Montgomery, AL - HDTV - Page 13 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > Montgomery, AL - HDTV

Local HDTV Info and Reception

SD4934's Avatar SD4934
01:23 PM Liked: 10
post #361 of 6662
09-17-2004 | Posts: 1,262
Joined: Jan 2001
Quote:


Originally posted by JimP
All I can get is channel 20.

Channels 12, 26, and 32 are not coming in.

Anyone else experiencing the same.

I need to figure out if its the stations or my antenna.

It's the stations. I couldn't get anything, even with my indoor antenna.
I got the stations via my cable feed. I thought it was a problem with my
receivers OTA tuner and called DirecTV. There was one thing they wanted me to try before they sent me a new unit. That didn't work and I was on hold on the number they gave me to call back to when I checked my e-mail and had a PM from Tomb2 and he said all he could get was WCOV. I checked again and I was getting a signal from WCOV (I swear I wasn't earlier). Glad I checked me email--if not I would have been swapping out my Tivo when there was nothing wrong. Thanks Tomb2. I need to learn to be more patient.
Nnamd's Avatar Nnamd
03:41 PM Liked: 10
post #362 of 6662
09-17-2004 | Posts: 240
Joined: Dec 2003
I think wsfa web site said thier power was out and their generator was down as well. I have'nt been home and not sure if I have power yet. I might just go ahead and move into my house if it's two weeks before we get any power.
buckeye1's Avatar buckeye1
03:52 PM Liked: 10
post #363 of 6662
09-17-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2003
I can get 20 and 26 but no signal strength on 12 and 32.
JimP
05:42 PM Liked: 243
post #364 of 6662
09-17-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
buckeye1 and Sonny, sorry to hear about your power being out. Anything you might need that we can provide?

Thanks for the heads up on the down stations.

Completely lost Voom satellite and Brighthouse cable. Got the satellite dished back on the bird this afternoon, but cable is still out.

It was interesting that I lost cable long before the winds moved the dish off of satellite alignment. I would have thought that satellite would have gone first. Voom 24" dish was a real trooper.
buckeye1's Avatar buckeye1
06:56 PM Liked: 10
post #365 of 6662
09-17-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2003
JimP,

I actually came through this really well. I never lost power or internet for more than 3 minutes at a time. Trees up and down my street were split and uprooted, but, mine had already been removed because of previous storms.

Charter internet stayed up and running even though all the neighbors with knology were down.

Satellite dishes somehow stayed aligned. I thought my antenna had been moved, but, I guess it is the stations with problems.
JimP
04:41 AM Liked: 243
post #366 of 6662
09-18-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
buckeye1

Speaking of internet, with Brighthouse cable down, I've had to switch back to a dial up modem.

Its somewhat disconcerting to see just how addicted I am to surfing the net. Do they make a patch for that like the ones smokers have?? ;-)
buckeye1's Avatar buckeye1
05:22 AM Liked: 10
post #367 of 6662
09-18-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2003
abc 32 is up as of this morning. Leaves only 12 that I can't get.

JimP,
Completely understand the internet thing, I have a business internet account at the house to guarantee repair time.
buckeye1's Avatar buckeye1
06:49 AM Liked: 10
post #368 of 6662
09-18-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2003
Just saw at the wsfa web site that they have power outages at the transmitter site.
buckeye1's Avatar buckeye1
06:51 AM Liked: 10
post #369 of 6662
09-18-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2003
Here is the link to wsfa story.


http://wsfa.com/Global/story.asp?S=2299927
JimP
07:06 AM Liked: 243
post #370 of 6662
09-18-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
Burried in the Ryder Cup story. Geeze

They really should have posted a message on their home page.
tomtb2's Avatar tomtb2
07:08 AM Liked: 10
post #371 of 6662
09-18-2004 | Posts: 64
Joined: Feb 2003
Once again sports fans get screwed in central Alabama, no Ryder Cup this morning because of the power outages with WSFA digital. Seems like in the past, the cable systems would bring the Ryder Cup from another market and show it on another channel. If you don't have an HD tv, golf is not even availiable. Maybe, more HDTV sets will be sold.
SD4934's Avatar SD4934
08:27 AM Liked: 10
post #372 of 6662
09-18-2004 | Posts: 1,262
Joined: Jan 2001
I guess I lucked out with the internet. Except for the time when the power was out I never lost my cable (WSFA is still coming in on cable).
JimP
07:23 PM Liked: 243
post #373 of 6662
09-18-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
Just got home from the Auburn LSU game and found that Brighthouse cable (including cable internet) is back up and running.

Any news on WSFA digital?
buckeye1's Avatar buckeye1
03:46 PM Liked: 10
post #374 of 6662
09-19-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2003
WSFA is back on.
JimP
06:12 PM Liked: 243
post #375 of 6662
09-19-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
Here in Jasmine Hills, WSFA's signal strength is fluctuating, sometimes dropping below minimum usable levels.

I've been on the roof adjusting the aim, so I may have made it worst, not better.

Are you finding it consistant?
buckeye1's Avatar buckeye1
08:11 PM Liked: 10
post #376 of 6662
09-19-2004 | Posts: 55
Joined: Jul 2003
I have only watched WSFA briefly and it seemed ok.

Been watching all of the Football games in HD. Even saw half of the Browns & Cowboys until they realized this was a blackout area.
JimP
05:26 AM Liked: 243
post #377 of 6662
09-24-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
I'm still having problems with WSFA.

Is everyone getting a consistant signal?
Nnamd's Avatar Nnamd
09:55 AM Liked: 10
post #378 of 6662
09-24-2004 | Posts: 240
Joined: Dec 2003
Hey guys. I recorded some olympic stuff off channel 12 while they had 3 sub channels. I asked on this forum how to remove the other two sub channels. I got a private message from the author of HDTVTOMPEG program and he sent me a beta ver of his software. I was able to remove the standard and radar channel from the TS streams I recorded.
tomtb2's Avatar tomtb2
03:57 PM Liked: 10
post #379 of 6662
09-24-2004 | Posts: 64
Joined: Feb 2003
No problems with WSFA.
JimP
04:24 PM Liked: 243
post #380 of 6662
09-24-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
tomtb2

Thanks for responding.

What's happening with me is that I can turn my antenna counterclockwise and pick up WSFA pretty strong, but then I loose WCOF and WAIQ. If I turn it to get WAIQ very strong, I totally loose WSFA. Prestorm, I could get both without moving the antenna. On the signal strength meter, it looks like WSFA is staying fairly costant, yet just below the point that I can lock in a signal. What doesn't make sense to me is that I can get WSFA, but I have to turn the antenna quite a bit from where it use to be aimed..

I called and spoke with someone at WSFA this morning and he said that he'd send somebody up the tower in the next few days to check things out.
Nnamd's Avatar Nnamd
07:27 AM Liked: 10
post #381 of 6662
09-27-2004 | Posts: 240
Joined: Dec 2003
I got a few dropouts from WSFA myself when I tuned them in. Did'nt mess with the antenna tho.
JimP
07:36 AM Liked: 243
post #382 of 6662
09-27-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
Not sure what improved my signal.

At about 10:25 this past Saturday, I was again up the ladder fiddling with the antenna. I essentially gave up on trying to lock both signals in and aimed it based on some signal power setting I had recorded a while back. I also unscrew the coax from the amplifier and reconnected it.

After putting the ladder up, I check on the signal strength meter and WSFA had gone from an 80 to 99. Very strong signal, no dropouts or anything. I also had the other channels that I was suppose to.

Don't know for sure if WSFA correct something at their tower or if disconnecting and reconnecting the coax did something. The strength of the other channels didn't improve, so I'm inclined to think that it was WSFA.
Nnamd's Avatar Nnamd
07:45 AM Liked: 10
post #383 of 6662
09-28-2004 | Posts: 240
Joined: Dec 2003
Is channel 20 doing 720P yet?
Tigerman73's Avatar Tigerman73
08:49 AM Liked: 10
post #384 of 6662
09-28-2004 | Posts: 133
Joined: Nov 2003
Not until they install their HD equipment and then FOX installs the splicer. I don't know where they are at yet, you might want to email the engineer, he's pretty good at getting back to you quickly. They were scheduled to get the HD stuff in around the middle of this month but I haven't bothered to email him lately to find out if it is actually in or has been installed yet.
Tigerman73's Avatar Tigerman73
07:33 PM Liked: 10
post #385 of 6662
09-28-2004 | Posts: 133
Joined: Nov 2003
WCOV has their HD equipment up and running, they will have to get the splicer installed before 720p will be going as you cannot display HD unless the splicer is up and running, so there programming will be coming across 4:3 on network programs until then. Hey hey, we are close to having them all up and going now if CBS will get off their lazy butts, but I think I have a greater chance of winning the lotto then getting HD from Selma.
JimP
12:11 AM Liked: 243
post #386 of 6662
09-29-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
What's the RF channel for CBS out of Selma?
Tigerman73's Avatar Tigerman73
07:27 AM Liked: 10
post #387 of 6662
09-29-2004 | Posts: 133
Joined: Nov 2003
If your asking about WAKA they would be 8 on SD and 55 I believe on HD
JimP
07:44 AM Liked: 243
post #388 of 6662
09-29-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
Not WAKA, unless they've recently switched to HD and didn't tell anybody.

Isn't there a CBS affiliate out of Selma that's HD?
Sonnie Parker's Avatar Sonnie Parker
11:44 AM Liked: 12
post #389 of 6662
09-29-2004 | Posts: 453
Joined: Jan 2003
WAKA is Selma-Montgomery.
JimP
12:50 PM Liked: 243
post #390 of 6662
09-29-2004 | Posts: 15,689
Joined: Sep 2002
Has WAKA started broadcasting digital?

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3