Little Rock, AR - HDTV - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 12525 Old 04-16-2004, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As much as I disdain it too, multicasting is only going to get worse if pay services like USDTV go nationwide. Local stations won't be able to resist reselling multiple SD channels to these "wireless cable" providers.
arxaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 12525 Old 04-17-2004, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Arkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Harrison, Arkansas
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The local cable here in Harrison provides analog channels 4, 7 and 11 to their viewers. How are they able to get those signals from Little Rock?
Arkie is offline  
post #453 of 12525 Old 04-17-2004, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Arkie
The local cable here in Harrison provides analog channels 4, 7 and 11 to their viewers. How are they able to get those signals from Little Rock?

Most likely path: Satellite Uplink/Downlink.
arxaw is offline  
post #454 of 12525 Old 04-19-2004, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
allen,

Will KLRT-DT be ready for FOX-HD?
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=391168
arxaw is offline  
post #455 of 12525 Old 04-20-2004, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm too lazy to hunt for it, but I thought he already said they're ready to go as soon as they get the HDTV broadcasts.

Azanon
Azanon is offline  
post #456 of 12525 Old 04-20-2004, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
heheh, I couldn't remember and was also too lazy to search...
arxaw is offline  
post #457 of 12525 Old 04-23-2004, 07:19 AM
Member
 
allenf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ferndale, Arkansas
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KLRT should be receiving the stream splicer sometime this summer. I am working on getting firmer date. Once the splicer is installed, we'll be ready the pass along 720p as soon as FOX provides it. As a side note for folks receiving HD via Comcast, the local Comcast provider has refused to carry us because we are not currently "true HD". Hopefully, they will consider 720P "true HD" and we will be added to their HD tier.

Allen
allenf is offline  
post #458 of 12525 Old 04-23-2004, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
allenf,
Thanks for the info. Perhaps the lack of comcast et al carriage because of no HD programming on fox was part of the reason fox decided to upgrade to HD. If so, I'm glad the cablecos are holding out for HD before adding them to their digital packages.

I don't want them to carry KARK either until they go HD. No cable carriage will help continue the complaints to come into KARK, Nexstar & the FCC about 4's crappy SD low power signal

I also heard that most FOX affiliates will be doing local HD by 2006. Any truth to that rumor? --Sam
arxaw is offline  
post #459 of 12525 Old 04-26-2004, 08:49 AM
Member
 
wangdang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Little Rock 72116
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone heard any news lately on whether or not KARK will make the effort to bump the power of the the OTA HD broadcast of the Olympics ?
wangdang is offline  
post #460 of 12525 Old 04-26-2004, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Official reply from Perry Chester:
Nexstar, KARK's owner, has NO plans for HDTV on KARK-DT.
Nexstar, KARK's owner, has NO plans to increase the piss-poor power level on their DTV station until forced to do so by the FCC.

So, no Olympics in HD in LR (unless HDnet is allowed to carry them, as in the past).

Send complaints to:
email: pchester@kark.com
FAX: 501 340-4425
arxaw is offline  
post #461 of 12525 Old 04-28-2004, 07:20 PM
Member
 
dlott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=395782

I think we knew Nexstar would do something like this, but I am hoping this is not in Clear Channel's plans for KLRT.

/ Dennis
dlott is offline  
post #462 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I fear that eventually everything on free OTA DTV will end up being SD 480i. If you want HD, you'll have to either subscribe to cable, satellite or one of these new multichannel OTA services

If there's a profit to be made in selling what many broadcasters view as "excess" bandwidth, the local stations will sell it. It's exactly what cable and satellite have done with digital signals - compress the hell out of it, resulting in blurry basic SD service, then offer HD channels as a premium service.

[allenf, any word on ClearChannel's plans re this?]
arxaw is offline  
post #463 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 05:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Nexstar, KARK's owner, has NO plans for HDTV on KARK-DT.
Nexstar, KARK's owner, has NO plans to increase the piss-poor power level on their DTV station until forced to do so by the FCC.

I have NO plans to watch KARK anytime soon.

......

I have me a RS UHF indoor double bowtie antenna on order, so i'll compare it to the silver sensor. I dont mind paying whatever it takes to get the best picture possible. Unfortunately, Radio shack doesnt carry this antenna locally.

BTW, does anyone know someone in LR qualified to install a roof antenna? (including mounts) on a two story house? Money is not a problem. I'll pay a fair rate if someone can do this for me. It sucks to have to resort to an indoor antenna.
Azanon is offline  
post #464 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Azanon,
Call Custom Satellite and ask them if they will install an antenna that you've purchased elsewhere. They will probably do it - for a price.

What station(s) are you having problems with? What antenna(s) are you using now?

I'm getting 100% signal strength on all digital locals except KARK-DT, which usually is ~77%. I'm using a CM 4221 4-bay bowtie + CM 7777 preamp.
arxaw is offline  
post #465 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm using a Zenith Silver Sensor w/o a preamp.

Only speaking digital here, i have the most trouble with Fox, and UPN with the SS. ABC can sometimes be problematic. The only one i get with virtually no dropout is CBS.

I have a CM 4221A outdoor antenna in my garage, but I tried and failed to install it myself. There's no way i'm getting on my roof.
Azanon is offline  
post #466 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Azanon,
If your house is newer, it may have a foil-backed radiant barrier in the exterior walls to reduce radiant heat gain. If so, this would explain your reception problems on full power stations like KLRT-DT & KASN-DT.

How did you "fail" to install the 4221? What went wrong?
arxaw is offline  
post #467 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 11:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My roof's too high and steep, and i'm afraid of heights, lol. I had a friend try to hook it onto the back of my D* dish, but with anything touching my dish, it caused my satellite to go out. I dont think he was enthused about it enough to bother with installing a mount for me, and i didnt want to be pushy.

I'm basically going to need a separate mount for it, though I already have the antenna cable rigged to the roof (the endpiece is unattached lying besides my satellite dish atm).

I'll let ya know how the indoor RS double bowtie works out when it comes it. It was only 14.99 so its worth a try. If I can get one indoor antenna to pick up shinall good and the other one redfield, then i might just get a switcher so i dont have to get up to rotate the antenna every time i change the station.

(edit) regarding having trouble with 16 and 38, i did notice something really strange. When they do come in, the signal strengh (using the feature on my STB) is always stronger than ABC and CBS, but it drops out on me more. It goes from near pegging the meter, to the bottom causing a dropout. Maybe that has something to do with what you suggested. My house was built in 1995.
Azanon is offline  
post #468 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 12:54 PM
Member
 
dlott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm using a CM 4221 and CM 7777 preamp with a Model 9521A rotator. Works great, even can get KVTN without any problem. Glad I listened to arxaw. If you can get that 4221 mounted I don't think you should have a problem.

/ Dennis
dlott is offline  
post #469 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Azanon
... regarding having trouble with 16 and 38, i did notice something really strange. When they do come in, the signal strengh (using the feature on my STB) is always stronger than ABC and CBS, but it drops out on me more. It goes from near pegging the meter, to the bottom causing a dropout. Maybe that has something to do with what you suggested. My house was built in 1995.

Nothing strange about it. Sounds like a typical multipath problem. Unfortunately, like most indoor antennas, the RS DBT doesn't deal with multipath too well either. But you may as well try it, since you've already ordered it.... ya never know *what* will work with OTA reception.

Hopefully, new OTA receivers with the LINX multipath-negating chips will be out before too long. This technology uses multipath to its advantage by taking bounced signals and combining them to increase signal strength. Supposedly, you can use just about any ol' antenna with them - no aiming required. Look for this chip in RCA/Thomson receivers sometime in '05.
arxaw is offline  
post #470 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dlott
I'm using a CM 4221 and CM 7777 preamp with a Model 9521A rotator. Works great, even can get KVTN without any problem.

Dennis,
Glad the combo is working for you.

I haven't really tried to pick up KVTN-DT, but you're the first person I know of who actually can receive that low power station. Their digital antenna is only ~300 ft off the ground, compared to 1500 - 1800' for other locals. --Sam
arxaw is offline  
post #471 of 12525 Old 04-29-2004, 05:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jstrossner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Voom pre-programs local OTA into the program guide. I can always see what's on Kvtn but, needless to say, I've never seen a picture in Conway!
jstrossner is offline  
post #472 of 12525 Old 04-30-2004, 05:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jstrossner,
How are you liking VOOM?
Is the OTA tuner very good?
Are installers located in Conway, or are they in LR? If LR, what company does the install?
arxaw is offline  
post #473 of 12525 Old 04-30-2004, 02:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jstrossner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sam,
So far, I have been very pleased with Voom. With $0 and no contract I figured I'd give it a try and see how it worked out. The OTA tuner is better than my Sony HD 300---the Sony won't pickup ABC but Voom does. HD pq is better with Voom and SD is the same as D*. Voom contracts with Installs Inc. for installation. A company in LR installed mine. I was somewhat worried after reading some installation horror stories, but my installer was top-notch. I can't remember the name of the company but it wasn't Broadway or any other that I have heard of. About the only HD I don't get is INHD, Hdnet, Hdnet Movies. Espn is being added today and Tnt is supposed to be on next month. You get the east and west coast channels and other nonHD premiums not available on D* like Showtime extreme and ActionMax.
jstrossner is offline  
post #474 of 12525 Old 05-01-2004, 05:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jstrossner,
The install company may have been Custom Satellite.

You're lucky you can get KATV-DT. They are using a directional antenna to beam their very low power signal toward WLR. There are folks in NLR and downtown LR that can't get KATV-DT.

I get CBS-HD E&W and will soon get FOX-HD on DirecTV. It's a good backup when the local affiliate is covering the screen with election results, weather warnings, etc., or when they pre-empt a program with some other local crap. I had to "move" my service address to get the E/W coast feeds.
arxaw is offline  
post #475 of 12525 Old 05-01-2004, 06:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
jstrossner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sam,

I think it was Custom Satellite.

I have the network package on D* as well. It's nice being able to get 5.1 audio while we wait for KTHV to upgrade their audio.
jstrossner is offline  
post #476 of 12525 Old 05-01-2004, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Paying for locals Sam? Ok.... fess up... who stole Sam's account?

Azanon
Azanon is offline  
post #477 of 12525 Old 05-03-2004, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Tusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey arwax,

Where did you "move" to? I am switching to D* this week and am currently "packing".
Tusk is offline  
post #478 of 12525 Old 05-04-2004, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Azanon
Paying for locals Sam?

Nope, not locals. I get those FREE OTA. I "moved" my D* service address to get the Distant Networks (NY & LA).

It comes in very handy for CBS-HD when KTHV-DT's sound goes crazy or they forget to flip the HD switch on 11-1. I can also watch CBS HD network shows later in the evening on KCBS-DT from LA.


Tusk,
I moved to a "white area" in Arkansas. Try addresses of small towns in stone & newton counties. There are others.....

You need to make sure the address is not served by Pegasus (a D* reseller). Do that here:
http://www.localprovider.org/index.jsp

Then, search for a DirecTV white area here:
http://directvdnseligibility.decisio...dressEntry.asp

If you just want the LR locals on D*, I would wait. DirecTV 7-S satellite for new local markets is launching TODAY. You can view the launch on DirecTV channel 855.
arxaw is offline  
post #479 of 12525 Old 05-04-2004, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hmm, that doesnt sound honest to me, no offense intended to you of course. I register "strong signal" on that for all stations, so i'm not eligible for Distant Network Service. Its no biggie though since DT 11 is my easiest to receive signal, and i'll only miss out when they put up local shows over the main broadcast.

My new indoor antenna came in yesterday, but hopefully i'll get a chance to try it today.

Azanon
Azanon is offline  
post #480 of 12525 Old 05-04-2004, 10:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Azanon
Hmm, that doesnt sound honest to me, no offense intended to you of course.

Offense not taken.

However, it's not like I'm stealing anything. I pay DirecTV for the a-la-carte distant nets. Anyway, I normally watch CBS-HD on 11-1 because it's slightly sharper than CBS-HD on D*. But when 11 sometimes screws up the audio (like CSI last night) or forgets to throw the HD switch (golf over the weekend), I like having a backup source of HD.

If you read the posts from D* reps over at DBSForums.com, DirecTV knows that a lot of people "move" to a different service address to get the locals, or to get away from crappy Pegasus resellers. I doubt that D* really cares, as long as they're following the law and their customers are happy.
arxaw is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off