Champaign, IL - HDTV - Page 166 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4951 of 4971 Old 03-31-2014, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I believe it IS; I noticed late last week, that one of daytime shows I record from WRSP on DISH, had a "sorry this station is not available..." slide up for the entire run.
Then, on last nights WICS news, they ran a ticker on the bottom apologizing for WRSP being out of service for DirecTV AND DISH subs, & that techs were working on the problem.
Since it IS back on the air on DISH, maybe they are at reduced power, or something like that...
dishrich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4952 of 4971 Old 03-31-2014, 07:44 PM
Member
 
bmarchand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The WRSP klystron tube went out on Wednesday 3/26/2014 and they did not have a spare so they were off the air. They came back on at some point Sunday night 3/30/2014 or Monday morning at reduced power.
bmarchand is offline  
post #4953 of 4971 Old 04-02-2014, 08:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
thumperxr69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Huge sigh of relief. *Thanks*.

username should now be "ThumperYZ69"
thumperxr69 is offline  
post #4954 of 4971 Old 05-11-2014, 11:39 AM
Member
 
TimfromSpfdIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could this be a harbinger of what might happen soon with WICS-20.2 here in Springfield? From the St. Louis thread:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Linxs View Post

It looks like 30-3 is going away. There running a crawl right now saying that ZUUS Country no longer airs on the channel and to download an app. Any idea what there replacing it with?

As of this afternoon, 20.2 still exists--but who knows how much longer?
TimfromSpfdIL is offline  
post #4955 of 4971 Old 05-11-2014, 12:40 PM
Member
 
kc9hzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose that could be a good thing for those of us in the Champaign half of the market. Hear me out! Sinclair hasn't bothered to put anything in to fill in the schedule hole they created when they pulled off TheCoolTV. I suspect that it's just because it's little old us over here. Half of a market, not really worth jumping through hoops to find content for. If Sinclair is removing ZUUS Country, then that raises the chance that they'll put something up on 15.2, when they get around to adding a new subchannel. (After all, it took them some time to add one after The Tube shut down. PS If anyone from Sinclair with any authority reads this, I've got some advice: Don't bother with music subchannels! You've been burned thrice. You'd be better off just putting up something like AntennaTV or even Bounce.)

Now with 100% more Amateur Extra Class privileges!
kc9hzn is offline  
post #4956 of 4971 Old 05-17-2014, 08:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
thumperxr69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ugg...I cut the cord almost 4 years ago and my OTA has been very good. Lately 23.1/23.2 has been no signal a lot but now 49.1/49.2 is showing no signal???

Is it just me or others seeing this issue also???

Thanks

username should now be "ThumperYZ69"
thumperxr69 is offline  
post #4957 of 4971 Old 05-17-2014, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Probably either tree growth or water infiltration into your cabling or corrosion somewhere.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #4958 of 4971 Old 05-22-2014, 09:02 PM
Senior Member
 
dgreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bloomington IL
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Did the WILL public TV bug just get super-sized and bolder? It is really bad. I have noticed over the past few years that during the overnight hours the bug was bolder but this is ridiculous.

I much prefer the WTVP (Peoria) approach to doing something a couple times an hour (even when it is in color and obnoxious).
dgreen is offline  
post #4959 of 4971 Old 05-23-2014, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
dishrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgreen View Post

Did the WILL public TV bug just get super-sized and bolder? It is really bad.

Yea, you're right - I thought it was my imagination! I usually tried to always record stuff from WILL (instead of WSEC or WEIU) as they (used to) had the least obtrusive bug - guess that idea went all to hell now! mad.gif
dishrich is offline  
post #4960 of 4971 Old 06-01-2014, 04:24 PM
Member
 
TimfromSpfdIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have the Digital Economy package with Comcast here in Springfield, and I have noticed since Memorial Day that Daystar (channel 276) must apparently now be on this package (it always used to be available only with at least Digital Starter).
TimfromSpfdIL is offline  
post #4961 of 4971 Old 06-29-2014, 11:36 AM
Member
 
TimfromSpfdIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimfromSpfdIL View Post
I currently have the Digital Economy package with Comcast here in Springfield, and I have noticed since Memorial Day that Daystar (channel 276) must apparently now be on this package (it always used to be available only with at least Digital Starter).
Another Digital Economy update in Springfield that I noticed a short time ago, but not a big loss IMO: TVG (formerly TV Guide channel) on Comcast channel 16 is no longer part of that package (I presume it's now just for Digital Starter and up).

In addition, there have been reports in the past month in other Comcast markets that The Weather Channel's local Weatherscan station (which is on Comcast channel 17 locally) has been dropped on their local systems. There's a whole thread about this on the Comcast message boards (programming board):

http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Channel...y/td-p/2171670
TimfromSpfdIL is offline  
post #4962 of 4971 Old 07-12-2014, 11:24 AM
Member
 
TimfromSpfdIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here in Springfield, I have noticed in the last few days that you can actually tune to Channel 1000 on Comcast. Even with my cable box being an older Motorola JD4032. But all you get is the "To Be Announced" guide listing and the "One Moment Please: This channel should be available shortly" notice (with reference code S0a00). I only have Digital Economy at this time however--and no HD. But assuming that the Springfield-Decatur Comcast system will not be one of those systems spun off to the likes of Charter, Mediacom, etc. after the CC-Time Warner deal and that we will stay with CC, could Springfield CC customers be the next to start noticing the HD channels being moved to channels 1000+ as has already occurred in other markets, and the first steps to a standardized national cable lineup (outside of channels 2-99)? (I haven't been able to tune other channels above 1000, however, so this could be a test channel).

No mention of realignments to the HD channels, or any channels being moved above 1000, was listed in the latest channel guide which came with our recent bill (I got mine on Thursday)--but it seems like within a month of an updated guide part of it gets quickly out of date as at least one channel gets moved to either a new channel number, changes package availability, etc.

Also, any thoughts from other Springfield posters about the city's latest short-term contract with Comcast--with the ordinance providing for the contract including a directive to City Water, Light and Power to look into the feasibility of offering cable/broadband/Wifi in the city? From the SJ-R's July 2 paper:

http://www.sj-r.com/article/20140701...888/10512/NEWS
TimfromSpfdIL is offline  
post #4963 of 4971 Old 08-20-2014, 03:38 PM
Member
 
TimfromSpfdIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimfromSpfdIL View Post
Here in Springfield, I have noticed in the last few days that you can actually tune to Channel 1000 on Comcast. Even with my cable box being an older Motorola JD4032. But all you get is the "To Be Announced" guide listing and the "One Moment Please: This channel should be available shortly" notice (with reference code S0a00). I only have Digital Economy at this time however--and no HD. But assuming that the Springfield-Decatur Comcast system will not be one of those systems spun off to the likes of Charter, Mediacom, etc. after the CC-Time Warner deal and that we will stay with CC, could Springfield CC customers be the next to start noticing the HD channels being moved to channels 1000+ as has already occurred in other markets, and the first steps to a standardized national cable lineup (outside of channels 2-99)? (I haven't been able to tune other channels above 1000, however, so this could be a test channel).

No mention of realignments to the HD channels, or any channels being moved above 1000, was listed in the latest channel guide which came with our recent bill (I got mine on Thursday)--but it seems like within a month of an updated guide part of it gets quickly out of date as at least one channel gets moved to either a new channel number, changes package availability, etc.
I just noticed tonight that the ability to tune Channel 1000 was gone from my Motorola SD box--so maybe that channel was just a short-term test channel for now.
TimfromSpfdIL is offline  
post #4964 of 4971 Old 09-05-2014, 09:11 AM
Member
 
stanswx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OTA antennas in Champaign

I live in west Champaign and I'm trying to decide if there's a better antenna for the locals. I have the Winegard Flatwave Razor Thin Indoor HDTV Antenna which picks up WCIA, WAND, WBUI, WILL pretty well in the west facing window. The problem is I can't get WCCU 27 which is to the NNE of Champaign. I sometimes have issues with WICD which is east of here.

I also have the Terk HDTVi antenna which will pick up Fox 27 in the other room which has a northerly facing window. However, the signal isn't the greatest (another building in the way) and then I lose signal strength on the westerly stations. If I point the Terk HDTVi out the west window, I can occasionally get WICS and WRSP in Springfield. (especially when atmospheric conditions are enhanced) However, the signal isn't solid enough to keep from breaking up the picture. (gave up trying to watch my Bears last season!)

Ideally, I'd like to have a better antenna that points out the west-facing window that would get Springfield all the time with no drops. Since I'm restricted to indoor antennas only, am I getting the best I can? Would an antenna like the Antennas Direct - ClearStream 2V hanging/sitting in the west-facing window be any better than the Terk HDTVi directional antenna? (I know, just buy one and try it!) Or should I do 2 antennas with an A/B switch and deal with mediocre Fox signal?

Here is my TVFool report: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d243572e0020d1

Thanks!

P.S. I do not have nor want basic cable.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stanswx; 09-05-2014 at 09:45 AM. Reason: added TVFool link
stanswx is online now  
post #4965 of 4971 Old 09-05-2014, 01:05 PM
Member
 
kc9hzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live over in Danville. I've had good luck with the Terk HDTVa, which is the version of the HDTVi with a built in amplifier. I think the amplifier should make enough of a difference for you if you point the antenna out the west window. And, if it overloads on a strong station, you can switch the amplifier off.
kc9hzn is offline  
post #4966 of 4971 Old 09-06-2014, 07:44 AM
Member
 
stanswx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc9hzn View Post
I live over in Danville. I've had good luck with the Terk HDTVa, which is the version of the HDTVi with a built in amplifier. I think the amplifier should make enough of a difference for you if you point the antenna out the west window. And, if it overloads on a strong station, you can switch the amplifier off.
Thanks for the info. I wonder if I could add an external amplifier to the one I already have? Hard to find the HDTVa model other than online of course.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stanswx is online now  
post #4967 of 4971 Old 09-06-2014, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanswx View Post
I live in west Champaign and I'm trying to decide if there's a better antenna for the locals. I have the Winegard Flatwave Razor Thin Indoor HDTV Antenna which picks up WCIA, WAND, WBUI, WILL pretty well in the west facing window. The problem is I can't get WCCU 27 which is to the NNE of Champaign. I sometimes have issues with WICD which is east of here.

I also have the Terk HDTVi antenna which will pick up Fox 27 in the other room which has a northerly facing window. However, the signal isn't the greatest (another building in the way) and then I lose signal strength on the westerly stations. If I point the Terk HDTVi out the west window, I can occasionally get WICS and WRSP in Springfield. (especially when atmospheric conditions are enhanced) However, the signal isn't solid enough to keep from breaking up the picture. (gave up trying to watch my Bears last season!)

Ideally, I'd like to have a better antenna that points out the west-facing window that would get Springfield all the time with no drops. Since I'm restricted to indoor antennas only, am I getting the best I can? Would an antenna like the Antennas Direct - ClearStream 2V hanging/sitting in the west-facing window be any better than the Terk HDTVi directional antenna? (I know, just buy one and try it!) Or should I do 2 antennas with an A/B switch and deal with mediocre Fox signal?

Here is my TVFool report: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d243572e0020d1

Thanks!



P.S. I do not have nor want basic cable.
I'm from a completely different market, but my situation is similar to yours, trying to get a few stations at a distance of twenty to thirty miles with an indoor antenna, which is really beyond the range of most indoor antennas. I have had pretty good success with the Antennas Direct Micron indoor antenna with the variable amplifier. The newer models have a reflector screen that is supposed to help with multipath interference.

I occasionally get stations from 60 miles away (and from the direction opposite from the direction the antenna is facing), but not consistently, only when atmospheric conditions are just right. The stations from 20 to 30 miles away come in reasonably steady, though. But indoor antennas are always hit and miss when you get beyond fifteen miles or so from the transmitters.
veedon is offline  
post #4968 of 4971 Old 09-06-2014, 05:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
heavyharmonies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Urbana, IL
Posts: 1,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I don't watch much local/network TV, but now that football season is upon us, I have occasion to do so. I have my locals in HD through DirecTV, and have noticed that the football in HD on WRSP 55 is unGodly jerky and stuttery, both the NFL and the college games.

Is everyone experiencing this?

I don't have this problem with any other networks, only FOX.

Trying to determine whether it's a DirecTV, Fox network, or WRSP issue...

"But I want to do community service; I want to teach the handicapped how to yodel." - Hudson Hawk
heavyharmonies is online now  
post #4969 of 4971 Old 09-07-2014, 10:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Volume WRSP55--DirecTV

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyharmonies View Post
I don't watch much local/network TV, but now that football season is upon us, I have occasion to do so. I have my locals in HD through DirecTV, and have noticed that the football in HD on WRSP 55 is unGodly jerky and stuttery, both the NFL and the college games.

Is everyone experiencing this?

I don't have this problem with any other networks, only FOX.

Trying to determine whether it's a DirecTV, Fox network, or WRSP issue...
I have no prob with video, just my broadcast audio on any FOX55 programming seems a bit low compared to the other stations---in fact, was watching the pregame on NFL Sunday Ticket (free this weekend BTW), and the FOX channels were louder than FOX affiliate WRSP 55. All WRSP programs need turned up 5 or 6 numbers on my volume control compared to my "normal" channels.
DecaDirect is offline  
post #4970 of 4971 Old 09-20-2014, 12:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
thumperxr69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone in the area have guide problems in WMC (Windows Media Center)??? I have been troubleshooting for 4 hours today still no go for me. I have uninstalled Media Center deleted Ehome folders ...you name it...

I believe the problem is detailed here. http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...php?f=5&t=7861 but the solution is not working for me.

Just wondering if anyone locally is having EPG issues in WMC???

Thanks

username should now be "ThumperYZ69"
thumperxr69 is offline  
post #4971 of 4971 Old Yesterday, 09:47 AM
Member
 
stanswx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc9hzn View Post
I live over in Danville. I've had good luck with the Terk HDTVa, which is the version of the HDTVi with a built in amplifier. I think the amplifier should make enough of a difference for you if you point the antenna out the west window. And, if it overloads on a strong station, you can switch the amplifier off.
I ordered the HDTVa from Crutchfield and got it last week. It does make a decent improvement on Fox 27. We'll have to see how it works in the winter though. It has to be plugged in even if you don't want to use the amplifier, otherwise you won't get a signal at all.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stanswx is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off