Tri-Cities, TN-VA - HDTV - Page 17 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 513 Old 11-30-2011, 05:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
They did? Darn, I got that signal at my supervisor's house 150 miles away from the transmitter last week.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 513 Old 01-25-2012, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
jrm2492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has WATE and WVLT upped thier broadcat power in the past week? I am now picking both of these up with no issues here in Kingsport. I was only able to get WATE hit and miss prior to this and never got VLT?
jrm2492 is offline  
post #483 of 513 Old 02-06-2012, 03:17 PM
Senior Member
 
mcy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blowing Rock, NC
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just saw that the channel lineup for Charter Communications in Mountain City is now nearly identical to the lineup that I have through Charter in Boone, NC. The only differences are that on channel 4, we have HSN while they have WCYB-DT2 (CW 4), and they have a few extra digital channels like Bloomberg and GSN. They even have the same Charlotte locals in HD.

However, Johnson County either is or was part of the Tri-Cities market. We are in the Charlotte market, but Charter in Boone already carried four stations from the Tri-Cities market (WCYB, WJHL, WKPT, and WLFG). As far as I know, Charter in Mountain City already carried those same four stations with WCYB-DT2 being the only other Tri-Cities station on there. For some reason, they had WCCB from Charlotte as their Fox affiliate instead of WEMT.

I checked DirecTV's website and they still show Mountain City receiving the Tri-Cities locals. Can someone officially confirm that Johnson County is still part of the Tri-Cities market? Also, if anyone from Mountain City can confirm the information I provided, that would be great!
mcy919 is offline  
post #484 of 513 Old 02-07-2012, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Neil Griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Given Mountain City's location, they may not have been able to get a usable over the air signal from WEMT before it moved to Holston Mountain.
Neil Griffin is offline  
post #485 of 513 Old 03-05-2012, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
jrm2492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am here in Kingsport, just replaced my old antenna with a new one. I am picking up all locals 2,2.1.2.3,5,5.1,5.2,5.3,11.1,11.2,11.3,19.1,19.2,19.3,39.1,3 9.2 along with a few lp analogs. I am also picking up with no issues 6.1, 8.1,8.2,43.1,43.2 out of knoxville theyt are all between 60-80% strength,and 13.1,13.2,13.3 out of Asheville. I have tried to pick up 10,WBIR without even a blip? It is my understanding that thier tower is located almost adjacent to 6,8,and 43? Any suggestions? or am I just hopeing for too much? Also has any body in the area had any luck picking up whky or the channel out of Harlen or are the mountains just too much?
jrm2492 is offline  
post #486 of 513 Old 03-05-2012, 08:23 AM
Senior Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 5 mi SW of Morganton, NC
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm2492 View Post

I am here in Kingsport, just replaced my old antenna with a new one. I am picking up all locals 2,2.1.2.3,5,5.1,5.2,5.3,11.1,11.2,11.3,19.1,19.2,19.3,39.1,3 9.2 along with a few lp analogs. I am also picking up with no issues 6.1, 8.1,8.2,43.1,43.2 out of knoxville theyt are all between 60-80% strength,and 13.1,13.2,13.3 out of Asheville. I have tried to pick up 10,WBIR without even a blip? It is my understanding that thier tower is located almost adjacent to 6,8,and 43? Any suggestions? or am I just hopeing for too much? Also has any body in the area had any luck picking up whky or the channel out of Harlen or are the mountains just too much?

Problem with WBIR is likely adjacent channel interference; WJHL transmits on ch 11, WBIR on ch 10. Since you're closer to WJHL, it's too much for WBIR to overcome.

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
post #487 of 513 Old 03-06-2012, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
jrm2492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why would I not have the same issue with 6.1 and 5.1?
BTW this is actually turning into a fun hobby, I just wish this forum was more active.
jrm2492 is offline  
post #488 of 513 Old 03-06-2012, 06:36 AM
Senior Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 5 mi SW of Morganton, NC
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm2492 View Post

Why would I not have the same issue with 6.1 and 5.1?
BTW this is actually turning into a fun hobby, I just wish this forum was more active.

Because they are NOT adjacent - WATE transmits on ch 26, WCYB on ch 5. During the digital transition, some stations reverted to transmitting on their "historical" channel while others remained on their pre-transition channel or changed to a different one. Station equipment -- via your TV tuner, converter box, etc -- converts your on-screen display to the "historical" channel number so that it maintains that familiarity with the viewing audience. But, it makes it a misleading pain for selecting the appropriate antenna. Sometimes that station equipment malfunctions, and there maybe times when you tune to WATE and you actually see it display as channel 26 or WKPT as channel 27 (instead of 19), and so on.

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
post #489 of 513 Old 03-06-2012, 08:45 AM
Newbie
 
jrm2492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what you are saying is that 6 actually brodcasts s on 26? What other channles do that?
jrm2492 is offline  
post #490 of 513 Old 03-06-2012, 11:22 AM
Senior Member
 
eacalhoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 5 mi SW of Morganton, NC
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrm2492 View Post

So what you are saying is that 6 actually brodcasts s on 26? What other channles do that?

Yes, WATE channel 6 transmits on channel 26 - but your tuner displays WATE as channel 6. Here's the best website - I can think of - that shows the answer to your 2nd question:

http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?opti...id=66&Itemid=1

Fill in your address and the info it asks for - then on the results you will see a channel column. Under the channel column you will see the transmitting or RF channel for the station. In parentheses, you will see the display or virtual channel number - unfortunately, this is not provided for every channel. But, if you have familiarity with a station's callsign, you can figure it out.

Eric Calhoun

"If it was simple, anyone could do it" - Roy Clark from Hee Haw
eacalhoun is offline  
post #491 of 513 Old 03-06-2012, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
mcy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blowing Rock, NC
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You can also do an address or zip code search on RabbitEars, which will provide most of the information you need for stations you may receive. However, it does not list analog stations unless they have applied with the FCC to switch to digital:

http://www.rabbitears.info/search.php

You can do a signal strength search to see which stations may come in the best at your address, or you can just view the distance to all of the stations' transmitters within 40, 60, 80, or 100 miles. However, you can go up to 120 miles by changing the number after miles= in the web address bar. Changing the mileage can be useful, especially since the fourth strongest station on my RabbitEars list is 108 miles away!
mcy919 is offline  
post #492 of 513 Old 03-07-2012, 04:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcy919 View Post

You can also do an address or zip code search on RabbitEars, which will provide most of the information you need for stations you may receive. However, it does not list analog stations unless they have applied with the FCC to switch to digital:

Actually, I only list stations if they are operating digitally, have operated digitally (and still hold a license), or I have reason to believe the station will sign on soon. There are plenty of stations that have applied or hold permits that are not listed in that search.

Quote:


However, you can go up to 120 miles by changing the number after miles= in the web address bar. Changing the mileage can be useful, especially since the fourth strongest station on my RabbitEars list is 108 miles away!

Someone's observant! I have capped it at 120 miles to keep the server from drowning in strength search processing; it's not very fast.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #493 of 513 Old 03-07-2012, 10:31 AM
Newbie
 
jrm2492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did something happen to wcyb since the storms last week? I can pick it up but very weak signal, every other channel is fine. I swapped out antennas last week before the storms and just want to see if it is on my end or thiers. I am thinking that maybe my signal is too strong maybe? I tried dialing down my amp but still same results.
jrm2492 is offline  
post #494 of 513 Old 03-07-2012, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
mcy919's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blowing Rock, NC
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trip in VA View Post

Someone's observant! I have capped it at 120 miles to keep the server from drowning in strength search processing; it's not very fast.

- Trip

It's fine with me! The main reason I tried changing the mileage is because another site showed WMYA in Anderson, SC being one of my strongest stations, but it's 108 miles away. If you would like, I can edit my previous message and remove the part about changing the mileage.
mcy919 is offline  
post #495 of 513 Old 03-07-2012, 10:59 AM
Newbie
 
jrm2492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok i believe the issue is on my end....my meter for 5 jumps off the high end, any suggestions on how to fix this while still recieving my other signals. BTW I have learned a lot in the past few days about all of this, Thanks. Especially useful info about what channles actually broadcat on. I found out that if I tune my tv to thier actual channel ie 6 to 26 I can seee the strenght meter now, was sort of wondering about that. another question, short of moving to nc any suggestions on how to pick up nc channels here in kingsport or is that just a pipe dream?
jrm2492 is offline  
post #496 of 513 Old 03-07-2012, 11:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcy919 View Post

It's fine with me! The main reason I tried changing the mileage is because another site showed WMYA in Anderson, SC being one of my strongest stations, but it's 108 miles away. If you would like, I can edit my previous message and remove the part about changing the mileage.

No worries, leave it as-is. It's pretty obvious to most people that you can toy with the mileage number.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #497 of 513 Old 03-27-2012, 05:11 PM
Member
 
brian1269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This via Charter support on Twitter: "It looks like TN is looking to add 20 - 45 new HD channels by the end of the year. No launch dates have been set yet."

Looking forward to it. Hopefully they will fill out their lineup with HD channels like AMC, Travel, news channels, CSS, SportSouth, etc.
brian1269 is offline  
post #498 of 513 Old 04-03-2012, 05:39 PM
Member
 
onslowtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The WJHL and WCYB FCC channel change info on Rabbitears.info has disappeared for some reason. All other stations requesting changes are still on the site. I think the applications are still active.
onslowtn is offline  
post #499 of 513 Old 04-03-2012, 05:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Fixed it. Code issue, old version of the page showed up.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #500 of 513 Old 04-18-2012, 10:03 AM
Newbie
 
jrm2492's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did something happen to WMET fox 39? It just disapppeared yesterday and I cannot recieve it. I am getting 5 and 11 just fine and I think that thier new transmitor is adjacent to those, so what gives?
jrm2492 is offline  
post #501 of 513 Old 04-22-2012, 08:49 PM
Member
 
Emma-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had a friend send me the following:

Just checked the mail and had a "exciting new features from Comcast/Xfinity cable." Beginning in June if you don't have one of their dandy digital boxes on each and every tv in your home, you'll only be able to get channels 2-16 no matter what your package is. But for a "small charge" you can have a converter box for each tv to insure all the channels to be available.

Sounds like anyone that's getting free hd channels without a box is coming to the end of the line.
Emma-B is offline  
post #502 of 513 Old 04-24-2012, 05:40 AM
Senior Member
 
jimc705's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: morristown tn
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see anything on here about 5 CYB and 11 JHL with issues. I live in Morristown and have been enjoying programming from these stations for several years in HD. However lately signal level has dropped from 100% for JHL to mid 70's sometimes 60's and CYB stayed about the same low 70's. Never had an issue with these stations before but now it's less then 50/50 chance I can watch them. 19 KPT no problem at all signal about the same was 100% has dropped a little I suspect that has to do with leaves. 5 and 11 I still get a lock but the data stream must really be messed up totally can not watch.
Since CYB 5 went back to RF5 digital their signal has never been exceptional but when 11 dropped back to 11 they have been about the same. Low band VHF sucks for digital reception especially when you put some distance on it.
Anyone else having trouble within the last few weeks with these stations. No problem with Knoxville's Norton or Asheville just 5 and 11?
jimc705 is offline  
post #503 of 513 Old 04-24-2012, 05:43 AM
Senior Member
 
jimc705's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: morristown tn
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JRM 2492
None in Morristown WEMT still 100% signal.
jimc705 is offline  
post #504 of 513 Old 04-24-2012, 06:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Are you sure there isn't damage to the VHF section of your antenna?

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #505 of 513 Old 05-05-2012, 05:37 AM
Member
 
onslowtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wonder if WJHL and WCYB have received FCC approval to move to Ch.28 and 29. They were both going after Ch 29, but WJHL switched to 28. I am curious if Ch 5 and 11 will be reused by another broadcaster in this market.
onslowtn is offline  
post #506 of 513 Old 05-05-2012, 05:39 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
No change in status of those petitions.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #507 of 513 Old 05-26-2012, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
LMUBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cumberland Gap, TN
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is WJHL not broadcasting at full power?

My antenna was out of service for a while (cheap Lowes antenna pole bent in two during bad storm) and finally got it set up again the other day. WJHL used to be one of my better stations and now I get NOTHING on 11, yet 5, 10, and 12 (WYMT) come in fine. And the only difference in WEMT now compared to before they moved is that I don't get their signal for 270 degrees of my antenna's rotation any more.... more like 120 now.

Also have trouble getting WVLT to come in, but I think that is on their end since others have the same issue.
LMUBill is offline  
post #508 of 513 Old 05-30-2012, 01:35 PM
Member
 
onslowtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I notice that RTV/ Luken communications has got FCC approval for it's low power DTV transmitter near Baileyton. I wonder when it will go on air.
onslowtn is offline  
post #509 of 513 Old 05-30-2012, 05:14 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
We have a November 1 deadline.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #510 of 513 Old 03-28-2013, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
kutbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just saw where WSBN and WMSY Blue Ridge PBS would be going off the air by June. Very disappointing I have watched WSBN for over 30 years.
kutbert is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off