Sioux City, IA / Sioux Falls, SD - HDTV - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 1416 Old 08-02-2005, 04:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmullin View Post

I don't think that KDLT at 75% in the Sioux Falls metro area will do me any good in Sioux City.

Yeah, I'm only 5 miles away so I should notice the jump. Part of my problem is I am so close, if I point right at KELO tower, my signal strength goes down, as I must be getting reflective signals.

FOX here is the real bugger. Even the analog signal is weak. I have huge trees in direction of the transmiter. I can pick up your Fox44 almost as good as 17.
BVfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 1416 Old 08-02-2005, 09:36 PM
Member
 
COLAVSFANINNWIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE South Dakota
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I dunno what happened to Analog Fox17, but over in Larchwood, it is nearly to usually unwatchable. good thing for dish i can get it in clear. and also in Larchwood Fox44 comes in almost perfect. Wasnt that long ago when i was able to get both in about the same.

I am guessing that no one knows the time frame for KTTW-DT full power? Must be the July 2006 deadline they are waiting for to stick out any more $$.~ColAvsFan

In case you didn't know, I am a Colorado Avalanche fan!
COLAVSFANINNWIA is offline  
post #453 of 1416 Old 08-07-2005, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Ben L C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone here living in Sioux Falls and subscribes to Directv, get the national Fox HD feed? I have a friend who is asking and I don't know the answer. He has a problem getting the local fox HD feed which is rather weak. I know here in NW Iowa we are able to pick it up over the sat.

Thanks,
Ben
Ben L C is offline  
post #454 of 1416 Old 08-07-2005, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben L C View Post

Does anyone here living in Sioux Falls and subscribes to Directv, get the national Fox HD feed? I have a friend who is asking and I don't know the answer. He has a problem getting the local fox HD feed which is rather weak. I know here in NW Iowa we are able to pick it up over the sat.

Thanks,
Ben

KTTW's offical coverage map shows they presently cover a 15 mi radius from their tower. We all know here that is not a fact. He would have to get a waiver and if you live in SF, that may be hard to do. You may have him call DirecTV to see what the exact process is as I am sure they would not just turn the nat feed on for him.
BVfan is offline  
post #455 of 1416 Old 08-07-2005, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Ben L C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats what I thought. Thanks. I will pass the info on.
Ben L C is offline  
post #456 of 1416 Old 08-10-2005, 04:28 AM
Senior Member
 
hiltsy855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Iowa
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all. Below is some info on digital/HD status of the Omaha stations - I received from the KETV chief engineer. With my home being in Morningside (Sioux City) I have been very surprised with the reception I can get from Omaha. I watched the MNF game on KETV (I believe they are transmitting at 700Kw) and my signal strength was 100%. I also get almost 100% signal from WOWT so it looks like 1000Kw will easily get the job done here if you have a decent antenna & amp (my reception from KMTV is hit & miss). Here's the Omaha station info:

==========================================================

KMTV-DT (CBS) is still running 700Kw ERP, will go up to 1000Kw here when the FCC grants their license which should be any day now.

WOWT-DT (NBC) on channel 22 is running 1000Kw ERP.

KPTM (Fox) channel 43 is changing out their antenna this month, and will run 1000Kw ERP, look for them by the end of the month.

WB (KXVO) will not be passing HD initially.

==========================================================

Mark
hiltsy855 is offline  
post #457 of 1416 Old 08-15-2005, 08:35 AM
Member
 
mhaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does KWSD WB broadcast any HD shows in HD?
mhaider is offline  
post #458 of 1416 Old 08-15-2005, 09:07 PM
Member
 
COLAVSFANINNWIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE South Dakota
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhaider View Post

Does KWSD WB broadcast any HD shows in HD?

Unfortunatly they are SD only.

In case you didn't know, I am a Colorado Avalanche fan!
COLAVSFANINNWIA is offline  
post #459 of 1416 Old 08-15-2005, 09:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Feddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone tell me how long Midcontinent has had TNT-HD and FSN HD?
Feddie is offline  
post #460 of 1416 Old 08-16-2005, 06:19 AM
Member
 
mhaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feddie View Post

Can someone tell me how long Midcontinent has had TNT-HD and FSN HD?

Couple of weeks.
mhaider is offline  
post #461 of 1416 Old 08-16-2005, 06:21 AM
Member
 
mhaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by COLAVSFANINNWIA View Post

Unfortunatly they are SD only.

Bummer....DirecTV is having fall previews of the various channels this month, and this week they're highlighting the WB and it looks like there's going to be some good shows this fall in HD.
mhaider is offline  
post #462 of 1416 Old 08-18-2005, 03:36 PM
Newbie
 
ScottyRambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chancellor,SD
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KDLT appears to have upped their power. I can get 80% signal strength from Chancellor,SD
ScottyRambo is offline  
post #463 of 1416 Old 08-18-2005, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Husker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup. You beat me to it. KDLT-DT is pegging the meter here at 100%. HD and 5.1 and looking good. NBC in HD...finally!
Husker is offline  
post #464 of 1416 Old 08-19-2005, 06:14 AM
Member
 
rmullin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Life is strange...

I now receive KDLT's digital signal in Sioux City (that's 70+ miles from the tower) at 95% signal strength. Dolby digital sound, too.

My local NBC affiliate (KTIV) also broadcasts a digital HD signal from a tower about 10 miles from my home, and I can't receive anything.

Guess it proves that you need to have a signal powered by more than a couple Duracell batteries and a hamster wheel.

THANK YOU to the folks at KDLT and their advertisers.

In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice there is.
rmullin is offline  
post #465 of 1416 Old 08-19-2005, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Mendu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyRambo View Post

KDLT appears to have upped their power. I can get 80% signal strength from Chancellor,SD

Yahoo!

Now if you can just get FOX
Mendu is offline  
post #466 of 1416 Old 08-21-2005, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rmullin ..

That is an awesome signal. My signal strength for KDLT went up from 78 to 94% so I assumed they had gotten the upgrade done. My signals are kind of screwy as I am so close to all the towers. Some days KSFY will not even come in.

I keep an antenna pointed south just to see if I can get any digital SC stations, but not a sniff.

Mendu

Thank FOX thing is irrating. I don't get FOXHD at all as I took down my big VHF/UHF antenna this summer. Am thinking about putting up a VHF only pointed at FOX as my other antenna gave me reflected signal problems. Wish they would just switch to UHF with the digital signal.
BVfan is offline  
post #467 of 1416 Old 08-21-2005, 04:16 PM
Member
 
bighdtvfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brandon
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BVFAN
I put up a VHF only antenna with a channelmaster signal blocker that only allows channel 7 VHF to pass through it. No problems at all with the other antenna nor any ghosting. I bought it through Warren Electronics in case you are interested.
I have heard from KTTW. They will not be going full power until July 2006. BUMMER!!!!
bighdtvfan is offline  
post #468 of 1416 Old 08-21-2005, 09:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bighdtvfan View Post

BVFAN
I put up a VHF only antenna with a channelmaster signal blocker that only allows channel 7 VHF to pass through it. No problems at all with the other antenna nor any ghosting. I bought it through Warren Electronics in case you are interested.
I have heard from KTTW. They will not be going full power until July 2006. BUMMER!!!!

Thanks for the info.... I will try that prior to NFL start.

Warren is not local ... Right? Found the web site.
BVfan is offline  
post #469 of 1416 Old 08-22-2005, 03:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Ben L C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Way to go KDLT!! Does anyone have any info if the Sioux Falls affiliate of the WB will be doing any 1080i broadcasts of their shows this season via OTA?

Thanks,
Ben
Ben L C is offline  
post #470 of 1416 Old 08-24-2005, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
hiltsy855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Iowa
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello from Sioux City. Does anyone know if KSFY-DT has upped their transmit power lately? When they first started broadcasting I could get some signal and then it went away for me. I haven't scanned for it lately though. What is the digital channel number again?

Mark
hiltsy855 is offline  
post #471 of 1416 Old 08-24-2005, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Ben L C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is either 32 or 28 I think. SOrry i can't be more specific.
Ben L C is offline  
post #472 of 1416 Old 08-24-2005, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
hiltsy855's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Iowa
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben L C View Post

It is either 32 or 28 I think. SOrry i can't be more specific.

Found it - KSFY-DT is channel 29.

http://www.northpine.com/broadcast/sd/tv.html
hiltsy855 is offline  
post #473 of 1416 Old 08-25-2005, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Ben L C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good. Glad you found it.
Ben L C is offline  
post #474 of 1416 Old 09-05-2005, 07:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone notice during the FL St/Miami game MON Night that KSFY put a weather bug message over the top of the HD pic. Upper RH corner, and very discrete. In time for MNF.. alright. Bug said to tune to analog channel for weather alerts. Bug was there during local commericals also.

I plan to email them as this is a great way to do it. I also plan to email KELO, as they had CSI in non-HD mode with weather alerts along the bottom..... like always. KELO needs to step up to the plate on these things.
BVfan is offline  
post #475 of 1416 Old 09-06-2005, 10:41 AM
Member
 
Husker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I noticed the bug too. Certainly better than losing the HD feed. I did turn over to the analog feed a few time and there was no weather messages, even though the HD bug was up. Sort of annoying in this case as it partially covered the football clock and scoreboard.
Husker is offline  
post #476 of 1416 Old 09-06-2005, 07:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right,

KSFY took away the alert on analog later in the game, but left the bug up on HD. I agree about the clock and the downs. I kept switching back and forth at the end of the game to see how much time was left. Did not have time to do any emailing today to the stations, but may try tonight.

Really do not understand the rhyme or reason for alerts on the screen any way as SF got hammered after midnight so why take away the alerts at 10:00. I suppose it is linked electronically to the NWS some how.
BVfan is offline  
post #477 of 1416 Old 09-17-2005, 04:55 PM
Member
 
cdieren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rock Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KELO-DT 11.1 Low power?

Anyone else experiencing what seems to be low power from KELO-DT this afternoon - both 11.1 and 11.2?

This is usually my strongest local signal, but now is unwatchable while KSFY-DT and KDLT-DT (13.1 and 46.1) seem just fine.
cdieren is offline  
post #478 of 1416 Old 09-17-2005, 06:32 PM
Newbie
 
ScottyRambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chancellor,SD
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't notice that. Right now (8:30) KSFY-DT seems to be at really low power, but KELO-DT
and KDLT-DT are just fine.
ScottyRambo is offline  
post #479 of 1416 Old 09-17-2005, 08:40 PM
Member
 
cdieren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rock Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This evening at about 9:30 when I checked it again, KELO-DT seems back to normal power. Maybe it was just my setup and not a transmitter power issue?
cdieren is offline  
post #480 of 1416 Old 09-19-2005, 10:13 PM
Member
 
BryanSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found KDLT HD in the Midco Cable lineup! Now with all the current local HD channels now available on cable...I can retire the rabbit ears!
BryanSD is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off