Rockford, IL - HDTV - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 09:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
johnnykretentiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockton IL.
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, here's the deal. I can pick up Madison 3.1 with a pretty low signal. But when I tune to Fox (Rockford 39-1) I get almost 3x the signal strength but no picture or sound. Am I doing something wrong??
johnnykretentiv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 12:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgags6 View Post

on wqrf, when a hd show is on, have any of u guys noticed where the fox logo is, it is like half on the screen in the lower right hand side, i was just wondering if this is really where its suppose to be or if the just messed up on that. Thanks

If it's half-off, I wouldn't complain.

You should see the CW logo on the Chicago affiliate. Makes you want to scream.

(Haven't noticed if yours is the same, but my guess is that it very likely is.)
Rammitinski is offline  
post #453 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
tooskinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern, IL.
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No matter where i place my indoor antenna i cannot seem to get fox hd. I asked before and was told it was not 39-1 but all the other -1 channels are not fox. Any help on how to pick this up. I pick up all the other locals.
tooskinny is offline  
post #454 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well 39.1 maybe a little too far away for an indoor antenna. 47.1 probably is for that matter too
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #455 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 05:00 PM
Senior Member
 
tooskinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern, IL.
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i did get 47-1 but i scanned and now it's gone. Is that fox also?
tooskinny is offline  
post #456 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 05:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yes
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #457 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
johnnykretentiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rockton IL.
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooskinny View Post

i did get 47-1 but i scanned and now it's gone. Is that fox also?

I see you're in S. Beloit so I am assuming you are about 1 mile or so from my place. I can't get fox either. I can get Madison 3.1 at 48 miles away but I can't get Fox from Rockford at 13.9 miles. Something is goofy here?

WIFR-DT 23.1 CBS ROCKFORD 212° 13.3 41 get 95% sig
WTVO-DT 17.1 ABC ROCKFORD 211° 13.9 16 get 95% sig
WQRF-DT 39.1 FOX ROCKFORD 211° 13.9 42 get 75% sig but no pic
WREX-DT 13.1 NBC ROCKFORD 224° 15.3 54 get 95%
WMSN-DT 47.1 FOX MADISON WI 330° 48.2 11 nope
WISC-DT 3.1 CBS MADISON WI 330° 48.2 50 50% or so looks fine
WKOW-DT 27.1 ABC MADISON WI 330° 48.2 26 nope
johnnykretentiv is offline  
post #458 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

If it's half-off, I wouldn't complain.

You should see the CW logo on the Chicago affiliate. Makes you want to scream.

(Haven't noticed if yours is the same, but my guess is that it very likely is.)

Like the faces. Makes the whole post.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #459 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Whitford View Post

Well 39.1 maybe a little too far away for an indoor antenna. 47.1 probably is for that matter too

I agree. You need something outside. WQRF-DT for the moment is low power digital. If you can wait a bit they'll have a slammin signal soon.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #460 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnykretentiv View Post

I see you're in S. Beloit so I am assuming you are about 1 mile or so from my place. I can't get fox either. I can get Madison 3.1 at 48 miles away but I can't get Fox from Rockford at 13.9 miles. Something is goofy here?

WIFR-DT 23.1 CBS ROCKFORD 212° 13.3 41 get 95% sig
WTVO-DT 17.1 ABC ROCKFORD 211° 13.9 16 get 95% sig
WQRF-DT 39.1 FOX ROCKFORD 211° 13.9 42 get 75% sig but no pic
WREX-DT 13.1 NBC ROCKFORD 224° 15.3 54 get 95%
WMSN-DT 47.1 FOX MADISON WI 330° 48.2 11 nope
WISC-DT 3.1 CBS MADISON WI 330° 48.2 50 50% or so looks fine
WKOW-DT 27.1 ABC MADISON WI 330° 48.2 26 nope

Rockton is a tough town, especially if you're close to downtown. South Beloit shouldn't have problems, unless you've got multipath problems.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #461 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 10:55 PM
Newbie
 
jazzjukebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aclerok View Post

Any ideas as to why WREX is frozen on a screen shot of nascar but still has the current sound?

I may be a newly registered user on AVS Forum, but I have been a lurker and viewer of HD since 2004. I recently moved to Rockford, IL from the San Francisco Bay Area. I also purchased a new TiVo Series 3 HD unit the day it was released. I've had it for a couple weeks now. It's awesome!

I must say that on one hand I am impressed that the Rockford market has all of the major networks in HD OTA (with the newest additions being Fox WQRF).

However, I am extremely dissapointed in the quality control of most, in not all, of the local affiliates here in Rockford.

I just got around to watching Thursday night TV on my TiVo (time-shifting for the uninitiated) and I was dissapointed to see that the all of My Name Is Earl and half of The Office was stuck on a still frame of a Nascar broadcast.

I've seen numerous problems from all four major network affiliates in Rockford and I am not pleased. I know some of these problems are being dealt with (e.g. emergency weather broadcast dropping into SD) But there are still too many issues that are unacceptable.

WQRF... please do not show SD broadcasts at 720p stretched. Let us decide how to handle these broadcast with our own equipment. Show the broadcast in its native format, please. (Congrats on going HD, BTW. The MLB games look fabulous!)

WREX... do you know that Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune are now available in HD. Why aren't you showing them in HD?!?!

I've seen too many late shows in HD where the local broadcast is SD at the beginnings and ends (the endings are my favorite, whatever guest music group performs).

Basically, if it's in HD then SHOW IT IN HD, FOR PETE'S SAKE!!! (and not a still frame from a previous Nascar broadcast).

Just get it right.. all the time! It's your job! (please don't make me report you to the fcc)

(End of late night, three martini flame)

--Jazzjukebox
jazzjukebox is offline  
post #462 of 1189 Old 10-07-2006, 11:28 PM
Newbie
 
jazzjukebox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For me, it seems like WQRF is coming in a bit steadier/stronger since going HD. Maybe a coincidence, I don't know, but I haven't had many reception issues since the switch. My signal strength is ranges from 58 to 70. That's about the threshold for acceptability. Not as strong as the other three networks (all over 90) but strong enough to watch without breakups, for the most part.

The Series 3 TiVo is probably partly due some credit. I've heard lots of other positive reports about its ATSC tuners in the Tivo Community Forum on AVS. I'm not using any outdoor antennae. I've got two indoor antennae: Zenith Silver Sensor and an older Radio Shack Amplified VHF-UHF Indoor HDTV antenna model 15-1880 running through a combiner. Works pretty well.

-Jazzjukebox
jazzjukebox is offline  
post #463 of 1189 Old 10-08-2006, 12:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzjukebox View Post


I just got around to watching Thursday night TV on my TiVo (time-shifting for the uninitiated) and I was dissapointed to see that the all of My Name Is Earl and half of The Office was stuck on a still frame of a Nascar broadcast.

I've seen numerous problems from all four major network affiliates in Rockford and I am not pleased. I know some of these problems are being dealt with (e.g. emergency weather broadcast dropping into SD) But there are still too many issues that are unacceptable.

WQRF... please do not show SD broadcasts at 720p stretched. Let us decide how to handle these broadcast with our own equipment. Show the broadcast in its native format, please. (Congrats on going HD, BTW. The MLB games look fabulous!)

WREX... do you know that Jeopardy and Wheel of Fortune are now available in HD. Why aren't you showing them in HD?!?!

I've seen too many late shows in HD where the local broadcast is SD at the beginnings and ends (the endings are my favorite, whatever guest music group performs).

Basically, if it's in HD then SHOW IT IN HD, FOR PETE'S SAKE!!! (and not a still frame from a previous Nascar broadcast).

Just get it right.. all the time! It's your job! (please don't make me report you to the fcc)

(End of late night, three martini flame)

--Jazzjukebox

OK, to answer your questions...

WREX had major equipment failure. Unfortunately, in small TV markets, you'll learn fast that stations not only go off the air, but digitals can go off for a while.
Expensive backups like San Fran and other large markets have aren't available
here. Sad, but true. They do their best and got back on the air as quick as they could, I more than bet.

720p...read above. 4:3 is coming. They are still working on the FOX splicer. The assistant chief engineer there is working on it.

Why is WREX not showing Wheel and Jeopardy! in HD? Because the equipment to do so is very expensive, and I'm guessing, like most small markets, they don't have the bucks to buy it yet (I heard that 40 or less than 40 markets have players that integrate with the rest of the equipment to be able to do this. And as you might imagine, it's the 40 largest markets).

Why are the local broadcasts ending in HD? Simple. When they throw their station promos up, they have to be in SD, and their Master Control Operator is handling two stations at once. In large markets, NBC controls the Master Control from a computer in New York or elsewhere. In Chicago, WMAQ is actually controlled via fiber from NYC, and they have expensive automated equipment to do it at multiple stations simultaneously.

Believe me, they want to do HD, but given limited resources, it isn't going to be perfect. If you are a long-time lurker, you then know that WIFR was off for almost a week in August, IIRC...WTVO was off for a few days when a tube blew in their tranny. It happens. Call the FCC all you want, but it won't do you any good. Unless they are intentionally trying to circumvent the law, which they are not, direct your call towards the stations themselves. That will get your questions more accurately or completely, and if you call WREX and ask them when they will getWheel and Jeopardy! in HD, the more calls they get, the harder they'll push the owners to get that equipment.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #464 of 1189 Old 10-08-2006, 08:41 AM
Senior Member
 
tooskinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern, IL.
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnykretentiv View Post

I see you're in S. Beloit so I am assuming you are about 1 mile or so from my place. I can't get fox either. I can get Madison 3.1 at 48 miles away but I can't get Fox from Rockford at 13.9 miles. Something is goofy here?

WIFR-DT 23.1 CBS ROCKFORD 212° 13.3 41 get 95% sig
WTVO-DT 17.1 ABC ROCKFORD 211° 13.9 16 get 95% sig
WQRF-DT 39.1 FOX ROCKFORD 211° 13.9 42 get 75% sig but no pic
WREX-DT 13.1 NBC ROCKFORD 224° 15.3 54 get 95%
WMSN-DT 47.1 FOX MADISON WI 330° 48.2 11 nope
WISC-DT 3.1 CBS MADISON WI 330° 48.2 50 50% or so looks fine
WKOW-DT 27.1 ABC MADISON WI 330° 48.2 26 nope

Well I ordered a silver sensor to see if that might help with some of the signal. I even took the antenna and put it up by the ceiling and on the front porch but still no fox. Guess I will wait and see if they boost the signal.
tooskinny is offline  
post #465 of 1189 Old 10-08-2006, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cinemascope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow, I dragged out the 8-bay UHF yesterday and set it up to pull in 23.1 to watch the Bears game, and lo and behold... 39.1 is in beautiful HD glory!!

I see from some of the above posts that I am a little bit late to this party... When did 39.1 add the HD content??

Certified: Vantage InFusion, AMX A.C.E.
Lutron HomeWorks, Lutron RadioRa2 (Level 2)
cinemascope is offline  
post #466 of 1189 Old 10-08-2006, 11:20 AM
Member
 
aclerok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's with the different games between the analog and digital channel on WQRF?? The started off showing the Packers in HD and then I leave the room and come back in and it's the Redskins?
aclerok is offline  
post #467 of 1189 Old 10-08-2006, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by aclerok View Post

What's with the different games between the analog and digital channel on WQRF?? The started off showing the Packers in HD and then I leave the room and come back in and it's the Redskins?

All the FOX affiliates in Illinois either lost it to that game...or like Fox Chicago, are showing neither. WQRF must have been on that feed but they are now back on the correct one. BTW, flip between analog and digital. Notice how much more colorful the digital signal is? Wow...

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #468 of 1189 Old 10-08-2006, 01:56 PM
Member
 
aclerok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

BTW, flip between analog and digital. Notice how much more colorful the digital signal is? Wow...

Yeah I noticed that. Pretty insane amount of difference.
aclerok is offline  
post #469 of 1189 Old 10-08-2006, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
tksbatcave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, to everyone
Just recieved an e-mail from Marshall Porter, VP at WQRF-Fox 39.He say's 39.1 which has been broadcasting an SD signal for some time now will have a low power HD signal early Oct.-06. With full power sometime in 4th quarter. I live within 5 miles and am watching the Dallas/Phily game right now in 720P with full 5.1....YES...FINALLY!!! With an 82% signal. Tune to 39.1(42-3, for older OTA recievers) and try it....!!!
tksbatcave is offline  
post #470 of 1189 Old 10-08-2006, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinemascope View Post

Wow, I dragged out the 8-bay UHF yesterday and set it up to pull in 23.1 to watch the Bears game, and lo and behold... 39.1 is in beautiful HD glory!!

I see from some of the above posts that I am a little bit late to this party... When did 39.1 add the HD content??

8-bay, huh. Probably picking up the satellite signals from space.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #471 of 1189 Old 10-08-2006, 08:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinemascope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It was given to me by a colleague of Jeff Whitford.

I was planning to put up a tower to pull Madison's Fox HD feed...

I put off that plan because I scored decent tickets to 5 out of the 8 Bears home games. HD is great, but not as good as being there!!

Anyway, now that 39.1 has HD content, I am glad that I didn't go nuts and erect a tower!!
This could mean that I have the budget for the upcoming Toshiba HD-XA2 and/or the Panasonic Blu-Ray player...

Certified: Vantage InFusion, AMX A.C.E.
Lutron HomeWorks, Lutron RadioRa2 (Level 2)
cinemascope is offline  
post #472 of 1189 Old 10-09-2006, 01:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by cinemascope View Post

It was given to me by a colleague of Jeff Whitford.

I was planning to put up a tower to pull Madison's Fox HD feed...

I put off that plan because I scored decent tickets to 5 out of the 8 Bears home games. HD is great, but not as good as being there!!

Anyway, now that 39.1 has HD content, I am glad that I didn't go nuts and erect a tower!!
This could mean that I have the budget for the upcoming Toshiba HD-XA2 and/or the Panasonic Blu-Ray player...

I'd just wait until they record also, and until they handle both formats or one wins out.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #473 of 1189 Old 10-09-2006, 06:55 AM
Member
 
jgags6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ive got the Hd-a1, and I would definately recomend it. The picture is amazing, and I can only imagine that the HD-XA2 will be even better because it will support 1080p !!
jgags6 is offline  
post #474 of 1189 Old 10-09-2006, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
TVChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This time of year is big for Sun outages. The feed was bad and Fox switched us on their end. These kind of things happen when airing live games from network.

I am glad to see more positive than negative now for Fox HD. Thanks for your patients.
TVChief is offline  
post #475 of 1189 Old 10-09-2006, 07:47 AM
Newbie
 
TVChief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

OK, to answer your questions...

WREX had major equipment failure. Unfortunately, in small TV markets, you'll learn fast that stations not only go off the air, but digitals can go off for a while.
Expensive backups like San Fran and other large markets have aren't available
here. Sad, but true. They do their best and got back on the air as quick as they could, I more than bet.

720p...read above. 4:3 is coming. They are still working on the FOX splicer. The assistant chief engineer there is working on it.

Why is WREX not showing Wheel and Jeopardy! in HD? Because the equipment to do so is very expensive, and I'm guessing, like most small markets, they don't have the bucks to buy it yet (I heard that 40 or less than 40 markets have players that integrate with the rest of the equipment to be able to do this. And as you might imagine, it's the 40 largest markets).

Why are the local broadcasts ending in HD? Simple. When they throw their station promos up, they have to be in SD, and their Master Control Operator is handling two stations at once. In large markets, NBC controls the Master Control from a computer in New York or elsewhere. In Chicago, WMAQ is actually controlled via fiber from NYC, and they have expensive automated equipment to do it at multiple stations simultaneously.

Believe me, they want to do HD, but given limited resources, it isn't going to be perfect. If you are a long-time lurker, you then know that WIFR was off for almost a week in August, IIRC...WTVO was off for a few days when a tube blew in their tranny. It happens. Call the FCC all you want, but it won't do you any good. Unless they are intentionally trying to circumvent the law, which they are not, direct your call towards the stations themselves. That will get your questions more accurately or completely, and if you call WREX and ask them when they will getWheel and Jeopardy! in HD, the more calls they get, the harder they'll push the owners to get that equipment.


Its nice to see someone who understands how things work. You are correct in the cost part of HD. Currently our stations only retransmit HD signals from the networks. Most stations in this size market do not broadcast anything local HD. A majority of the talk shows and game shows you see are recorded on tape and played back at time of air. As far as I know, no station in our local market has HD cameras, HD recording decks, and HD players.
On a side note, I will gladly accept your personal check to purchase all this equipment and all the other things I really really need.
TVChief is offline  
post #476 of 1189 Old 10-09-2006, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVChief View Post

This time of year is big for Sun outages. The feed was bad and Fox switched us on their end. These kind of things happen when airing live games from network.

I am glad to see more positive than negative now for Fox HD. Thanks for your patients.

Patients??? Are you a doctor now??

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #477 of 1189 Old 10-09-2006, 07:19 PM
Member
 
Ast Chf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvs10trk View Post

Patients??? Are you a doctor now??


No, but he plays one on TV
Ast Chf is offline  
post #478 of 1189 Old 10-09-2006, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinemascope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rammitinski View Post

I'd just wait until they record also, and until they handle both formats or one wins out.

I don't really care about recording anyway...
A) I usually buy media
B) HD-DVD and BD have DRM built into the spec, so we should be able to rip them into Vista.
C) For home video, I have a 720P JVC HD camcorder, and I dump it straight to the hard drive... I would guess that a PC burner drive will be a lot cheaper than a component burner, and it will be faster to reach market.

As for the format war, I am not as jumpy over this as a lot of people in the software forums here... I have been in the biz for 15 years and an enthusiast since the mid-80s. I lived through LP vs. cassette, CD vs. LP, Mini-Disc vs, DCC, DVI disc vs. LaserDisc, "open" DVD vs. DiVx DVD, and on, and on...

I don't have a problem buying into the new formats, just not the Gen1 players.
When a really good combo unit comes out in a few years, I will buy that and pass these along to a relative or something.

Re-buying a player never bothers me, not as much as re-buying my entire collection when the greedy studios release "special edition" DVDs, and then offer the same title again in 6 mos. with some other "must-have" bonus content or SuperBit or something. I am not naive enough to believe that the media I buy in HD-DVD or BD will be the last format I will own...

Certified: Vantage InFusion, AMX A.C.E.
Lutron HomeWorks, Lutron RadioRa2 (Level 2)
cinemascope is offline  
post #479 of 1189 Old 10-09-2006, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cinemascope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgags6 View Post

Ive got the Hd-a1, and I would definately recomend it. The picture is amazing, and I can only imagine that the HD-XA2 will be even better because it will support 1080p !!

My set is 1080P (Sony Grand Wega SXRD), but the HDMI only accepts up to 1080i.
I am waiting for the Gen2 because it appears to have a better processor and operate more quickly.

The Gen1 players are a little too slow for my taste.

Certified: Vantage InFusion, AMX A.C.E.
Lutron HomeWorks, Lutron RadioRa2 (Level 2)
cinemascope is offline  
post #480 of 1189 Old 10-09-2006, 07:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ast Chf View Post

No, but he plays one on TV

That would explain things.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off