Montgomery, AL - HDTV - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 6622 Old 08-19-2005, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wrote without watching enough. I am seeing the picture freeze and green screen--not that often-- and a while ago I had switched over and watched something else and switched back and there were some audio problems but they seem to have been resolved. Overall though, the picture and sound have been very good.
SD4934 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 6622 Old 08-19-2005, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Seems to be off air right now.
SD4934 is offline  
post #723 of 6622 Old 08-19-2005, 09:37 PM
Newbie
 
Jack B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Elba, AL
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been following this forum for a little while and was wondering if WAKA is at full power now. I live North of Elba and my tuner will occationally lock in on it. My antenna is up 50' and I have a antenna mounted booster but WSFA is the only digital Montgomery station I get 24/7. Thanks
Jack B is offline  
post #724 of 6622 Old 08-19-2005, 10:51 PM
blp
Member
 
blp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dead as a Door Nail. I didn't want to watch shopping anyway.
blp is offline  
post #725 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 04:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandpa Train's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
7:00AM no signal at all
Grandpa Train is offline  
post #726 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Uh-Oh...not good.

The green screen on CBS sounds like there is an HD feed reception issue, most likely a signal problem with the long feedlines. Probably will have to get CBS to send a crew to do some antenna tweaking.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #727 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by W4IMM View Post

Time to break out the antenna and rotator.

I've been thinking the same thing, but then I went to Lowe's and found that they want $100 for one. I know it's been about 25 years or so since I sold them, seems
they were $50 then..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #728 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandpa Train's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wonder why Web site has nothing about efforts to go HDTV. Probably one of the most uniformative local web site . WCOV, Fox, always has updates about upcoming changes and problems with signal.
Grandpa Train is offline  
post #729 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Not getting enough info here?

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #730 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 09:08 AM
Member
 
buckeye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is CBS up right now. I have no signal this morning. I had 10 to 12 percent last night and wanted to try to adjust the antenna this morning.
buckeye1 is offline  
post #731 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandpa Train's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am just saying before I found this site, I would go to thier WEB site and would find nothing about them even trying to go HD let alone when.
Grandpa Train is offline  
post #732 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
yea..understand...websites take a tremendous amount of time and energy while providing little return on investment, and haven't been a priority in our company.

Looking into our problem now..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #733 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
tejuse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still no signal..WGC on in 2 hours.
tejuse is offline  
post #734 of 6622 Old 08-20-2005, 12:10 PM
blp
Member
 
blp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess will are out of luck for HD on CBS this weekend, but over at NBC they are showing Action Sports in HD now.
blp is offline  
post #735 of 6622 Old 08-21-2005, 04:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Grandpa Train's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else having trouble locking in NBC, Channel 12, HD, this morning?
Grandpa Train is offline  
post #736 of 6622 Old 08-21-2005, 09:39 AM
Member
 
buckeye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
12 is working fine for me
buckeye1 is offline  
post #737 of 6622 Old 08-21-2005, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not having any problems with 12. Anybody know what's going on with WAKA?
SD4934 is offline  
post #738 of 6622 Old 08-21-2005, 12:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 179
No problem with 12 either.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #739 of 6622 Old 08-21-2005, 01:06 PM
blp
Member
 
blp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Bob, Whats the latest on channel 8? Thanks in advance.
blp is offline  
post #740 of 6622 Old 08-21-2005, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Good question,Haven't heard anything from them.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #741 of 6622 Old 08-21-2005, 10:17 PM
blp
Member
 
blp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a good nite for DX'ing. Turned my indoor SS antenna NNW and locked in on Birminghams 42.1 and 13.1. WB21 and ABC 33/40 looks good also on the analog side. Some nites I can also pick up Columbus 38 and 54. Anybody else?
blp is offline  
post #742 of 6622 Old 08-22-2005, 11:40 AM
blp
Member
 
blp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see 8 is back up although the signal is bouncing around probaly due to the thunderstorm. I hope it will stay up.
blp is offline  
post #743 of 6622 Old 08-22-2005, 11:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Oh boy, I think I'll run up my aluminum ladder and tweak my antenna in this lightning/thunder storm.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #744 of 6622 Old 08-22-2005, 12:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 179
WAKA signal strength is jumping around. Its goes from 81-82 (won't lock on) to 92-93. Today, the 90s are staying on longer than they did Friday. No trees blowing around to account for difference in readings. Could somebody be adjusting something.

Maybe I won't have to go up the ladder after all.

Making progress. Signal stayed in the 90s long enough for the receiver to add it to the program guide. I can now tune in 8-1, 8-2, 8-3. Signal still fluctuates quite a bit and the picture often freezes. Hey, at least I'm making progress.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #745 of 6622 Old 08-22-2005, 12:38 PM
blp
Member
 
blp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Locking on about 45 now with few drops. 8.2 is showing DD 5.0 on my HK 225 receiver but the sound is alot lower than 8.1
blp is offline  
post #746 of 6622 Old 08-22-2005, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Still working on the problem..

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #747 of 6622 Old 08-22-2005, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Signal bouncing around a good bit but my receiver stays locked onto the signal most of the time (as long as it stays above 60% I get a solid lock with little or no dropouts--although what is 60% on my receiver (HD Tivo) might equate to 90% on another receiver--on my previous receiver (Samsung T160) any thing above 45% was a lock. Wonder when we will get program guide data?
SD4934 is offline  
post #748 of 6622 Old 08-22-2005, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Hate to tell ya old buddy..we're sending full EPG..that receiver won't read it, it requires
the APG from DirecTv..now as to when we can get tribune to add that in so that duhwreckedtv sends it..who knows..I'll put that in the mix..since we weren't on, they didn;t have us in the stream..

Thanks Stan!!

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of the FOX,ABC,CBS,or CW Networks,MeTv, my employer or its parent company. Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #749 of 6622 Old 08-22-2005, 05:32 PM
blp
Member
 
blp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just getting a black screen with the CBS logo. Flipped over to 42 and getting a good picture in HD.
blp is offline  
post #750 of 6622 Old 08-22-2005, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm just getting the black screen. Although, it appears that the sound and picture come back for the local commercials but then go back to the black screen for broadcast from the network.
SD4934 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off