North Alabama HDTV (Winter) thread huntsville waay waff wfiq whiq whdf whnt wzdx - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 229 Old 12-06-2002, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Covington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: whnt tv
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The purpose of this thread to try and place a central point for hdtv communication for hdtv viewers and wannabees of North Alabama and South Central Tennessee.

Previous thread concerning this group can be found at:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=175393
Brian Covington is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 229 Old 12-06-2002, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Covington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: whnt tv
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
check
Brian Covington is offline  
post #3 of 229 Old 12-06-2002, 03:11 PM
Newbie
 
JohnWoracek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ER was in HD for about 3 seconds last night. It was shortly after the show started. It was upconverted letterbox with lousy colors to widescreen HD with great colors and then back to the BS letterbox.
JohnWoracek is offline  
post #4 of 229 Old 12-06-2002, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
AUPigskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to HDTV
I currently have a Sony WEGA HD ready and am presently looking for a STB. Any suggestions? Now that H'ville appears to be getting HD, I am getting real anxious for Santa Claus' gift

Also, is the DVI interface a 'threat' to my WEGA tv? (no dvi interface)

Thanks,
AUPigskin is offline  
post #5 of 229 Old 12-06-2002, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Montezuma58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brian, here's the signal strengths I'm getting. These are approximate as my receiver just has a bar thing that goes from "poor" to "good". I'm using a Samsung SIR-T151 with a 4 bay bowtie still sitting on my living room floor with no amplification.

WAFF 30% (about the edge of usable with the receiver)
WZDX 35%-45% varies
WHNT 60%

Brad
Montezuma58 is offline  
post #6 of 229 Old 12-06-2002, 06:43 PM
Member
 
needsleepido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brian - Here are my stats:
Reception: WAFF, WHNT, WZDX - 100%
Antenna: Zenith silver sensor indoor antenna (it is great!)
Location: Just Northeast of Chapman Mountain. I have direct line of sight to the transmitters on monte sano no more than 5 miles away.
STB: Hughes E86 - My E86 frustrates me. I should never have a reception problem. However, my E86 has a heat problem that causes dropouts. I have a small fan under it which corrected the problem for about 4 weeks. But now I am having problems even with the fan. I should have went with a samsung stb (hear that AUPigskin).

What is up with WZDX? It has fox on both 54.1 and 54.2 now (as of last night). I can't get the WB on cable so having it on 54.2 was the only way for me to catch Smallville.
needsleepido is offline  
post #7 of 229 Old 12-06-2002, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Covington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: whnt tv
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AUPIGSKIN, If you got an old 333mhz or faster computer sitting around I would build an HDTV PVR. HDTV PC tuner cards run around 400 bucks. You should pick up a wireless keyboard (keep in mind most wireless keyboard have a reach of 8 to 12 feet) and a hard drive with alot of space. Being able to watch HDTV programming when you want is a big plus.

thanks for the replies on signal strength
Brian Covington is offline  
post #8 of 229 Old 12-07-2002, 05:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Covington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: whnt tv
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
needsleepido, was this heat related dropouts on all ota channels analog and digital?
Brian Covington is offline  
post #9 of 229 Old 12-07-2002, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
JohnWoracek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WAFF got it right last night. Both Law & Order SVU and Leno were in HD. Looked great!
JohnWoracek is offline  
post #10 of 229 Old 12-07-2002, 11:13 AM
Member
 
needsleepido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brian - The heat related drop outs are only on OTA digital channels. I have never had a problem with drop outs on the analog channels OTA thru my E86.

I also caught Law and Order and Leno last night on WAFF. It looked very good.
needsleepido is offline  
post #11 of 229 Old 12-07-2002, 07:33 PM
Member
 
nhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Huntsville, AL, USA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brian - Do you have any specific recommendations for HDTV PVR? I am particularly interested in what equipment I should buy and where I should buy it.

I assume from your prior comments that you are satisfied with your setup.
nhurst is offline  
post #12 of 229 Old 12-08-2002, 05:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Covington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: whnt tv
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nick I'm using the hidtv card. I'm having a problem recording analog channels I believe that if I would upgrade to XP that problem would go away. This company seems to release more xp drivers and betas than other operating systems. I can say stay away from the Hauppauge WinTV-HD.
here is a link to a great review of hdtv pvr
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=171956

HiDTV Tuner/pvr
Airboard keyboard and mouse
amd athlon xp1800
512 mb ram
windows 2000 professional
nvidia geforce4 mx 420
streamzap remote
30gig drive and 12 gig drive
Brian Covington is offline  
post #13 of 229 Old 12-08-2002, 06:23 AM
Member
 
nhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Huntsville, AL, USA
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Brian - Thanks.

Also, I really enjoyed the Georgia - Arkansas game. Keep the HD coming.
nhurst is offline  
post #14 of 229 Old 12-09-2002, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Covington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: whnt tv
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
king of queens seems to have some pixels or black dots (grain) in the picture. the analog side has noise also. I called the control room and the output of the sattelite receiver looks tha same as the output of the transmitter on analog and hdtv. so the noise is not being generated by us. I will call cbs tomorrow and ask them if they had problems or at least what the deal is. maybe the rest of the night will be better. I got a feeling its being transmitted by cbs that way. Although it might be a good time to ask CBS for a backup receiver. But anyhow we are on top of it and it is noticed.
and by the way I'm not selling tv's but here is a good deal for someone that does not have a set. Southern Digital Products of Huntsville has two 38inch RCA HDTV's new in box for 1700 bucks.
Brian Covington is offline  
post #15 of 229 Old 12-10-2002, 09:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Montezuma58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting Jay Leno quirk.

Well, I decided to check out Jay on WAFF tonight. I caught the last couple of minutes of their news cast and everything seemed fine. When they switched over to HD for the Tonight Show the picture looked nice but there was no audio. I flipped through the digital channels when I got back around to WAFF the audio was there. Now I'm wondering if this is a Samsung bug, a WAFF bug, or if the audio wasn't there to start out with and came back coincidentally while I was flipping.

Brad
Montezuma58 is offline  
post #16 of 229 Old 12-11-2002, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wolfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Montezuma58
Interesting Jay Leno quirk.

Well, I decided to check out Jay on WAFF tonight. I caught the last couple of minutes of their news cast and everything seemed fine. When they switched over to HD for the Tonight Show the picture looked nice but there was no audio. I flipped through the digital channels when I got back around to WAFF the audio was there. Now I'm wondering if this is a Samsung bug, a WAFF bug, or if the audio wasn't there to start out with and came back coincidentally while I was flipping.
I get that sometimes when I switch to HBO-HD (DirecTV 509). I guess it is a receiver-kind-of-thing.

Wolfie
Wolfie is offline  
post #17 of 229 Old 12-13-2002, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'd been ill the past few days and totally forgot to check in and see if ER was in HD last night. Anybody know? I know Leno's been doin' the HiDef thing of recent but NEVER has ER been shown in all its glory. Well?

Thanks
Andrew
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #18 of 229 Old 12-15-2002, 11:28 AM
Member
 
needsleepido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Huntsville AL
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ER was in high definition for about 50 minutes thursday night. The last 10 minutes was a blank screen with only the NBC in the lower right corner. It did look nice though. Also, it looks like WAFF has been playing around with the upconverted signal. For most of the night the upconverted signal had bright colors like WHNT. Friends looked a lot better and the commercials were a lot better too.
needsleepido is offline  
post #19 of 229 Old 12-16-2002, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
MarkW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ardmore, AL
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad to hear ER finally made it into HD although I didn't get to see it. FYI I was checking out titantv.com and saw they are listing WAAY as being on the air in January 2003. I got excited fired and email off to WAAY to see if there was any chance of seeing the Superbowl this year and the answer was no. Evidently there target date is June of 03.

Mark...
MarkW is offline  
post #20 of 229 Old 12-18-2002, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Covington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: whnt tv
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Due to an issue CBS is having with HDTV sat receivers for affiliates we are in full manual mode. You may not see the local commercial breaks and there may be times during the local break that CBS may not fill and you would see black. You may not see local programming at times. One of our tallys for HDTV comes from the HDTV sat receiver. That receiver is reporting and error that is not there. CBS changed the symbol rate in there stream and most of the affiliates receivers are reporting signal loss that is not there. I am hopefull they will get it resolved but until that happens we will pass the hdtv receiver straight to air without local commercials or programming.
Brian Covington is offline  
post #21 of 229 Old 12-19-2002, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks for the heads up!

Did anyone notice if Law&Order was in HD last nite? It seemed quite sharp but was in 4:3 -- of course THAT alone doesn't EXCLUDE it being Hi-Def.
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #22 of 229 Old 12-19-2002, 07:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wolfie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 2,094
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally posted by Andrew Hornfeck
Thanks for the heads up!

Did anyone notice if Law&Order was in HD last nite? It seemed quite sharp but was in 4:3 -- of course THAT alone doesn't EXCLUDE it being Hi-Def.
Everybody listen up! I'm only going to say this once. IF THE SCREEN IS 4:3, IT IS NOT HD.

Wolfie
Wolfie is offline  
post #23 of 229 Old 12-19-2002, 05:17 PM
Newbie
 
AUPigskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just received my Zenith 520..

Brian,
Is survivor in widescreen? can't tell if my wega or 520 are configured wrong or if survivor is not in widescreen..Currently it looks the screen looks like letterboxing all the way around the screen....
AUPigskin is offline  
post #24 of 229 Old 12-19-2002, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Montezuma58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Survivor is not shown HDTV.
This is the easiest way to find out.
WHNT sends non HD shows centered in a 16x9 frame. If you have a 4x3 set with your receivers output set to 1080i you'll get bars all of the way around. If that's the case, you might be able to change your receivers output settings to get a full screen picture.

Brad
Montezuma58 is offline  
post #25 of 229 Old 12-19-2002, 06:54 PM
Newbie
 
AUPigskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the best way to do this by outputting a 480p from the 1080i then changing the ratio?

Also, is there a difference in picture quality if I turn a 480i into a 480p?

One more, my wega does not support 720p. When abc (720p signal) comes on line and I convert it to 1080i, will there be a noticeable viewing effect?
AUPigskin is offline  
post #26 of 229 Old 12-21-2002, 12:01 AM
Member
 
wolfewl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if ABC will start broadcasting in HD in our area (Huntsville, AL) on Jan. 1, 2003?

I read where that is the scheduled "Live" date, but, I can't find any more info!?!?!

Bill
wolfewl is offline  
post #27 of 229 Old 12-22-2002, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
MarkW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ardmore, AL
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No go on ABC. Got an email back from them and they are looking at June. No Superbowl.

Mark...
MarkW is offline  
post #28 of 229 Old 12-22-2002, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Montezuma58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by AUPigskin
Is the best way to do this by outputting a 480p from the 1080i then changing the ratio?
That's the way to do it if your receiver will let you scale the 1080i you receive from CBS. Mine won't

Quote:

Also, is there a difference in picture quality if I turn a 480i into a 480p?
Maybe, maybe not. If the line doubler you are using is decent it should look just as good. It can also depend on the quality of the 480i signal you are inputing. I can't really tell the difference on my Wega on WZDX when I have the receiver output 480i or 480p. WZDX's digital signal looks slightly better than the feed from my analog cable but not significantly.

Quote:

One more, my wega does not support 720p. When abc (720p signal) comes on line and I convert it to 1080i, will there be a noticeable viewing effect?
Depends on how well your receiver does the conversion. My guess is that it will look pretty damn good.

Brad
Montezuma58 is offline  
post #29 of 229 Old 12-22-2002, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
AUPigskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the answers Brad...

I have a Wega also but have had a hard time adjusting the "black/dark" colors. Have you had this problem? Any recommendations for calibrating the colors?

Thanks,
AUPigskin is offline  
post #30 of 229 Old 12-26-2002, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Brian Covington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: whnt tv
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey andrew, my hidtv card now records analog. only problem for me is It will only play back on my desktop and not out the hdtv port. That would not be a problem for you since your system supports vga input. I would need to run it thru a vga to rgb transcoder.
Brian Covington is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off