Montgomery, AL - HDTV - Page 221 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > Montgomery, AL - HDTV

Local HDTV Info and Reception

jtrippe's Avatar jtrippe
12:14 PM Liked: 10
post #6601 of 6665
08-23-2013 | Posts: 385
Joined: Aug 2006
I would get a splitter that specifies that it reduces signal loss. You're going to lose some anyway. You may need a pre-amp because it's in the attic.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
vulcan141's Avatar vulcan141
11:49 AM Liked: 10
post #6602 of 6665
08-26-2013 | Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2013
i might be putting this in the wrong place as im a newby but please consider that when you flame me

i just installed a db4e on a cabin at the central part of lake jordan... for awhile yesterday i was receiving channel 12-1&12-2 along with 15 other channels.including 20-1,20.2,20.3 but later in the afternoon the 12s disapeared and i cant get them back.i tried 10',20',and30' above cabin and 10;' gave me the best reception .
would possibly a pre-amp help my signal from vhf even though when it came in yesterday it was perfect...if so which one is recommended
i was leaning towards the RCA mounted on mast with plug inside.
thanks in advance.
JimP
12:37 PM Liked: 252
post #6603 of 6665
08-26-2013 | Posts: 15,736
Joined: Sep 2002
Vulcan

Welcome to AVS forum.

Reviewing the the DB4E antenna specifications, you have a reception angle of 60 degrees and a range of up to 65 miles. ("up to" can mean anything) Keep in mind that range usually only applies to the center of the antenna and as you receiver signals from the outer edges of the antenna, range decreases. Kind of pie slice shaped.

Using this tool http://www.tvfool.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13&Itemid=1 enter your location and find out if 12 is outside the angle of reception from your other channels. It might be an either or situation where with a single antenna, you'll have to rotate it depending on your channels. Another option is to go dual antennas.
vulcan141's Avatar vulcan141
02:13 PM Liked: 10
post #6604 of 6665
08-26-2013 | Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2013
jim,
thanks for the reply but channel 12 and channel 20 are listed on your site above at 167 degrees and thats where i set it by compass,not sure a rotor could help and 20 and 12 should be centered on pie shape.
cobolisdead's Avatar cobolisdead
07:40 PM Liked: 15
post #6605 of 6665
08-26-2013 | Posts: 1,975
Joined: Aug 2007
Well, I have the antenna mounted and connected, and I am now getting 25 channels! smile.gif now I just need my HTPC parts to arrive so I can have it all be recording!
JimP
06:11 AM Liked: 252
post #6606 of 6665
08-28-2013 | Posts: 15,736
Joined: Sep 2002
Vulcan,

Since 12 and 20 are on the same tower, if you can get 20 clearly, then you should be able to get 12 provided your antenna will receive VHF.

Perform a fresh channel scan just to be sure that you didn't somehow loose it from the tuner.

If that doesn't work, the next step is to do something to increase the incoming signal. A taller mast should have worked better than the shorter one. You might want to retry the taller mast.

If that doesn't work, then go with an antenna preamp such as the Channel Master CM-7777. This amplifier will do VHF as well as UHF. If you go with another brand, you want to be careful about the VHF spec as some preamps won't pass VHF.

Let us know how this turns out.
vulcan141's Avatar vulcan141
03:36 PM Liked: 10
post #6607 of 6665
09-05-2013 | Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2013
thanks again jim,
i tried the taller mast again with no luck,so i ordered the rca pre-amp so as not to overload as much as the 7777 would.
the db4e i have states it is a combination vhf/uhf so im hoping just a little boost will help the vhf side.
had to order online as no one i found locally had any pr-amps except radio shack with there own brand.with the reviews on it i decided to go ahead with the rca...hope this solves problem when i comes in.
vulcan141's Avatar vulcan141
09:02 PM Liked: 10
post #6608 of 6665
09-12-2013 | Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2013
okay i recieved my preamp today ...so my question is...i have my antenna connection connected to a 3' cable to a ground block for the shielding then the other side of block connects to my cable to the tv,,with a aluminum wire down to a ground rod.

the pre- amp shows the antenna to the pre amp then out the other side to the tv power supply inside the house.my question is ,can i still go to my straight thru grounding block prior to going into the house into the power supply and then to tv.
just want to be sure i will still be getting power thru to the amp with this setup without losing to much of the amp power.
ProjectSHO89's Avatar ProjectSHO89
05:00 AM Liked: 80
post #6609 of 6665
09-13-2013 | Posts: 2,787
Joined: Feb 2009
The grounding block will not affect your circuit (unless it is defective). It's just a straight-thru connector
jacqIO's Avatar jacqIO
10:27 AM Liked: 10
post #6610 of 6665
09-23-2013 | Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2013
I currently have a Mohu Leaf in my house. It's works okay, but now I want to install the Mohu sky antenna (http://store.gomohu.com/sky-hdtv-outdoor-antenna.html), it seems relatively easy, but I need help. Does anyone recommend installers in Montgomery? I'm hoping to knock out two birds with one stone, because I'm also looking to get a cell booster installed, both to be installed in or around the attic area of the house.

Any help with finding local installers would be great, thanks in advance.
tylerSC's Avatar tylerSC
02:42 PM Liked: 113
post #6611 of 6665
09-23-2013 | Posts: 4,498
Joined: Jun 2010
I would carefully examine price vs performance regarding the Mohu Sky. $169 is rather expensive, and there may be better choices. You may want to also consider the Clearstream antennas, Winegard Flatwave Air, or even a generic 8-bay version such as MCM for $49, or Solid Signal for $59. I think there may be better choices to consider and more reasonably priced.
vulcan141's Avatar vulcan141
04:44 PM Liked: 10
post #6612 of 6665
09-24-2013 | Posts: 6
Joined: Aug 2013
the db4e from solid signal is what im using and it is a 65 mile antenna,for 59.00. does a great job on my lake house about 45-50 miles from towers.i had no luck with the mohu ansd the db4e is working much better.for the price its hard to beat.
tylerSC's Avatar tylerSC
05:44 PM Liked: 113
post #6613 of 6665
09-24-2013 | Posts: 4,498
Joined: Jun 2010
DB4e and DB8e are reportedly very good antennas and a better choice than the Mohu Sky. I would think.
bdfox18doe's Avatar bdfox18doe
12:28 PM Liked: 78
post #6614 of 6665
10-01-2013 | Posts: 6,497
Joined: Oct 2000
For your viewing pleasure.. WBMM has dropped WNCF-SD on 22-2,which has now been replaced with WBMM-NN on 22-2 carrying "The Nashville Network" . EPG will soon follow. smile.gif
JimP
01:01 PM Liked: 252
post #6615 of 6665
10-01-2013 | Posts: 15,736
Joined: Sep 2002
Bob

Are there any metrics as to how many actually watch the subchannels other than the primary?
rolltide1017's Avatar rolltide1017
06:54 PM Liked: 266
post #6616 of 6665
10-02-2013 | Posts: 3,005
Joined: Jul 2003
UGH, I hate WNCF and there volume limiting crap. It caused me to stop watching ABC shows last year, I streamed or downloaded them instead, and I'm about give up watching Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Last time I posted about this, someone connected with WNCF responded and said it was because of new laws but, if that is true then why is WNCF the only local channel affected. Why is it the only ABC affiliate affected as I've mention this in specific show threads before and no one else has the problem. it's just WNCF. I also know it is not my TV provider because last time I posted about it I was with Dish Network, now I'm with DirecTV. I know it's not my equipment because it happens on all my TV.

Here's the issue, there volume limiting, normalizing software/device is over aggressive and effects show volume as well, not just commercial volume. Whenever action scenes start during Agents of Shield, the volume drops dramatically, to the point were we have to turn our volume up. It ruins the show IMO. Funny thing is, the whole reason for the idea of volume limiting is ruin by WNCF's implementation. If an action scene is going on right as the show goes to commercial, the volume raises back to normal when the commercial drops. The big volume changes between shows and commercials are what volume limiting are suppose to prevent but it's made worse by WNCFs method.

It's stupid and I know the folks over there now about it because one of them blamed it on the new law in this tread over a year ago. They need to hire some people that know what they are doing, they are the only station in town with this problem. I can't watch shows with actions scene on WNCF anymore, it's to annoying. Back to streaming or downloading I guess.
stevethebrain's Avatar stevethebrain
05:57 AM Liked: 25
post #6617 of 6665
11-12-2013 | Posts: 1,207
Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:Originally Posted by JimP

I'll loan you a spare 4228 if you want to try it before going through the hassel of buying an possibly returning one.

Hello Jim I'm located in MGM near JD, I've been haveing very bad reception lately on CW,WCOV and this w/ the Y-tube antenna usalley these channels come in great,
if you'r offer still stands I would like to try the CM4228 before buying (if they become available).
when analog turned digital I continued w/ the old $15. archer rabbit ears, worked good however now I have 4 TV tuner connections, switched to the single y-tube coat hanger worker OK for a while then seamed to get weak switched to the Yaggie in the attic this was a step backwards.

I now have a home made y-tube CM4228 in attic worked the best untill recently w/ CW , THIS & WCOV

is everyone else in the area have recent weak signal from these channels?
STB

Jim sure would like to try you'r CM4228 for a few days I promise I'll bring it back.
JA Fant's Avatar JA Fant
06:09 PM Liked: 84
post #6618 of 6665
12-29-2013 | Posts: 678
Joined: Jun 2009
Happy New Year!
JimP
05:57 AM Liked: 252
post #6619 of 6665
03-22-2014 | Posts: 15,736
Joined: Sep 2002
Anyone interested in a front projection screen on the cheap?

PM me if you are.
JA Fant's Avatar JA Fant
11:11 AM Liked: 84
post #6620 of 6665
04-14-2014 | Posts: 678
Joined: Jun 2009
Guys-

any major changes/additions headed our way for Summer?
Scott Smith's Avatar Scott Smith
09:07 PM Liked: 10
post #6621 of 6665
05-18-2014 | Posts: 806
Joined: Jan 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JA Fant View Post

Guys-

any major changes/additions headed our way for Summer?

Other than Charter shooting themselves in the foot?
jtrippe's Avatar jtrippe
02:17 PM Liked: 10
post #6622 of 6665
07-24-2014 | Posts: 385
Joined: Aug 2006
Anyone here have ATT internet in the Redland/Elmore Co. area? If so, what speeds and how is the service? I'm looking at getting the 6 meg service. We stream movies but no gaming.

Also, I'm hearing rumors (no source to confirm) that we should expect announcements for SEC Network on Brighthouse and DirecTV over the next week or so.

Edit: al.com is confirming the deal with Brighthouse
video796's Avatar video796
08:04 PM Liked: 10
post #6623 of 6665
07-27-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Apr 2008
AT&T DSL service in Redland area is Good..? Max 6 megs Down and .75 Up.. Very dependable.. I have also have Brighthouse. It's a lot faster 30/2, but not as dependable. That why I have 2 provides, To keep 1 up at all times.
jtrippe's Avatar jtrippe
08:55 PM Liked: 10
post #6624 of 6665
07-27-2014 | Posts: 385
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by video796 View Post
AT&T DSL service in Redland area is Good..? Max 6 megs Down and .75 Up.. Very dependable.. I have also have Brighthouse. It's a lot faster 30/2, but not as dependable. That why I have 2 provides, To keep 1 up at all times.
Thanks! Will probably make the switch. We can save $20 when bundled with our Directv service.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Scott Smith's Avatar Scott Smith
06:41 AM Liked: 10
post #6625 of 6665
09-02-2014 | Posts: 806
Joined: Jan 2006
Sure is quiet around here for WSFA and all of Raycom media stations being off Directv.
JA Fant's Avatar JA Fant
09:12 AM Liked: 84
post #6626 of 6665
09-02-2014 | Posts: 678
Joined: Jun 2009
jtrippe-

Odd pairing w/ ATT internet & DirecTV? Everywhere else it is ATT U-Verse and is very nice services and programming.
JA Fant's Avatar JA Fant
09:13 AM Liked: 84
post #6627 of 6665
09-02-2014 | Posts: 678
Joined: Jun 2009
Welcome! Vulcan and video796
jtrippe's Avatar jtrippe
12:11 PM Liked: 10
post #6628 of 6665
09-02-2014 | Posts: 385
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JA Fant View Post
jtrippe-

Odd pairing w/ ATT internet & DirecTV? Everywhere else it is ATT U-Verse and is very nice services and programming.

U-verse hasn't made it to the Montgomery area yet. I was able to get a good deal to stick with Brighthouse. I have 10 meg service. the best ATT offers in my area is 6 meg.
JA Fant's Avatar JA Fant
05:45 PM Liked: 84
post #6629 of 6665
09-02-2014 | Posts: 678
Joined: Jun 2009
ATT U-verse pays off if one wants to bundle home phone, cable + internet.
Otherwise, I, too have enjoyed Brighthouse since 2005. Great service, decent prices and fast internet speed.
JMCecil's Avatar JMCecil
04:15 PM Liked: 17
post #6630 of 6665
09-05-2014 | Posts: 1,094
Joined: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Smith View Post
Sure is quiet around here for WSFA and all of Raycom media stations being off Directv.
Who watches nbc? I didn't even notice it was gone until the football game. Antenna to the rescue.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3