Montgomery, AL - HDTV - Page 223 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #6661 of 6674 Old 01-24-2015, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Montgomery, AL - HDTV

The FCC listing shows that it's owned by Woods communications. I wonder what affiliate this will be.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
jtrippe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6662 of 6674 Old 01-24-2015, 03:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sluggo41 View Post
Ran a scan and it picked up channel 17 W17DX with 2 channels of color bars.
Interesting. I noticed it's owned by Woods Communications which RabbitEars says owns WCOV. I wonder what their plans are for it?
Tom Servo is offline  
post #6663 of 6674 Old 02-15-2015, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 100
An update guys for those who live in Elmore county- it appears that AT &T U-Verse is avail but paired w/ Direct TV?
JA Fant is offline  
post #6664 of 6674 Old 02-15-2015, 03:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,855
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by JA Fant View Post
An update guys for those who live in Elmore county- it appears that AT &T U-Verse is avail but paired w/ Direct TV?
Just checked. Not available off of Jasmine Hills Rd.

Their DSL line however is which is new. Problem is that its only 6mbps for their fastest one and you need 10 for streaming video. That speed might vary based on location, though.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, VideoForge HDMI II, Klein K10A, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #6665 of 6674 Old 02-16-2015, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My understanding that U-verse is only available in Emerald Mountain right now for Elmore County. I live about 3 miles from Emerald Mountain in Windsong Ridge off of Redland and we can't get U-verse.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
jtrippe is offline  
post #6666 of 6674 Old 03-05-2015, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stevethebrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Atlanta,GA,Ft.Walton Bch.FL
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 25
two new channels 17.1/2 22.2

two new free OTA channels 17.1/2 22.2




I recently discovered 2 new TV channels 22.2 the Nashville ch. I can watch it on my TV tuner but not on windows7 Media center
(I have scanned a couple of times)
W7MC doe's post whats coming on in it's TV guide.
channel 17.1/2 is nothing but a color code.


I didn't even rescan for these channels they jut appeared.


any news on when I can watch and record either channel reliablley I like the Saturday morning fishing shows on 22.2
Thanks STB
edit Jim I still want to try out you'r channel master antenna for a couple days before I buy one please PM me.

Samsung PN58C500/Amp: Yamaha RX-V465/Polk DSW1KProSub/DefTECH SM450/C1CC/Pro80/Sony BPX37 BD/Magnavox515/ HTPC-CPU: I3 550, 3.2 GHz/Mobo: Intel H57/RAM: 6GB DDR3 1333/HDD: 1TB/2TBX2 Internal, 1TB external/Tuner: 1800-950 Haupague/W7 64 OS Remote: Harmony 700

Last edited by stevethebrain; 03-05-2015 at 10:17 AM.
stevethebrain is offline  
post #6667 of 6674 Old 03-05-2015, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
jtrippe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wetumpka (36093)
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone in the Wetumpka area have Brighthouse for internet? They upgraded our neighborhood off of Redland Road to fiber optic and upped the standard speed from 10/1 to 15/1. However, our service got worse. Anyone else experience any problems?

Also, FYI, Brighthouse added about 80 new HD channels over the last month.
jtrippe is offline  
post #6668 of 6674 Old 03-10-2015, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Straximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WOW encrypted all of their digital channels today. No more clear QAM.
Straximus is offline  
post #6669 of 6674 Old 03-14-2015, 04:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
JA Fant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Prattville AL
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 100
I live on the Prattville/Millbrook border and have not had any issues w/ BH net service.
JA Fant is offline  
post #6670 of 6674 Old 04-09-2015, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
nayrlladnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montgomery, Al
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I haven't visited this site in a long while, but I am hoping to get some help with a weird issue.

First, I will admit I know next to nothing about HD antennas and reception, etc. So, I apologize in advance if this is a simple problem with a simple solution.

On to the crux of the matter: I canceled my WOW cable subscription last month and purchase this HD antenna: amazon.com/gp/product/B00DIFIO8E/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I placed it on my wall, as high as I possibly could (~12'), however, it is ~4' from the nearest window as my TV is not positioned near windows.

I was able to receive several channels, many of which I did not know even existed (so many church channels...), except for WSFA (Ch. 12). That channel would not come in at all; all I would get is the "Weak signal or no available source" message on my TV. 8, 20, 32, et al. all came in wonderfully.

So, in response to this, I purchased this inline HD antenna amplifier. amazon.com/gp/product/B00IF70TO2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I install it and, what do you know? 12 comes in great! But, now channel 8 is giving me the "Weak signal or no available source". How is it that I was able to get 8 before an amplifier but unable to after? If any of you could give me some tips I would really appreciate it. Thank you in advance.
nayrlladnar is offline  
post #6671 of 6674 Old 04-09-2015, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nayrlladnar View Post
I install it and, what do you know? 12 comes in great! But, now channel 8 is giving me the "Weak signal or no available source". How is it that I was able to get 8 before an amplifier but unable to after? If any of you could give me some tips I would really appreciate it. Thank you in advance.
There are a couple of possibilities right off the top of my head. One possibility is that you can't get 8 now because the amplifier is actually providing your TV with too much signal. It can lead to dropouts and signal issues just as much as a weak signal can. Another is that the amplifier could be adding noise to the signal and degrading channel 8. I have a cheapie RCA set-top amplified antenna that I bought years and years ago at Wally-Mart and when it's on full amplification, it renders certain channels useless because of self-generated noise. Luckily there are no local channels where I live on those spots.

Digital is so finicky that you could probably just move the antenna a few inches one way or another and 8 may pop back in. 12 is going to be more difficult to receive since they are the only local station on VHF. If I remember correctly, they transmit from a site about halfway to Troy, and channel 8's is out in Lowndes County out towards Selma.

That Amazon antenna doesn't say anything about being designed for VHF, so getting 12 at all is a good accomplishment, IMHO. I have the smaller 15-mile version (by a different MFG, I got it through Meritline for something like $5) and it's the same way.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #6672 of 6674 Old 04-09-2015, 06:29 PM
Newbie
 
nayrlladnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montgomery, Al
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply.

Is there any reasoning as to why 12 is the only local station on VHF? Seems odd...

Oh well, I reckon I could turn off the amplifier when I want to watch 8 and back on again when I want to watch 12. Annoying but, what can ya do?
nayrlladnar is offline  
post #6673 of 6674 Old 04-09-2015, 07:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Servo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: LA (Lower Alabama)
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nayrlladnar View Post
Thanks for the reply.

Is there any reasoning as to why 12 is the only local station on VHF? Seems odd...

Oh well, I reckon I could turn off the amplifier when I want to watch 8 and back on again when I want to watch 12. Annoying but, what can ya do?
Ha ha, like I said, digital OTA is finicky. I think a lot of stations wanted to keep their existing VHF antenna system when they switched from analog to digital to save money. I'm in Mobile and WALA is on channel 9, so people here have the same reception issues with it. Some stations quickly realized that VHF wasn't working well, especially those who got on channels 2-6. But not all seem to be keen to move to UHF.

If the FCC ever gets around to it, there's going to be a big spectrum repacking deal to move stations off spectrum, so they can auction it off to cell phone companies. It's expected that more stations will wind up on VHF again because of it.
Tom Servo is offline  
post #6674 of 6674 Unread Today, 07:43 PM
Newbie
 
sluggo41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Servo View Post
Ha ha, like I said, digital OTA is finicky. I think a lot of stations wanted to keep their existing VHF antenna system when they switched from analog to digital to save money. I'm in Mobile and WALA is on channel 9, so people here have the same reception issues with it. Some stations quickly realized that VHF wasn't working well, especially those who got on channels 2-6. But not all seem to be keen to move to UHF.

If the FCC ever gets around to it, there's going to be a big spectrum repacking deal to move stations off spectrum, so they can auction it off to cell phone companies. It's expected that more stations will wind up on VHF again because of it.
When WSFA was temporarily on 14, they came in fine. They disappeared after the switch to DTV 12. I'm in the middle of Montgomery. 20 (from the same tower comes in fine. DTV is very frustrating.
sluggo41 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off