Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 335 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 124Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10021 of 10028 Old 03-04-2017, 06:32 PM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: N. Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
FM Radio, maybe. LTE, unlikely. Have you run an FMFool report to see if you have strong local FM signals?
Yes there is... (see attached)
I have both a preamp and a dist. amp that both have FM filtering.
Would FM frequencies cause worse interference in colder weather or when the sun is setting?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Radar-FM.png
Views:	11
Size:	103.5 KB
ID:	2007065  

Large HD8200XL antenna with HDB91X and RCA preamp
,aimed at Mt. Wilson (Los Angeles) from Etiwanda area.
CM3410 Dist. amp in attic for a 5 room hookup.
Located in foothills behind Mt. Baldy, and experiencing signal loss and pixelation depending on time of day.
Jerrymc777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10022 of 10028 Old 03-04-2017, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
tvmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
A silver sensor antenna on the roof isn't much of an antenna.

How about posting the link to your TVFool plot so we can get an idea of what the signal situation is expected to be at your location.
like this? it reads more bleak than it is:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4c67b3346b1

Essentially, I have two silver sensors on a pole, one pointing to LA, one to San Diego. I get very little, if anything, from LA.
tvmaster is offline  
post #10023 of 10028 Old Yesterday, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,117
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 113
You'd need to put a LOT more metal up in the air along with an appropriate preamp. The calculations in your plot suggests that it's doable, but you'd really need to step up your game. If you happen to have the good fortune of a clear signal path towards LA, that would be quite an advantage.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
 
post #10024 of 10028 Old Yesterday, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
tvmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
You'd need to put a LOT more metal up in the air along with an appropriate preamp. The calculations in your plot suggests that it's doable, but you'd really need to step up your game. If you happen to have the good fortune of a clear signal path towards LA, that would be quite an advantage.
any examples or links of what a lot more metal may be, and when you say preamp, I'd also need to get AC up there as well?
tvmaster is offline  
post #10025 of 10028 Old Yesterday, 08:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
any examples or links of what a lot more metal may be, and when you say preamp, I'd also need to get AC up there as well?
Your best shot to LA are the VHF stations (7, 9, 11, 13 at the moment) and there will be more after the repack. So, you will want a VHF antenna at least for VHF-Hi unless KVCR moves to Mt. Wilson on Lo-VHF. We will know in about a month if there will be more Lo-VHF's here as well.

First I want to ask if your 2 Silver Sensors are on the same cable run? If so, get a switch or rotator (commonly just called a rotor). Two antennas pointing in different directions can result in unexpected patterns and make things worse.

Try a new antenna before a pre-amp, but you are probably going to need one. What coax cable are you using? Make sure it's RG-6. A pre-amp doesn't need an AC outlet on the roof. The power is fed thru the coax.

Knowing that VHF will play a larger role, I would suggest something pretty hefty. Something like this, perhaps:

If you don't care about Lo-VHF/FM:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=hd7698p#Reviews

If you do want Lo-VHF/FM:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=hd8200u

This thing is huge (14' long and 9' wide) and it's probably best to wait for the new channel allocations to come out to bother with this, unless you want FM too. My Uncle lives in San Clemente and even LA FM radio is tough there.
Falcon_77 is online now  
post #10026 of 10028 Old Today, 10:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 7,359
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 972 Post(s)
Liked: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
any examples or links of what a lot more metal may be, and when you say preamp, I'd also need to get AC up there as well?
You would keep the preamp in the attic or use one that utilizes a DC inserter on the coax.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #10027 of 10028 Old Today, 02:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,117
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
You would keep the preamp in the attic ...
Why???

Quote:
...or use one that utilizes a DC inserter on the coax.
ALL modern preamps are connected that way.... If it doesn't connect that way, it probably isn't a preamplifier.
ProjectSHO89 is online now  
post #10028 of 10028 Old Today, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 2,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
Why???

ALL modern preamps are connected that way.... If it doesn't connect that way, it probably isn't a preamplifier.
Right. Like the one in my closet. A distribution amp. I don't need a preamp at my location and they are different things.

Pre-amps are mounted at the antenna mast or as close to the antenna as practical so as little noise is amplified as possible.
Falcon_77 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
ch 2.1 , ch 43.1 , grand wega , kcbs , pasadena ca



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off