

So anyone else even try? So far from what I've seen WTAE is a pathetic joke for HD content. Good thing I don't like much on ABC outside of MNF and the occasional hockey games...
kaa1954's Avatar kaa1954
12:45 AM Liked: 10
post #698 of 4561
02-09-2004 | Posts: 686
Joined: Oct 2002
It appears that the local feed had substantial problems maintaining HD yesterday. They tried again in the third period but for the most part it was unwatchable. They finished the game in SD. Apparently other cities were also having problems...but not all.
guins's Avatar guins
10:53 AM Liked: 10
post #699 of 4561
02-09-2004 | Posts: 61
Joined: Oct 2001
I tried calling WTAE yesterday, but nobody was in in Engineering. Big surprise since their OTA signal was totally screwed up. I was HIGHLY disappointed. IMHO, the HD broadcast was the ONLY reason to watch the NHL All Star Game; no HD so I bailed.

Thank God the Super Bowl was on CBS. Btw, major kudos to KDKA for their terrifice signal for the Super Bowl and last night's Grammy Awards. They've got their act together.

What is WPXI/NBC's reputation for HD broadcasts? Are they going to screw up the Daytona 500 this Sunday??? I realize it is the first HD 500 so I can cut them some slack.

So far after three weeks of HDTV ownership, I've learned that KDKA DT rocks which is GREAT since almost ALL CBS primetime shows broadcast in HD, WTAE sucks for sporting events (broadcast shows seem ok, although I don't watch just flip through), and WPXI does well with regular programming (Ed and the Tonight Show look great in HD). I have not seen a live sporting HD broadcast on WPXI/NBC.

Should we make a call to the station this week to let them know their are fans looking forward to watching the 500 in HD? Anyone know the number to dial Engineering or the Station Manager at PXI directly?
agtiny's Avatar agtiny
11:02 AM Liked: 10
post #700 of 4561
02-09-2004 | Posts: 836
Joined: Sep 2001
I can't think of the last time NBC did a live HD event, maybe some horse racing using HDNet's feed? In general though, NBC has a good HD track record. They've only screwed up Law & Order (the only NBC show I regularly watch) a few times.
kaa1954's Avatar kaa1954
12:15 PM Liked: 10
post #701 of 4561
02-09-2004 | Posts: 686
Joined: Oct 2002
In all fairness to WTAE...(excluding lip sync & antenna strength) they have been dependable. IMO Sunday's game was the exception not the rule. Call Kurt Hoss at WTAE & let him know we are out here. They tend to dismiss HD eyeballs as insignificant.
Clisenet's Avatar Clisenet
05:47 PM Liked: 10
post #702 of 4561
02-09-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Nov 2003
Jay Leno is live; if you consider that an event.
Blitzburgh's Avatar Blitzburgh
06:28 AM Liked: 10
post #703 of 4561
02-10-2004 | Posts: 276
Joined: Feb 2002
Note to "GUINS"...yeah, go ahead and call WTAE as, eventually, they "might"...key word "MIGHT"...get it. In some ways I envy you because you can even pick up their weak signal.

And sorry, kaa1954...I COMPLETELY disagree with your statement of: "In all fairness to WTAE...(excluding lip sync & antenna strength) they have been dependable."

Why???? Because, in part, as you yourself say..."They tend to dismiss HD eyeballs as insignificant."

C'mon folks...let's all stop living in denial and call a spade a spade...or, in this case, WTAE cares less about us so why should we support them?
kaa1954's Avatar kaa1954
07:55 AM Liked: 10
post #704 of 4561
02-10-2004 | Posts: 686
Joined: Oct 2002
What HD events in the past did WTAE not deliver besides Sunday's hockey debacle?
Blitzburgh's Avatar Blitzburgh
10:13 AM Liked: 10
post #705 of 4561
02-10-2004 | Posts: 276
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:


Originally posted by kaa1954
What HD events in the past did WTAE not deliver besides Sunday's hockey debacle?

"HD events"? Oh how I wish that were the real problem...it's not. In effect, it's not their HD content that comes into question, rather...a picture that shows on the HDTV...period!

Ya think?
guins's Avatar guins
10:25 AM Liked: 10
post #706 of 4561
02-10-2004 | Posts: 61
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:


Originally posted by kaa1954
What HD events in the past did WTAE not deliver besides Sunday's hockey debacle?

I don't know. I just got my HDTV. How was MNF? I assume that was HD..

I get the WTAE signal at 77% not like 100% KDKA and WPXI, so they probably won't be as good for me because of the slightly weaker signal.
guins's Avatar guins
10:26 AM Liked: 10
post #707 of 4561
02-10-2004 | Posts: 61
Joined: Oct 2001
Quote:


Originally posted by Clisenet
Jay Leno is live; if you consider that an event.

Leno is recorded live, but it is not a 'live' broadcast like a sporting event.
gregleg's Avatar gregleg
02:54 PM Liked: 21
post #708 of 4561
02-10-2004 | Posts: 197
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:


Originally posted by kaa1954
What HD events in the past did WTAE not deliver besides Sunday's hockey debacle?

That I can't really answer, since I just got the HD tuner, but the sad weak signal compared to KDKA, WPXI, and even WPGH is rather disappointing... I'm in Squirrel Hill, and from what I've gathered talking to my neighbors I'm lucky I can even FIND WTAE, let alone see it.
Blitzburgh's Avatar Blitzburgh
03:12 PM Liked: 10
post #709 of 4561
02-10-2004 | Posts: 276
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:


Originally posted by gregleg
I'm lucky I can even FIND WTAE, let alone see it.

That, my friend, would be understatement!
Clisenet's Avatar Clisenet
04:05 PM Liked: 10
post #710 of 4561
02-10-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:


Originally posted by guins
Leno is recorded live, but it is not a 'live' broadcast like a sporting event.

Well then just a while ago it was "live" then because i heard him say "its 11:35" and stuff like that.
Mark Vidonic's Avatar Mark Vidonic
11:33 PM Liked: 10
post #711 of 4561
02-10-2004 | Posts: 1,682
Joined: Mar 2000
It's never live...he can say what he wants, it airs the same time every night, how could he be wrong? Also, when they tape the show, all the clocks that Leno sees are set to 11:35PM.
cbearnm's Avatar cbearnm
12:43 PM Liked: 10
post #712 of 4561
02-11-2004 | Posts: 169
Joined: Dec 2003
Leno tapes at approximately 5:30 pm (PST) in Los Angeles (8:30 pm (EST)in Pittsburgh) Letterman tapes at about 5:30 pm (EST) the same way. The set the stage clocks to start at 11:35 so that they get the feel for being a live show, but there are time that the show has to be edited. The try to keep the commercial breaks,etc.. in sync with what will be broadcast, but both shows are definitely taped.
I think the last live late night show was when Johnny Carson was in New York, since then they have almost all been taped as if it were live.
Clisenet's Avatar Clisenet
01:02 PM Liked: 10
post #713 of 4561
02-11-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:


Originally posted by Mark Vidonic
It's never live...he can say what he wants, it airs the same time every night, how could he be wrong? Also, when they tape the show, all the clocks that Leno sees are set to 11:35PM.

ITS LIVE ON NEW YEARS EVE, so watch what you say.
gmc9512's Avatar gmc9512
03:52 PM Liked: 10
post #714 of 4561
02-15-2004 | Posts: 35
Joined: Oct 2002
What's up with KDKA-DT and their audio transmitions? It has been in Dolby 5.1 all weekend, but all dialogue is from the front left and right speakers and nothing from the center channel. I'm glad I can get the D* feed of CBS HD, at least they can get it right.
Mark Vidonic's Avatar Mark Vidonic
05:41 PM Liked: 10
post #715 of 4561
02-16-2004 | Posts: 1,682
Joined: Mar 2000
Quote:


Originally posted by Clisenet
ITS LIVE ON NEW YEARS EVE, so watch what you say.

Well, no offense, but one night hardly makes it a live show.
kaa1954's Avatar kaa1954
06:38 AM Liked: 10
post #716 of 4561
02-19-2004 | Posts: 686
Joined: Oct 2002
I have a 4 bay Channel Master bow-tie as well as a 8 bay Channel Master bow-tie for sale cheap. Buy one or both but hurry because they will only be available for a few days. PM me for details if interested.
Clisenet's Avatar Clisenet
06:06 PM Liked: 10
post #717 of 4561
02-22-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:


Originally posted by Mark Vidonic
Well, no offense, but one night hardly makes it a live show.

IT STILL COUNTS
Mark Vidonic's Avatar Mark Vidonic
06:48 PM Liked: 10
post #718 of 4561
02-24-2004 | Posts: 1,682
Joined: Mar 2000
oooooook....not to get off track, but does anyone know if the DVI output is enabled on the Comcast boxes?
agtiny's Avatar agtiny
07:13 PM Liked: 10
post #719 of 4561
02-24-2004 | Posts: 836
Joined: Sep 2001
I think only the 62xx series has DVI enabled. My old 5100 didn't even have a DVI port although I'm on Armstrong.
RockScaler's Avatar RockScaler
01:26 PM Liked: 10
post #720 of 4561
02-26-2004 | Posts: 69
Joined: Oct 2003
Was anyone able to watch Smallville on the digital (42.1) channel last night? My Dish 6000 showed a signal strength of about 83% but locked at that % and showed a blank screen.
I was just wondering if it was the station or my receiver. All the other channels were fine.

Except for WQED DT 13 of course. Any word on when that station might be back on the air? I miss their HD loop and the occasional HD regular programming.

Rock

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3