Rockford, IL - HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 1188 Old 09-15-2006, 03:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgags6 View Post

So I went up and decided to try to get the madison's again. Well this time it worked better than last time. I acually got Fox ABC PBS and CW, i also got NBC but it kept going in and out, which sucks. I wonder why i didnt get CBS. Since I didnt want to loose NBC and CBS i put it back. I guess i will try and get a pre amp.

NBC is only at 56 kw, and because of their channel choice, they can't go any higher. CBS might be because of interference with channel 50 in Chicago.
I betcha if you get that preamp, you're going to be amazed at what you get!

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 1188 Old 09-15-2006, 03:35 PM
Member
 
jgags6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay I just figure out that I have a Winegard 7084 antenna. Now what would be the pre-amp you guys would recomend to go with that.
jgags6 is offline  
post #363 of 1188 Old 09-15-2006, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgags6 View Post

Okay I just figure out that I have a Winegard 7084 antenna. Now what would be the pre-amp you guys would recomend to go with that.

Nice antenna. No change in thinking; this Winegard preamp will serve you well.

http://www.warrenelectronics.com/antennas/AP8700.htm

In fact, here is a picture of your antenna with a model similar to the AP8700
that this person mounted on the mast.

http://www.tvantenna.com/products/tv...rs/preamp.html

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #364 of 1188 Old 09-15-2006, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you want the weather map its on 15.2 from Madison.
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #365 of 1188 Old 09-15-2006, 08:51 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WQAD out of Moline runs a Doppler feed on 8.3 as well.
Jason Nipp is offline  
post #366 of 1188 Old 09-15-2006, 09:11 PM
Member
 
jgags6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you think there is any chance of getting Chicago's locals from Rockton?
jgags6 is offline  
post #367 of 1188 Old 09-16-2006, 06:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in Caledonia. Your a bit further out....not sure.
Jason Nipp is offline  
post #368 of 1188 Old 09-16-2006, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Jeff and Jason,

Wish I could get those. But at 56 kw, 15.2 is too weak to pick up from DeKalb (19 from Chicago, WGN-DT also stomps on it here, even with a CM 4228 antenna),
and 8.3 is blocked by a large ridge to my west which runs north-south through far eastern Ogle and Lee counties. How about it 39-2?

Jgags,

If you want a better shot, you could try the Winegard AP-8275 amp. That really
cranks up the gain, also available from Warren. But, you then risk overloading on the Rockford stations, causing you to not get them anymore.

Once you are over the 60 mile Chicago broadcast reception line-of-sight horizon, all bets are off. If you are on a hill or high area, you have a shot. Way earlier in this thread, people have talked about how they could solidly lock WTTW-DT in Rockford from State street near Rockford College, but that was with the largest Winegard antenna, twice the size of yours...and outside, with a preamplifier.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #369 of 1188 Old 09-16-2006, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgags6 View Post

Do you think there is any chance of getting Chicago's locals from Rockton?

Doubtful. Rockton is pretty low. When I worked at WTVO we could only do live shots from several points in town. You could try but don't be dissapointed if it doesnt work. You'd be better trying madison.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #370 of 1188 Old 09-16-2006, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

Jeff and Jason,

Wish I could get those. But at 56 kw, 15.2 is too weak to pick up from DeKalb (19 from Chicago, WGN-DT also stomps on it here, even with a CM 4228 antenna),
and 8.3 is blocked by a large ridge to my west which runs north-south through far eastern Ogle and Lee counties. How about it 39-2?

Jgags,

If you want a better shot, you could try the Winegard AP-8275 amp. That really
cranks up the gain, also available from Warren. But, you then risk overloading on the Rockford stations, causing you to not get them anymore.

Once you are over the 60 mile Chicago broadcast reception line-of-sight horizon, all bets are off. If you are on a hill or high area, you have a shot. Way earlier in this thread, people have talked about how they could solidly lock WTTW-DT in Rockford from State street near Rockford College, but that was with the largest Winegard antenna, twice the size of yours...and outside, with a preamplifier.

Insight Com. locks WTTW from Loves park but thats with a 200'+ tower and the picture ain't all that great.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #371 of 1188 Old 09-17-2006, 07:12 AM
Member
 
jgags6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright, looks like i will just go for Madison. Is there any place to get the pre-amp here in Rockford. I hate waiting for things when I order them online.
jgags6 is offline  
post #372 of 1188 Old 09-17-2006, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bock or Jaytronics
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #373 of 1188 Old 09-17-2006, 01:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm doing pretty good this weekend.

I turned my antenna's azimuth about 20 degrees further north.

I picked up a few more stations, although my receiver will not translate the guide info. Most likely cause I don't get those channels through satellite, so it doesn't have the EPG info to populate the fields.

The one thing I don't understand is, even though the sat receiver provided the guide data, it still uses PSIP to indentify the station. The problem I don't understand is on channel 35.1, the channel does not indent, but the rest of the 35 subs do. Weird.

Here some pics, sorry about the CRT in these pics.
LL
LL
LL
Jason Nipp is offline  
post #374 of 1188 Old 09-17-2006, 01:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two more.
LL
LL
Jason Nipp is offline  
post #375 of 1188 Old 09-17-2006, 02:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Whitford View Post

Bock or Jaytronics

Jaytronics is a great store. Used to do tons of business with them.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #376 of 1188 Old 09-20-2006, 10:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump. close to falling off.
Jason Nipp is offline  
post #377 of 1188 Old 09-20-2006, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
a
a
a
a
h
h
h
!

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #378 of 1188 Old 09-22-2006, 01:54 PM
Member
 
jgags6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i got the pre amp, Installed it, but i still cannot get CBS. I get all of the others. This is really disapointing, i thought for sure that this would work. Any pointers?
jgags6 is offline  
post #379 of 1188 Old 09-22-2006, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnnykretentiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockton IL.
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there I reason I am not getting FOX? I get other channels (ABC, CBS, NBC, CW?) at 90+%. I actually get a 75-80% signal from Fox but no pic. Probably obvious but could some one please help me out.

BTW - just using a litte RCA indoor antenna.
johnnykretentiv is offline  
post #380 of 1188 Old 09-22-2006, 03:19 PM
Member
 
jgags6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WQRF isnt up to full power, im also in rockton and i have an antenna on my roof and i never get fox. I was told today that WQRF is going to broadcast HD starting sunday, but that doesnt nessararaly mean that they will push it up to full power
jgags6 is offline  
post #381 of 1188 Old 09-22-2006, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3.1 is the weekest Madison channel I get. I have to pretty much point my antennas due north to get it. I dont really need it because 23.1 has everything I want. Until/if the Packers and the Bears play at the same time on CBS which I dont think happens.
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #382 of 1188 Old 09-22-2006, 07:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnnykretentiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockton IL.
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Got 3.1 for a couple days. Nothing lately though.

Thanks jgags6 I 'll wait patiently
johnnykretentiv is offline  
post #383 of 1188 Old 09-22-2006, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgags6 View Post

So i got the pre amp, Installed it, but i still cannot get CBS. I get all of the others. This is really disapointing, i thought for sure that this would work. Any pointers?

Punch in channel 41-1. See if you can get it directly. Do you have a signal strength meter, and if so, what does it say? How does analog 23 come in, any way you can check?

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #384 of 1188 Old 09-23-2006, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgags6 View Post

WQRF isnt up to full power, im also in rockton and i have an antenna on my roof and i never get fox. I was told today that WQRF is going to broadcast HD starting sunday, but that doesnt nessararaly mean that they will push it up to full power

They're not ready for full power yet. That involves some construction work still yet to come.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #385 of 1188 Old 09-23-2006, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnykretentiv View Post

Is there I reason I am not getting FOX? I get other channels (ABC, CBS, NBC, CW?) at 90+%. I actually get a 75-80% signal from Fox but no pic. Probably obvious but could some one please help me out.

BTW - just using a litte RCA indoor antenna.

WQRF-DT is strong to the south and east. Where are you located?

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #386 of 1188 Old 09-23-2006, 04:35 PM
Member
 
jgags6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so what are the odds that WQRF will be broadcasting the game in HD tomorrow?
jgags6 is offline  
post #387 of 1188 Old 09-23-2006, 04:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Not sure where they're transmitting from, but I believe that their signal emanates from the lowest point of all the digital channels.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #388 of 1188 Old 09-23-2006, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnnykretentiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockton IL.
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvs10trk View Post

WQRF-DT is strong to the south and east. Where are you located?

Rockton
johnnykretentiv is offline  
post #389 of 1188 Old 09-24-2006, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

Not sure where they're transmitting from, but I believe that their signal emanates from the lowest point of all the digital channels.

WTVO's tower most of the way up.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #390 of 1188 Old 09-24-2006, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnykretentiv View Post

Rockton

You should be able to receive them. Hopefully you're not right up by the river. Otherwise you should see them. Heck I could get a live shot from Old Settler's day from the bank!!

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off