Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 335 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 126Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10021 of 10035 Old 03-04-2017, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: N. Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
FM Radio, maybe. LTE, unlikely. Have you run an FMFool report to see if you have strong local FM signals?
Yes there is... (see attached)
I have both a preamp and a dist. amp that both have FM filtering.
Would FM frequencies cause worse interference in colder weather or when the sun is setting?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Radar-FM.png
Views:	22
Size:	103.5 KB
ID:	2007065  

Large HD8200XL antenna with HDB91X and RCA preamp
,aimed at Mt. Wilson (Los Angeles) from Etiwanda area.
CM3410 Dist. amp in attic for a 5 room hookup.
Located in foothills behind Mt. Baldy, and experiencing signal loss and pixelation depending on time of day.
Jerrymc777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10022 of 10035 Old 03-04-2017, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
tvmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
A silver sensor antenna on the roof isn't much of an antenna.

How about posting the link to your TVFool plot so we can get an idea of what the signal situation is expected to be at your location.
like this? it reads more bleak than it is:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4c67b3346b1

Essentially, I have two silver sensors on a pole, one pointing to LA, one to San Diego. I get very little, if anything, from LA.
tvmaster is offline  
post #10023 of 10035 Old 03-05-2017, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 121
You'd need to put a LOT more metal up in the air along with an appropriate preamp. The calculations in your plot suggests that it's doable, but you'd really need to step up your game. If you happen to have the good fortune of a clear signal path towards LA, that would be quite an advantage.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
 
post #10024 of 10035 Old 03-05-2017, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
tvmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
You'd need to put a LOT more metal up in the air along with an appropriate preamp. The calculations in your plot suggests that it's doable, but you'd really need to step up your game. If you happen to have the good fortune of a clear signal path towards LA, that would be quite an advantage.
any examples or links of what a lot more metal may be, and when you say preamp, I'd also need to get AC up there as well?
tvmaster is offline  
post #10025 of 10035 Old 03-05-2017, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 2,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
any examples or links of what a lot more metal may be, and when you say preamp, I'd also need to get AC up there as well?
Your best shot to LA are the VHF stations (7, 9, 11, 13 at the moment) and there will be more after the repack. So, you will want a VHF antenna at least for VHF-Hi unless KVCR moves to Mt. Wilson on Lo-VHF. We will know in about a month if there will be more Lo-VHF's here as well.

First I want to ask if your 2 Silver Sensors are on the same cable run? If so, get a switch or rotator (commonly just called a rotor). Two antennas pointing in different directions can result in unexpected patterns and make things worse.

Try a new antenna before a pre-amp, but you are probably going to need one. What coax cable are you using? Make sure it's RG-6. A pre-amp doesn't need an AC outlet on the roof. The power is fed thru the coax.

Knowing that VHF will play a larger role, I would suggest something pretty hefty. Something like this, perhaps:

If you don't care about Lo-VHF/FM:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=hd7698p#Reviews

If you do want Lo-VHF/FM:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=hd8200u

This thing is huge (14' long and 9' wide) and it's probably best to wait for the new channel allocations to come out to bother with this, unless you want FM too. My Uncle lives in San Clemente and even LA FM radio is tough there.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #10026 of 10035 Old 03-06-2017, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 7,635
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1173 Post(s)
Liked: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
any examples or links of what a lot more metal may be, and when you say preamp, I'd also need to get AC up there as well?
You would keep the preamp in the attic or use one that utilizes a DC inserter on the coax.
Marc Alexander is offline  
post #10027 of 10035 Old 03-06-2017, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
You would keep the preamp in the attic ...
Why???

Quote:
...or use one that utilizes a DC inserter on the coax.
ALL modern preamps are connected that way.... If it doesn't connect that way, it probably isn't a preamplifier.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #10028 of 10035 Old 03-06-2017, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 2,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
Why???

ALL modern preamps are connected that way.... If it doesn't connect that way, it probably isn't a preamplifier.
Right. Like the one in my closet. A distribution amp. I don't need a preamp at my location and they are different things.

Pre-amps are mounted at the antenna mast or as close to the antenna as practical so as little noise is amplified as possible.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #10029 of 10035 Old 03-23-2017, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Just a curious question from an out-of-market visitor...is there actually an LD station called KSFV-6 somewhere in LA???

edit: deleted the rest of my post, think I finally found the answer here...so evidently DISH just upgraded it this week to HD. And with Sinclair involved, makes perfect sense as to how this got on DISH!
http://stocknewsnow.com/newsrss/2058618-Services
Quote:
BEVERLY HILLS, CA--(Marketwired - September 25, 2015) - Greek Billionaire Alki David's FilmOn Networks announced today a massive slate of college sports to broadcast on FOTV, the cable channel that can be viewed on Dish Network and Charter Cable in Southern California. The games are presented in a partnership with Sinclair Broadcasting's American Sports Network. There will be up to three live broadcast of games each Saturday representing major teams and conferences from across the nation, all games you can't see anywhere else in the region.
FOTV is also on Dish Network channel 6 in the L.A. market, between KTLA and KABC, running 24 hours a day, and over the air on KIIO channel 10.2. It is also on Charter Communications at channel 387, spanning from Burbank to the San Gabriel Valley.
Sorry for the interruption...

Last edited by dishrich; 03-23-2017 at 08:00 PM.
dishrich is offline  
post #10030 of 10035 Old Yesterday, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Balanced or Unbalanced 3 way antenna combiner?

I am going to combine 3 antennas.
Should I get a Balanced or Unbalanced splitter?

Balanced
https://www.amazon.com/Extreme-Balan...rum-convert-20

Unbalanced
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009FN72PO...rum-convert-20
johnnybegoode is online now  
post #10031 of 10035 Old Today, 07:22 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 15,189
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 1900
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnybegoode View Post
Balanced or Unbalanced 3 way antenna combiner?

I am going to combine 3 antennas.
Should I get a Balanced or Unbalanced splitter?

Balanced
https://www.amazon.com/Extreme-Balan...rum-convert-20

Unbalanced
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009FN72PO...rum-convert-20

We're gonna need your TVFool link in order to help you. We've continually asked you for this in your other threads, but you don't want to supply it. So, at that price, buy both and keep the one that works better.
rdvegas likes this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #10032 of 10035 Old Today, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
So, at that price, buy both and keep the one that works better.
And don't be surprised if neither of them do what you think they will.
DrDon likes this.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #10033 of 10035 Old Today, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
We're gonna need your TVFool link in order to help you. We've continually asked you for this in your other threads, but you don't want to supply it. So, at that price, buy both and keep the one that works better.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a400fb119c69

I am already using a 2 way splitter for 2 antennas.
They work better than just 1, and I would like to add one more antenna.

I just don't know if balance or unbalanced would would better?
I have limited resources.
johnnybegoode is online now  
post #10034 of 10035 Old Today, 03:14 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 15,189
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 1900
What antennas do you have, which way are they pointing, where are they located and what are you trying to accomplish?

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #10035 of 10035 Old Today, 06:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
What antennas do you have, which way are they pointing, where are they located and what are you trying to accomplish?
They are pointing in the NW direction and I am trying to cover a bigger area of the window.
Having 2 antennas has greatly improved my reception.
However whenever planes, helicopters and autos are in the signal's pathway, they would affect the signal.
My TV's tuner would make unbearable sound whenever there are interferences.
The two 50miles amped flat antennas are hanging loosely over the window's blind rod and I could move them whenever required.
The interferences sound are eliminate when the antennas are in a close proximity. With 3 antennas, I would be able to cover a bigger area of the window (the whole window would look and function like a big antenna) and having them in a closer proximity would eliminating the hassle of moving any antenna around.
I might even be able to receive more channels. I'm already getting 90% of the channels listed on TV fools.

The length of antennas need to be almost the same to prevent phasing (cancel out of one another's signal).

After some research, I am answering my own question.
I assume that all modern flat HD amped antennas are balanced and so the balanced splitter is the better choice.
johnnybegoode is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
ch 2.1 , ch 43.1 , grand wega , kcbs , pasadena ca

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off