Little Rock, AR - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 12529 Old 08-28-2003, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Azanon
My work around for now is to just use one of sony's "digital cinema surround" fields which default to a Front left, center, right, rear dual or single channel, and then the sound is output in a modified pro-logic form for cbs and abc.

Azanon,
Have you tried toggling the Zenith STB audio output between PCM & DD?

Selecting PCM may give you more sound options or better sound via the digital audio connection.

____________________________________

Email the GM at KARK-DT and tell him you want NBC in HD.
pchester@kark.com
arxaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 12529 Old 08-28-2003, 06:53 PM
Newbie
 
tmcelmurry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I would let everyone know that Inhd is on Comcast in Little rock now. It is showing up on channel 174.
tmcelmurry is offline  
post #183 of 12529 Old 08-29-2003, 07:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Have you tried toggling the Zenith STB audio output between PCM & DD?

Sorry, not sure what PCM is. Are you asking me if i've compared Stereo L/R output to Dolby Digital?

I can tell you even before i do that, that the dolby digital will certainly be superior to DPL on stations that use it (HDNet, HD Movies, HD PPV). Dolby digital is amazing. I'm sort of surprised you're putting this off.

Azanon
Azanon is offline  
post #184 of 12529 Old 08-29-2003, 01:23 PM
hpb
Member
 
hpb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Maumelle, AR USA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What 's INHD

We put the "K" in Kwality
hpb is offline  
post #185 of 12529 Old 08-29-2003, 01:28 PM
hpb
Member
 
hpb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Maumelle, AR USA
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PCM is Pulse Code Modulation.

It is how "normal" left +right stereo is stored in a digital format. Audio CDs use PCM as the format to store the digital data stream to the disc.

Most if not all DVD players and home receivers have a setting to switch from DD 5.1 to PCM. This allows you to use the Digital to analog converters in your receiver (they are usually of a much higher quality) instead of the D to A converters in your DVD/STB.

You will still need to use either digital coax or toslink if you switch to PCM. Your L+R RCA connectors are not used.

We put the "K" in Kwality
hpb is offline  
post #186 of 12529 Old 08-29-2003, 04:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jstrossner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


What 's INHD


It's a new hd channel.
http://www.inhd.com/
jstrossner is offline  
post #187 of 12529 Old 09-15-2003, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If anyone from KTHV or KATV is reading this forum, can one of you tell me when you guys intend to transmit DD 5.1 sound to go with the HD picture on your digital stations?

I live here in WLR, and get both HD channels via OTA antenna with no dropouts, but it would sure be nice to hear DD 5.1 sound to go with the beautiful picture.

HDNet is easily the most impressive channel I have, simply because the combination of picture and DD 5.1 sound is amazing.

Thanks,
Azanon is offline  
post #188 of 12529 Old 09-15-2003, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Azanon,

Did you notice any difference between the DD5.1 & PCM settings on your Zenith STB?

Did "PCM" give you better sound or more options to control DD 2-channel sound?
arxaw is offline  
post #189 of 12529 Old 09-15-2003, 11:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No it did not. Going to PCM didnt give me any new options for non-DD 5.1 sources. I still had to manually tell the receiver to use a DPL sound field. On DD 5.1 stations (ie: HDNet), i didnt get DD 5.1 sound using PCM, so using the "dolby digital" setting is a must it seems.
Azanon is offline  
post #190 of 12529 Old 10-15-2003, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Saw this in the HDTV programming forum:
"
An engineer from the Dallas-Fort Worth UPN affiliate, KTXA-DT/TV is reporting that effective next week we'll be seeing Wednesday's broadcast of "Enterprise", "Jake 2.0", and some of the Friday night UPN movies in HD! So this is major good news, even if it does create a new programming conflict for me ("Enterprise" and "Smallville", head to head in HD)...

For those who are curious to see the original posting for themselves, go to <<a href="http://dhtg.napurano.com/" target="_blank">http://dhtg.napurano.com/> and follow the links to the HD programming forum.

"

I get 38-1 perfect, so I guess i'm wondering if our local UPN will be ready to transmit HD signals, or is 38-1 currently just DTV?

Azanon
Azanon is offline  
post #191 of 12529 Old 10-16-2003, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Azanon
... I get 38-1 perfect, so I guess i'm wondering if our local UPN will be ready to transmit HD signals...

I have been informed by KLRT/KASN Chief Engineer Allen Finne that Little Rock/Pine Bluff UPN affiliate KASN-DT (38-1) may have Enterprise in HD next week

Thanks Allen!



-- Sam
arxaw is offline  
post #192 of 12529 Old 10-16-2003, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Azanon, what channel are you receiving "Smallville" on in HD?
arxaw is offline  
post #193 of 12529 Old 10-16-2003, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sam,

Ok i think i'm confused. Is "WB" and UPN 38 the same station? I havent been watching smallville, but i assume it would come on both 38, and 38-1 on wednesday night. I'm not at the house right now, so i can verify with my channel lineup. My understanding was that UPN 38 wasn't transmitting HD signals here locally.

Our channel lists should be the same, Sam. I'm using DTV/OTA like you.

But supposedly, last night was the first night that UPN showed Enterprise in HD. I was not at home at the time, so i wasnt there to see if Enterprise was being shown in HD.

Azanon
Azanon is offline  
post #194 of 12529 Old 10-16-2003, 10:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I pretty much only watch HD channels now, except for the occasional CNN, or maybe SNL on sat night. I'd rather watch paint dry in HDTV, than most any SD station.
Azanon is offline  
post #195 of 12529 Old 10-16-2003, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Azanon
... Is "WB" and UPN 38 the same station?

No.

KWBF (the WB) is broadcast on analog channel 42. AFAIK, they don't even have a digital channel assigned yet. Smallville is a WB program, not UPN.

KASN (UPN) is broadcast on analog channel 38 & digital channel 39.
arxaw is offline  
post #196 of 12529 Old 10-16-2003, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's great new about Enterprise. What about Jake 2.0, and the UPN Friday night movie? Here's a post from another UPN local affiliate (not Little Rock) from the HDTV programming forums:

"If you want to spread the news to the forum.....UPN is feeding us native 1080i on Enterprise and Jake2.0 starting tomorrow at 8 PM._ UPN will also feed the Friday UPN movie in native HD starting on the 24th of October at 8 PM with "Double Take"._ As far as I know Wednesday nites will continue in HD until further notice._ movies on fridays will be occasionally HD not always._ Audio is in Stereo not 5.1"

Another HDTV station to add to the mix! Wee! Who will be next?


And for my closure:
Hello KARK and KLRT, 20th century called.... they want their SD programming back! LOL.

Azanon
Azanon is offline  
post #197 of 12529 Old 10-16-2003, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I sent this email to KARK today, specifically gyarbrough@kark.com

"Dear KARK,

Just writing a brief email to say that I look forward to you guys adding HDTV transmissions to your capabilities. I'm currently receiving HDTV transmission from both CBS and ABC via my OTA antenna, but would be overjoyed to be able to add KARK/NBC to the mix with great programs such as Law and Order and Jay Leno. To be completely honest, I no longer watch NBC for this reason, and felt it was only fair that I told you guys why you have lost me as a viewer.

Sincerely,

Bradley Myers"

Azanon
Azanon is offline  
post #198 of 12529 Old 10-22-2003, 12:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
jstrossner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone in Central AR recently purchased/upgraded to the Sony hd300 receiver? I got one last week and I'm having problems with Katv (7.1). Abc comes in fine on my hd100 and built-in xbr2 tuner, but is very pixelated on the 300 and drops out. I get a signal strength of 86 on the hd100 and barely to the N in normal on the hd300. I have tried a second 300 and it gives a no signal message. I can switch from the 100 to the 300 with consistent results--good on the 100 and unwatchable on the 300.

Sam, Allen, any ideas or suggestions?

Any word on PBS?


Thanks,
Jeff
jstrossner is offline  
post #199 of 12529 Old 10-22-2003, 01:20 PM
Member
 
allenf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ferndale, Arkansas
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am pleased to announce that KASN-DT will be broadcasting UPN Network in HD Wednesday and Friday evenings beginning tonight.

Allen
allenf is offline  
post #200 of 12529 Old 10-22-2003, 09:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's awesome allen... i'll make sure and tune in for some HD UPN.
Azanon is offline  
post #201 of 12529 Old 10-23-2003, 05:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, Allen!

Your hard work is appreciated


--
Sam
arxaw is offline  
post #202 of 12529 Old 10-23-2003, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jstrossner
... I can switch from the 100 to the 300 with consistent results-- [abc is] good on the 100 and unwatchable on the 300.

That's odd that you're having problems on two separate 300s. A very wild guess here, but perhaps the tuners in that new model STB have a problem with certain channels? I would definitely call Sony or LG and explain your problem to them. If they offer no suggestions, return the 300 for refund while you can.

I'm getting 100% SS on KATV-DT here with a CM 42221 mounted on the chimney. I also get KATV-DT ~93% using 2 horizontally stacked Silver Sensors in the attic, aimed at a hill roughly 110° away from the transmitter.

Antenna pics here
arxaw is offline  
post #203 of 12529 Old 10-23-2003, 06:51 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
jstrossner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sam--I called Sony yesterday. They'll look in to the matter. A guy in Roanoke, VA got an LG yesterday and is having similar problems with his FOX station and some breakups on ABC--they both come in fine on a Samsung.


Allen--picture looked great last night!
jstrossner is offline  
post #204 of 12529 Old 10-23-2003, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jstrossner,
This may be way out in left field, but if you want to, try:

1. Removing your ZIP Code (or change it to all Zeros) in the setup menus.
2. Reboot and rescan the local OTA digitals.

See if that makes any difference in reception.
arxaw is offline  
post #205 of 12529 Old 10-23-2003, 11:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
jstrossner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Removing your ZIP Code (or change it to all Zeros) in the setup menus.
2. Reboot and rescan the local OTA digitals.

See if that makes any difference in reception.
__________________________________________________________

Sam,
Tried the above with no success. It seems that some folks on the east coast are having similar problems with the LG version.
jstrossner is offline  
post #206 of 12529 Old 10-23-2003, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd return it.

Sounds like most other typical newly-released STBs lately. Not quite ready for prime time....

I've looked at that STB, but didn't like the fact that you can't make a custom guide the default guide. You have to step through some stupid menus to get to a custom guide. Whose idea was that?
arxaw is offline  
post #207 of 12529 Old 10-27-2003, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Azanon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Allen,

Last night was my first opportunity to watch Enterprise on digital UPN (38-1 for me) and see if it was being broadcasted in HDTV. Unfortunately, it was not. Do you know what was up?

Thanks,

Azanon
Azanon is offline  
post #208 of 12529 Old 10-27-2003, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Apparently the repeats on the weekend are not being broadcast in HD. Only the Wednesday night show.

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
post #209 of 12529 Old 10-27-2003, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to Allen's previous post, currently, UPN broadcasts HD on Wednesday & Friday nights only.
arxaw is offline  
post #210 of 12529 Old 10-28-2003, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Xesdeeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, I live in Dallas and the repeated broadcast isn't in HD here either. It could be because the local affiliate can't record the show for later broadcast, but I think it is more likely because UPN doesn't re-broadcast it in HD. So you might not be able to blame your AR UPN affiliate in this case.

Xesdeeni
Xesdeeni is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off