Sioux City, IA / Sioux Falls, SD - HDTV - Page 42 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1231 of 1419 Old 12-21-2008, 10:09 PM
Newbie
 
tmonney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Sgt Bluff and have directtv, I will be adding an OTA to recieve local channels, do you have any suggestions for an OTA. I would cancel and switch to dishnetwork since they offer local channels but I have heard a lot of people complain about the pic quality and service
tmonney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1232 of 1419 Old 12-22-2008, 12:20 PM
Member
 
NickFluth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tmoney,

Do you currently have an HD receiver with DirecTV? If you have a HR20 or H20 you can just hook your OTA antenna up to the receiver and should be able to pull in the HD locals out of Sioux City. If you have an H21, HR21, HR22, or HR23 or even and R22 you would need to add an AM21 tuner sold by DirecTV to pull in the OTA signal ($50). The nice part is that DirecTV will provide your guide data and give you have the ability to record the locals OTA if you have a DVR. You might be required to have HD service, but I have heard of those with an R22 receiver (SD only) getting locals OTA. I am not sure if this is what you were asking, but it might help in any decision making you have to do.
NickFluth is offline  
post #1233 of 1419 Old 12-22-2008, 12:22 PM
Member
 
NickFluth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KTTW FOX 17

Just wanted to see if anyone else if having issues with this channel still. My signal strength is in the 75 to 85% range, but I still continue to get a LOT of pixeling and artifacts when viewing most days. It this just KTTW great quality, or do I need to adjust my antenna (with my signal strength I would think it's fine). Anyone have any thoughts? The wife will be upset if it continues one American Idol starts!!
NickFluth is offline  
post #1234 of 1419 Old 12-22-2008, 09:40 PM
Newbie
 
tmonney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply
I dont have a hdtv yet in the process, for now directv will just give me the basic satellite reciever which they say will accept an OTA and intergrate with the guide.
i was just wondering if anybody has any sugestions on OTA's
tmonney is offline  
post #1235 of 1419 Old 12-25-2008, 07:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickFluth View Post

KTTW FOX 17

Just wanted to see if anyone else if having issues with this channel still. My signal strength is in the 75 to 85% range, but I still continue to get a LOT of pixeling and artifacts when viewing most days. It this just KTTW great quality, or do I need to adjust my antenna (with my signal strength I would think it's fine). Anyone have any thoughts? The wife will be upset if it continues one American Idol starts!!

Only insight I can provide is on Terminator on Monday, Fringe, and some football on Sunday as that is all I watch on FOX. I am getting none of what you are seeing. Almost sounds like you are getting a multipath issue. Like a strong signal is bouncing off something or trees.

I have similar problems with KELO and KSFY at times. Especially in high winds, which is an antenna swaying problem on my part.
BVfan is offline  
post #1236 of 1419 Old 12-25-2008, 07:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmonney View Post

Thanks for the reply
I dont have a hdtv yet in the process, for now directv will just give me the basic satellite reciever which they say will accept an OTA and intergrate with the guide.
i was just wondering if anybody has any sugestions on OTA's

To start with, see if you can borrow a cheap set top antenna from a friend. You may not have to spend more than $20 on a cheap indoor from where you are.

Do you know what model Directv receiver they are going to give you. I did not think a basic/non HD model had an OTA tuner.
BVfan is offline  
post #1237 of 1419 Old 12-25-2008, 08:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by billiefan2000 View Post

Sioux City Iowa

2.1 KUSD-DT PBS Vermillion, SD (34)
4.1 KTIV-DT NBC Sioux City (41)
4.2 KTIV-DT2 CW+ Sioux City (41)
4.3 KTIV-DT3 RTN Sioux City (41)
9.1 KCAU-DT ABC Sioux City (30)
14.1 KMEG-DT CBS Sioux City (39)
27.1 KSIN-DT PBS HD Sioux City (28)
27.2 KSIN-DT2 Create Sioux City (28)
44.1 KPTH-DT FOX Sioux City (49)
44.2 KPTH-DT2 My/A1 Sioux City (49)



Sioux falls SD

11.1 KELO-DT CBS Sioux Falls (32)
11.2 KELO-DT2 My Sioux Falls (32)
13.1 KSFY-DT ABC Sioux Falls (29)
17.1 KTTW-DT FOX Sioux Falls (7)
20.1 KSMN-DT PBS Worthington, MN (15)
20.2 KSMN-DT2 Create Worthington, MN (15)
20.3 KSMN-DT3 MN Channel Worthington, MN (15)
20.4 KSMN-DT4 PBS HD Worthington, MN (15)
23.1 KCSD-DT PBS Sioux Falls (24)
36.1 KWSD-DT CW+ Sioux Falls (51)
46.1 KDLT-DT NBC Sioux Falls (47)
46.2 KDLT-DT2 NBC WX+ Sioux Falls (47)


Also 2.2, 9.2, 14.2 in SC I think there is a 27.3 also. I don't get a 4.3
Also 23.2 and 36.2 in SF.
BVfan is offline  
post #1238 of 1419 Old 12-29-2008, 09:34 PM
Member
 
dmadsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sioux City, Iowa
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For Sioux City digitals, yes there is a 9.2 (24x7 weather), 14.2 (TV Azteca) and 27.3. The 4.3 that is listed is a future possibility for KTIV. They have a contract with RTN (Retro TV) but the station doesn't yet have the equipment needed to carry the third sub channel. Last I heard, it was going to happen toward the end of next year.

Dave Madsen
formerly with KTIV
dmadsen is offline  
post #1239 of 1419 Old 01-01-2009, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmadsen View Post

For Sioux City digitals, yes there is a 9.2 (24x7 weather), 14.2 (TV Azteca) and 27.3. The 4.3 that is listed is a future possibility for KTIV. They have a contract with RTN (Retro TV) but the station doesn't yet have the equipment needed to carry the third sub channel. Last I heard, it was going to happen toward the end of next year.

Dave Madsen
formerly with KTIV

Dave,

I can see public channels adding all those subs, but is it really a good marketing decision for private enterprise. How many weather channels do I need? Do these extra subs produce enough revenue to justify them?

I guess adding programming like Retro TV may be of interest to their audience. That is the same programming 36.2 has here. But how many times can you watch Quincy or Airwolf? Now Magnum PI and The Rockford Files I can see.

I just hate the signal degredation. If you go to http://rabbitears.info/index.php
click on listing and look at the bitrate info I provided to Trip you can see that KMEG is now transmitting their HD channel at a lower bit rate that KELO. It was just the opposite prior to their adding the .2 sub.
BVfan is offline  
post #1240 of 1419 Old 01-01-2009, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe you all received the SDPBS flyer also ...

On January 5th SDPBS will be adding a .3 sub.

They are also changing the lineup around a bit.

The .1 channel will no longer broadcast the national HD PBS. It will broadcast South Dakota PBS in HD. That is the same programing we presently are seeing on .2 in SD

.2 channel will be PBS World - SD

.3 channel will be Create - SD

Maybe that means our DirecTV 23 that is in the HD menu will become true HD. Doubtful, but I can hope.
BVfan is offline  
post #1241 of 1419 Old 01-03-2009, 12:32 PM
Member
 
COLAVSFANINNWIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SE South Dakota
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also delete 46.2 from Sioux Falls. NBC no longer has their weather channel. Weather Plus I think it was called.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BVfan View Post

Also 2.2, 9.2, 14.2 in SC I think there is a 27.3 also. I don't get a 4.3
Also 23.2 and 36.2 in SF.

Quote:
Originally Posted by billiefan2000 View Post

OTS digitial stations

(is this accurate) cause I got this from:

http://www.northpine.com/broadcast/ia/tvmarkets.html

and:

http://www.northpine.com/broadcast/sd/tvmarkets.html



Sioux City Iowa

2.1 KUSD-DT PBS Vermillion, SD (34)
4.1 KTIV-DT NBC Sioux City (41)
4.2 KTIV-DT2 CW+ Sioux City (41)
4.3 KTIV-DT3 RTN Sioux City (41)
9.1 KCAU-DT ABC Sioux City (30)
14.1 KMEG-DT CBS Sioux City (39)
27.1 KSIN-DT PBS HD Sioux City (28)
27.2 KSIN-DT2 Create Sioux City (28)
44.1 KPTH-DT FOX Sioux City (49)
44.2 KPTH-DT2 My/A1 Sioux City (49)



Sioux falls SD

11.1 KELO-DT CBS Sioux Falls (32)
11.2 KELO-DT2 My Sioux Falls (32)
13.1 KSFY-DT ABC Sioux Falls (29)
17.1 KTTW-DT FOX Sioux Falls (7)
20.1 KSMN-DT PBS Worthington, MN (15)
20.2 KSMN-DT2 Create Worthington, MN (15)
20.3 KSMN-DT3 MN Channel Worthington, MN (15)
20.4 KSMN-DT4 PBS HD Worthington, MN (15)
23.1 KCSD-DT PBS Sioux Falls (24)
36.1 KWSD-DT CW+ Sioux Falls (51)
46.1 KDLT-DT NBC Sioux Falls (47)
46.2 KDLT-DT2 NBC WX+ Sioux Falls (47)

P.S.
To Dave M in Sioux City. Sorry to hear about you and KTIV. Thanks for your continuation of knowledge to this forum and may that knowledge find you well.

In case you didn't know, I am a Colorado Avalanche fan!
COLAVSFANINNWIA is offline  
post #1242 of 1419 Old 01-03-2009, 03:59 PM
Newbie
 
lillymunster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been able to pull in Nebraska PBS in Sioux Falls with some sort of deep fringe OTA set up? It looks like the closest antenna is in Norfolk, about 100-120 miles away.

According to what we have looked up we could pull SD, IA, MN PBS with a long range antenna but I can't find either a closer broadcast antenna for NE or a deep fringe that states it can get a signal from that far away.

We want to be able to get the multi channels from each state and NE happens to carry some content the others don't.
lillymunster is offline  
post #1243 of 1419 Old 01-04-2009, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmadsen View Post

For Sioux City digitals, yes there is a 9.2 (24x7 weather), 14.2 (TV Azteca) and 27.3. The 4.3 that is listed is a future possibility for KTIV. They have a contract with RTN (Retro TV) but the station doesn't yet have the equipment needed to carry the third sub channel. Last I heard, it was going to happen toward the end of next year.

Dave Madsen
formerly with KTIV

Whether RTN survives to that point is in question.

The network, which is carried on QNI-owned station KWWL-DT 7.3 out here (QNI also owns KTIV), is off the air right now. It has been replaced with a full-screen message:

"As of 5:00 AM on January 4, 2009, Equity Media Holdings Corp's contract to service the Retro Television Network has expired. EMHC attempted to coordinate a seamless transition, but despite repeated attempts to communicate with [new RTN owner] Luken Communications representatives, it received no response."

Then again, it could be just a matter of too many folks on the "top floor" taking a five-day holiday weekend and things could be back to normal by Monday. Who knows?

Interestingly, with NBC Weather Plus also kaput, KWWL is running full-screen stills on two subchannels today. The full-screen on Weather Plus indicates that "This TV" is coming soon to that channel. That could be another option for 4.3 if RTN falls through.

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #1244 of 1419 Old 01-04-2009, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
kesslerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's going on? No reception for KTTW-DT or KSFY-DT for a couple days.
Anyone seeing anything different?
kesslerm is offline  
post #1245 of 1419 Old 01-04-2009, 04:25 PM
Newbie
 
UNC Tar Heel Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KSFY-DT still not on the air. Seems like this happens every few months.

KTTW-DT has not been off the air that I have noticed. I'm watching the Vikes-Eagles game right now.
UNC Tar Heel Fan is offline  
post #1246 of 1419 Old 01-05-2009, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNC Tar Heel Fan View Post

KSFY-DT still not on the air. Seems like this happens every few months.

KTTW-DT has not been off the air that I have noticed. I'm watching the Vikes-Eagles game right now.

KSFY-HD has been MIA for a while. I've not noticed KTTW-HD off the air at all. I have noticed on DirecTV, that the feed is broken and pixelates alot.

I see KDLT is broacasting the same programing on .1 and .2 now.
BVfan is offline  
post #1247 of 1419 Old 01-05-2009, 10:56 AM
Member
 
GravelChan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Colome, South Dakota, USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lillymunster View Post

Has anyone been able to pull in Nebraska PBS in Sioux Falls with some sort of deep fringe OTA set up? It looks like the closest antenna is in Norfolk, about 100-120 miles away.

According to what we have looked up we could pull SD, IA, MN PBS with a long range antenna but I can't find either a closer broadcast antenna for NE or a deep fringe that states it can get a signal from that far away.

We want to be able to get the multi channels from each state and NE happens to carry some content the others don't.

Are you talking about the main channel, .1 or the sub channels .2 and .3. SD PBS as of today appears to have the same programming that NE PBS does on the .2 and .3 subchannels. I am in south central SD (Colome) and get KTSD as well as KMNE Basset, NE. KMNE puts a very good signal up my way, though of course out of your range.
GravelChan is offline  
post #1248 of 1419 Old 01-05-2009, 12:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dline View Post

Whether RTN survives to that point is in question.

The network, which is carried on QNI-owned station KWWL-DT 7.3 out here (QNI also owns KTIV), is off the air right now. It has been replaced with a full-screen message:

"As of 5:00 AM on January 4, 2009, Equity Media Holdings Corp's contract to service the Retro Television Network has expired. EMHC attempted to coordinate a seamless transition, but despite repeated attempts to communicate with [new RTN owner] Luken Communications representatives, it received no response."

Same message on KWSD 36.2 in Sioux Falls.
BVfan is offline  
post #1249 of 1419 Old 01-05-2009, 12:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
There's a new RTN national feed up until Luken gets everything sorted out. KWSD should move to it when they get the chance.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #1250 of 1419 Old 01-05-2009, 06:22 PM
Newbie
 
KC0SEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Midco and recently recieved a HDTV for Christmas (720p). The problem is that KELO-DT (along with UTV & WX Now) go on and off the air. I called a relative (the one that gave me the TV) who has the same model when I had the trouble. When he tuned to 11.1 he was able to get it, I was not. We both have cable.

The guy from the cable co. told me that it was "bleed-thru" and it was not them putting out the HD KELO on 11.1

To get to the point, was he (the tech at the cable company) feeding me a line or does midco really offer over-the-air HD content that is mapped to their proper channel numbers ?
KC0SEY is offline  
post #1251 of 1419 Old 01-05-2009, 06:41 PM
Member
 
mhaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KC0SEY View Post

To get to the point, was he (the tech at the cable company) feeding me a line or does midco really offer over-the-air HD content that is mapped to their proper channel numbers ?

I have Midco and I recently got a HDTV for the bedroom, I currently have a DVR connected to it, but when I first got it I connected straight cable to it and scanned for channels, I got the HD versions of the network channels along with the analog, I do believe they were mapped to the OTA channel numbers.
mhaider is offline  
post #1252 of 1419 Old 01-05-2009, 06:50 PM
Newbie
 
KC0SEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MHAIDER

I think that Midco is intermittently turning on/off the local HD channels that are in the clear to entice people to get their boxes. If this is true it's a good reason to leave them and get something else. That's just my opinion though...

Again Mhaider, thanks for your reply.
KC0SEY is offline  
post #1253 of 1419 Old 01-06-2009, 04:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By "bleed through", does he mean your signal is too strong? I would ask them to fix the "bleed through" at your location and see what his response is. I had a friend who said he could not get KELO-HD on cable one night. They may also have been just having trouble.
BVfan is offline  
post #1254 of 1419 Old 01-06-2009, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
BVfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sioux Falls SD
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just saw a notice on KDLT that they are going all digital February 1st, so I guess we'll find out who still uses analog that day instead of the 17th. Maybe others are too and I haven't seen the notice.
BVfan is offline  
post #1255 of 1419 Old 01-06-2009, 06:02 PM
Newbie
 
ScottyRambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Chancellor,SD
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVfan View Post

Maybe you all received the SDPBS flyer also ...

On January 5th SDPBS will be adding a .3 sub.

They are also changing the lineup around a bit.

The .1 channel will no longer broadcast the national HD PBS. It will broadcast South Dakota PBS in HD. That is the same programing we presently are seeing on .2 in SD

.2 channel will be PBS World - SD

.3 channel will be Create - SD

Maybe that means our DirecTV 23 that is in the HD menu will become true HD. Doubtful, but I can hope.

Has anyone seen any HD on the PBS 2.1 channel? Since they switched, I've only seen the SD feed there. The signal looks to be HD though.
ScottyRambo is offline  
post #1256 of 1419 Old 01-06-2009, 09:04 PM
Member
 
GravelChan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Colome, South Dakota, USA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyRambo View Post

Has anyone seen any HD on the PBS 2.1 channel? Since they switched, I've only seen the SD feed there. The signal looks to be HD though.

I don't think you will see any HD on .2 or .3, only on .1 only. Looks to me like they haven't quite got the switching down yet though. I was just watching KTSD Reliance and the .1 channel had a postage stamp picture but appeared to be in HD otherwise. Switched over to NE PBS out of Bassett and the same program was in full screen HD.

I was also looking at SD PBS program guide on the net. They were listing some programs on the .2 channel in HD. Apparently they need to work on that a little also. :-)
GravelChan is offline  
post #1257 of 1419 Old 01-07-2009, 08:36 AM
Member
 
NickFluth's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyRambo View Post

Has anyone seen any HD on the PBS 2.1 channel? Since they switched, I've only seen the SD feed there. The signal looks to be HD though.


Just a reminder that these channels are Digital, which does not necessarily mean they have HD programming. Since each channel send something like 19 Mbit/s of bandwidth, when they separate their channels into sub-channels they are splitting that bandwidth. This would make it hard to broadcast good quality HD on 2 channels. It could be done, but will not look very good. The lower sub-channels (.2, .3, etc..) will most likely always have SD content.
NickFluth is offline  
post #1258 of 1419 Old 01-08-2009, 01:22 AM
Newbie
 
KC0SEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BVfan View Post

By "bleed through", does he mean your signal is too strong? I would ask them to fix the "bleed through" at your location and see what his response is. I had a friend who said he could not get KELO-HD on cable one night. They may also have been just having trouble.

BVFAN

This tech from midco was essentially telling me that Over-The-Air signals were "bleeding thru"

If a OTA channel and a cable channel are the same (on analog) you get bars and interference. That's why in Brandon & Sioux Falls Channels 11 & 13 are blocked off. Also in Beresford Channel 2 (SDPB) can be seen with a little snow if you have cable hooked up.

But with DTV there is not that much room for interference, so I HIGHLY doubt this door-knob was correct
KC0SEY is offline  
post #1259 of 1419 Old 01-10-2009, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
BuffaloRidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Pipestone Minnesota and get all of the Sioux Falls digital channels except the digital versions of channel 36 (the CW) . I've seen in this forum that the digital channel for 36.1 is actually 51. I've tried that with no luck. Is there another digital channel for 36.2? Will this television station be increasing its power after February 17, 2009? If not, will they continue to broadcast in analog? I do receive pretty good analog reception of channel 36. Thanks for any information.
BuffaloRidge is offline  
post #1260 of 1419 Old 01-10-2009, 08:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
The signal is at very low power at the moment. After the transition, but not on the day of the transition, KWSD will return to channel 36 and boost power a lot (from 4.1 kW to 400 kW, while gaining 70 feet in height as well). Be patient and it will come to you.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off