Louisville, KY - HDTV - Page 134 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3991 of 4013 Old 06-12-2013, 02:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by donp326 View Post

Not withstanding weather conditions Ch 32 as of June 1 at my best estimate began having a significant issue with artifacts. Never noticed them before All other channels come in full to moderate power. 32 will "burst" up to 75% then drop to 58% go out then come back and burst again then it's lost. This channel used to be perfect winter or summer it always came in no it seems to be toast.

FWIW, I spun my UHF back around to the 'Ville, and did a quick check of the Louisville stations around 7:30pm (ish) yesterday (6/11/13.) Everything appeared "nominal" and consistent with RF strength and RS quality readings I've gotten in the past.

What you've described is consistent with what you'd expect with interference from a distant station ... then again it could just be a bad coax connector that's going intermittent with warmer temps ...
HDTVChallenged is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3992 of 4013 Old 06-12-2013, 08:18 AM
Member
 
donp326's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Ky.
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVChallenged View Post

FWIW, I spun my UHF back around to the 'Ville, and did a quick check of the Louisville stations around 7:30pm (ish) yesterday (6/11/13.) Everything appeared "nominal" and consistent with RF strength and RS quality readings I've gotten in the past.

What you've described is consistent with what you'd expect with interference from a distant station ... then again it could just be a bad coax connector that's going intermittent with warmer temps ...

Thank you for fir your insight on my issue I will check my connectors but I have two Tv's hooked up with a splitter one is input directly from the antenna. it has a watchable picture with artifacts. The other TV comes through the Dish DVR It looses the transmission entirely. I don't know how to determine if another channel is causing this issue. So for the moment I have added the Lexington channel 27 to get CBS.
donp326 is offline  
post #3993 of 4013 Old 06-13-2013, 05:22 AM
Member
 
donp326's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Ky.
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great news WLKY 32 straightened itself out last night coming in at the old 75% it was doing before June 1.
donp326 is offline  
post #3994 of 4013 Old 06-13-2013, 08:39 AM
Member
 
csworldwide1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WHAS 11's parent company, Belo has agreed to be bought out by Gannett for $1.5 million.

More info on WHAS's webpage.
csworldwide1 is offline  
post #3995 of 4013 Old 06-13-2013, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by csworldwide1 View Post

WHAS 11's parent company, Belo has agreed to be bought out by Gannett for $1.5 million.

More info on WHAS's webpage.

Humm ... that should be interesting ... isn't WLKY a Gannett property.

On the plus side, perhaps WHAS will finally broadcast at 720p.
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #3996 of 4013 Old 06-13-2013, 11:51 PM
Member
 
csworldwide1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WLKY is owned by Hearst. WAVE 3 is owned by Raycom. & WDRB is owned by Block Communications.
csworldwide1 is offline  
post #3997 of 4013 Old 06-14-2013, 05:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
George Molnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: South Bend, Indiana
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by csworldwide1 View Post

WHAS 11's parent company, Belo has agreed to be bought out by Gannett for $1.5 million.

More info on WHAS's webpage.
Shouldn't that be $1.5 billion ??
George Molnar is offline  
post #3998 of 4013 Old 06-14-2013, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by csworldwide1 View Post

WLKY is owned by Hearst. WAVE 3 is owned by Raycom. & WDRB is owned by Block Communications.

Right then ... Apparently, I was thinking about "The Courier-Journal" who was quick to publish a story, yesterday, about how this won't violate the media ownership rules.

All together now ... 'Reunited and it feels so good .... " smile.gif
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #3999 of 4013 Old 06-18-2013, 07:06 PM
Member
 
jb_ky1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVChallenged View Post

Humm ... that should be interesting ... isn't WLKY a Gannett property.

On the plus side, perhaps WHAS will finally broadcast at 720p.

Should be a nice upgrade with their news. True HD and maybe a new set.

Also WKYT has made 27.2 (CW Lexington) in HD again.
jb_ky1 is offline  
post #4000 of 4013 Old 06-18-2013, 10:03 PM
Member
 
csworldwide1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by George Molnar View Post

Shouldn't that be $1.5 billion ??

You was right. It was $1.5 Billion.

WLKY use to be owned by Gannett from 1979 to 1983. In '79, it was owned by Combined Communications Corporation and then it was later merged with Gannett.
csworldwide1 is offline  
post #4001 of 4013 Old 06-18-2013, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by csworldwide1 View Post

You was right. It was $1.5 Billion.

WLKY use to be owned by Gannett from 1979 to 1983. In '79, it was owned by Combined Communications Corporation and then it was later merged with Gannett.

Oh my ... I must have been having flashbacks from my college days @ UL ... Life on the rabbit-ears. biggrin.gif

That would have been before WHAS and WLKY swapped network affiliations too.
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #4002 of 4013 Old 06-18-2013, 10:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb_ky1 View Post

Also WKYT has made 27.2 (CW Lexington) in HD again.

Humm ... this can't be good ...
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #4003 of 4013 Old 01-22-2014, 05:18 PM
Member
 
williammanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all!
I'm cutting comcast cable in elizabethtown and looking to get setup with OTA stations out of Louisville. Here is my tv fool info:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d5b94393a58a8bb

I am basically only concerned with the top 8 channels on the right hand chart. It appears that I will need two antennas:

Antenna 1
Channels 19 and 43
UHF only
Indoor Multi-Directional

Antenna 2
Channels all the rest
VHF and UHF
Rooftop Large Directional

In reviewing a couple of sites (this one included), it seems the the following two antennas should work for antenna 2:
(My northern angle is mostly covered by a couple of trees but I might be able to squeeze between them)
Winegard HD 7698P
HBU44 or HBU55

I was looking at trying this one for antenna 2 since it was at Walmart, RCA ANT700R, but the range looks to be too short. If the range is too short it could be used for antenna 1. Please give your thoughts for antenna 1 candidate. Also I wanted to inquire your opinion on the Mohu SKY.

I'm looking to mount antenna 2 on the roof which should be about 15' minimum. I will be connecting 1 pc tv tuner to antenna 1 and 3 pc tv tuners to antenna 2. Please let me know what my expectations should be concerning the overall quality and dropouts vs average cable tv as well as on everything else including cable spec's, amp's, grounding, installation, etc...
Thanks
williammanda is offline  
post #4004 of 4013 Old 01-22-2014, 08:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I live about 6 miles north west of Cecilia and I had a VHF-UHF antenna from Radio Shack was there biggest I think rated at 150 miles range. It was on the chimney of my 2 story house about 25-30 feet high. Pointed toward Louisville stations. I got all 8 on your list with the one antenna. I used the tuner in my HDTV and it was very reliable until the wind bent the mounting pole and the bands around my chimney broke. I have not yet put up another, think I am getting a little old to be climbing on a steep roof. I did have a Channel Master 7777 pre-amp mounted at the antenna I highly recommend them if you can find one, don't think they make that model any more but it has a very low noise figure. I would try it with one antenna first I think it will work as the stations off axis are much closer to you.

Mike T
mtallent is offline  
post #4005 of 4013 Old 03-27-2014, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
danshane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Jeffersontown, KY
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone else have trouble pulling WBNA channel 21 and its subs? I know its physical channel is VHF-8. I was originally able to get it (though sometimes pixelated) even with my Winegard roof antenna aimed at the New Albany tower farm, but lately I do not even pick it up when scanning. I live in Jeffersontown, so my roof antenna is at nearly 90 degrees to the Shepherdsville broadcast. I cannot get decent line-of-sight with an indoor antenna.

EDIT: I discovered the "professional" who installed my rooftop antenna had it aimed due north. Reorienting the antenna made all the local channels clear and stable.

--

Be seeing you...

Dan Shane
danshane is offline  
post #4006 of 4013 Old 04-28-2014, 08:13 AM
Newbie
 
Captdan1803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just kicked cable to the curb and put an indoor antenna in the attic. So far so good but local NBC channel is much weaker than the local CBS even though they transmit from the same area. Do some stations broadcast at a weaker HD signal than others?
Captdan1803 is offline  
post #4007 of 4013 Old 04-28-2014, 08:29 AM
Newbie
 
Captdan1803's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know why Wave3 is so weak of a signal compared with say WHAS? Just kicked cable to the curb and have noticed how weak I am receiving Wave3 here in Crestwood. Would a pre amp help?
Captdan1803 is offline  
post #4008 of 4013 Old 04-28-2014, 11:49 AM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
WAVE-DT transmits at 1,000 kW, the maximum legal limit for a UHF station.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #4009 of 4013 Old 04-29-2014, 12:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captdan1803 View Post

Does anyone know why Wave3 is so weak of a signal compared with say WHAS? Just kicked cable to the curb and have noticed how weak I am receiving Wave3 here in Crestwood. Would a pre amp help?

What type of antenna do you have? WHAS is on VHF-Hi (Ch11) ... WAVE is UHF (Ch47) ... All of the other major Lou. station are also on UHF as well.
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #4010 of 4013 Old 05-03-2014, 07:01 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 225
Moved to the Louisville thread.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #4011 of 4013 Old 06-22-2014, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
jazzlobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Louisville Antennas?

My apologies if this is the incorrect forum for this, but I live in Louisville, KY (St. Matthews to be more specific), and am on the cusp of cutting the cable cord.

We're not particularly far from the transmitters here (less than 15 miles, according to Antennaweb), but I get really lousy reception from rabbit ears. My guess is it's a combination of my TV on the southwest corner of a house, and the towers are mostly to the northeast, and it's an old brick house with plaster and lath walls. Can you say faraday cage?

My question here has to do with outdoor OTA antennas: I'm getting to be a little long in the tooth for climbing up on the roof, and was wondering how important antenna height is for HD reception?

I figure I can strap an antenna up to a post on my back porch and get about 20 feet up above ground without a problem. Should I expect that to work?
jazzlobster is offline  
post #4012 of 4013 Old 06-22-2014, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
With antennas you don't know until you try it. Just use something a little better than "rabbit ears". There is no such thing as a "HD" antenna just get something that will work for high-VHF and UHF frequencies.

Mike T west of E-town
mtallent is offline  
post #4013 of 4013 Old 07-24-2014, 10:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lexington,Kentucky,USA
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a quick note:

I'm retiring from KET effective August 1st, 2014 due to family health issues.

William
William Smith is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off