Charleston, SC - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 7878 Old 05-09-2003, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pcm19:

How do you feel about the 3100 Box? Does it do a pretty good job? How does the upconverted SD picture look? Let us know when you get a chance.

Thanks
KTrout is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 7878 Old 05-09-2003, 06:55 PM
Member
 
cohbraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SC
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by shuttermaker
cohbraz : What kind of setup do you have?

Well, I own a shop that sells and services HD TV sets and sell terrestrial HD tuners, so I have tried both the Samsung SIR-T151 and am currently usind a Zenith HDV-420. For the TV, I have a Zenith R56W28, made by Hitachi.

I have tried different types of antennas
Channel Master UHF Yagi (4248?) did extremely well.
Winegard HD-7082 VHF/UHF was fair.
Antennacraft C480 did good.
And right now I am using a Channel Master 3679 VHF/UHF combo which works very good.
With all of these antennas, I am using a Winegard AP8700 amplifier and a Channel Master 9521 Remote Controlled Rotor. This antenna is chimney mounted on my house.

I also sell and install the antennas, so it makes it easy to test these units.
At my shop, I use a freight damaged Antennacraft C480 with a Channel Master 0064 amplifier and 9521 rotor. As my main HD display TV, I use a Zenith C34W23-2 with the built-in tuner, tuned to SCETV's HD demo channel.

If anybody has any questions about these antennas or tuners, I may be able to help. Just let me know!
Corey
cohbraz is offline  
post #543 of 7878 Old 05-10-2003, 09:06 PM
Member
 
pcm19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springtown, TX
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ktrout

I've been satisfied with the 3100 so far. The upconverted SD signel is much better than the analog signal from channel 5. Unfortunately I am having a problem recieving HBO HD and found out from the tech that others are having the same problem as well. Seems there is a software bug. They are working it out with Scientific Atlanta to get things straight. My wife reminds me to be patient, that there are always bugs in new technology.
pcm19 is offline  
post #544 of 7878 Old 05-10-2003, 09:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pcm19:

thanks for the response, unfortunately for you i'm not done.

After I did a bit of research I have a few questions...... do you have any aspect ratio control with the box, ie. stretch to fill the screen to avoid burnout? and do you have any video quality issues with output to vcr?

thanks in advance.
KTrout is offline  
post #545 of 7878 Old 05-11-2003, 02:24 PM
Member
 
pcm19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springtown, TX
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ktrout:

If there is I haven't discovered it, they didn't provide an owner's manual. They provide copies of the manuals for their older units on their website (twcsc.com) and hopefully the 3100 with be added as they roll more into the hands of customers. I looked on SA's website and all I could find was a connection guide. My TV is a 60" Sony LCD projection that will not burn in, I can also fill the screen with the TV controls in several modes, "wide zoom" providing the best viewing because it zooms vertically and horizontally rather than stretching the picture to the sides of the screen. VCR output is fine using the composite video & audio out out. I use the digital coax out to my Dolby Digital surround receiver. For HD I use the component video out (no RGB port) and audio out directly to the TV in order to just watch the TV without the surround unit on.
pcm19 is offline  
post #546 of 7878 Old 05-12-2003, 06:25 AM
Member
 
Dan'sHiPix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Guys,
Just thought I would subscribe to this thread to see if anyone could see WLTX-DT in Charleston and the area? Also if you have any questions for me, feel free to ask away.

Dan Stalnaker
Director Operations/Technology

Dan Stalnaker
Chief Engineer
KARK-TV/DT
Dan'sHiPix is offline  
post #547 of 7878 Old 05-12-2003, 01:59 PM
Member
 
JeffD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Goose Creek SC
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dan'sHiPix : I don't personally know anyone that can receive the Columbia stations . OLjim is about the only persona I could think of that might have a chance of pulling it in .


I turned on my TV and did my typical HD scan for the day and low and behold channel 50 WCBD was braodcasting ! Hopefully it's for good so we can have a little variety in HD material ! Now all we need is channel 4 to get on the ball and join the other stations in the low country !
JeffD is offline  
post #548 of 7878 Old 05-12-2003, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dan'sHiPix:
Like JeffD, I don't know anyone in this area able to pull in your station. I thought about trying to pull in your stations but figured the aggravation of being on the fringe would only compound the obvious local situation.

My scan still didn't work with the 29406 area code, however I can punch in 50-1 and pull it in. That's not a WCBD issue, it's a problem with DirecTV. The signal wasn't very good, jumping between 25 and 65. As a matter of fact if I didn't have it amplified I don't think I would have gotten it at all. I'll have to see how Leno looks. If I wasn't configuring my wife's laptop this evening I'd post all the NBC shows being broadcast in HD.

I don't know if WCBD is broadcasting in full power or not. Will have to ask.

Thanks to WCBD for joining the HD movement here in Charleston.
KTrout is offline  
post #549 of 7878 Old 05-12-2003, 05:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shuttermaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Im not able to pull in WCBD signal at all.
shuttermaker is offline  
post #550 of 7878 Old 05-12-2003, 06:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
shuttermaker:
did you get your amplifier yet?

Here's NBC Shows from their website:
American Dreams, Boomtown, Crossing Jordan, Ed, ER, Frasier, In-Laws, Hidden Hills, Law & Order, Law & Order: Criminal Intent, Law & Order: Special Victims Unit, and The Tonight Show with Jay Leno are currently broadcast in HDTV.

Not sure if they are all still airing or not.
KTrout is offline  
post #551 of 7878 Old 05-12-2003, 07:31 PM
Member
 
usrsld's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope WCBD (NBC) is added to TIme Warners lineup soon. Anyone have any info on a timetable? I know WCSC came on TW about a week after the station went live.
usrsld is offline  
post #552 of 7878 Old 05-12-2003, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shuttermaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
KTrout: Not yet...soon I hope.
shuttermaker is offline  
post #553 of 7878 Old 05-12-2003, 09:25 PM
Member
 
HDSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting wcbd now and guess what< The Tonight show host Leno has been replaced by Katie Couric. I knew that we had been waiting along time for digital signals, but this is disturbing! Next thing you know Leno will show up on the morning show . PS: Mapped to 50 (manual) which remapped to 2.1 Signal strength appears to be low.
HDSC is offline  
post #554 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 05:36 AM
Member
 
pcm19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springtown, TX
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by usrsld
I hope WCBD (NBC) is added to TIme Warners lineup soon. Anyone have any info on a timetable? I know WCSC came on TW about a week after the station went live.


usrsld:

Have you been able to view HBO HD on TWC (channel 901)? It is supposed to be available to HBO subscribers with the 3100HD box but I am not able to get it and they can't figure out the reason. Thanks for any insite. As far as adding WCBD, they told me TWC would add each local as soon as the local was live and agreed to be xmitted on TWC.
pcm19 is offline  
post #555 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 01:30 PM
Member
 
planenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good news re: remapping Channel 2-1!

Hughes just called me back from several weeks ago. They have made a fix that will take care of this problem as well as futured added channels. The fix is in the final testing stages. The fix will go out to DirecTV and be transmitted on 5/21 at 1:00 am. All will happen automatically on our end.

I'm not sure how this will help the non Hughes owners with this problem but maybe they will happen at a similar time.
planenut is offline  
post #556 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 02:00 PM
Member
 
10137two's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: KTROUT's Garage in Charleston, SC
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is good news.....now if I could only get above a 6% signal for WCBD I may be in business.....
10137two is offline  
post #557 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
shuttermaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks planenut
shuttermaker is offline  
post #558 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 02:19 PM
Member
 
planenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone noticed?..

My signal seems inconsistent today. up and down between the low 70's and 100 percent. maybe it is just the wind blowing the antenna around but I haven't seen it like this before. It holds true for both 47 and 50. I haven't tried fox/upn.
planenut is offline  
post #559 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They have parts being delivered and people coming to install.... Hope to be on air the 27th or so. Might see some hockey after all.

planenut:
Thanks, you just saved me a frustrating call to DirecTV this evening.
KTrout is offline  
post #560 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 03:07 PM
Member
 
planenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no problem...
planenut is offline  
post #561 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 05:46 PM
Member
 
usrsld's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pcm19: I have channel 901 on my guide and can change to the channel, but I don't subscribe to HBO and can't access the programing so I'm not much help.
usrsld is offline  
post #562 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
AndrewG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Around 9 this evening I did a scan with my Samsung TS-160, and it found 2-1. Changed to it and the picture came in great for Frasier, but the sound was screwed up, loud buzzing in both front speakers.

I have had 2-1 in my guide come up for weeks, but this is the first time I have received a signal. The signal strength is 69%. If the sound was tolerable I would be watching right now. Anyone else have the sound problem. I think that DirectTV must have fixed the guide problem.

Andy
AndrewG is offline  
post #563 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 07:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No luck w/ my DST3k w/ the scan. Only going to favorite punched in as 50-1. I'm hoping that the fix planenut orchestrated will take care of my problem.
KTrout is offline  
post #564 of 7878 Old 05-13-2003, 09:02 PM
Member
 
JeffD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Goose Creek SC
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AndrewG : While I was watching Frasier for what I could stand I was getting the same buzzing noise on mine . It would not do it during the commercials but once it switched to HD it would start . I just checked the Tonight Show and all seems well now . Also I am amazed at how good the Tonight Show looks !
JeffD is offline  
post #565 of 7878 Old 05-14-2003, 06:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oljim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Beaufort SC
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got back from trip last night and found 2-1 is on, seems like signal is up and down. Are they at low power, temp ant or what? Saw 5-1 had the fish on last night at 7;30
Jim

This finger was not made to press one for english
oljim is offline  
post #566 of 7878 Old 05-14-2003, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AndrewG: sorry this is so late, but i don't recall ever having any audio problems.

oljim: again you surprise me being able to pick-up a little bit of channel 50. they're supposed to only be broadcasting at 11kW and that's probably what they're doing right now.

jeffd:
tried to catch Leno on Monday night but it didn't appear they flipped the switch, was it definitely HD last night?
KTrout is offline  
post #567 of 7878 Old 05-14-2003, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Additional Update on WCIV

Engineer indicated that they would be broadcasting 5.1 as soon as they go on air for source programs with 5.1 from ABC.

5.1 is definitely a bonus w/ hockey.

IF WCIV holds true to their schedule we'll see all Stanley cup games broadcast on ABC.

Check out Law and Order on WCBD at 10 this evening (between the first and second periods, eh).
KTrout is offline  
post #568 of 7878 Old 05-14-2003, 06:20 PM
Member
 
planenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is ER not HD. I am thinking it is just letterbox as it doesn't fill my screen??
planenut is offline  
post #569 of 7878 Old 05-14-2003, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty sure it's supposed to be in HD, but i thought i'd seen a few threads where some weeks it's in HD others it's not.

If I'm home in time from the Matrix tomorrow night I guess I'll find out.
KTrout is offline  
post #570 of 7878 Old 05-14-2003, 06:59 PM
Member
 
planenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually it was a brain thing... I was actually referring to West Wing. I checked Galaxy and it isn't listed as HD.
planenut is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off