Louisville, KY - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 4014 Old 12-01-2002, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
NightowlKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL USA
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, receiving WDRB-DT 49 but not all that great. I'm getting about 48-53% on my DISH 6000 with plenty of breakups. They must be at very low power.

And the image is softer and the colors more muted than on their analog broadcast.
NightowlKY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 4014 Old 12-01-2002, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MichaelZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Nightowl, I was watching some of the ballgame yesterday and was flipping between the analog and the digital and the image seemed blurrer to me as well. It looked like crap compared to the same game on HDNet
MichaelZ is offline  
post #183 of 4014 Old 12-02-2002, 07:17 AM
Member
 
DucTape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, I wonder if anyone will actually be able to receive WDRB's broadcast. It must be at insanely low power. I get ABC at 72-79 sig strength (Hughes E86) and KET at similar power. But WDRB I get ticks at 3-6! I played with the pointing of the antenna but nothing would make it better. Accordingh to AntennaWeb, ABC is at 311 degrees and WDRB is at 305, so I should be able to get both reasonably well without repositioning.

I'm close - right in St Matthews, and have a RatShack V-120 outside, so you would expect that I should be able to receive it. I guess this is all I expected from Fox though.
DucTape is offline  
post #184 of 4014 Old 12-02-2002, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
bairda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DucTape...that is strange! I am very close to you in Indian Hills and I get digital 49 (WDRB) at 70 to 75% using a RatShack outdoor UHF (similar to the 15-2160 model) and the Dish 6000 with the 8VSB module. I get digital 55 (WHAS) at around 85% in the same direction. I do use an amplifier on the antenna and my mast raises the antenna up to about 18 feet or so. Not sure why you wouldn't get it?

Now if DRB would just put on something other than the static I get currently with the digital feed!

-Alex-
bairda is offline  
post #185 of 4014 Old 12-02-2002, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
NightowlKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL USA
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure...rub it in Michael! :P

I just fired off an email to WDRB asking for more detail on their initial foray into DTV and plans on passing the 480p feed.

On a side note...I wonder how long until FOX officially changes their name to FAUX?
NightowlKY is offline  
post #186 of 4014 Old 12-02-2002, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MichaelZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,480
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hmmm, I am looking at my HiPix card (who knows how good the signal strength meter is but) and I get
WHAS 85%
WDRB 84%
WKPC 80%
WBNA 82%
I live in Hike's Point with a cheap RatShack outdoor ant. mounted in my attic.
MichaelZ is offline  
post #187 of 4014 Old 12-02-2002, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
NightowlKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL USA
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just checked and I'm still barely getting a lock (still plenty of breakups) and It's on a VERY narrow beam. If I move my antenna just a couple of degrees north or south I lose them. And, just a reminder, I'm off the Snyder out near Pewee Valley at 730' elevation.

I did hear from Bill Lamb (General Manager), though, already. He didn't have much detail other than that they are testing and it seems it could last a few months like this. Hoping to hear from some others with more technical information.

I did invite them up here, though.
NightowlKY is offline  
post #188 of 4014 Old 12-02-2002, 11:21 AM
Member
 
lapplegate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know how the rest of you are getting WDRB. I have the dish 6000 and get 55 at 88%, 17 the same and 08 at 70%. But 49 will "flicker" on the "Add DTV" bar at up to 55%, but wont lock and turn the bar to green. Looks like something is there ,I just can't get it to lock. I'm in Henryville, IN. Of course I still get WHAS-DT as channel 55-01 not 11-01 as it used to be.
Larry
lapplegate is offline  
post #189 of 4014 Old 12-02-2002, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Chris Sutton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting WDRB-DT at 58-65%. No break-ups exept during some of the heavy wind gusts we got this weekend. I need to try to aim it in a little better. WHAS and WKPC are coming in at 100% and I couldn't do any fine tuning during my antenna installation because the meter was pegged. I watched the Eagles/Rams game on it yesterday without any trouble.
I dont think the digital looks any better than the analog, but the digital sound is better (at least for the football game). I was hoping to see the Fox Widescreen but maybe in the future.

Chris
Chris Sutton is offline  
post #190 of 4014 Old 12-03-2002, 08:32 AM
Member
 
DucTape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's strange - some are getting it no trouble, others (like me) can't pull it in at all. My antenna could probably stand to be higher, as it does point towards some trees a ways away. But they are all naked now, so they shouldn't present a huge problem, and like I said, I get WHAS at 72-79 on my E86 (which is plenty good for a strong lock). But WDRB I get picks at 3-6, that's all. No amount of tweaking the antenna helped. It's on my back deck, about 20 feet up.

But since they are not transmitting EDTV I don't really care!
DucTape is offline  
post #191 of 4014 Old 12-04-2002, 04:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
woowoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: jeffersonville, indiana
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can get WDRB-DT fine here on bishop lane
(Newburg & Waterson Expressway)

Studio Broadcast Engineer
KET
woowoo is offline  
post #192 of 4014 Old 12-04-2002, 06:35 AM
PCS
Senior Member
 
PCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually get WDRB stronger (with virtually no dropouts) than WHAS or WKET here in Audubon Park east central Louisville. I'm just using an indoor RS double bowtie. Too bad the PQ is pathetic compared to WHAS. I wonder if they are going to pass thru edtv widescreen?
PCS is offline  
post #193 of 4014 Old 12-04-2002, 08:49 AM
Member
 
lapplegate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Indiana
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sorry if this is old news, but I got a response from WHAS engineering as to why some people (like me) are having problems mapping to 11-01 (comes up as 55-01).

Here is their response:

"Below is a response from our Engineering team.

Thank you for your interest in WHAS-DT!

Tracy Alvey

WHAS-11



The problem is primarily with Sony or Sony- made receivers made under other names . They go into default reset if an RRT pid is not received. It assumes that it is all rated, generates an error and resets, never showing a signal strength indication or a picture. Some of the new dishnet 8-vsb receivers are also having the same problem. Sony is upgrading their firmware to eliminate this problem, but at this point they are still in testing. For now we are not running the PSIP generator to help alleviate problems . This causes some issues with virtual channel mapping, but everyone gets a picture. By the end of February we should have a new PSIP generator in place to resolve these issues.


Steve Beall

WHAS-TV
"

Larry
lapplegate is offline  
post #194 of 4014 Old 12-04-2002, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
NightowlKY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Winter Garden, FL USA
Posts: 725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Larry.

And, on a side note, my reception of WDRB-DT has improved greatly in the last two days (and so has WHAS-DT). I'm seeing my DISH 6000 read 65-70% on WDRB-DT and in the upper 90s on WHAS-DT

Maybe now that the wind has died down some it's helped?
NightowlKY is offline  
post #195 of 4014 Old 12-09-2002, 05:31 PM
PCS
Senior Member
 
PCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been unable to get WHAS for 48 hours. Is anyone else having this problem? Are they off the air? lowered power?
PCS is offline  
post #196 of 4014 Old 12-09-2002, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
STEVENSHS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: LOUISVILLE, KY
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks ok here. Watched part of Monk and now Football. In Springhurst.
STEVENSHS is offline  
post #197 of 4014 Old 12-13-2002, 08:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
bairda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still see the 15th listed for WAVE DT signal to be up....anyone heard anything on when this might actually happen?
-Alex-
bairda is offline  
post #198 of 4014 Old 12-13-2002, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
silvermaxd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Albany,Indiana
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I received an e-mail from Bob @ Wave and he told me late January or maybe sooner. Hopefully they do a better job than the others are doing!!

Steve R.
silvermaxd is offline  
post #199 of 4014 Old 12-15-2002, 10:40 AM
PCS
Senior Member
 
PCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like WHAS is back on track at my house. I guess with digital its either all or nothing. That's good except when it goes to nothing (especially with all the low power and part time schedules for broadcasting) its tough to know if it is signal strength or the fact that the transmission has ceased. My Panny STB doesn't have signal strength so that is another part of my uncertainty. Oh well, hopefully Insight will get going with DTV once we get WAVE and WLKY transmitting. Then I can retire my current STB. Thanks for the heads up STEVENSHS.
PCS is offline  
post #200 of 4014 Old 12-20-2002, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
beetle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fome FOX41.com we have the following:

"WDRB Fox 41 began broadcasting digitally on Sunday, December 1, 2002. Viewers equipped with digital TV receivers will find the WDRB digital signal on Channel 49.

WDRB continues to broadcast its analog signal (receivable by all conventional television sets) over Channel 41 as always, and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future. All programming on both analog channel 41 and digital channel 49 is identical.

Please note that digital broadcasting and HDTV broadcasting are NOT synonymous. Even though we are currently producing a digital signal, WDRB is not broadcasting in HDTV. There are no plans to do so in the immediate future, but when such a move is ultimately made, that fact will be heavily publicized well in advance.

As we embark upon these technological changes and advances, rest assured that WDRB will continue in its mission to serve the viewing public with the area's finest mix of news and entertainment programming."

Public relations is a wonderful thing!
beetle is offline  
post #201 of 4014 Old 12-20-2002, 11:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
bairda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But will they ever pass the 480P signal from FOX? Not Hi-Def, but still better then the murky digital they are broadcasting now.

-Alex-
bairda is offline  
post #202 of 4014 Old 12-22-2002, 07:30 AM
Member
 
SONYMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Insight Cable is coming Monday to install digital cable and an HD stb. Currently they will only be sending HBO and Showtime HD. Local channels to be added soon. Will provide quality, component and price information Monday after installation.
SONYMAN is offline  
post #203 of 4014 Old 12-22-2002, 08:28 AM
PCS
Senior Member
 
PCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sonyman,
Are you a tester or a customer? How did you get this? Is there a waiting list? Sign me up!
PCS is offline  
post #204 of 4014 Old 12-23-2002, 07:41 AM
Member
 
DucTape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WDRB - "There are no plans to do so in the immediate future"

Thanks for nothing!
DucTape is offline  
post #205 of 4014 Old 12-23-2002, 12:19 PM
Senior Member
 
cambus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks WLKY for broadcasting the UK / Indiana basketball game in HDTV! Also a big thank you (in advance) for broadcasting the NFL playoffs in January.

NOT!!

THE ONLY ALTERNATIVE to see CBS-HDTV in LOUISVILLE:
Get the DISH CBS-HD feed from NY and LA:

See below for more info:
http://hdtvision.com/Dish%20Network/CBS_HDTV.htm

if you live within WLKY broadcast area, you need to use a friends address in a "white area" when registering your DISH HDTV Receiver, (see QUALIFICATION METHOD #2)

I doubt those idiots at WLKY would give you a waiver. Of course, they will be up and running in January 2003. (ha ha!!) (Also, a big thank you to WDRB and that BS press release. Was that purposely unclear? )

Louisville, KY HD Info:
http://www.louisvillehdtv.com
cambus is offline  
post #206 of 4014 Old 12-23-2002, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Briands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by SONYMAN
Insight Cable is coming Monday to install digital cable and an HD stb. Currently they will only be sending HBO and Showtime HD. Local channels to be added soon. Will provide quality, component and price information Monday after installation.

How did you arange this? Who do we need to contact? Details please...

Brian
Briands is offline  
post #207 of 4014 Old 12-23-2002, 05:17 PM
PCS
Senior Member
 
PCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Louisville,KY
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
YES sonyman. Come on and show some love man! Enquiring minds want to know. How do we get in on this action with Insight Cable HDTV?

Also, what are the odds that WLKY will be on in HDTV when Louisville and Indiana play in January? (not to mention the odds of CBS carrying it in HDTV) Freedom Hall is at least capable of an HDTV broadcast as the UK/IU game demonstrates so come on WLKY give it up for the Cards!!!
PCS is offline  
post #208 of 4014 Old 12-23-2002, 05:31 PM
Member
 
SONYMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PCS
Sorry I just got home from work. I haven't been able to play yet. The picture is awsome. I am a Beta Tester, full roll out should be in a week to 10 days. I am not sure if there is a waiting list. They are currently only broadcasting HBO and Showtime in HDTV. I had to get digital cable to get the HD stb. The HD stb is a Motorola. The package including digital, internet, HBO and Showtime is $112.05 plus tax.
SONYMAN is offline  
post #209 of 4014 Old 12-23-2002, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
bairda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Went to the mall St. Matthews today (gotta save all that shopping till the last minute when the malls are nice and uncrowded!) and saw that Insight was demoing thier Hi-Def box at their kiosk. I asked one of the sales people about it and he indicated that the rollout would be late January. Couldn't give me pricing and he said that the Motorola box that was being used for the demo was merely a test unit and that the final configuartion had not been decided. He didn't have access to any pricing for the HD HBO/SHOWtime package.

Just FYI...
-Alex-
bairda is offline  
post #210 of 4014 Old 12-24-2002, 02:59 AM
Member
 
SONYMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Ovation stores in St. Matthew's and Southern Indiana were installed on Friday.
SONYMAN is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off