Sioux City, IA / Sioux Falls, SD - HDTV - Page 41 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1201 of 1416 Old 11-08-2008, 10:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Locals are coming in on my HR21-100 HDDVR, but not on my H23-600 HD receivers. Anyone got any advice? D* said they would come and reallign my dish. Not sure realligning is an issue. I haven't looked at my connections at the dish since I didn't not do the install, but I assume they are all 4 the same.
BVfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1202 of 1416 Old 11-10-2008, 10:05 AM
Member
 
nestor87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same problem - getting a multiswitch error - with my H20 receiver. My HR20 DVR picks up the new channels just fine, so I know it's not really a multiswitch problem.
nestor87 is offline  
post #1203 of 1416 Old 11-11-2008, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Husker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What D* package do you need to get the Sioux Falls locals? I got the 5 LNB dish and MPEG4 HDDVR and one of the HD packages. Also, chalk me up as another who cannot get Fox 17 digital.
Husker is offline  
post #1204 of 1416 Old 11-11-2008, 02:45 PM
Member
 
NickFluth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any DirecTV package will get you locals, but you will need the $10 HD package to get them in HD (11,13 and 46). For those that are getting HD on one receiver and not the other, you may need to go to the DirecTV website and reactivate that receiver... the push should allow the channels to show.
NickFluth is offline  
post #1205 of 1416 Old 11-12-2008, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Husker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What channel #'s are they on D*? I have the box with the OTA tuner so I already have the Sioux Falls channels integrated into the program guide on the "proper" channels (11, 13, 46).
Husker is offline  
post #1206 of 1416 Old 11-14-2008, 02:15 PM
Newbie
 
kesslerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found it odd that I haven't seen any posts lately about KTTW-DT.
I haven't been able to get the channel in very often lately. It seems like it's been down more often than up. Is that what the rest of you are seeing?

I live pretty close to the tower. When it's up, it comes in pretty strong (even if 90% of the programming is stretched out SD material.)
kesslerm is offline  
post #1207 of 1416 Old 11-15-2008, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
D* Locals update - now I am getting locals on the H23s except one of them doesn't get 46. The same one also quit receiving NFLHD and my 206 ESPN was pixelating today. I've got someone coming Monday, but I'm sure nothing will get resolved.

My old LNB had problems when it was below zero, but this shouldn't be a temperature problem.
BVfan is offline  
post #1208 of 1416 Old 11-15-2008, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Husker View Post

What channel #'s are they on D*? I have the box with the OTA tuner so I already have the Sioux Falls channels integrated into the program guide on the "proper" channels (11, 13, 46).

I had to add the locals package on as I had not had them in the past. That is an extra $2.99. If you have that subscribtion, you should see them as 11,13,17,20,23,46. No HD 17,20 or 23 though. Your OTA locals should show as 11-1, etc.

The 23 you get is not the local PBS though so you can't see HS Football on that channel. You still have to go OTA.

D* Customer service thought I should be receiving both HD and SD locals including 36, but she is obviously misinformed.
BVfan is offline  
post #1209 of 1416 Old 11-15-2008, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickFluth View Post

Any DirecTV package will get you locals, but you will need the $10 HD package to get them in HD (11,13 and 46). For those that are getting HD on one receiver and not the other, you may need to go to the DirecTV website and reactivate that receiver... the push should allow the channels to show.

I've done this a couple of times and been on the phone with CS twice. I have also gone thorugh the setup a couple of times. This seems to be hard to pin down. Wondering if I have a faulty LNB or something.
BVfan is offline  
post #1210 of 1416 Old 11-15-2008, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nestor87 View Post

I'm having the same problem - getting a multiswitch error - with my H20 receiver. My HR20 DVR picks up the new channels just fine, so I know it's not really a multiswitch problem.

My H23 with the issues seems to be working now. I powered down. Unplugged it. Unplugged my sat cable. Waited a minute. Plugged cable back in. Plugged power back in. Powered up. Now I get all locals.

Just before this, I went through the channels and besides not receiving 212 NFLHD, I was not receiving about 14 other of the new MPEG4 channels.

Hitting the red reset button or redoing the setup did not help this. So I did the above and now those channels work also. Go figure.
BVfan is offline  
post #1211 of 1416 Old 11-18-2008, 06:45 AM
Member
 
dmadsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, everybody. For people in the Sioux City area, with CableOne service, did you notice that CableOne suddenly dropped most of the "free" HD channels they had been providing with just basic service? They still have the local channels, but the others (like Universal HD, Discovery HD, ESPNHD, etc) were apparently just "free trials" to give us an example of what HD programming was out there.

The explanation we were given is that these other channels are now requiring the channels to be scrambled so they can get paid extra for each subscriber.

I guess it's true...there's no free lunch.
dmadsen is offline  
post #1212 of 1416 Old 11-18-2008, 07:19 AM
Member
 
Pooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmadsen View Post

Hi, everybody. For people in the Sioux City area, with CableOne service, did you notice that CableOne suddenly dropped most of the "free" HD channels they had been providing with just basic service? They still have the local channels, but the others (like Universal HD, Discovery HD, ESPNHD, etc) were apparently just "free trials" to give us an example of what HD programming was out there.

The explanation we were given is that these other channels are now requiring the channels to be scrambled so they can get paid extra for each subscriber.

I guess it's true...there's no free lunch.

Yea, I mentioned this was coming about 2 weeks ago. The advantages of cable are becoming slim to none. If DTV would offer SC locals....

I also wonder if in Feb 2009 whether cable will finally drop all the analog channels via the box - what a wonderful day that would be.
Pooper is offline  
post #1213 of 1416 Old 11-18-2008, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Husker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Iowa HS girls volleyball championships were in HD last Saturday. Any chance the HS football championships will be? I think it's a different broadcast outfit so I'd say probably not.
Husker is offline  
post #1214 of 1416 Old 11-19-2008, 09:31 PM
Newbie
 
wolf.359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in the 26th & Sertoma area of Sioux Falls; I was getting KTTW-DT for a couple of days, albeit with occasional artifacts and audio drops. Now it hasn't come in again for a while. I'm using a DA-5200 HDTV Outdoor/Indoor Antenna from Radio Shack. I'd have put up the link except I have to have three posts first! Anyone know if KTTW's taken the transmitter offline again? The other three come in great, although as it's gotten colder, one or more of those will drop off at times. I'm scanning them in through a ViP722 HD receiver from Dish.
I'd rather Dish just hurry up and get the HD locals but I doubt it will happen anytime soon...
wolf.359 is offline  
post #1215 of 1416 Old 11-28-2008, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolf.359 View Post

I live in the 26th & Sertoma area of Sioux Falls; I was getting KTTW-DT for a couple of days, albeit with occasional artifacts and audio drops. Now it hasn't come in again for a while. I'm using a DA-5200 HDTV Outdoor/Indoor Antenna from Radio Shack. I'd have put up the link except I have to have three posts first! Anyone know if KTTW's taken the transmitter offline again? The other three come in great, although as it's gotten colder, one or more of those will drop off at times. I'm scanning them in through a ViP722 HD receiver from Dish.
I'd rather Dish just hurry up and get the HD locals but I doubt it will happen anytime soon...

I don't watch FOX all the time, but whenever I do, it seems to be up and OK. I see the antenna you have comes with RG59U cable. Maybe if you tried RG6 quad-shielded, you may get better reception - less dropouts. Just a thought.
BVfan is offline  
post #1216 of 1416 Old 12-06-2008, 04:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Ben L C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: NW Iowa
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any idea if Sioux City will be getting Directv locals? Just deciding if I need to 'move' to a Sioux Falls area!!

Dave Madsen, Do you have any info on this?
Ben L C is offline  
post #1217 of 1416 Old 12-07-2008, 05:52 PM
Member
 
dmadsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, I don't have any info. It would be nice if both DishNetwork and DirecTV would start carrying the Sioux City locals is digital channels, including the HD programming...but I'm not holding my breath.

By the way, as of this past Wednesday (12/ 3) I'm no longer with KTIV. They decided as a budget cutting measure to eliminate my position, and also laid off three other people.

Dave Madsen
formerly with KTIV-TV
Sioux City
dmadsen is offline  
post #1218 of 1416 Old 12-09-2008, 05:26 PM
Newbie
 
daggert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmadsen View Post

Hi, everybody. For people in the Sioux City area, with CableOne service, did you notice that CableOne suddenly dropped most of the "free" HD channels they had been providing with just basic service? They still have the local channels, but the others (like Universal HD, Discovery HD, ESPNHD, etc) were apparently just "free trials" to give us an example of what HD programming was out there.

The explanation we were given is that these other channels are now requiring the channels to be scrambled so they can get paid extra for each subscriber.

I guess it's true...there's no free lunch.

Hi people. As far as HD TV is to go, dont look for for Cable ONE to give any free channels on cable. Local channels have 2 yrs to broadcast in anolg. Look For a charge for are local channels aso once they decide to broadcast in HD. I made sure when I purchased both of my Hd Tvs I bought them with twin tunners, and also bought 2 HDS anntennas. I watch our local channels with my anntennas alot and think its a better picture then Cable One has. Cable Ones price keep on increasing but with less channels Its going to be and ongoing war with HD channels just like Cable and sattelite still do. Dave I want you to know you were a great asset to Siouxland community. Im sorry to hear about your job loss i feel the pain with you Im unemployed myself. Sioux City is dryed up.
daggert is offline  
post #1219 of 1416 Old 12-09-2008, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
daggert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Dave sorry to here about the job loss it happened to me also. Soon people will say wheres Sioux City? No growth or jobs in the fricken town and the city dont want any good paying jobs or growth in the Siouxland area. See it filters down from are great city leaders down to local bussinesses, if you get my drift.
daggert is offline  
post #1220 of 1416 Old 12-10-2008, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Pooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggert View Post

Hi people. As far as HD TV is to go, dont look for for Cable ONE to give any free channels on cable. Local channels have 2 yrs to broadcast in anolg. Look For a charge for are local channels aso once they decide to broadcast in HD.

Its been my understanding that legally cable must provide the SD/HD locals for "free". I guess we'll find out if that's the case or not.
Pooper is offline  
post #1221 of 1416 Old 12-10-2008, 12:16 PM
Member
 
dmadsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cable is not required to provide HD signals for free. They are required to provide an analog version of the local stations for their customers who only have analog TV's, but it does NOT have to be the HD feed.

Dave Madsen
dmadsen is offline  
post #1222 of 1416 Old 12-11-2008, 09:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmadsen View Post

Cable is not required to provide HD signals for free. They are required to provide an analog version of the local stations for their customers who only have analog TV's, but it does NOT have to be the HD feed.

Dave Madsen

Dave,

There seems to be confusion and misinformation on this subject on the internet forums and technical articles. Is it FCC regulation that if cable carries HD locals at all, they must be unencrypted QAM and of the same quality as other HD channels offered?

My understanding from doing some reading is they do not have to offer locals in HD at all, but that if they do, they can't charge extra for them.

Right? Wrong?
BVfan is offline  
post #1223 of 1416 Old 12-11-2008, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like Young Broadcasting wants to get paid by DISH for rebroadcasting its signal.

DISH Network's contract with KELO-TV/KCLO-TV expires on December 10, 2008 at midnight. KELO-TV/KCLO-TV offered to extend the contract in an attempt to reach an agreement with DISH. The extension was not accepted by DISH. For the past several months our company has attempted to reach a new agreement with DISH Network. Unfortunately DISH Network has elected not to accept our proposal.

More info at the KELO web site.

Hopefully, since we just got SF HD locals on D* that they have already worked something out with Young.
BVfan is offline  
post #1224 of 1416 Old 12-11-2008, 09:34 AM
Member
 
dmadsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVfan View Post

Dave,

There seems to be confusion and misinformation on this subject on the internet forums and technical articles. Is it FCC regulation that if cable carries HD locals at all, they must be unencrypted QAM and of the same quality as other HD channels offered?

My understanding from doing some reading is they do not have to offer locals in HD at all, but that if they do, they can't charge extra for them.

Right? Wrong?

I'm sorry, I don't know the answer to that one. It's something I've never discussed with the local CableOne manager.
dmadsen is offline  
post #1225 of 1416 Old 12-11-2008, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben L C View Post

Does anyone have any idea if Sioux City will be getting Directv locals? Just deciding if I need to 'move' to a Sioux Falls area!!

Dave Madsen, Do you have any info on this?

Sioux Falls is ranked 113th with 260,000 households and Sioux City is ranked 149th with 155,000 households. It could be awhile before D* does something in Sioux City even though they say they are in 150 markets in SD.

If you are talking about moving to get HD channels, those are on a spotbeam to the local area and I have no idea how big that spot beam is. My Mom is 100 mi west of Sioux Falls and the D* site shows she could get HD locals. She doesn't have the equipment so I don't know for sure.
BVfan is offline  
post #1226 of 1416 Old 12-12-2008, 12:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVfan View Post

Hopefully, since we just got SF HD locals on D* that they have already worked something out with Young.

They haven't, according to www.keloland.com.

Quad Cities area E* subscribers are in a similar situation, except they lost the NBC station.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #1227 of 1416 Old 12-18-2008, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know why SC 44 KPTH takes away so much screen real estate just to show weather related closings?

--- Beside the fact that Long Lines must give them money to let them take up a 1/3 of the screen.

My 40" screeen becomes an almost unwatchable 22" at the distance I watch most of the time.
BVfan is offline  
post #1228 of 1416 Old 12-20-2008, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
billiefan2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OTS digitial stations

(is this accurate) cause I got this from:

http://www.northpine.com/broadcast/ia/tvmarkets.html

and:

http://www.northpine.com/broadcast/sd/tvmarkets.html



Sioux City Iowa

2.1 KUSD-DT PBS Vermillion, SD (34)
4.1 KTIV-DT NBC Sioux City (41)
4.2 KTIV-DT2 CW+ Sioux City (41)
4.3 KTIV-DT3 RTN Sioux City (41)
9.1 KCAU-DT ABC Sioux City (30)
14.1 KMEG-DT CBS Sioux City (39)
27.1 KSIN-DT PBS HD Sioux City (28)
27.2 KSIN-DT2 Create Sioux City (28)
44.1 KPTH-DT FOX Sioux City (49)
44.2 KPTH-DT2 My/A1 Sioux City (49)



Sioux falls SD

11.1 KELO-DT CBS Sioux Falls (32)
11.2 KELO-DT2 My Sioux Falls (32)
13.1 KSFY-DT ABC Sioux Falls (29)
17.1 KTTW-DT FOX Sioux Falls (7)
20.1 KSMN-DT PBS Worthington, MN (15)
20.2 KSMN-DT2 Create Worthington, MN (15)
20.3 KSMN-DT3 MN Channel Worthington, MN (15)
20.4 KSMN-DT4 PBS HD Worthington, MN (15)
23.1 KCSD-DT PBS Sioux Falls (24)
36.1 KWSD-DT CW+ Sioux Falls (51)
46.1 KDLT-DT NBC Sioux Falls (47)
46.2 KDLT-DT2 NBC WX+ Sioux Falls (47)
billiefan2000 is offline  
post #1229 of 1416 Old 12-20-2008, 11:05 AM
Member
 
GravelChan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Colome, South Dakota, USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
billiefan,

For a comparison I like: tvfool.com

Click on:

"TV Signal Locator"
Enter your address or coordinates
I just use "15" feet for antenna height
"Find local channels"

Choose "only digital" or "only digital - post transition"

This will give you a list of available stations, distance, signal strength from your location.
GravelChan is offline  
post #1230 of 1416 Old 12-20-2008, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
billiefan2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GravelChan View Post

billiefan,

For a comparison I like: tvfool.com

Click on:

"TV Signal Locator"
Enter your address or coordinates
I just use "15" feet for antenna height
"Find local channels"

Choose "only digital" or "only digital - post transition"

This will give you a list of available stations, distance, signal strength from your location.


thanks


tvfool sorta reminds me of the http://www.radiolocator.com

website
billiefan2000 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off