Montgomery, AL - HDTV - Page 222 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6631 of 6655 Old 09-06-2014, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree!
Scott Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6632 of 6655 Old 09-06-2014, 06:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Scott Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's funny,
WSFA has people doing damage control on social media making Directv out to be the bad guy on poor little ole WSFA. When in fact it's a Raycom Media nation wide blackout.
A simple google search of Raycom Media VS (Enter your favorite Provider) shows they have a history of this.
Here is one not to long ago but people forget and throw Directv under the bus.
http://deadline.com/2013/08/dish-net...s-dark-554437/
Scott Smith is offline  
post #6633 of 6655 Old 09-06-2014, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
whats happened to channel 12 WSFA it works fine in one room doesn't come in at all in the back room this started a few days ago.

I just bought a Terk 10BD gain amplified antenna and it works no better than my Y-tube coat hanger wired antenna.

Thanks STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6634 of 6655 Old 09-06-2014, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevethebrain View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by JimP

I'll loan you a spare 4228 if you want to try it before going through the hassel of buying an possibly returning one.

Hello Jim I'm located in MGM near JD, I've been haveing very bad reception lately on CW,WCOV and this w/ the Y-tube antenna usalley these channels come in great,
if you'r offer still stands I would like to try the CM4228 before buying (if they become available).
when analog turned digital I continued w/ the old $15. archer rabbit ears, worked good however now I have 4 TV tuner connections, switched to the single y-tube coat hanger worker OK for a while then seamed to get weak switched to the Yaggie in the attic this was a step backwards.

I now have a home made y-tube CM4228 in attic worked the best untill recently w/ CW , THIS & WCOV

is everyone else in the area have recent weak signal from these channels?
STB

Jim sure would like to try you'r CM4228 for a few days I promise I'll bring it back.
Jim sure would like to try you'r CM4228 for a few days I promise I'll bring it back

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6635 of 6655 Old 09-07-2014, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Is this amplifier to powerfull at 20BD gain?

Is this amplifier to powerfull at 20BD gain?



http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=HDXAMP100&ss=280759



location Montgomery AL,36111near JD only a few miles from all TV broadcast station.



I started w/ the single Y-tube antenna in the attic workedgood for the first few years, then started to drop out I had a choice watcheither all channels but 8CBS or all channels but 12NBC.



I added another single Y-tube actually making a CM4228 minusthe rear deflector

I actually tried a oven tray and a piece of cardbroadcovered w/ renolds wrap for a rear deflector it worked better w/out the reardeflector.

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=4228-HD&ss=280770



this has been working excellent until recently channel 12NBCisn’t working weird thing is in the other room w/ a terk indoor amplifiedantenna all channels come in even 12NBC.



Maybe adding a amplifier to the Y-tube antenna will pick up12NBC?



I have a Magnavox DVR it has a 3BD gain amp. Usalley whenreception demishes I use the Magnavox and it will pick up the missing channelswhen now even the Magnavox won’t pickup the missing 12NBC.



Am I wastseing my time fooling w/ amplifiers or should Ijust go ahead and get the CM4228?



I’m still confussed about long distance, directionale ect.

This looks just like the cm4228 however it’s a long distance

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=hdb8x

from what I’ve read me being close to the broadcast stationsthe longhual will be worst than my Y-tube?



I read a lot and found this Yagie type was the best

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=HD7084&d=Winegard-HD-7084P-High-Defintion-VHF%2FUHF%2FFM-TV-Antenna-(HD7084P)



this had the same problem as the single Y-tube it was likedirectionale like it picked up all channels expect of either 8 or 12 it had tobe adjusted which isn’t a option to be crawling up in the attic to adjust eachtime I change from 8 to 12.



The SolidSignal Xtreme Signal HDB8X is bendable would it be worth the effort to bend mydouble Y-tube?



ThanksSTB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6636 of 6655 Old 09-07-2014, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevethebrain View Post
Jim sure would like to try you'r CM4228 for a few days I promise I'll bring it back

The CM 4228s are great antennas. I've installed one in my old house, in my new house and for several people at work and people in my family with great success everywhere in the Montgomery area. I always combine it with a CM7777 amp or any other type of amp you can get your hands on for better success.
jtrippe is offline  
post #6637 of 6655 Old 09-07-2014, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Raycom and DirecTV have reached an agreement so if you have DirecTV you should see WSFA very soon.
jtrippe is offline  
post #6638 of 6655 Old 09-08-2014, 01:08 AM
Newbie
 
video796's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GRIT-TV Network says It's coming to WSFA 12-3 in September?
video796 is offline  
post #6639 of 6655 Old 09-08-2014, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrippe View Post
The CM 4228s are great antennas. I've installed one in my old house, in my new house and for several people at work and people in my family with great success everywhere in the Montgomery area. I always combine it with a CM7777 amp or any other type of amp you can get your hands on for better success.
how doe's this amp.look

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Winegard-L...ifier/27537236

what do you think about me using a coathanger wire antenna you can be critical.

do you think the CM4228 will help w/ the weak stations like when 12 comes in 8 becomes weak.

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6640 of 6655 Old 09-08-2014, 08:42 AM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevethebrain View Post
how doe's this amp.look

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Winegard-L...ifier/27537236

what do you think about me using a coathanger wire antenna you can be critical.

do you think the CM4228 will help w/ the weak stations like when 12 comes in 8 becomes weak.
Since you live near the middle of town you may get by on an indoor multidirectional antenna (not the Terk or coathanger) with an amp. I've used an indoor Terk in the Somerset neighborhood and it was terrible because of the direction of the towers. The stations are in a bunch of different directions. The 4228 picks up signals on both sides. You probably won't need a pre-amp like the 7777 that I use out in Redland area.

This new indoor product that includes an amp may work for you:
https://www.antennasdirect.com/store...m-Eclipse.html

If you are looking for an attic install to send signal to multiple TVs then I suggest the CM 4228 and a low signal loss splitter. You may not need an amp. You may want to contact solid signal and see what they suggest as well.
jtrippe is offline  
post #6641 of 6655 Old 09-08-2014, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrippe View Post
Since you live near the middle of town you may get by on an indoor multidirectional antenna (not the Terk or coathanger) with an amp. I've used an indoor Terk in the Somerset neighborhood and it was terrible because of the direction of the towers. The stations are in a bunch of different directions. The 4228 picks up signals on both sides. You probably won't need a pre-amp like the 7777 that I use out in Redland area.

This new indoor product that includes an amp may work for you:
https://www.antennasdirect.com/store...m-Eclipse.html

If you are looking for an attic install to send signal to multiple TVs then I suggest the CM 4228 and a low signal loss splitter. You may not need an amp. You may want to contact solid signal and see what they suggest as well.
Wow that a cool little antenna I’ll have to see if I can getit locally.



I cruised by Best buy and got this

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/terk-omn...7&st=tvantenna indoor&cp=1&lp=2

my coat haner y-tube worked better.



Yes I need three outlets two for the PC and one for myMagnavox DVR. all in same TV room so I'm not forced to go attic mount.



This low lose splitter maybe my problem I’m using a cable TVtype three way splitter

I believe one outlet has a -7BD and the remaining two have a-3BD.



Maybe you can suggest a better quality three way splitter?



Lastly they where giving these antennas away at Cohens sometime ago I’m thinking they did this so word of mouth would spread and helpthere sales. It got a lot of reviews.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/antennas...8&st=tvantenna outdoor&cp=2&lp=5



from what I’ve read a long range will make my reception worst?



I tried this antenna

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/channel-...5&st=tvantenna outdoor&cp=3&lp=10

I believe it’s a directionale type because it requiredadjusting between 8 and 12.



Thanks STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6642 of 6655 Old 09-08-2014, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
something I did'nt mention my Y-tube antenna is mounted diangalley at 45 degree angle

should it be mounted straight up and down like verticalley?

also please recommend I good low los three way splitter I'm using a cable TV type splitter.

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6643 of 6655 Old 09-09-2014, 02:33 PM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevethebrain View Post
something I did'nt mention my Y-tube antenna is mounted diangalley at 45 degree angle

should it be mounted straight up and down like verticalley?

also please recommend I good low los three way splitter I'm using a cable TV type splitter.

Antenna type and placement is always trial and error as every location is different. I recommend trying as many antennas as you can and seeing which gets you the best signal on the stations you want. The Terks stink in my opinion. If you find that the stations are coming in and out then add an amp and see if that helps. It's going to take a lot of slight movements (higher, lower, left, right, sideways, etc.) to find the sweet spot at your location. When you add the splitter it will reduce the signal some. I recommend looking at the low-loss splitters at Solid Signal. The experts there may also help find you a better antenna for your situation. I'm in no way affiliated with that company but I've purchased many products from them.
jtrippe is offline  
post #6644 of 6655 Old 09-09-2014, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone local looking for a surround sound receiver. I upgraded and am trying to get rid of my Onkyo TX-NR609 (7.2, HDMI upconversion, internet apps) with wifi dongle and HD radio tuner add-on. PM me with an offer.
jtrippe is offline  
post #6645 of 6655 Old 09-10-2014, 12:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
What do youthink about this antenna

http://www.amazon.com/Antennas-Direct-C2-ClearStream-Television/dp/B0017O3UHI/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1410332950&sr=8-4&keywords=clearstream+4+antenna#productDetails



the lastline in it description says



deliversdigitally perfect signals without

the need for rotation so I’m thinking this isa multi directional antenna.



From what I’veread since I’m located in the middle of the broadcast towers I need a omnidirectional antenna? And this clearstream maynot work?

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6646 of 6655 Old 09-10-2014, 04:49 AM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevethebrain View Post
What do youthink about this antenna

http://www.amazon.com/Antennas-Direct-C2-ClearStream-Television/dp/B0017O3UHI/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1410332950&sr=8-4&keywords=clearstream+4+antenna#productDetails



the lastline in it description says



deliversdigitally perfect signals without

the need for rotation so I’m thinking this isa multi directional antenna.



From what I’veread since I’m located in the middle of the broadcast towers I need a omnidirectional antenna? And this clearstream maynot work?
The problem with that antenna is that it's really made for outdoor or attic mount. I think you would need a pole and tri-pod for that antenna. You seem to indicate that you're looking for an indoor antenna. You may want to see what multidirectional indoor antennas Besy Buy, Walmart, etc. have and test them. Or, contact Solid Signal or Antennas Direct. If they don't work you can always return them. If you really want to get everything put a CM 4228 in your attic and do a cable run (or tap into the existing if no cable sub).
jtrippe is offline  
post #6647 of 6655 Old 09-10-2014, 08:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I never said I had to have a indoor actualley I would prefer not to have to look at a atenna and have it up in the attic I allready have the wire fished inbetween the wall.

OK so it's a no brainer to go w/ the CM 4228 ?
Where is Jim doe's he still let folks try out his CM 4228 ?

what do you think about these two for up in the attic. see attachment, I'm thinking the one w/ the extra horizonale bar is the key to recieving channel 8. I think it's for VHS and the other regular won't pickup channel 8?

I've decided to get a used antenna from Ebay so I want to make sure I pick the right one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	extra bar.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	70.3 KB
ID:	256090   Click image for larger version

Name:	regular.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	76.1 KB
ID:	256098  

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6648 of 6655 Old 09-10-2014, 01:43 PM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for the confusion on the attic mount. Actually, WSFA is the VHF channel. All others are UHF. That's another area where the CM 4228 comes into play. It will pick up WSFA's frequency. I would put the investment in to the 4228 over the others even if getting a used one. Maybe Jim would be willing to sell. I'll check around and see if anyone I know has an extra. I get Birmingham locals from DirecTV and then pick up all of the Montgomery stations on my CM 4228 with a CM 7777 pre-amp.
jtrippe is offline  
post #6649 of 6655 Old 09-11-2014, 04:18 PM
Newbie
 
sluggo41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lately I've not been able to pick up the major networks off air. I live in northeast Montgomery. On any given day, one might show up. Other days, all of them except the network airing a football game. I have a set of rabbit ears in the attic. I am not going to spend several paychecks on a souped-up antenna. Is this the only market where the major TV station towers are 40 miles out of town?
sluggo41 is offline  
post #6650 of 6655 Old 09-11-2014, 06:17 PM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Montgomery, AL - HDTV

A lot of cities have a similar or even worse station set ups than Montgomery. At least we don't have big mountains or hills to contend with. However, all of Montgomery stations are not out of town. A bunch are off Ann Street and PBS is downtown. I believe WSFA is in the Cloverdale area. Rabbit ears won't work well in an attic situation. You do need to invest in something a little better like a omnidirectional antenna made for attics. Those are usually outdoor antennas.

Last edited by jtrippe; 09-11-2014 at 06:19 PM. Reason: typo
jtrippe is offline  
post #6651 of 6655 Old 09-12-2014, 06:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sluggo41 View Post
Lately I've not been able to pick up the major networks off air. I live in northeast Montgomery. On any given day, one might show up. Other days, all of them except the network airing a football game. I have a set of rabbit ears in the attic. I am not going to spend several paychecks on a souped-up antenna. Is this the only market where the major TV station towers are 40 miles out of town?
TV transmission sites do tend to be more concentrated than you find in Montgomery, but there are some other towns with scattered sites. Mobile-Pensacola is my market, and if you live in either Mobile or Pensacola proper, the stations are all transmitting from Baldwin County, and it can be a good 30 miles from one end of the city to the TX sites. A lot of people down here have trouble with WALA on RF channel 9 because of the distance.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #6652 of 6655 Old 09-16-2014, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
4bama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Clay County, Alabama
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question WAXC channel ID

I happened to tune to channel 31, WAXC in Alex City, and my Dish VIP622 receiver said it "lost" the signal, although signal strength is around 90%.

So, I looked at UHF-32, which is where WAXC transmits and it shows channel 32, (WNCF ABC-32 transmits on UHF-31) as the channel ID...

Have I missed something?? WNCF comes in fine on UHF-31 with correct channel ID, but why is WAXC now showing 32 as it's channel ID instead of 31?

Can someone look at this that can receive WAXC??

Thanks...

Dish 622 DVR, B'ham locals via Dish, Montgomery locals OTA, Winegard on 70' tower + CM7777 preamp
4bama is offline  
post #6653 of 6655 Old 09-17-2014, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I changed my coax connections from a four way splitter(cable TV quality) feeding

TV tuner 1 w/ -3bd

PC tuners 2,3 -3bd

Magnavox DVR 4 -7bd



To this using the homemade y-tube antenna in attic w/ a 2way splitter both outputs -3bd (cable TV quality)

For the two tuners on the PC actulley one tuner is a dual the singnal is divided inside the

Silicon dust homerun. Other PC tuner is a signal tuner.



I pulled out the old $15. archer rabbit ears and connected to the Magnavox the Magnavox has a small amp. Builtin and has a antenna passthough so out the Magnavox into the TV.



It’s working good right now (I believe a sunny day is the worste conditions correct? Cloudy days the best, and rainie days inbetween depending on clouds or sun when rainning) so on a bad day I hope to still get good reception.



I’m thinking using the two antennas both basicalley splite twice is the strongest signal I can get (besides having four antennas?

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6654 of 6655 Old 10-13-2014, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 25
new channel grit 12.3

new channel grit channel 12.3 grit comes in w/ my TV tuner (that's when the other channel 12s come in).


my maganvox dvr has reconized 12.3


however when I scan the PC Windows 7 media center and my Hauppage TV tuners for more digital channels Grit channel 12.3 isn't reconized?


I even manually entered channel 12.3 then W7MC asked what the name of the channel was so I entered Grit.


what is the actually name like could it be WASFA ????KFVS12


the W7MC TV guide has no data.
any tips I like more channels.


Thanks STB

 

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TB Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1600-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700

Last edited by stevethebrain; 10-13-2014 at 01:24 PM.
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6655 of 6655 Old 10-20-2014, 05:39 PM
Newbie
 
sluggo41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WSFA and WCOV's towers is located 35 miles south in Grady near the Crenshaw County line. My rant is that it shouldn't be difficult to pick up stations within the limits of the CITY OF LICENSE. I get PBS, Frazer, and WMCF just fine.
sluggo41 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off