Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 335 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 126Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10021 of 10048 Unread 03-04-2017, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Jerrymc777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: N. Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
FM Radio, maybe. LTE, unlikely. Have you run an FMFool report to see if you have strong local FM signals?
Yes there is... (see attached)
I have both a preamp and a dist. amp that both have FM filtering.
Would FM frequencies cause worse interference in colder weather or when the sun is setting?

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Radar-FM.png
Views:	31
Size:	103.5 KB
ID:	2007065  

Large HD8200XL antenna with HDB91X and RCA preamp
,aimed at Mt. Wilson (Los Angeles) from Etiwanda area.
CM3410 Dist. amp in attic for a 5 room hookup.
Located in foothills behind Mt. Baldy, and experiencing signal loss and pixelation depending on time of day.
Jerrymc777 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10022 of 10048 Unread 03-04-2017, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
tvmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
A silver sensor antenna on the roof isn't much of an antenna.

How about posting the link to your TVFool plot so we can get an idea of what the signal situation is expected to be at your location.
like this? it reads more bleak than it is:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4c67b3346b1

Essentially, I have two silver sensors on a pole, one pointing to LA, one to San Diego. I get very little, if anything, from LA.
tvmaster is offline  
post #10023 of 10048 Unread 03-05-2017, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 129
You'd need to put a LOT more metal up in the air along with an appropriate preamp. The calculations in your plot suggests that it's doable, but you'd really need to step up your game. If you happen to have the good fortune of a clear signal path towards LA, that would be quite an advantage.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
 
post #10024 of 10048 Unread 03-05-2017, 07:29 AM
Senior Member
 
tvmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
You'd need to put a LOT more metal up in the air along with an appropriate preamp. The calculations in your plot suggests that it's doable, but you'd really need to step up your game. If you happen to have the good fortune of a clear signal path towards LA, that would be quite an advantage.
any examples or links of what a lot more metal may be, and when you say preamp, I'd also need to get AC up there as well?
tvmaster is offline  
post #10025 of 10048 Unread 03-05-2017, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 2,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
any examples or links of what a lot more metal may be, and when you say preamp, I'd also need to get AC up there as well?
Your best shot to LA are the VHF stations (7, 9, 11, 13 at the moment) and there will be more after the repack. So, you will want a VHF antenna at least for VHF-Hi unless KVCR moves to Mt. Wilson on Lo-VHF. We will know in about a month if there will be more Lo-VHF's here as well.

First I want to ask if your 2 Silver Sensors are on the same cable run? If so, get a switch or rotator (commonly just called a rotor). Two antennas pointing in different directions can result in unexpected patterns and make things worse.

Try a new antenna before a pre-amp, but you are probably going to need one. What coax cable are you using? Make sure it's RG-6. A pre-amp doesn't need an AC outlet on the roof. The power is fed thru the coax.

Knowing that VHF will play a larger role, I would suggest something pretty hefty. Something like this, perhaps:

If you don't care about Lo-VHF/FM:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=hd7698p#Reviews

If you do want Lo-VHF/FM:

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=hd8200u

This thing is huge (14' long and 9' wide) and it's probably best to wait for the new channel allocations to come out to bother with this, unless you want FM too. My Uncle lives in San Clemente and even LA FM radio is tough there.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #10026 of 10048 Unread 03-06-2017, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 8,035
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1448 Post(s)
Liked: 1149
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster View Post
any examples or links of what a lot more metal may be, and when you say preamp, I'd also need to get AC up there as well?
You would keep the preamp in the attic or use one that utilizes a DC inserter on the coax.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #10027 of 10048 Unread 03-06-2017, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
You would keep the preamp in the attic ...
Why???

Quote:
...or use one that utilizes a DC inserter on the coax.
ALL modern preamps are connected that way.... If it doesn't connect that way, it probably isn't a preamplifier.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #10028 of 10048 Unread 03-06-2017, 01:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 2,607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
Why???

ALL modern preamps are connected that way.... If it doesn't connect that way, it probably isn't a preamplifier.
Right. Like the one in my closet. A distribution amp. I don't need a preamp at my location and they are different things.

Pre-amps are mounted at the antenna mast or as close to the antenna as practical so as little noise is amplified as possible.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #10029 of 10048 Unread 03-23-2017, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Just a curious question from an out-of-market visitor...is there actually an LD station called KSFV-6 somewhere in LA???

edit: deleted the rest of my post, think I finally found the answer here...so evidently DISH just upgraded it this week to HD. And with Sinclair involved, makes perfect sense as to how this got on DISH!
http://stocknewsnow.com/newsrss/2058618-Services
Quote:
BEVERLY HILLS, CA--(Marketwired - September 25, 2015) - Greek Billionaire Alki David's FilmOn Networks announced today a massive slate of college sports to broadcast on FOTV, the cable channel that can be viewed on Dish Network and Charter Cable in Southern California. The games are presented in a partnership with Sinclair Broadcasting's American Sports Network. There will be up to three live broadcast of games each Saturday representing major teams and conferences from across the nation, all games you can't see anywhere else in the region.
FOTV is also on Dish Network channel 6 in the L.A. market, between KTLA and KABC, running 24 hours a day, and over the air on KIIO channel 10.2. It is also on Charter Communications at channel 387, spanning from Burbank to the San Gabriel Valley.
Sorry for the interruption...

Last edited by dishrich; 03-23-2017 at 08:00 PM.
dishrich is offline  
post #10030 of 10048 Unread 03-25-2017, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Balanced or Unbalanced 3 way antenna combiner?

I am going to combine 3 antennas.
Should I get a Balanced or Unbalanced splitter?

Balanced
https://www.amazon.com/Extreme-Balan...rum-convert-20

Unbalanced
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009FN72PO...rum-convert-20
johnnybegoode is offline  
post #10031 of 10048 Unread 03-26-2017, 07:22 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 14,109
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 1998
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnybegoode View Post
Balanced or Unbalanced 3 way antenna combiner?

I am going to combine 3 antennas.
Should I get a Balanced or Unbalanced splitter?

Balanced
https://www.amazon.com/Extreme-Balan...rum-convert-20

Unbalanced
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009FN72PO...rum-convert-20

We're gonna need your TVFool link in order to help you. We've continually asked you for this in your other threads, but you don't want to supply it. So, at that price, buy both and keep the one that works better.
rdvegas likes this.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #10032 of 10048 Unread 03-26-2017, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,132
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
So, at that price, buy both and keep the one that works better.
And don't be surprised if neither of them do what you think they will.
DrDon likes this.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #10033 of 10048 Unread 03-26-2017, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
We're gonna need your TVFool link in order to help you. We've continually asked you for this in your other threads, but you don't want to supply it. So, at that price, buy both and keep the one that works better.
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a400fb119c69

I am already using a 2 way splitter for 2 antennas.
They work better than just 1, and I would like to add one more antenna.

I just don't know if balance or unbalanced would would better?
I have limited resources.
johnnybegoode is offline  
post #10034 of 10048 Unread 03-26-2017, 03:14 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 14,109
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1006 Post(s)
Liked: 1998
What antennas do you have, which way are they pointing, where are they located and what are you trying to accomplish?

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #10035 of 10048 Unread 03-26-2017, 06:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
What antennas do you have, which way are they pointing, where are they located and what are you trying to accomplish?
They are pointing in the NW direction and I am trying to cover a bigger area of the window.
Having 2 antennas has greatly improved my reception.
However whenever planes, helicopters and autos are in the signal's pathway, they would affect the signal.
My TV's tuner would make unbearable sound whenever there are interferences.
The two 50miles amped flat antennas are hanging loosely over the window's blind rod and I could move them whenever required.
The interferences sound are eliminate when the antennas are in a close proximity. With 3 antennas, I would be able to cover a bigger area of the window (the whole window would look and function like a big antenna) and having them in a closer proximity would eliminating the hassle of moving any antenna around.
I might even be able to receive more channels. I'm already getting 90% of the channels listed on TV fools.

The length of antennas need to be almost the same to prevent phasing (cancel out of one another's signal).

After some research, I am answering my own question.
I assume that all modern flat HD amped antennas are balanced and so the balanced splitter is the better choice.
johnnybegoode is offline  
post #10036 of 10048 Unread 04-13-2017, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Oh my goodness ....

Trip just posted the FCC's release of the post-auction repack and channel reassignment plan;

https://www.rabbitears.info/repackchannels.php

And the following stations will be leaving the air in the LA market...

KAZA-DT
KOCE-DT
KNET-CD
KSFV-CD
KLCS-DT
KBEH-DT
KRCA-DT
KJLA-DT

Wow ... so I guess that's it for PBS broadcasting in the LA market then with both KOCE and KLCS going off the air. And KCET having long left ...

Sheesh ...

Oh well, except for losing Spanish KWHY and any possibily of getting KVCR, which I can't currently receive anyway, at least I won't really need a new rooftop antenna with VHF-lo band capability.

Sent from my LGMS550 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is online now  
post #10037 of 10048 Unread 04-13-2017, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,334
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
"Off air" indicates either going off the air or channel sharing. (To the auction system, they look like the same thing--freeing a TV channel.) More than 90% of stations going "off the air" indicated at least an interest in channel sharing.

Don't forget that KLCS and KCET announced they would channel share back in 2014. https://www.kcet.org/press-room/kcet...ng-partnership

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #10038 of 10048 Unread 04-13-2017, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 20
That really, really sucks! I had a feeling something like this was going to happen. KAZA-DT is where I get most of my soccer fix on the weekends. KOCE is one of my most DVRed stations. This also sucks for a lot of parents since now there will be no more PBS Kids.
gonzo90017 is offline  
post #10039 of 10048 Unread 04-13-2017, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo90017 View Post
That really, really sucks! I had a feeling something like this was going to happen. KAZA-DT is where I get most of my soccer fix on the weekends. KOCE is one of my most DVRed stations. This also sucks for a lot of parents since now there will be no more PBS Kids.
They're channel sharing, not going away.
Bryan Cannon is offline  
post #10040 of 10048 Unread 04-13-2017, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Cannon View Post
They're channel sharing, not going away.
I hope so ...

However, even if channel sharing they certainly won't be dragging all their current secondary sub-channels with them I would think ...

Sent from my LGMS550 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is online now  
post #10041 of 10048 Unread 04-13-2017, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoTatII View Post
I hope so ...

However, even if channel sharing they certainly won't be dragging all their current secondary sub-channels with them I would think ...

Sent from my LGMS550 using Tapatalk
With ATSC 3.0 on the way, it won't be a problem.
Bryan Cannon is offline  
post #10042 of 10048 Unread 04-14-2017, 01:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,334
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Here's a relevant article about KOCE. http://www.tvnewscheck.com/article/1...-auction-money

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #10043 of 10048 Unread 04-14-2017, 03:22 AM
Senior Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Here's a relevant article about KOCE. http://www.tvnewscheck.com/article/1...-auction-money

- Trip
Quote:
... There will be no change for viewers is said; PBS SoCal will continue to broadcast, for free and **in high quality (UHF),** the full lineup of PBS programs on all four of its current channels over the air, via cable and satellite, and online at pbssocal.org.
While I don't expect these sorts of articles to always be technically accurate, but I notice there is no mention of "high quality HD" here, but "in high quality (UHF)."

So what does that mean? Are they still going to be able to keep 50-1 in 1080i HD with this channel sharing agreement with KSCI?

They're going to be hard pressed to do that plus carry all the secondary sub-channels short of a bit-starved mess ...

Quote:
... Through a channel sharing agreement with local Los Angeles full-power television station KSCI, PBS SoCal retained most of the stations’ combined spectrum, ensuring sufficient bandwidth to serve the Southern California region while earning revenues that will be invested in building for the long-term future of PBS SoCal.
Ah ... "retained most of the stations’ combined spectrum?"

"ensuring sufficient bandwidth to serve the Southern California region?"

Well ... KSCI is running at 11 SD sub-channels right now and KOCE is at 5 (not 4 as the article says) sub-channels with the main at 1080i HD.

So how is this supposed to work out unless KSCI is going to eliminate almost all of its secondary sub-channels or KSCI eliminating maybe half of their subs. and KOCE going SD on all their sub-channels?



Sent from my LGMS550 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is online now  
post #10044 of 10048 Unread 04-14-2017, 03:33 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,334
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
If you look at the list of winning prices:

https://apps.fcc.gov/edocs_public/at...A-17-314A2.pdf

You see that KOCE won $138 million. But the article says they're walking away with $49 million, which is about 35% of the money. If you imagine the split in shared money equaling the split in bandwidth (no guarantee of that, but seems reasonable) then that means KOCE would retain 65% of the spectrum (since they're paying 65% of their money to KSCI), which is about 12.6 Mbps total. Definitely sounds like KSCI would be cutting back with 6.7 Mbps total. Not sure how much cutting, if any, KOCE would need to do depending on how much money gets put into state of the art encoding hardware and how good that hardware is.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #10045 of 10048 Unread 04-14-2017, 01:32 PM
Member
 
LensClock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Here is a link to the Washington Post article about the auction.
The middle part describes the options available to the stations that have to move:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/...=.e3bd63d42fb8
LensClock is offline  
post #10046 of 10048 Unread Today, 08:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Repack question: KCBS - KTLA

So if I'm reading the repack list correctly, it appears KCBS (now on 43) will be moving to 31.
and KTLA, which is currently on 31, will be moving to 35 (currently KRCA which will go dark).

So why not just move KCBS to 35 and leave KTLA where it is ?

I'm probably missing something....
EngineerinLA is offline  
post #10047 of 10048 Unread Today, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US
Posts: 15,334
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 690 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA
Adjacent-channel interference. KCBS cannot be adjacent to KNBC.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #10048 of 10048 Unread Today, 11:55 AM
Senior Member
 
HoTatII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Los Angeles
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post
Adjacent-channel interference. KCBS cannot be adjacent to KNBC.

- Trip
Huh?

I thought that was one of the primary advantages of DTV over analog. No further need to use alternate channel spacing in the same market to prevent ACI?

Sent from my LGMS550 using Tapatalk
HoTatII is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Tags
ch 2.1 , ch 43.1 , grand wega , kcbs , pasadena ca



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off