Rockford, IL - HDTV - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 1189 Old 10-10-2005, 07:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WQRF-DT FOX TVCT Ch. 39-01 just went hot. It is broadcasting on ATSC Frequency 42. No HD content yet from what I can see. If I am not mistaken the digital tower is on or near Sandy Hollow Rd. But I am not certain on that.

UPN changing it's TVCT assignment screwed with everyone. My receiver caught this right away and remapped. I have no idea why they changed it.

I have seen WB14 news a few times on WREX subch. 13-02, I am wondering why WREX just doesn't switch that feed 24/7. They could put up a third subchannel for the Live Doppler feed.

Madison comes in OK for me....In Caledonia Area. I do get some Davenport HD channels from time to time. I am considering putting up a rotor, when I spun my antenna around during some rooftop equipment moves I could nail WFLD and WBBM out of Chicago pretty good.
Jason Nipp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 1189 Old 10-12-2005, 03:25 PM
Newbie
 
brujoh2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone in or near Rockford receiving a useable WTTW-DT (PBS) signal from Chicago using a roof top UHF antenna. For the last year I have been enjoying PBS-Hi Def from Wisconsin Public Television broadcasting from Madison Wisconsin. The signal is always above 95% to my Fusion HDTV card (in my computer) using a Radio Shack UHF antenna in the attic. At the end of Sept. WPT dropped the HD service to save money so my only options now are to try receiving OTA DT from WTTW or wait for our local cable company (Insight) to start supplying this signal. I have no reason to believe that Insight will be doing this anytime soon. According to Google Earth the elevation at my house is 817 ft with Rockford's elevation varying from 699 to 889 ft. I estimate a roof top antenna would be approximately 30 ft above ground.
brujoh2 is offline  
post #213 of 1189 Old 10-12-2005, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
brujoh2, I can not get WTTW with a a big CM roof top ant & preamp. Im right across the street form Rock Valley college.

Jason what Davenport stations are you getting?
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #214 of 1189 Old 10-12-2005, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Nipp View Post

WQRF-DT FOX TVCT Ch. 39-01 just went hot. It is broadcasting on ATSC Frequency 42. No HD content yet from what I can see. If I am not mistaken the digital tower is on or near Sandy Hollow Rd. But I am not certain on that.

UPN changing it's TVCT assignment screwed with everyone. My receiver caught this right away and remapped. I have no idea why they changed it.

I have seen WB14 news a few times on WREX subch. 13-02, I am wondering why WREX just doesn't switch that feed 24/7. They could put up a third subchannel for the Live Doppler feed.

Madison comes in OK for me....In Caledonia Area. I do get some Davenport HD channels from time to time. I am considering putting up a rotor, when I spun my antenna around during some rooftop equipment moves I could nail WFLD and WBBM out of Chicago pretty good.

Actually, WQRF-DT has been hot for awhile...see the posts above. You are correct
about the xtmr location...Sandy Hollow Road just east of channel 23's tower by under a mile, south side of the road. HD and full power is scheduled in mid-2006.

UPN was changed because being at 16.1, it violated FCC rules. You can't have
2 ".1" subchannels, even if it remaps to a different starting number.

WB14 is a long term goal. Right now, they don't think it is worth it.

I'd like to know how you got WBBM-DT out there, must have been tropo; many folks 30 miles way from the xtmr can't get it at all!

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #215 of 1189 Old 10-12-2005, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkeeley127 View Post

Thanks to both of you. I'm finally all set up!!!!!

I pointed my dish directly north, and I'm picking up all of the Madison stations. Plus a couple of extras.

Wish I would have found this forum earlier.

The stations that I'm getting now include:

(3.1,3.2,15.1,21.1,21.2,27.1,47.1,57.1)

Thanks alot.

You're welcome, but are you getting 39-1 now?

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #216 of 1189 Old 10-18-2005, 10:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Whitford View Post

Jason what Davenport stations are you getting?

I can hit WQAD-DT (ABC) frequently, I can also grab WQIN-DT (PBS) ocassionally.
I have hit KWQC-DT (NBC) once only.
Jason Nipp is offline  
post #217 of 1189 Old 10-18-2005, 10:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by brujoh2 View Post

Is anyone in or near Rockford receiving a useable WTTW-DT (PBS) signal from Chicago using a roof top UHF antenna.

Yes I have been able to lock it and it's subchannel when I swung my antenna around, overcast day, perhaps Tropo was a contributor. I also can lock a couple other channels from Chicago on good days. I can definitely lock them if I turn my antenna. I know several people in my area (Caledonia area) locking select Chicago and Milwaukee stations. All of them use the same antenna I do, it is the most poplar setup Stateline pushes, I make an exception of one of these guys who uses a Terk. All have rotors, yes even the Terk, which makes it pretty interesting in appearance. I can take a pic if your having trouble picturing it.

I am using Winegard equipment.
Jason Nipp is offline  
post #218 of 1189 Old 11-06-2005, 11:57 AM
Newbie
 
TomWescott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can get the other three local stations in digital. Cannot even see the WQRF station as an offering.

Toshiba HDTV DirecTV receiver with an indoor antenna hooked up to it.
It is located in my basement.

Any suggestions on what to do would be appreciated. If a different antenna or location to put it, please let me know.

I am not looking to pick up the locals from other cities, just my own.
TomWescott is offline  
post #219 of 1189 Old 11-06-2005, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Moving the antenna up stairs may help.
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #220 of 1189 Old 11-15-2005, 09:40 PM
Member
 
ssw1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Similar problem with WQRF 39. I have a squareshooter antenna connected to a Zenith HD Directv receiver. I am able to pick up 13-1, 17-1 and 23-1, but cannot get 39-1 at all.

WQRF coordinates are right in the middle of all the rest, but still can't get anything.

Hope I did this right, new to this forum.
ssw1962 is offline  
post #221 of 1189 Old 11-15-2005, 10:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
they are transmitting a very low power signal right now
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #222 of 1189 Old 11-16-2005, 05:03 AM
Member
 
ssw1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, would an antenna amplifier solve this problem?
ssw1962 is offline  
post #223 of 1189 Old 11-16-2005, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought squareshooters came with an amp but it couldnt hurt if it doesnt come with one.
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #224 of 1189 Old 11-16-2005, 09:48 PM
Member
 
ssw1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This model didn't come with the amp. I imagine I will need the pre amp and the amp?
ssw1962 is offline  
post #225 of 1189 Old 11-16-2005, 10:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Probably. When was the last time you rescaned the channels on your Zenith? If you havent done one recently that maybe the reason your not getting it.
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #226 of 1189 Old 11-18-2005, 05:10 AM
Member
 
ssw1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a rescan on both HD units a Zenith and Mitsubishi it did not recognize the channel. I tried putting it in manually, same thing, nothing. Last night I tried unsplitting the signal and ran to one unit, thinking I may be degrading the signal with the splitter, still nothing.
ssw1962 is offline  
post #227 of 1189 Old 11-18-2005, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can try the amp/preamp then. You dont get 47.1 from Madison do you?
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #228 of 1189 Old 11-18-2005, 11:28 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
(The Square Shooter 2000 comes amped , but not the 1000 model.)
Rammitinski is offline  
post #229 of 1189 Old 11-18-2005, 04:07 PM
Member
 
ssw1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, I don't get 47.1. Is there a better type of antenna that would maybe help with this problem? I went with the square shooter because it can be hidden, which I have installed in the rafters in my garage.

Since all of my local Rockford channels are broadcast between 275-280 degrees, it seemed like a perfect fit. The 3 other local channels come in crystal clear.

So, I guess I will try getting a pre amp and amp and see if that works; however, I am open to suggestions.
ssw1962 is offline  
post #230 of 1189 Old 11-18-2005, 06:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well omni directional antennas, such as yours dont do well with week signals especially indoors. It might work if you took it outside. Were/what part of town are you in? You know that 39 isnt broadcasting in HD yet. Just digital.
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #231 of 1189 Old 11-19-2005, 06:15 AM
Member
 
ssw1962's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Northeast Rockford (Guilford/Perryville). I thought that they were broadcasting in HD as of 11/5.
ssw1962 is offline  
post #232 of 1189 Old 11-19-2005, 09:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff Whitford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockford,IL USA
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll have to check but I haven't seen anything in HD on there but I usually watch 47.1 because they do broadcast HD and they also have the games from those 2-7 guys
Jeff Whitford is offline  
post #233 of 1189 Old 11-20-2005, 10:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssw1962 View Post

Northeast Rockford (Guilford/Perryville). I thought that they were broadcasting in HD as of 11/5.

No, some people confuse DTV(ATSC) with HDTV which are two completely different items.

Last communications I had with Mike Real at Fox39 they had said that HD broadcasts were not going to begin right away and he gave me no timeframe as to when they would start on HD broadcasts. Take it into consideration that communication occurred early on this past summer.

Now I can recall that November was the time frame listed as DTV trans.
Jason Nipp is offline  
post #234 of 1189 Old 11-22-2005, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Nipp View Post

No, some people confuse DTV(ATSC) with HDTV which are two completely different items.

Last communications I had with Mike Real at Fox39 they had said that HD broadcasts were not going to begin right away and he gave me no timeframe as to when they would start on HD broadcasts. Take it into consideration that communication occurred early on this past summer.

Now I can recall that November was the time frame listed as DTV trans.

As of a month ago, WQRF was slated to go HD *and* full power at about the same time...in June 2006.

BTW, anyone notice that WREX-DT and WIFR-DT are no longer broadcasting in "stretchy-vision"? A 4:3 aspect ratio program is now shown in 4:3! And it looks
better as a result! I wonder if WQRF encouraged that?

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #235 of 1189 Old 11-23-2005, 06:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jason Nipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

As of a month ago, WQRF was slated to go HD *and* full power at about the same time...in June 2006.

BTW, anyone notice that WREX-DT and WIFR-DT are no longer broadcasting in "stretchy-vision"? A 4:3 aspect ratio program is now shown in 4:3! And it looks
better as a result! I wonder if WQRF encouraged that?

The CEA AW .org website showed the FCC approval pending and the forecasted DTV launch date given to the FCC was 11/05. This date was posted on the site most of the year.
Jason Nipp is offline  
post #236 of 1189 Old 11-23-2005, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Nipp View Post

The CEA AW .org website showed the FCC approval pending and the forecasted DTV launch date given to the FCC was 11/05. This date was posted on the site most of the year.

True, but I am talking about high def and 1 million watts. That's coming next summer. BTW, WQRF's digital picture quality IS very nice, even if upconverted.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #237 of 1189 Old 12-19-2005, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sebenste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: DeKalb, IL
Posts: 3,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hey gang,

WIFR-TV has had interference in DeKalb (not bad) with WWME-CA (low power class A) 23 in Chicago ever since they went omnidirectional earlier this year.
You can even see it on the Comcast feed from their antenna, 100' abve ground.

Well, things are about to get much worse. WOCH-LP 28 in Chicago is moving to channel 41 starting 12/22. Guess what? Yep, 41 is WIFR's current digital signal!
Starting by Friday 12/23/05, say buh-bye to them in DeKalb when they sign on at 150 kw, unless I turn my antenna northwest. I am not going to turn my antenna
on my rotor back and forth and back and forth just to watch WIFR and burn out the motor. If they knock out my reception completely, I'm calling them. I can't get WBBM from Chicago here and now I won't get WIFR. CBS via DTV is cursed in this state.

Gilbert
sebenste is offline  
post #238 of 1189 Old 12-20-2005, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
jmdomini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sycamore,IL
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's really unfortunate. I'm glad I didn't spend any more money trying to pull in WIFR.

I just don't get why the FCC does things the way they do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

Hey gang,

WOCH-LP 28 in Chicago is moving to channel 41 starting 12/22. Guess what? Yep, 41 is WIFR's current digital signal!

jmdomini is offline  
post #239 of 1189 Old 12-23-2005, 10:36 AM
Member
 
cmunroe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Acworth Ga.
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have two antennas. I just checked the Rockford facing antenna
and WIFR-DT is still strong and stable. Looks like I dodged this
bullet.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sebenste View Post

Hey gang,

WIFR-TV has had interference in DeKalb (not bad) with WWME-CA (low power class A) 23 in Chicago ever since they went omnidirectional earlier this year.
You can even see it on the Comcast feed from their antenna, 100' abve ground.

Well, things are about to get much worse. WOCH-LP 28 in Chicago is moving to channel 41 starting 12/22. Guess what? Yep, 41 is WIFR's current digital signal!
Starting by Friday 12/23/05, say buh-bye to them in DeKalb when they sign on at 150 kw, unless I turn my antenna northwest. I am not going to turn my antenna
on my rotor back and forth and back and forth just to watch WIFR and burn out the motor. If they knock out my reception completely, I'm calling them. I can't get WBBM from Chicago here and now I won't get WIFR. CBS via DTV is cursed in this state.

cmunroe is offline  
post #240 of 1189 Old 12-24-2005, 12:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I was just getting WIFR borderline here in Crystal Lake (indoor antenna) - now since just about the time WOCH moved, I can't get it at all. Why would an analog signal interfere with a digital one?
Rammitinski is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off