Montgomery, AL - HDTV - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 6621 Old 09-17-2004, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by JimP
All I can get is channel 20.

Channels 12, 26, and 32 are not coming in.

Anyone else experiencing the same.

I need to figure out if its the stations or my antenna.

It's the stations. I couldn't get anything, even with my indoor antenna.
I got the stations via my cable feed. I thought it was a problem with my
receivers OTA tuner and called DirecTV. There was one thing they wanted me to try before they sent me a new unit. That didn't work and I was on hold on the number they gave me to call back to when I checked my e-mail and had a PM from Tomb2 and he said all he could get was WCOV. I checked again and I was getting a signal from WCOV (I swear I wasn't earlier). Glad I checked me email--if not I would have been swapping out my Tivo when there was nothing wrong. Thanks Tomb2. I need to learn to be more patient.
SD4934 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 6621 Old 09-17-2004, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Nnamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slapout, Alabama
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think wsfa web site said thier power was out and their generator was down as well. I have'nt been home and not sure if I have power yet. I might just go ahead and move into my house if it's two weeks before we get any power.
Nnamd is offline  
post #363 of 6621 Old 09-17-2004, 02:52 PM
Member
 
buckeye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can get 20 and 26 but no signal strength on 12 and 32.
buckeye1 is offline  
post #364 of 6621 Old 09-17-2004, 04:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
buckeye1 and Sonny, sorry to hear about your power being out. Anything you might need that we can provide?

Thanks for the heads up on the down stations.

Completely lost Voom satellite and Brighthouse cable. Got the satellite dished back on the bird this afternoon, but cable is still out.

It was interesting that I lost cable long before the winds moved the dish off of satellite alignment. I would have thought that satellite would have gone first. Voom 24" dish was a real trooper.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #365 of 6621 Old 09-17-2004, 05:56 PM
Member
 
buckeye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JimP,

I actually came through this really well. I never lost power or internet for more than 3 minutes at a time. Trees up and down my street were split and uprooted, but, mine had already been removed because of previous storms.

Charter internet stayed up and running even though all the neighbors with knology were down.

Satellite dishes somehow stayed aligned. I thought my antenna had been moved, but, I guess it is the stations with problems.
buckeye1 is offline  
post #366 of 6621 Old 09-18-2004, 03:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
buckeye1

Speaking of internet, with Brighthouse cable down, I've had to switch back to a dial up modem.

Its somewhat disconcerting to see just how addicted I am to surfing the net. Do they make a patch for that like the ones smokers have?? ;-)

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #367 of 6621 Old 09-18-2004, 04:22 AM
Member
 
buckeye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
abc 32 is up as of this morning. Leaves only 12 that I can't get.

JimP,
Completely understand the internet thing, I have a business internet account at the house to guarantee repair time.
buckeye1 is offline  
post #368 of 6621 Old 09-18-2004, 05:49 AM
Member
 
buckeye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just saw at the wsfa web site that they have power outages at the transmitter site.
buckeye1 is offline  
post #369 of 6621 Old 09-18-2004, 05:51 AM
Member
 
buckeye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the link to wsfa story.


http://wsfa.com/Global/story.asp?S=2299927
buckeye1 is offline  
post #370 of 6621 Old 09-18-2004, 06:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Burried in the Ryder Cup story. Geeze

They really should have posted a message on their home page.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #371 of 6621 Old 09-18-2004, 06:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tomtb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Once again sports fans get screwed in central Alabama, no Ryder Cup this morning because of the power outages with WSFA digital. Seems like in the past, the cable systems would bring the Ryder Cup from another market and show it on another channel. If you don't have an HD tv, golf is not even availiable. Maybe, more HDTV sets will be sold.
tomtb2 is offline  
post #372 of 6621 Old 09-18-2004, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I lucked out with the internet. Except for the time when the power was out I never lost my cable (WSFA is still coming in on cable).
SD4934 is offline  
post #373 of 6621 Old 09-18-2004, 06:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Just got home from the Auburn LSU game and found that Brighthouse cable (including cable internet) is back up and running.

Any news on WSFA digital?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #374 of 6621 Old 09-19-2004, 02:46 PM
Member
 
buckeye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WSFA is back on.
buckeye1 is offline  
post #375 of 6621 Old 09-19-2004, 05:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Here in Jasmine Hills, WSFA's signal strength is fluctuating, sometimes dropping below minimum usable levels.

I've been on the roof adjusting the aim, so I may have made it worst, not better.

Are you finding it consistant?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #376 of 6621 Old 09-19-2004, 07:11 PM
Member
 
buckeye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have only watched WSFA briefly and it seemed ok.

Been watching all of the Football games in HD. Even saw half of the Browns & Cowboys until they realized this was a blackout area.
buckeye1 is offline  
post #377 of 6621 Old 09-24-2004, 04:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
I'm still having problems with WSFA.

Is everyone getting a consistant signal?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #378 of 6621 Old 09-24-2004, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Nnamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slapout, Alabama
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys. I recorded some olympic stuff off channel 12 while they had 3 sub channels. I asked on this forum how to remove the other two sub channels. I got a private message from the author of HDTVTOMPEG program and he sent me a beta ver of his software. I was able to remove the standard and radar channel from the TS streams I recorded.
Nnamd is offline  
post #379 of 6621 Old 09-24-2004, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tomtb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problems with WSFA.
tomtb2 is offline  
post #380 of 6621 Old 09-24-2004, 03:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
tomtb2

Thanks for responding.

What's happening with me is that I can turn my antenna counterclockwise and pick up WSFA pretty strong, but then I loose WCOF and WAIQ. If I turn it to get WAIQ very strong, I totally loose WSFA. Prestorm, I could get both without moving the antenna. On the signal strength meter, it looks like WSFA is staying fairly costant, yet just below the point that I can lock in a signal. What doesn't make sense to me is that I can get WSFA, but I have to turn the antenna quite a bit from where it use to be aimed..

I called and spoke with someone at WSFA this morning and he said that he'd send somebody up the tower in the next few days to check things out.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #381 of 6621 Old 09-27-2004, 06:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Nnamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slapout, Alabama
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a few dropouts from WSFA myself when I tuned them in. Did'nt mess with the antenna tho.
Nnamd is offline  
post #382 of 6621 Old 09-27-2004, 06:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Not sure what improved my signal.

At about 10:25 this past Saturday, I was again up the ladder fiddling with the antenna. I essentially gave up on trying to lock both signals in and aimed it based on some signal power setting I had recorded a while back. I also unscrew the coax from the amplifier and reconnected it.

After putting the ladder up, I check on the signal strength meter and WSFA had gone from an 80 to 99. Very strong signal, no dropouts or anything. I also had the other channels that I was suppose to.

Don't know for sure if WSFA correct something at their tower or if disconnecting and reconnecting the coax did something. The strength of the other channels didn't improve, so I'm inclined to think that it was WSFA.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #383 of 6621 Old 09-28-2004, 06:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Nnamd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Slapout, Alabama
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is channel 20 doing 720P yet?
Nnamd is offline  
post #384 of 6621 Old 09-28-2004, 07:49 AM
Member
 
Tigerman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Millbrook, AL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not until they install their HD equipment and then FOX installs the splicer. I don't know where they are at yet, you might want to email the engineer, he's pretty good at getting back to you quickly. They were scheduled to get the HD stuff in around the middle of this month but I haven't bothered to email him lately to find out if it is actually in or has been installed yet.
Tigerman73 is offline  
post #385 of 6621 Old 09-28-2004, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Tigerman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Millbrook, AL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WCOV has their HD equipment up and running, they will have to get the splicer installed before 720p will be going as you cannot display HD unless the splicer is up and running, so there programming will be coming across 4:3 on network programs until then. Hey hey, we are close to having them all up and going now if CBS will get off their lazy butts, but I think I have a greater chance of winning the lotto then getting HD from Selma.
Tigerman73 is offline  
post #386 of 6621 Old 09-28-2004, 11:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
What's the RF channel for CBS out of Selma?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #387 of 6621 Old 09-29-2004, 06:27 AM
Member
 
Tigerman73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Millbrook, AL
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your asking about WAKA they would be 8 on SD and 55 I believe on HD
Tigerman73 is offline  
post #388 of 6621 Old 09-29-2004, 06:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Not WAKA, unless they've recently switched to HD and didn't tell anybody.

Isn't there a CBS affiliate out of Selma that's HD?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #389 of 6621 Old 09-29-2004, 10:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Sonnie Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: L. A. . . . . . . . (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WAKA is Selma-Montgomery.

Sonnie Parker
SVS Customer Service
Sonnie Parker is offline  
post #390 of 6621 Old 09-29-2004, 11:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Has WAKA started broadcasting digital?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off