Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 323 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 61Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9661 of 9686 Old 02-05-2015, 11:03 PM
Newbie
 
Sitcomics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Decades network is now OTA

2.2 is now showing the invisible man as part of the decades pre-launch binge schedule.
phildaant likes this.
Sitcomics is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9662 of 9686 Old 02-05-2015, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sitcomics View Post
2.2 is now showing the invisible man as part of the decades pre-launch binge schedule.
Is there an official schedule? TV Guide shows duplicates of 2.1.
phildaant is online now  
post #9663 of 9686 Old 02-05-2015, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
Sitcomics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Decades.com has a clickable link to their binge schedule. Lots of great shows coming up.
phildaant likes this.
Sitcomics is offline  
post #9664 of 9686 Old 02-06-2015, 12:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sitcomics View Post
Decades.com has a clickable link to their binge schedule. Lots of great shows coming up.
That's pretty cool. I like that idea too! Didn't ION or some other L.A. station show old shows like Get Smart already though?

Also, is this extra CBS subchannel purely for OTA viewers only? Or will it be coming to satellite and cable too?
phildaant is online now  
post #9665 of 9686 Old 02-07-2015, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
That's pretty cool. I like that idea too! Didn't ION or some other L.A. station show old shows like Get Smart already though?

Also, is this extra CBS subchannel purely for OTA viewers only? Or will it be coming to satellite and cable too?
Some of shows run on ME-TV which is on a sub-channel of KDOC.
phildaant likes this.

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
post #9666 of 9686 Old 02-07-2015, 12:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdvegas View Post
Get ready to laugh as ABC launches a new diginet under the title of "LAFF TV". The diginet will air on KABC 7.2, it is speculated prior to the April 15th launch.

http://deadline.com/2015/01/laff-net...ps-1201352773/
The same people behind Grit and Escape? The sub-channel wasteland continues to expand.

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
post #9667 of 9686 Old 02-20-2015, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Juan2watch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Speaking of Grit TV- what happened to Grit TV, Escape, and Get TV (channels 46.2-46.4)? Haven't seen them in a week or two.

-- Sent from my Palm Pre using Forums
Juan2watch is offline  
post #9668 of 9686 Old 02-21-2015, 02:35 AM
Senior Member
 
WackyPacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
Some of shows run on ME-TV which is on a sub-channel of KDOC.
How come there is no exclusivity with these shows? Multiple national sub-channels have the right to the same shows?
WackyPacks is offline  
post #9669 of 9686 Old 02-22-2015, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by WackyPacks View Post
How come there is no exclusivity with these shows? Multiple national sub-channels have the right to the same shows?
Most programming is exclusive to a particular network. However, Weigel owns or controls several diginets such as METV and Heroes & Icons and shares programs between their networks.

Wanting a strong FCC to say no to the Wireless lobby. Keep the tv broadcast band for ota television broadcasters.
rdvegas is online now  
post #9670 of 9686 Old 03-02-2015, 11:33 PM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
KDOC fade

Hi:

I'm in the Rancho Cucamonga/N. Fontana area and installed a RCA ANT751 on my second story roof with a CM-7777 pre-amp. I get tons of stations, but KDOC 56 partially comes in when there's rain clouds or just a cloudy day. Not sure why that is...?
I initially had trouble picking up KABC and after adjusting the antenna and watching the signal strength on my DVR, I'm getting almost every station from LA (those that transmit enough power) and Riverside now.


I just ordered an Eagle Aspen DTV2BUHF from WM and will test it with the RCA pre-amp, because it appears KDOC is UHF, though I already get many UHF stations so maybe this one will work for the others I don't receive.
Don't get me wrong, I was ecstatic when I scanned my TV and picked up 80+ channels and was tempted to call TW to laugh in their face.

This weekend I finished connecting 5 rooms using a CM dist. amp with great success.

My question is, if weather affects UHF stations so much, do the signals bounce off of rain clouds or something so that I am able get a stronger signal???

Thanks for any input.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	10898288_357979337720869_3125052411177685864_n.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	579729  

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is online now  
post #9671 of 9686 Old 03-03-2015, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrymc777 View Post
Hi:

I'm in the Rancho Cucamonga/N. Fontana area and installed a RCA ANT751 on my second story roof with a CM-7777 pre-amp. I get tons of stations, but KDOC 56 partially comes in when there's rain clouds or just a cloudy day. Not sure why that is...?
Your problematic reception of KDOC is probably due to fading which can be worse on a sunny day.

More information can be found under the fading section of:

http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/fixes.html
retiredengineer is offline  
post #9672 of 9686 Old 03-03-2015, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredengineer View Post
Your problematic reception of KDOC is probably due to fading which can be worse on a sunny day.

More information can be found under the fading section of:

http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/fixes.html
I've read this article a few times before but am still not understanding the clouds and rain making the station appear. But the weird thing is that if it's raining or heavily clouded, KABC drops out and KDOC comes in....Is this because KABC is VHF and KDOC is UHF?

Thanks again!

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is online now  
post #9673 of 9686 Old 03-03-2015, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does everyone else get KABC 7.1 in 720p right now?
I notice on KABC 7.1, the resolution is only 480p, and not the 720p that they supposedly transmit at.
All the other channels, like KTLA, KCAL, KTTV, I get at the correct 1080i or 720p they transmit at.

Does anyone know why this may be?
I live in Alhambra 91803 and have pretty good reception with my little indoor antenna. I'm not sure why only ABC is lower quality..
bulbawig is offline  
post #9674 of 9686 Old 03-03-2015, 05:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrymc777 View Post
I've read this article a few times before but am still not understanding the clouds and rain making the station appear. But the weird thing is that if it's raining or heavily clouded, KABC drops out and KDOC comes in....Is this because KABC is VHF and KDOC is UHF?

Thanks again!
Can't say why. Posting your TVFool results will help. See sticky.
retiredengineer is offline  
post #9675 of 9686 Old 03-03-2015, 06:01 PM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredengineer View Post
Can't say why. Posting your TVFool results will help. See sticky.
Thanks. Here's my results...

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f0d64a74008c

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is online now  
post #9676 of 9686 Old 03-03-2015, 07:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrymc777 View Post
Your TVFool results show a majority of your signals are very very weak becuz they are blocked by a mountain. I don't know how you can received those signals with an ANT751 but apparently you do. You must be just on the reception threshold. Having said that, any varying atmospheric conditions can mess up your reception by causing fluctuating signal strengths. Other posters have said using the HD7698P with a RCA TVPRAMP1R will give you much better results. It might be a good idea to get a returnable antenna if reception is still flaky.

BTW why did you use 100 feet for your antenna height? Were you getting poorer results at 25 feet?
retiredengineer is offline  
post #9677 of 9686 Old 03-03-2015, 08:38 PM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
!

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredengineer View Post
Your TVFool results show a majority of your signals are very very weak becuz they are blocked by a mountain. I don't know how you can received those signals with an ANT751 but apparently you do. You must be just on the reception threshold. Having said that, any varying atmospheric conditions can mess up your reception by causing fluctuating signal strengths. Other posters have said using the HD7698P with a RCA TVPRAMP1R will give you much better results. It might be a good idea to get a returnable antenna if reception is still flaky.

BTW why did you use 100 feet for your antenna height? Were you getting poorer results at 25 feet?
I have the antenna mounted on my second story roof, so actually it's about 50 feet.

I swapped the TVPRAMP1R for a CM7777 because the CM has better signal strength.
I still have the RCA preamp though because I'd like to try it with the Eagle Aspen DTV2BUHF and a Channel Plus 2532 Splitter/Combiner to see if I can use both antennas with one coax output to my distribution amp.

Yes, I was shocked that I was able to pick up so many of the LA stations with such a small yagi antenna.

I'm not sure why but KDOC is at Max ERP 1000kW and KCBS is at Max ERP 432kW and both are 33 miles at 279 degrees and both are UHF, yet I get KCBS crystal clear with no drop outs at all.

I was forced to get an outdoor antenna when TWC cut off our local stations feed to force us to rent their STBs, so I'm new to the whole OTA digital broadcast and I'm still learning it all and I love it!

I now use the OTA antenna and TWC for internet with Netflix and Hulu and a Roku box for all streaming content.

Thanks again for your expertise.

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is online now  
post #9678 of 9686 Old 03-04-2015, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrymc777 View Post

Yes, I was shocked that I was able to pick up so many of the LA stations with such a small yagi antenna.

I'm not sure why but KDOC is at Max ERP 1000kW and KCBS is at Max ERP 432kW and both are 33 miles at 279 degrees and both are UHF, yet I get KCBS crystal clear with no drop outs at all.
As I said your signals are too weak to receive with an ANT751. So you must be receiving strong reflections from some where. TVFool shows that if you lived in south Fontana you would get strong line-of-sight signals. I suspect that is where the reflections are coming from. Aiming your antenna toward the south-southwest might give you better reception. Good luck.
retiredengineer is offline  
post #9679 of 9686 Old 03-04-2015, 09:28 AM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredengineer View Post
As I said your signals are too weak to receive with an ANT751. So you must be receiving strong reflections from some where. TVFool shows that if you lived in south Fontana you would get strong line-of-sight signals. I suspect that is where the reflections are coming from. Aiming your antenna toward the south-southwest might give you better reception. Good luck.
Thank you sir.

I am actually next to the foothills of the San Bernardino mountains bordering Rancho Cucamonga (Etiwanda area near 210/15 freeways). Without the pre-amp I get nothing but KVCR Riverside/San Bernardino.
I'll just receive the blessing of getting most of the LA stations from Mt. Wilson bouncing off of God knows where

Cheers!

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is online now  
post #9680 of 9686 Old Yesterday, 01:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by bulbawig View Post
Does everyone else get KABC 7.1 in 720p right now?
I notice on KABC 7.1, the resolution is only 480p, and not the 720p that they supposedly transmit at.
All the other channels, like KTLA, KCAL, KTTV, I get at the correct 1080i or 720p they transmit at.

Does anyone know why this may be?
I live in Alhambra 91803 and have pretty good reception with my little indoor antenna. I'm not sure why only ABC is lower quality..
Could be some temporary weirdness, right now I see 7.1 and 7.2 are 720p and 7.3 is 480i. Are you still seeing the problem? Can you get reception for the main channel and the two sub-channels?

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
post #9681 of 9686 Old Yesterday, 09:32 AM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
Could be some temporary weirdness, right now I see 7.1 and 7.2 are 720p and 7.3 is 480i. Are you still seeing the problem? Can you get reception for the main channel and the two sub-channels?
7.1 720p HD 16:9
7.2 720p HD 16:9
7.3 420i SD 4:3

Here in Rancho Cucamonga by 210/15

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is online now  
post #9682 of 9686 Old Today, 12:55 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
Could be some temporary weirdness, right now I see 7.1 and 7.2 are 720p and 7.3 is 480i. Are you still seeing the problem? Can you get reception for the main channel and the two sub-channels?
Yeah I can see all three of those channels. Maybe it is actually 720p that I am seeing... (KTLA's 1080i looks so great though, compared to KABC).

They way I had determined it was by looking at the recording files from my converter box (saved to an external usb device, then viewed on my laptop later). KTLA and KCAL recordings would be 1920x1080 resolution video files, KTTV would have 1280x720 video files, yet KTLA 7.1 .2 and .3 are all 720x480 video files (the .3 subchannel video is worst though).

thanks for your post
bulbawig is offline  
post #9683 of 9686 Unread Today, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HarrisonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrymc777 View Post
7.1 720p HD 16:9
7.2 720p HD 16:9
7.3 420i SD 4:3

Here in Rancho Cucamonga by 210/15
You are absolutely right. 7.1 and 7.2 are both 720p, and have been so for several years. It is unique for the LA area for one station to actually have two HD subchannels. The reason that more stations don't do this is probably because it degrades the HD picture quality of the main subchannel somewhat. Sometimes I can get the ABC affiliate KGTV ch 10 in San Diego, and I thought the 720p picture on 10.1 did seem a bit sharper than that of KABC. KGTV also has two additional subchannels, but they are both 480i 4:3.
HarrisonS is online now  
post #9684 of 9686 Unread Today, 08:59 AM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarrisonS View Post
You are absolutely right. 7.1 and 7.2 are both 720p, and have been so for several years. It is unique for the LA area for one station to actually have two HD subchannels. The reason that more stations don't do this is probably because it degrades the HD picture quality of the main subchannel somewhat. Sometimes I can get the ABC affiliate KGTV ch 10 in San Diego, and I thought the 720p picture on 10.1 did seem a bit sharper than that of KABC. KGTV also has two additional subchannels, but they are both 480i 4:3.
WOW! You get a San Diego station?
Where in LA are you and what's your antenna setup?
phildaant likes this.

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is online now  
post #9685 of 9686 Unread Today, 09:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrymc777 View Post
WOW! You get a San Diego station?
Where in LA are you and what's your antenna setup?
For me, I still live in a LA county but borderlined to OC county. I also have gotten a few far away SD channels (ABC) before, but it is very far and have to aim that direction. Once, I got both LA and OC's ABC channels. It was amusing to compare.
phildaant is online now  
post #9686 of 9686 Unread Today, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
For me, I still live in a LA county but borderlined to OC county. I also have gotten a few far away SD channels (ABC) before, but it is very far and have to aim that direction. Once, I got both LA and OC's ABC channels. It was amusing to compare.
I'm picking up another antenna this weekend and will use the RCA pre-amp and aim it toward San Diego and Palm Springs to see if I get any birthday treats for my birthday weekend.

I also ordered the Channel Plus combiner to see if I can combine the 2 antennas.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/19622660
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	k2-_5f6130ad-72c6-40bd-bf34-668a300b0284.v1.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	29.8 KB
ID:	586929  

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off