Los Angeles, CA - OTA - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 29Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 9604 Old 04-23-2003, 03:57 PM
Member
 
CampMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Orange County
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gunfighter,
I am about 1450' altitude and have a great shot at 141degrees, with the home next to me below me and the houses behind me also below me...so I think I am in a good position. My 4228 is only about 15'-17' off the ground and is working VERY well from my patio cover.

Hope that helps!
Tom
CampMaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 9604 Old 04-23-2003, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MikeSRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 5,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I wish I had a chance for reception from either L.A. or S.D. I'm in north San Clemente on a valley hillside, with higher terrain in both directions. I'm stuck with my DirecTv HD stations until Cox gets their act together.

Enjoy!

Mike
Surf Remote Control
Contributing reviewer and THX calibrator, ProjectorReviews.com
MikeSRC is offline  
post #183 of 9604 Old 04-23-2003, 05:39 PM
Member
 
robhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portola Hills, CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by CampMaster
Gunfighter,

I am located in Trabuco Canyon, in my situation, I am using the RS15-1171 and a Channel Master 4228 on the 4x4 post of my patio cover with a 10ft mast and it is working VERY well for my for San Diego, CBS, NBA, ABC, FOX ,WB and PBS. I am pointed about 141degrees.

Let me know if you need the antenna!
Thanks,
Tom

Campmaster-

I'm sure you meant NBC not NBA. For a split second I thought I could watch some of Marc Cuban's HDTV.

Robert::
robhair is offline  
post #184 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 07:36 AM
Member
 
Gunfighter369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom,

I wish I was in your situation. I'm actually below the 5, not sure of the exact elevation. Thankfully, I have a pretty good line of sight down the coast. I think I'll give your 2160 a try. If you'd like to PM me we can set up a meet somewhere anytime Sat or Sun is good for me.

Gary,

You're not planning on disposing your antenna anytime soon? If the 2160 doesn't quite do the job, I will gladly take your spare and see what I can do with that.

Oh.... one last question. when I make the attempt with the antenna hooked up to my old 13" TV, what exactly am I looking for. If I can pick up a channel, should I assume that I'm good to go for that particular station. Seeing as how it's an older analog TV, if any picture comes in, does that mean I'm getting the digital signal also? Gary, you had mentioned something about ghosting. That's when you see double images on the screen correct?
Gunfighter369 is offline  
post #185 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 07:44 AM
Newbie
 
remrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see some discussion relative to the loss of RG-6 and I think there is some misconception on how 'lossy' RG-6 is.

As a point of reference, 3dB loss is equal to losing half of your signal strength.

The loss of RG-6 per 100 foot run is:

50 Mhz = 1.4 dB
100 Mhz = 2.0 dB
200 Mhz = 2.8 dB
400 Mhz = 4.3 dB
700 Mhz = 5.6 dB

You should also add .1 dB loss per connector.

So, for the Los Angeles CBS DT chan. 60 (746-753 Mhz) the loss is nearly 6 dB which equates to 1/4 signal strength or you are losing 75% of the signal in a 100 ft coax run ...!!!!

This might explain why some of the fringe areas to Mt. Wilson are having trouble receiving KCBS DT.
remrich is offline  
post #186 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GGoodrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
remrich --

Thanks for the info! What I've found is that if I can get a very low noise amp close enough to the antenna, 100 foot runs after the amp are not a problem. Also, for a lot of us "fringies", KABC is more of a problem, due probably to their lower power output.

GF --

If Tom's 2160 doesn't work, you can have my 4221. Re: the analog test - Yes, "ghosting" is multiple images which are caused by multipath reflections off of mountians, buildings, etc. If you don't get the multiple imaging, that is very good news in your quest for digital reception. If you don't have a lot of MP a digital receiver will lock onto very weak signals, similar to a very snowy picture on an anaolg set.

Does your analog set have a UHF antenna on it now? Usually it is just a loop of heavy wire. Anyway, if it does you can try the test now. The point is to try and use this test to see what kind of antenna might work best before you purchase one. If the set doesn't have one you can make a simple one out of a coat hanger. I'm serious, it really will work. If you can get the set and its "antenna" outside in your patio so it can "see" the same direction your permenant setup will, it will help give a better idea of what you ultimate digital reception might be like. Channel 39 (NBC is SD...) is a good one to try because their digital channel is 40. I think some of the other digital channels are 25, 30 and 55. If you can get analog UHF channels close to those (help me out here Don...) that will also be indicative of what kind of digital reception "problems" you might have. Again, the main thing to look for is whether or not you get ANY reception and then see if the picture is relatively "ghost" free.

-- Gary
GGoodrum is offline  
post #187 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 09:03 AM
Member
 
Gunfighter369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gary,

Would a simple set of rabbit ears suffice? ( not quite sure how to plug a coat hanger into the coax input of the tv...... ). I should try and pick up Channel 39 first. If good, then thier digital signal on 40 should be no problem. Right? Getting the set and antenna outside is no problem... it's just a 13 incher, so good to go there.
Gunfighter369 is offline  
post #188 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GGoodrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GF --

If you already have an old set of rabbit ears that has a coax cable then yes, give it a try. Most older TVs have separate UHF and VHF 300 ohm inputs which are nothing more than screws on a terminal block. The "loop" antennas would simply be screwed onto the UHF terminals. If your set is newer, and simply has a coax input then you'll need an external set of "ears". Most of those come with a UHF loop.

Does the 13-inch model you have already have a built-in antenna? If so, use it as is. If not, and you don't already have a separate one, don't bother. Buying one will cost as much as the 2160.

-- Gary
GGoodrum is offline  
post #189 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 10:00 AM
Member
 
Gunfighter369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope, no built in antenna. I believe it only has one coax input, and no RCA connections ( not that those matter ). So the ears are for VHF, the Loop is for UHF?
Gunfighter369 is offline  
post #190 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GGoodrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, if there is a separate loop, it is for UHF. If not, the rabbit ears should work, assumming it has a coax output. If not, you'll need a 300-75 Ohm transformer. What do you have?

-- Gary
GGoodrum is offline  
post #191 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 10:32 AM
Member
 
Gunfighter369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately, I'm at work, but I believe I have a set of telescoping antennas. The cable itself is flat, and attaches to a box that slides over the coax connector on the TV. I guess I'll give it a try when I get home, just to see what I can get.
Gunfighter369 is offline  
post #192 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GGoodrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That "box" is the transformer so you should be good to go. You will probably get better luck using them for UHF if you don't pull the "ears" out all the way.

-- Gary
GGoodrum is offline  
post #193 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Gunfighter369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Then that's what I'll do Gary! Again, thanks for all the inofrmation. I've learned quite a bit in the past couple days. Now I can't wait for this weekend to start trying stuff out!!!
Gunfighter369 is offline  
post #194 of 9604 Old 04-24-2003, 04:31 PM
Member
 
CampMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Orange County
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey GF,
Just PM'd you!

Tom
CampMaster is offline  
post #195 of 9604 Old 04-28-2003, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Gunfighter369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

Picked up the 2160 from Tom on Sun. Got a 10 ft. mast from Lowe's and the 1171 amp. In the process of putting everything together and ran into one small problem........ and this is gonna' be a dumb question, but..... which way should the antenna point? Do I aim it like an arrow at the station ( transmitter -> <-- antenna ) or do I aim it back wards ( transmitter -> --> antenna ). Hopefully that makes sense. Thanks guys.

Alan
Gunfighter369 is offline  
post #196 of 9604 Old 04-28-2003, 10:17 AM
Member
 
CampMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Orange County
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GF,
Glad to see your moving forward! FYI, there are NO dumb questions!

Point the Antenna (-->) to the Transmitter (<--) @ 139degrees. The correct pointing of the antenna should be with the long portion of the antenna pointing toward the San Diego Transmitter.

Let us know what happens!
Tom
CampMaster is offline  
post #197 of 9604 Old 04-28-2003, 10:36 AM
Member
 
Gunfighter369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom,

So to clarify, the 'point" of the arrow should be away from the transmitting staion? Yes?
Gunfighter369 is offline  
post #198 of 9604 Old 04-28-2003, 11:18 AM
Member
 
robhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portola Hills, CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gunfighter369.

Think of it like a satellite dish. <------------- toward the south.

Robert
robhair is offline  
post #199 of 9604 Old 04-28-2003, 11:30 AM
Member
 
CampMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: S. Orange County
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alan,
In a quick answer, yes.

The "Arrow" or "V" portion of the antenna is the BACK of the antenna.

The front (receiving) of the antenna is the long portion, that should be pointing toward the San Diego Tower, which would mean that the back portion, "V" or "ARROW" would be pointing in the opposite direction.

It should face as follows;
SD Transmitter ---->
|
|
|

Does that help?
Let us know!
Tom
CampMaster is offline  
post #200 of 9604 Old 04-28-2003, 11:32 AM
Member
 
robhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portola Hills, CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gunfighter,

Look at Garyjc's reply on page 4 of this thread. It gives you a good idea on which way to point. He's pointing away from his house.


Robert
robhair is offline  
post #201 of 9604 Old 04-28-2003, 11:34 AM
Member
 
robhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portola Hills, CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gunfighter369,

Look at Garyjc's reply on page 4 of this thread. It gives you a good idea on which way to point. He's pointing away from his house.


Robert
robhair is offline  
post #202 of 9604 Old 04-28-2003, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Gunfighter369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it guys. Thanks again for the help! Glad I asked now until waiting to try and figure out why nothing worked.........
Gunfighter369 is offline  
post #203 of 9604 Old 04-29-2003, 09:40 PM
Member
 
robhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portola Hills, CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Traded my Televes75 for CM4228. Campmaster lives about 3/4-1 mile from my location in Portola Hills and after seeing the profile of the 4228 compared to the six foot length of my dat75 I decided to order one and give it a go. I was receiving ABC,CBS,WB,FOX,UPN,PBS from San Diego and CBS,NBC,WB from Los Angeles with no dropouts. I was also getting various other stations intermittently. I was happy with the reception but neighbors still questioned the size of the antenna. Since I was asked to formalize the antenna placement with my HOA, I decided to try one last combo.
Here' the results- 4228 with no amp-ABC San diego. 4228 with 1171 ABC San Diego + KTLA Los Angeles. 4228 with 1175 pre-amp all the San Diego stations and all the LA stations I got before with the exception of CBS (LA) which seems to come and go. It seems to me that the 1175 pre-amp was the key. GGoodrum what's your thoughts of this. What does needing the preamp say about the area I live in?? If anyone would like to try out my Televes PM me and we'll work it out.

Robert
robhair is offline  
post #204 of 9604 Old 04-29-2003, 10:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GGoodrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, now I'm confused. How were you getting both the SD stations AND the LA ones too?? Do you have a rotor? The LA stations are 180 degrees from the SD transmitters. You must just be turning it to see what you get, right?

Anyway, I don't know what an 1175 is unless you are talking about a CM 7775 UHF preamp. Assuming you are I think the difference is the cable run between the antenna and the 1171. If it is greater than about 25-30 feet the performance will drop significantly. I'm guessing you have the amp portion of the 7775 mounted on the mast with the antenna, right?

FWIW, I used a 4228/7775 combo for a couple of months and although at any given time I got very high SS numbers, I experienced almost daily temporary dropouts. If you are going to go for the SD channels, which are about the same distance, maybe closer, you might not see the same problems. Before you let go of the DAT75, you might want to see how well the 4228 works over a few days.

-- Gary
GGoodrum is offline  
post #205 of 9604 Old 04-30-2003, 05:41 AM
Member
 
robhair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Portola Hills, CA
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gary

Yes I have a rotor and yes it's the 7775. The amp box is about three feet away fron the antenna bolted to the mast. The cable run is about 75 feet so that must explain why the 1171 made no significant difference. The signals seem strong at this time. I hope they hold up.

Robert
robhair is offline  
post #206 of 9604 Old 04-30-2003, 09:45 AM
Member
 
RobbW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to locate someone in either the San Fernando Valley or Santa Clarita Valley that could advise me as to whether reception is possible in Valencia and if so, to set up an install appointment. Or alternatively, perhaps I could hire someone to "test" reception capability at my home to find out what my options are?

Anyone have any leads on who (or what company) to call to arrange any of this?

Thanks,

RobbW
RobbW is offline  
post #207 of 9604 Old 04-30-2003, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
cymro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Pacific Palisades, Calif, USA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used Marcelo at Digitime for my stacked installation. He's located in Valencia, pager # is 310-724-1897.

His tel # is 661-299-1410.

He does top quality work.
cymro is offline  
post #208 of 9604 Old 04-30-2003, 10:08 AM
Member
 
RobbW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you!! =)

RobbW
RobbW is offline  
post #209 of 9604 Old 04-30-2003, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
cymro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Pacific Palisades, Calif, USA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're welcome!
cymro is offline  
post #210 of 9604 Old 04-30-2003, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
markt170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new here and am about to purchase Direct tv with HD receiver and wondering if anyone in Encino -south of blvd has tried to get OTA reception of local high def signals. And is there any recommendation for hiring someone to figure out what works and then install it? One other question: For times when the local OTA high def signal "goes out" or has some other flaw, can you still get Direct tv's signal for the local station, or does using this OTA method prevent you from getting the non-HD signal from Direct tv?

markt
markt170 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off