Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 323 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 60Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9661 of 9673 Unread 02-05-2015, 11:03 PM
Newbie
 
Sitcomics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Decades network is now OTA

2.2 is now showing the invisible man as part of the decades pre-launch binge schedule.
phildaant likes this.
Sitcomics is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9662 of 9673 Unread 02-05-2015, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sitcomics View Post
2.2 is now showing the invisible man as part of the decades pre-launch binge schedule.
Is there an official schedule? TV Guide shows duplicates of 2.1.
phildaant is online now  
post #9663 of 9673 Unread 02-05-2015, 11:36 PM
Newbie
 
Sitcomics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Decades.com has a clickable link to their binge schedule. Lots of great shows coming up.
phildaant likes this.
Sitcomics is offline  
post #9664 of 9673 Unread 02-06-2015, 12:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 453 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sitcomics View Post
Decades.com has a clickable link to their binge schedule. Lots of great shows coming up.
That's pretty cool. I like that idea too! Didn't ION or some other L.A. station show old shows like Get Smart already though?

Also, is this extra CBS subchannel purely for OTA viewers only? Or will it be coming to satellite and cable too?
phildaant is online now  
post #9665 of 9673 Unread 02-07-2015, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
That's pretty cool. I like that idea too! Didn't ION or some other L.A. station show old shows like Get Smart already though?

Also, is this extra CBS subchannel purely for OTA viewers only? Or will it be coming to satellite and cable too?
Some of shows run on ME-TV which is on a sub-channel of KDOC.
phildaant likes this.

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
post #9666 of 9673 Unread 02-07-2015, 12:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdvegas View Post
Get ready to laugh as ABC launches a new diginet under the title of "LAFF TV". The diginet will air on KABC 7.2, it is speculated prior to the April 15th launch.

http://deadline.com/2015/01/laff-net...ps-1201352773/
The same people behind Grit and Escape? The sub-channel wasteland continues to expand.

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
post #9667 of 9673 Unread 02-20-2015, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Juan2watch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Speaking of Grit TV- what happened to Grit TV, Escape, and Get TV (channels 46.2-46.4)? Haven't seen them in a week or two.

-- Sent from my Palm Pre using Forums
Juan2watch is offline  
post #9668 of 9673 Unread 02-21-2015, 02:35 AM
Senior Member
 
WackyPacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
Some of shows run on ME-TV which is on a sub-channel of KDOC.
How come there is no exclusivity with these shows? Multiple national sub-channels have the right to the same shows?
WackyPacks is offline  
post #9669 of 9673 Unread 02-22-2015, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 1,084
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by WackyPacks View Post
How come there is no exclusivity with these shows? Multiple national sub-channels have the right to the same shows?
Most programming is exclusive to a particular network. However, Weigel owns or controls several diginets such as METV and Heroes & Icons and shares programs between their networks.

Wanting a strong FCC to say no to the Wireless lobby. Keep the tv broadcast band for ota television broadcasters.
rdvegas is offline  
post #9670 of 9673 Unread Yesterday, 11:33 PM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KDOC fade

Hi:

I'm in the Rancho Cucamonga/N. Fontana area and installed a RCA ANT751 on my second story roof with a CM-7777 pre-amp. I get tons of stations, but KDOC 56 partially comes in when there's rain clouds or just a cloudy day. Not sure why that is...?
I initially had trouble picking up KABC and after adjusting the antenna and watching the signal strength on my DVR, I'm getting almost every station from LA (those that transmit enough power) and Riverside now.


I just ordered an Eagle Aspen DTV2BUHF from WM and will test it with the RCA pre-amp, because it appears KDOC is UHF, though I already get many UHF stations so maybe this one will work for the others I don't receive.
Don't get me wrong, I was ecstatic when I scanned my TV and picked up 80+ channels and was tempted to call TW to laugh in their face.

This weekend I finished connecting 5 rooms using a CM dist. amp with great success.

My question is, if weather affects UHF stations so much, do the signals bounce off of rain clouds or something so that I am able get a stronger signal???

Thanks for any input.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	10898288_357979337720869_3125052411177685864_n.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	579729  

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is offline  
post #9671 of 9673 Unread Today, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrymc777 View Post
Hi:

I'm in the Rancho Cucamonga/N. Fontana area and installed a RCA ANT751 on my second story roof with a CM-7777 pre-amp. I get tons of stations, but KDOC 56 partially comes in when there's rain clouds or just a cloudy day. Not sure why that is...?
Your problematic reception of KDOC is probably due to fading which can be worse on a sunny day.

More information can be found under the fading section of:

http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/fixes.html
retiredengineer is offline  
post #9672 of 9673 Unread Today, 10:39 AM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: S. CA
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredengineer View Post
Your problematic reception of KDOC is probably due to fading which can be worse on a sunny day.

More information can be found under the fading section of:

http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/fixes.html
I've read this article a few times before but am still not understanding the clouds and rain making the station appear. But the weird thing is that if it's raining or heavily clouded, KABC drops out and KDOC comes in....Is this because KABC is VHF and KDOC is UHF?

Thanks again!

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is offline  
post #9673 of 9673 Unread Today, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does everyone else get KABC 7.1 in 720p right now?
I notice on KABC 7.1, the resolution is only 480p, and not the 720p that they supposedly transmit at.
All the other channels, like KTLA, KCAL, KTTV, I get at the correct 1080i or 720p they transmit at.

Does anyone know why this may be?
I live in Alhambra 91803 and have pretty good reception with my little indoor antenna. I'm not sure why only ABC is lower quality..
bulbawig is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off