Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 324 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 66Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9691 of 9704 Old 03-13-2015, 07:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Movies! has been on 13-4 for some time. Either the station is having a PSIP problem or your hardware is missing their PSIP for some reason, I suspect.

- Trip
phildaant likes this.

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9692 of 9704 Old 03-13-2015, 08:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
retiredengineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Movies! has been on 13-4 for some time. Either the station is having a PSIP problem or your hardware is missing their PSIP for some reason, I suspect.

- Trip
Thanks for the clarification. When I did a scan for new digital channels my TV displayed 13.6 for the Movies! Channel so I thought the channel was new. Rabbitears does list it as the physical channel. My TV didn't show the display channel.
retiredengineer is offline  
post #9693 of 9704 Old 03-14-2015, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rdvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Northwest Las Vegas
Posts: 1,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredengineer View Post
I'm seeing a new channel on 13.6 called Movies. Did I miss the announcement?
That should be rf channel 13.6 and virtual 13.3. Buzzr will be added soon to KCOP as rf 13.5 and virtual 13.2.

Wanting a strong FCC to say no to the Wireless lobby. Keep the tv broadcast band for ota television broadcasters.
rdvegas is offline  
post #9694 of 9704 Old 03-14-2015, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HarrisonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredengineer View Post
I'm seeing a new channel on 13.6 called Movies. Did I miss the announcement?
I am not seeing a subchannel 13.6 now. But I am noticing one thing: subchannel 13.2 is missing. Perhaps they are in the process of working on their channel configuration. As you probably already know, Movies is normally on 13.3, and it is there now. Anyway, right now, there are just two subchannels, 13.1 and 13.3.
HarrisonS is offline  
post #9695 of 9704 Old 03-15-2015, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarrisonS View Post
I am not seeing a subchannel 13.6 now. But I am noticing one thing: subchannel 13.2 is missing. Perhaps they are in the process of working on their channel configuration. As you probably already know, Movies is normally on 13.3, and it is there now. Anyway, right now, there are just two subchannels, 13.1 and 13.3.
Yeah ...

That's what I'm getting here too.

My guess is 13-2 (virtual) since vacated by Bounce TV to new owner Univison on KMEX 34-3, will sit idle until Buzzr TV begins broadcasting there scheduled at the end of May.

Sent from my SGH-M819N using Tapatalk
HoTatII is online now  
post #9696 of 9704 Old 03-20-2015, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Bounce TV Gone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoTatII View Post
Yeah ...

That's what I'm getting here too.

My guess is 13-2 (virtual) since vacated by Bounce TV to new owner Univison on KMEX 34-3, will sit idle until Buzzr TV begins broadcasting there scheduled at the end of May.

Sent from my SGH-M819N using Tapatalk
Anyone still receiving Bounce TV on 13.? or is it now on 34-3?

MDR515H/F7 Lover/User/Tester
Jerrymc777 is offline  
post #9697 of 9704 Old 03-20-2015, 02:00 PM
Senior Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrymc777 View Post
Anyone still receiving Bounce TV on 13.? or is it now on 34-3?
34-3 (KMEX)...

Sent from my SGH-M819N using Tapatalk
HoTatII is online now  
post #9698 of 9704 Unread 03-24-2015, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Question KTLA 5.1's rare audio drop outs?

Hello.

I noticed this on both OTA to my computer and TWC to its DVR in two different cities during Arrow, Flash, Whose Line It Is Anyways?, etc. It is very rare and random, and has been happening for a few years. Basically, audio drops out for a second. That's all. I don't think it is the 2.1 audio setup. I wonder if TWC is using the same TV feed from OTA?

Has anyone else noticed this too?

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by phildaant; Yesterday at 08:55 PM.
phildaant is offline  
post #9699 of 9704 Unread Yesterday, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HarrisonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Hello.

I noticed this on both OTA to my computer and TWC to its DVR in two different cities during Arrow, Flash, etc. It is very rare and random. Basically, audio drops out for a second. That's all. I don't think it is the 2.1 audio setup. I wonder if TWC is using the same TV feed from OTA?

Has anyone else noticed this too?

Thank you in advance.
In my experience, KTLA has had a long history of severe multipath problems. Although TVFool shows it to be the strongest of all stations in my area, I can't even use one of my UHF antennas when watching it. If I do use it, the picture freezes up in just a few seconds and the sound stops. But if I use the other antenna, it is OK.

I suspect that KTLA engineers tinker with their antenna(s) from time to time. Originally, reception was fine here with either antenna, and then, a few years ago, this problem suddenly started. Then, a couple of years after that, the problem suddenly cleared up, and it was fine for a couple of years. But now, around the first of this year it has returned. I have never seen anything like this on any other station, ever. Go figure.
phildaant likes this.
HarrisonS is offline  
post #9700 of 9704 Unread Yesterday, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarrisonS View Post
In my experience, KTLA has had a long history of severe multipath problems. Although TVFool shows it to be the strongest of all stations in my area, I can't even use one of my UHF antennas when watching it. If I do use it, the picture freezes up in just a few seconds and the sound stops. But if I use the other antenna, it is OK.

I suspect that KTLA engineers tinker with their antenna(s) from time to time. Originally, reception was fine here with either antenna, and then, a few years ago, this problem suddenly started. Then, a couple of years after that, the problem suddenly cleared up, and it was fine for a couple of years. But now, around the first of this year it has returned. I have never seen anything like this on any other station, ever. Go figure.
Even with good signal strengths? TWC uses OTA to send its video through its cable TV system too?
phildaant is offline  
post #9701 of 9704 Unread Yesterday, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HarrisonS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,487
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Even with good signal strengths? TWC uses OTA to send its video through its cable TV system too?
Yes, it happens even with extremely good signal strength. You raise a good question about how TWC gets the signals from local stations. I would have assumed that the cable and satellite companies receive the signals through hardwired connections, but I suppose it is possible that they get them via OTA.
phildaant likes this.
HarrisonS is offline  
post #9702 of 9704 Unread Yesterday, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,079
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 153
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarrisonS View Post
Yes, it happens even with extremely good signal strength. You raise a good question about how TWC gets the signals from local stations. I would have assumed that the cable and satellite companies receive the signals through hardwired connections, but I suppose it is possible that they get them via OTA.
Thanks. I think I will contact KTLA about this issue.
phildaant is offline  
post #9703 of 9704 Unread Yesterday, 01:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarrisonS View Post
Yes, it happens even with extremely good signal strength. You raise a good question about how TWC gets the signals from local stations. I would have assumed that the cable and satellite companies receive the signals through hardwired connections, but I suppose it is possible that they get them via OTA.
I can't say for this specific situation if TWC has a direct feed of KTLA but in most cases cable companies will have direct feed of all major locals which would include KTLA. In the event the direct feed is lost, OTA is a backup.

Some stations have 2 encoders, 1 for OTA and 1 to cable & satellite companies but both with identical settings. Some stations would have the same encoder feed OTA,satellite, and cable companies. But somewhere along the station's signal chain there is a single point of failure where viewers are seeing an issue on both OTA & cable.
phildaant likes this.
nyctveng is offline  
post #9704 of 9704 Unread Today, 02:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Hello.

I noticed this on both OTA to my computer and TWC to its DVR in two different cities during Arrow, Flash, Whose Line It Is Anyways?, etc. It is very rare and random, and has been happening for a few years. Basically, audio drops out for a second. That's all. I don't think it is the 2.1 audio setup. I wonder if TWC is using the same TV feed from OTA?

Has anyone else noticed this too?

Thank you in advance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarrisonS View Post
In my experience, KTLA has had a long history of severe multipath problems. Although TVFool shows it to be the strongest of all stations in my area, I can't even use one of my UHF antennas when watching it. If I do use it, the picture freezes up in just a few seconds and the sound stops. But if I use the other antenna, it is OK.

I suspect that KTLA engineers tinker with their antenna(s) from time to time. Originally, reception was fine here with either antenna, and then, a few years ago, this problem suddenly started. Then, a couple of years after that, the problem suddenly cleared up, and it was fine for a couple of years. But now, around the first of this year it has returned. I have never seen anything like this on any other station, ever. Go figure.
I've had this issue for years, quick multipath disruptions seemed to be audio but not severe enough to disrupt video. I could re-tweak the antennae but then 2 and 4 would get messed up. I've found that even with indoor antennaes you might have to move it around just a bit in different seasons. UHF signals tend to be fussier than VHF.
I've learned to live with the audio dropouts when they happen.

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off