Pittsburgh, PA - OTA - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 4536 Old 12-21-2002, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave McWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried getting in touch with WPXI engineering to find out what's up with the dropouts?

"If not for Venetian blinds, it would be curtains for us all."
Dave McWilliams is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 4536 Old 12-22-2002, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
drcos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: right next to the Gulf coast of FLA
Posts: 315
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Has anyone tried getting in touch with WPXI engineering to find out what's up with the dropouts?

Dave,
I hope you're talking about what I think is happening to me... up here in Ohio, I get KDKA big time and WQED, but WPXI is flaky over the last couple of days. Sometimes I get it, sometimes I don't. (Like Friday night it was fine until about 10:30, then gone, but yesterday seemed pretty good all day).

I'll stop ripping my BDs when I can put them in and watch the movie without trailers, warnings, cutesy menus...
drcos is offline  
post #63 of 4536 Old 12-22-2002, 11:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Blitzburgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Steeler country
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had NO problems with 11-1...but I can't even get a "kick in" remap of 51-1 anymore. There goes my Super Bowl in HD...
Blitzburgh is offline  
post #64 of 4536 Old 12-23-2002, 01:18 PM
Member
 
zfc6e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there,
Very new to HDTV. Just got my Toshiba 50H82. Want to get OTA HDTV. I am living in Wexford. what kind ant. and HDTV receiver should I get?
Thanks in advance

Z. Chen
zfc6e is offline  
post #65 of 4536 Old 12-23-2002, 04:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Blitzburgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Steeler country
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by zfc6e
Hi there,
Very new to HDTV. Just got my Toshiba 50H82. Want to get OTA HDTV. I am living in Wexford. what kind ant. and HDTV receiver should I get?
Thanks in advance

Z. Chen

Z. Chen...if you're new to HD then you need to be sure you've checked out www.titantv.com. It was a very painful year for me here in Cranberry to gain any reception OTA...mainly due to my ignorance and an inability to find a person or company that really knew what they were doing.

I found one and as I said in another post: "should anyone need Greg for antenna work or full Home Theatre installations...please contact him at 412-362-1273 at Pittsburgh Custom Home Theater."

So, to answer your question on OTA antennas and what's best for you....call Greg.
Blitzburgh is offline  
post #66 of 4536 Old 12-23-2002, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave McWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Z. Chen,

Greg will no doubt give you a turnkey operation. If you want to do it yourself, start at www.antennaweb.org to get an idea of what kind of antenna you'll need and what direction to point it. You should be able to get all the local digitals from Wexford, but as Blitz can attest, there are a few holes in the North Hills.

The receiver you want will depend on whether you also want DBS satellite reception. Check out the FAQ in the hardware forum for specifics.

"If not for Venetian blinds, it would be curtains for us all."
Dave McWilliams is offline  
post #67 of 4536 Old 12-25-2002, 08:11 AM
Member
 
zfc6e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks all for your inform. Do you know if there will be any HDTV cable available in the near future?

Happy Holiday

Z. Chen
zfc6e is offline  
post #68 of 4536 Old 12-25-2002, 01:20 PM
Member
 
jsnides's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cranberry Twp, Pa.
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Z Chen,

I live in Cranberry. I use the ratshack $19.99 UHF antenna with a electric rotor mounted outside on my roof, pointing South-South East. I installed it myself. I receive all Pittsburgh's Digital stations, though the WB is a little jerky sometimes. Good Luck.
jsnides is offline  
post #69 of 4536 Old 12-25-2002, 01:22 PM
Member
 
jsnides's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cranberry Twp, Pa.
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Armstrong Cable services will be offering Armstrong HD the first of the year. It includes Discovery HD, HBO, Showtime and Pittsburgh locals HD. In April they will also offer ESPN HD.
jsnides is offline  
post #70 of 4536 Old 12-25-2002, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JSnides, will you need a separate box or can your cable go right into your STB in order to do this? Happy New Year to all!

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #71 of 4536 Old 12-25-2002, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most likely the cable will be using their own encoding and it won't be ATSC 8VSB standard. I believe all cable companies so far offering HD just rent you a separate STB for a few bucks a month.
agtiny is offline  
post #72 of 4536 Old 12-25-2002, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave McWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder how long before ATT/Comcast steps to the plate. I've had cable modem service here for over a year, so the bandwidth is there.

Anyone care to hazard a guess?

"If not for Venetian blinds, it would be curtains for us all."
Dave McWilliams is offline  
post #73 of 4536 Old 12-26-2002, 03:30 PM
Member
 
jsnides's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cranberry Twp, Pa.
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mark,

You will have to rent one of their boxes. I believe they are going to charge around $10 a month, plus the HD programming charges..oh well.
jsnides is offline  
post #74 of 4536 Old 01-01-2003, 02:32 PM
Member
 
dickmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else getting audio dropouts on KDKA-25. Picture is fine and stable with signal strength of 85+. However, every once in a while (seconds to minutes apart) the audio will drop out for about 1/10 second. This may repeat a few times that are say 15 to 30 seconds apart and then it may be a few minutes before happens again. Seems to happen more often on network feed but will also happen with local commercials from time to time. Also much more likely on KDKA than on WQED 38. Have watched the signal strength meter and while is moves around every second or so in the range of say 80 to 90 it never seems to go below 80.

Is this audio dropout a symptom of: multipath problems or would the picture, which seems perfect, also be affected? Thing that bugs me most is that it is mostly on KDKA but I have noticed it on other channels from time to time. Again it is always the audio that momentarily drops out while the picture remains fine.

Is this me or have others noticed the same thing.

BTW: Have recently delivered Hitachi 65xwx in 15237 zip code with Winegard PR-4400 antenna and rotor. View to towers is south and am on the west side of a hill behind me. Can get 25, 38, 43, and 48. Was getting 51 but not today as signal strength back down to 30. Was in 70's before. Perhaps the rain. Should also note that I tried the Channel Master UHF-only top-of-the-line amp in the basement (about 50 ft from antenna and 25 feet after amp to TV). Did nothing for signal strength or audio dropouts.

Unless others have similar problem indicating station problem, next step is going to have to be the 8-bay Winegard (want to stay away from yagi as would need to use rotor more and would likely be more sensitive to multipath). If I do this will likely tilt the antenna 10 degrees above horizon which I think I should have done when I first installed it. But am not all that enthusiastic about climbing a 35 foot ladder to play with the antenna again. Oh well!!

Regards, Dick
dickmc is offline  
post #75 of 4536 Old 01-01-2003, 03:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have never seen this type of audio problem on any channel. KDKA did have some complete dropouts a few weeks back but I think they are gone now.
agtiny is offline  
post #76 of 4536 Old 01-01-2003, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave McWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by dickmc
Anyone else getting audio dropouts on KDKA-25. Picture is fine and stable with signal strength of 85+. However, every once in a while (seconds to minutes apart) the audio will drop out for about 1/10 second...

If you're using a Sony HD200 or Zenith HD520, the tallest antenna on the planet won't help. Check out this thread if you happen to be using one of these units.

"If not for Venetian blinds, it would be curtains for us all."
Dave McWilliams is offline  
post #77 of 4536 Old 01-07-2003, 04:24 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Blitzburgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Steeler country
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Dave McWilliams
If you're using a Sony HD200 or Zenith HD520, the tallest antenna on the planet won't help. Check out this thread if you happen to be using one of these units.

Dave...just caught this. Greg was telling me the 520 Zenith is the best out there, hands down. I respect/value his opinion a great deal. As such, am likely to buy one...UNTIL...

I caught your post above and as I respect/value your opinion as well was taken a bit by surprise of your post. Can you give me the down and dirty on the 520 and if you have any experience with it...good, bad or indifferent?

Thanks...
Blitzburgh is offline  
post #78 of 4536 Old 01-07-2003, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
rumpole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: pittsburgh pa usa
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It just occured to me that the last time i pulled in wtae was right before i added 53 and 22 to my hd100

would a 520 improve my chances. what about the superbowl.....
rumpole is offline  
post #79 of 4536 Old 01-07-2003, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave McWilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blitz,

I've got the Sony HD200 which is virtually identical. The thread I referred to in the previous post relates to audio dropouts on the Dolby Digital optical output. Certain processors have no problems with it, but many (like my B&K Reference 50) have constant dropouts. Sony and LG are working on a fix, but it will probably be a long time coming. They've promised to give me my money back if it's not taken care of to my satisfaction.

It's a great box otherwise. Pulls in weak stations much better than my old Tosh unit, and SD picture quality is also much improved. You'll want to take the time to read through that thread before you take the plunge.

"If not for Venetian blinds, it would be curtains for us all."
Dave McWilliams is offline  
post #80 of 4536 Old 01-07-2003, 07:20 PM
Member
 
roemerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Greensburg, Pa., USA
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The past couple of days I have lost WTAE-DT reception. I have gotten it close to two years now. Anybody else loss it and know why?

I use to have email of Engineer at station but have misplaced it. Anybody got that?

Jim
roemerj is offline  
post #81 of 4536 Old 01-08-2003, 01:10 PM
Member
 
burghman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: South Park
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lost it saturday or sunday........south park area.......was always strong on my samsung 151
burghman is offline  
post #82 of 4536 Old 01-16-2003, 02:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Blitzburgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Steeler country
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had my ReplayTV 5040 installed. Only problem is the IR blaster code isn't recognized by the Samsung 160. Anyone out there know the code? And, yes...I called Replay (they're clueless), called Samsung and spoke to the chief engineer who said no codes are yet established thereby making the products incompatible.

So, I go to the ReplayTV topic area here on the old Forum. Am getting useful info but, bottom line, am learning that some folks with the 160 Sammy are finding their units compatible and others, like me, are not.

For anyone up on this...my unit does show the code number of 7110, 7110A, 7111 and 7111A to test though none work. These are, apparently, the "latest" codes.

Any help here, as in WHAT ARE THE FREAKIN' CODES, would be appreciated. Thanks...
Blitzburgh is offline  
post #83 of 4536 Old 01-16-2003, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody watching CSI tonight? I'm getting serious video/audio breakups. Lots of horizontal mpeg blocks, and audio skipping/popping. Is it just me or is anyone else having problems?
agtiny is offline  
post #84 of 4536 Old 01-16-2003, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looked fine to me...but no HD for ER tonight, someone at WPXI is sleeping

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #85 of 4536 Old 01-16-2003, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
they woke up

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #86 of 4536 Old 01-16-2003, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So you haven't seen any audio or video dropouts on KDKA lately? Sometime tonight they turned off their orange KDKA-DT logo which I've never seen them do before, and it might mean they are bypassing their intermediate encoder, but I'm still seeing dropouts.
agtiny is offline  
post #87 of 4536 Old 01-16-2003, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
debennett2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 942
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. Is there a site that tells what format (full or wide;1080i or upconverted) each network program is (ie what format can I expect "Ed" to be in for example)? Thanks.

Dan Bennett

Learning something new every minute.
debennett2 is offline  
post #88 of 4536 Old 01-16-2003, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
agtiny, mine has been solid for as much as I've watched tonight...maybe snow was causing you problems?

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
post #89 of 4536 Old 01-16-2003, 10:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
agtiny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, I get a solid 94 signal. I hope my new preamp isn't causing problems. I don't really know what the symptoms are if you have too strong of a signal...I hope this isn't it.
agtiny is offline  
post #90 of 4536 Old 01-17-2003, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mark Vidonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
probably not, mine is near 100 on my HD200 with no troubles.

Mark Vidonic
mark.vidonic@gmail.com
Mark Vidonic is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off