Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 29Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 9604 Old 12-17-2004, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rick_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Simi Valley, CA USA
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I taped the rebroadcast of the premier episode of Lost on my HD VCR Wednesday night. What you are tellkig me is that I have a two hour blank tape. Great.

Rick R
Rick_R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 9604 Old 12-17-2004, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
rttrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Orange County,CA
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup.

See profile for new equipment list
rttrek is offline  
post #633 of 9604 Old 12-17-2004, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
WannabeSQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Rick_R
WannabeSQ,

You must live in south Claremont. When I lived in Claremont I lived near Yaeger Park and I could get nothing without a roof top antenna.

A roof top antenna will always be better because it gets a much stronger signal and almost as important it is a directional antenna which will reject the reflected signals off the sides and back. These both will give you a much better signal. If you are getting TV from a set top antenna a cheap roof top antenna will probably do fine.

After I lived in Claremont I lived in Diamond Bar among many hills. With a set top antenna I got all channels (analog then) but with many ghosts. A cheap roof top chimney mount got every station perfectly solid.

Rick R

Actually, I live in north claremont, just below the hills, but within 3 blocks from a pretty large one. We almost got hit by those fires we had a while back. I guess i am either extremely lucky with my positioning, or have a really nice set of rabbit ears (though they never worked well for analog, perhaps its a better UHF antenna than it is VHF). Could it be that the Sanyo TV I have has a really good tuner? I got the Sanyo Walmart special, and have been enjoying it ever since.

I found an old attic antenna which I will try, I believe it still works.

The only station I have trouble with is ABC HD, so perhaps it is a problem with their transmitter?
WannabeSQ is offline  
post #634 of 9604 Old 12-18-2004, 05:59 PM
Newbie
 
818-GIMMEHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sherman Oaks
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone - Reporting from Sherman Oaks, 91403 -

Just started my HD quest on my new Sony 50", borrowing a RS 15-2185 from a friend and managed to get most of the channels, with decent HD results.

I want awesome HD results though! KOCE 52.3 was UN believable. I want that on all the channels. OTA is my move, Adelphia is the Suck around here, so I'm also considering HD DirectTV.

I was unable to get Fox in HD - 11.1 is what I've seen stated, correct me if that's the wrong frequency - but couldn't get it tuned in with a variety of placements of this Radio Shack antenna inside the house on a 25' length of RS RG-6 cable.

Eventual placement of the winning antenna will either be in my attic (preferred) or on the roof. Pretty clear sight lines, no taller buildings (in the LOS) until you hit the Universal Building which is a good 4 miles east of me, and it's a bit north of my believed LOS anyway.

So my question is: Any other Valley-folk with recommendations on what to try next, antenna-wise? Price isn't much of a concern, the ends justify, eh?

I've seen excellent comments about the CM 4221 with possibly a 7775 Preamp, but those threads were a bit older... this still good info? I've also heard good things about antennasdirect.com's DB4 model.

I'm mostly in the Red zone with a few Blue and Violet as well.

Thanks in advance!
818-GIMMEHD is offline  
post #635 of 9604 Old 12-18-2004, 08:05 PM
Newbie
 
Hoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,

New to the boards here, and reporting from Lake Elsinore, Riverside County (zip 92530)

Have a Radio Shack 15-2160 antenna in the attic of a two story house. Row of pine trees partially block the 301.x degree angle of the house, but they have been trimmed and I tried to point the antenna to the right of where the row of trees ends. With just the antenna I was able to pull channels 4-1 ,5-1 & 5-2, 9-1, 24-1, 28-1 & 28-2, 34-1, 34-2, 50-1 through -3, 56-1 & 56-2, 57-1, and finally 58-1 through -4. 28-1 and 28-2 would drop on and off, so I decided to add an amplifier (Radio Shack 15-1170)

With the amplifier, channels 2-1, and 7-1 through -3 finally came through, although I had to tune channel 7 through 53. I did a rescan and then channel 7 came through as 7-1 through 7-3. I still haven't been able to pull channels 11 and 13, so I'm thinking I need to either a) put the antenna outside (trying to avoid this), or b) get a bigger amplifier.

Any recommendations are welcome!

Oh yeah, TV is a Samsung TX-P3071WH (built-in HD receiver)

Jose
Hoso is offline  
post #636 of 9604 Old 12-19-2004, 01:53 AM
Newbie
 
Hao P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Can anyone get closed caption to work on ABC 7.1 or KCET 28.1?
I have a LG 3100A tuner and when I enable caption (service1/eng), no caption shows up. But the guide info states that there is caption for the program. Just trying to figure out if it's a problem with my hdtv tuner.

Thanks.
Hao P is offline  
post #637 of 9604 Old 12-19-2004, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
Hoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Hao P
Hi,

Can anyone get closed caption to work on ABC 7.1 or KCET 28.1?
I have a LG 3100A tuner and when I enable caption (service1/eng), no caption shows up. But the guide info states that there is caption for the program. Just trying to figure out if it's a problem with my hdtv tuner.

Thanks.

Hao,

CC works fine on channel 7.1 on my Samsung TX-P3071WH. 28.1 is not transmitting a CC as of this moment, so can't if it's working or not. Could it be a poor signal problem? I know I had the hardest time pulling in channels 7 and 28, and I still can't pull in channels 11 and 13 as digital channels.

Jose
Hoso is offline  
post #638 of 9604 Old 12-20-2004, 01:17 PM
Member
 
bobhuntsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: fountain valley, CA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
polymerguy:

GET AN OUTSIDE ANTENNA!!!! You're lucky to be getting anything in Irvine with that RadioShack P.O.S.

Three rules for television antennas:

1. Rooftop/outside is always better than settop/inside.

2. Bigger is Better!!!

3. Altitude (a.k.a. height) is your friend.

Also, check out http://www.antennaweb.org for a prediction of what to expect. . .

irie,
--cap'n bob
bobhuntsman is offline  
post #639 of 9604 Old 12-20-2004, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
AndyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently run a pair of horizontally co-phased RS 15-2160s into a CM-7775 preamp. I live near the top of a hill in Aliso Viejo (South Orange County) and have to point up and over the hill towards Mt. Wilson. I get most digital channels at varying signal levels (30-50+%) but usually no ABC or UPN. I'd like to replace the antennas with something with more gain. I see a lot of reports of success with the CM4228 and wondered if it would be a good fit - has anyone tried both antennas? If I were to use the CM antenna would I want to have dual antennas again or is it possible that a single 4228 could do better than the two RS antennas I have now?

Any advice appreciated.

Andy.
AndyS is offline  
post #640 of 9604 Old 12-21-2004, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
AndyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump for my questions, and a request - does anyone in the Orange County area have a CM4228 that they're not using that I could borrow to try out for a few days?

Andy.
AndyS is offline  
post #641 of 9604 Old 12-21-2004, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rick_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Simi Valley, CA USA
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My tape of Lost on ABC on 12/15 was fine. I haven't watched the whole tape but the end was good as was the first 10 minutes. However ABC sc***ed me. I started the tape 1 minute early and it still missed the very beginning.

Rick R
Rick_R is offline  
post #642 of 9604 Old 12-22-2004, 12:22 PM
Member
 
ccrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Culver City, CA (LA Metro)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hao P

KCET HD (28-1) does not broadcast closed captioning at all, ever. I have complained but to no avail. They also have an enormous amount of pixelation even on true HD programs.

KABC HD (7-1) usually has the captioning.

On the antennas, I have the top of the line RS in my attic (2 story) and get everything in LA, despite having the baldwin hills in the way. However, if I were further way, I would have definitely put it on the roof with an amp. I first tried rabbit ears and got nothing.

Good luck folks.

CC Rooster
Culver City, CA
ccrooster is offline  
post #643 of 9604 Old 12-22-2004, 01:27 PM
Member
 
Crazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: L.A., CA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm confused...

Is KOCE broadcast in HD? I have an indoor RCA amplifying antenna in marina del rey and am able to recieve 2-1, 4-1, 7-1, 11-1, and 28-1. If I fuss with antenna for an irritating amount of time I can get 5-1or 9-1. I really only care about HD football, for the most part.

I do agree that 28-1 has an awful lot of pixels in the image.
Crazz is offline  
post #644 of 9604 Old 12-22-2004, 03:35 PM
Member
 
ccrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Culver City, CA (LA Metro)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KOCE (50-1) does have a fairly strong digital signal (from Mt Wilson). I have not looked at it in many months so can't comment on true HS content or CC.

CC Rooster
Culver City, CA
ccrooster is offline  
post #645 of 9604 Old 12-22-2004, 05:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Fletch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by 818-GIMMEHD
I want awesome HD results though! KOCE 52.3 was UN believable. I want that on all the channels.

I didn't think KOCE was doing any HD. What show or shows are you referring to? And what does "52.3" refer to? KOCE-DT is on 50.1.
Fletch is offline  
post #646 of 9604 Old 12-23-2004, 11:36 AM
Member
 
MDRLou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KOCE is indeed doing HD on 50-2. DirecTV doesn't not list the programming on my HTL-HD STB merely "Regular Schedule"

CRAZZ--I had to put up an outdoor Winegard bowtie to pickup KCET without pixelation. My Condo assn has a antenna system that worked for every station except 2-1 and 28-1 and 28-2. These stations would come in fine and then breakup. By the way "Rudy Maxa's Smart Travels" on both 28-1 and 50-2 is spectacular.
MDRLou is offline  
post #647 of 9604 Old 12-23-2004, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Edwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 339
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by MDRLou
KOCE is indeed doing HD on 50-2. DirecTV doesn't not list the programming on my HTL-HD STB merely "Regular Schedule"

CRAZZ--I had to put up an outdoor Winegard bowtie to pickup KCET without pixelation. My Condo assn has a antenna system that worked for every station except 2-1 and 28-1 and 28-2. These stations would come in fine and then breakup. By the way "Rudy Maxa's Smart Travels" on both 28-1 and 50-2 is spectacular.

I've noticed KOCE 50-2 broadcasting PBS in HD as well. 50-1 was still standard def. Weird.

-Ed

The SHT - Stealth Home Theater
Edwood is offline  
post #648 of 9604 Old 12-24-2004, 08:29 AM
Member
 
CJLinst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live out near Lancaster and cannot figure out why I cannot receive KTTV-DT on Rf65. Equipment is a Dish 921, Channel Master 4228 8-bowtie (amplified). I am about 33 miles north of Mt. Wilson and the 921 reports the following reception values:

Code:
KCBS  2-1  (60)   70 (spotty)
KNBC  4-1  (36)  112 (solid)
KTLA  5-1  (31)  112 (solid)
KCAL  9-1  (43)  125 (solid)
KMEX  34-1 (35)  120 (solid)
KDOC  56-1 (32)   78 (usually solid)
I really want to get KTTV 11-1 on RF65. Looking at the contours and radiation patterns on the FCC web site, compared with the radiation patterns of the stations I do receive, it seems that KTTV ought to be a solid signal but I get nothing on RF65. No lock, no nothing.

Is it because it's way up in the 780 MHz range or is there another reason like construction/low power?

I know I'm pretty far out here, but Mt Wilson is obviously in range.

I got basically the same results with a Dish 6000U.

Any thoughts?
CJLinst is offline  
post #649 of 9604 Old 12-25-2004, 09:16 PM
Member
 
dlt21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Woodland Hills,ca
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KABC 7-1 off the air again( Fridayand Saturday) has anyone heard whats happening over there?
dlt21 is offline  
post #650 of 9604 Old 12-26-2004, 09:56 PM
Member
 
bobhuntsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: fountain valley, CA
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KABC-DT (7-1) was not off the air Friday and Saturday. The problem must have been elsewhere, as I can verify that it was on the air both nights.

The Sound of Music was aired upconverted from 480i Saturday night even though the guide listed it as HD. This was due to scheduling conflicts with the ABC East Coast feed. It was a four-hour movie, and ABC currently uses a single feed for HD programming. Therefore, if a program goes over three hours, there is a problem. Sometimes they use a second satellite transponder. . .this was not the case last night, as the East Coast ran the movie from 8 - 12 EST, but KABC ran it from 7 - 11 PST.

irie,
--cap'n bob
bobhuntsman is offline  
post #651 of 9604 Old 12-27-2004, 05:07 PM
Member
 
Cover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re KABC outage last week. Sounds like a PSIP glitch if signal was there and there was no picture. Always try a rescan if this happens. Some receivers are very touchy if PSIP disappears even for a short time.
Cover is offline  
post #652 of 9604 Old 12-29-2004, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rick_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Simi Valley, CA USA
Posts: 3,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
KNBC was out again last night Tuesday 12/28/04. They had a 85% signal but no picture. They seem to do this about once a month or so. It was not a STB issue as I tried both of my STB. KNBC is ok today.

Rick R
Rick_R is offline  
post #653 of 9604 Old 12-30-2004, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
M3 Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I live in Pacific Palisades, in a region called the Palisades Highlands, off Palisades Drive. I'm on Palisades Circle, so I'm not very high up in my neighborhood. I'm probably at about 800 feet elevation, and looking at a topo map there seems to be a 1600 foot ridge between me and Mount Wilson, plus a bunch of condos and other stuff in that direction on the hill above me. antennaweb.org predicted no digital channels would reach me, but I figured I'd at least try.

Today the D* guys came out and we tried to pick up a signal from my roof with the Winegard Square Shooter and a signal meter. We got nothing, zip, nada. So I'm totally out of luck for OTA HD reception, and have to watch all the local channels in SD until D* launches their new satellites in June. I was really hoping to see the Rose Parade, Rose Bowl and Super Bowl in HD.
M3 Pete is offline  
post #654 of 9604 Old 12-30-2004, 04:09 PM
Member
 
ccrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Culver City, CA (LA Metro)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to be a bearer of bad tidings, but you probably do not have a prayer for OTA in the Palisades Highlands.

My in laws live nearby and I know the area well. You have a huge mountain in the way. The D* guys should have known that. You can try antennaweb site for another opinion.

Your only hope is to try San Diego. Point the antenna due south and you should get the CBS and ABC stations from Mt. Solidad (8-1 & 10-1). My in-laws get it quite clearly.

Good luck.

CC Rooster
Culver City, CA
ccrooster is offline  
post #655 of 9604 Old 12-30-2004, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
M3 Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 738
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
ccrooster,

thanks for the reply, as I mentioned, antennaweb predicted failure. They were right. D* doesn't really care, they tell you up front they don't guarantee OTA reception.

Actually, I was under the impression that D* was not transmitting locals in HD until they launch the new satellites, but I have learned here on AVS that Fox, NBC and CBS are transmitting HD on D*, and ABC is only a few days away. I have not gone home yet to confirm this, but if so, I don't need OTA!
M3 Pete is offline  
post #656 of 9604 Old 12-30-2004, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
rttrek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Orange County,CA
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Plus, one of their HD channels [HDNET? ESPNHD?] is planning to show the parade in HD.

See profile for new equipment list
rttrek is offline  
post #657 of 9604 Old 01-01-2005, 01:47 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
WeeJavaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I seem to have lost Fox in SoCal today through my OTA antenna. I am getting all the other channels except fox. Is anyone else running into this issue?
WeeJavaDude is offline  
post #658 of 9604 Old 01-02-2005, 08:00 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
WeeJavaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel came back. Not sure what cause it. Was the only one that I lost temporary.
WeeJavaDude is offline  
post #659 of 9604 Old 01-02-2005, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Venomous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Huntington Beach/San Diego CA
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Welp, im going to go pick up the RS 15-1880 today and see how it works for me in Huntington Beach. This will be my first stab at OTA local.
Venomous is offline  
post #660 of 9604 Old 01-02-2005, 01:02 PM
Member
 
ccrooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Culver City, CA (LA Metro)
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Venomous

Good Luck on OTA, but you will probably have to get something better.

I eventually had to get an RS 15-2154 and mount it in my attic for decent digital OTA. I tried similar RS antennas and it was useless for me. I am 23 miles from Mt Wilson, but slightly obstructed by the Baldwin Hills. I use the antenna for my analog sets, but I mostly rely on Comcast for digital. When I want other local stations such as 5-1 & 50-2, I need to use the antenna. Friday, I checked the signal strength and all channels were strong and solid (70+) except 43-1 (9-1) which was fluctuating 0-46.

Yesterday, I used the antenna exclusively and it was solid for the parade and football.

Cheers

CC Rooster
Culver City, CA
ccrooster is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off